My first DIY Basement/Theater Build - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
  • 1 Post By djantonio
  • 2 Post By Mocs123
  • 1 Post By PreciseD
  • 1 Post By djantonio

post #1 of 16 Old 07-01-2019, 06:21 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
My first DIY Basement/Theater Build

Okay everyone, I’ve been following the forums here about a year and I’m finally starting my build. I’ve been working one day a week for the past several months on finishing my basement (bathroom rough in plumbing, framing, electrical complete).

I have a dedicated theater space in the basement that is roughly 19.5 x 12.5. I have 8ft ceilings and two flanking soffits in the ceilings to hide some HVAC that are about 13” wide and 11” tall.

Ive built a riser out of 2x10 pressure treated lumber that is 81” deep, so just under 7ft based on some of the suggestions that I read the forums. The finished height of the riser will be about 12” after plywood and carpet.

I found a killer deal on power recliner theater seats that must have fallen off a truck because they are “front row” brand and I bought 9 chairs for $900 in a very shady warehouse in downtown Baltimore. They are a dark brown too grain leather.

I plan on doing two rows of 4, which will leave about a 26” wide step on one side of my theater (is this wide enough?)

I’m on a budget so I’m trying to find the highest quality used equipment that I can find. So far I have a Denon AVR-X6400H,
B&K 200.7 THX power amp, dual Klipsch r-115sw with wireless kits and a Monster Power Signature HTS 5100 power conditioner. I’ve been amassing this equipment as I find it over the past year or so on Facebook Marketplace.

I am planning to go DIYSG behind the screen for my LCR and probably will go with Episode In Wall surround and height for a 11.2 Atmos setup.