Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 2 Old 06-21-2020, 06:47 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Power outlets

Hi,
I am very new to home theatre but I always wanted to have a dedicated home theatre.
We signed a contract with builder for a new construction house.
I plan to make home theatre in the second floor loft around 18' x14 '.

I have to let the builders know how many power outlets i want and where in the room.

A. I want to put LED strip lights on the ceiling.
My questions are:

1. where should I have the power outlets for LED strip lights? . If I connect it to the outlet in the lower part of the wall, wires will be visible, which i don't want.

There will be an attic above the room..
Should I put outlet in the attic, and make a hole interior ceiling and connect the LED lights to outlet in
attic?
Or should I put an outlet in the ceiling ?

2.I understand that a single strip of LED is not enough for the room and I will have to connect couple of them together.
Is 1 power outlet enough or do I need couple of them?

B I also want to put sconce lights on the walls. Builders said they can put outlets on the wall but not lights and if I want to make any change, I will have to get it done myself after closing the house .

1. Suppose I have he builder put 2 outlets on each side wall.

Will I be able to take those outlets out and put sconce lights there later without tearing down the dry walls?
Are the wires for lights and outlets different?
Even if it is possible to take the outlets out and add sconce lights later, how do I turn those lights on?
Are there battery operated sconce lights which can be regulated by,let's say, smart phone?

Thanks
Sam
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 2 Old 06-22-2020, 11:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 343
Hi Sam,