How To: Rip 3D Blu-ray full resolution for LG 4K 3D for native Plex playback - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 53 Old 01-24-2019, 07:12 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Actionable Mango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by htn00b View Post
Thanks for this. Is there a free alternative to BD3D2MK3D? I'm using a Mac and BD3D2MK3D is only available for Windows.

More so, I've tried DVDFab to rip 3D Blu-Rays into 3D MKV.4K.H265.10bit (also copying original audio of DTS-HD MA 7.1) and high bitrate. It takes 25 hrs and that's ridiculously too long for me.

Looking for alternatives if anyone has suggestions.
BD3D2MK3D is free, so I'm not sure what you mean by a free alternative.

If you meant Mac alternative, then no, I'm not aware of that. BD3D2MK3D is just a Windows GUI front end to a huge number of freeware tools. Basically what you fill out in BD3D2MK3D gets translated into a script that runs each tool in the right order with the right command line options. It might be possible, if every single one of those freeware tools has a Mac binary, to duplicate what it does on the Mac, but I haven't the foggiest idea about that. I'd just try to run BD3D2MK3D in a Windows VM. Maybe it will run in WINE, I don't know.

The reason why DVDFab is taking so long is H.265. You should be using H.264. Yes the file size will be larger, but the tradeoff is massive time savings. I've tried to speed up H.265 by dropping the quality slightly, but I noticed ringing/noise around high contrast edges in brightly lit scenes.

Also Blu ray spec is 8 bit so I don't think you should be picking 10 bit.
Actionable Mango is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 53 Old 01-24-2019, 07:23 PM
Member
 
htn00b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Actionable Mango View Post
BD3D2MK3D is free, so I'm not sure what you mean by a free alternative.

If you meant Mac alternative, then no, I'm not aware of that. BD3D2MK3D is just a Windows GUI front end to a huge number of freeware tools. Basically what you fill out in BD3D2MK3D gets translated into a script that runs each tool in the right order with the right command line options. It might be possible, if every single one of those freeware tools has a Mac binary, to duplicate what it does on the Mac, but I haven't the foggiest idea about that. I'd just try to run BD3D2MK3D in a Windows VM. Maybe it will run in WINE, I don't know.

The reason why DVDFab is taking so long is H.265. You should be using H.264. Yes the file size will be larger, but the tradeoff is massive time savings. I've tried to speed up H.265 by dropping the quality slightly, but I noticed ringing/noise around high contrast edges in brightly lit scenes.

Also Blu ray spec is 8 bit so I don't think you should be picking 10 bit.
Yes I meant a free Mac alternative. I'll use your suggestion and drop it to H.264. Didn't see an option in DVDFab for 8 bit but Ill try that if it's available.

Thanks so much for your response!

++++++++++++++
- LG OLED55E6P | OLED | 4K | HDR | 3D
- ONKYO HT-S7800 5.1.2 Channel Dolby Atmos Home
- XBOX ONE S
- Apple TV 4K
htn00b is offline  
post #33 of 53 Old 01-24-2019, 07:29 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Actionable Mango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by htn00b View Post
Yes I meant a free Mac alternative. I'll use your suggestion and drop it to H.264. Didn't see an option in DVDFab for 8 bit but Ill try that if it's available.

Thanks so much for your response!
If you select H.264 it should just be 8-bit by default. I doubt there is an option.
Actionable Mango is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 53 Old 01-27-2019, 08:11 PM
Member
 
htn00b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Actionable Mango View Post
If you select H.264 it should just be 8-bit by default. I doubt there is an option.
It took about 9 hrs to encode using your H.264 suggestion. ill be trying it out soon. It's about 20gig which isn't bad at all

++++++++++++++
- LG OLED55E6P | OLED | 4K | HDR | 3D
- ONKYO HT-S7800 5.1.2 Channel Dolby Atmos Home
- XBOX ONE S
- Apple TV 4K
htn00b is offline  
post #35 of 53 Old 02-22-2019, 03:48 PM
Senior Member
 
bjorg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Is there any way to queue movies up for BD3D2MK3D? I don't mind babysitting the ripping to MKV, but it seems silly that I have to launch each 3D conversion individually when the content is already present.

Abstract yourself!
bjorg is offline  
post #36 of 53 Old 02-22-2019, 06:32 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Actionable Mango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjorg View Post
Is there any way to queue movies up for BD3D2MK3D? I don't mind babysitting the ripping to MKV, but it seems silly that I have to launch each 3D conversion individually when the content is already present.
Yes there is a batch encode in the file menu. Don't ask me how to use it, I never have. You could ask the author on doom9 forum, he is very responsive.

What I did was set up multiple projects and then just launch them all at the same time. To do this, don't mark the "Exit and Encode After Successful Demux" checkbox. This will demux and get all the files ready to go for the project, but won't actually start the encoding. After you have several set up, manually launch them all from the command line one by one and they will all start encoding.
bjorg likes this.
Actionable Mango is offline  
post #37 of 53 Old 02-25-2019, 07:03 PM
Senior Member
 
bjorg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 94
I took a look at the batch encode, but it seems rather confusing. For now, I'm going to give the Zidoo Z9S a chance. Hopefully it can provide a comparable experience to Plex without the need to jump through so many hoops. Will report back!

Abstract yourself!

Last edited by bjorg; 04-28-2019 at 03:31 AM.
bjorg is offline  
post #38 of 53 Old 02-25-2019, 07:41 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Actionable Mango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjorg View Post
I took a look at the batch encode, but it seems rather confusing. For now, I'm going to give the Zidoo X9S a chance. Hopefully it can provide a comparable experience to Plex without the need to jump through so many hoops. Will report back!
I just started experimenting with the Zidoo in the last few weeks. It is better in some ways and worse in some ways. So I think you'll have to pick your poison.
Actionable Mango is offline  
post #39 of 53 Old 06-23-2019, 11:20 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
frustrating with this.....

Encoding movie in 3D
Movie: Captain Marvel (2019)
Encoding started 23/06/2019 18:12:18.93

C:\Users\.....\Documents\Captain Marvel (2019)\MKV3D>"D:\S\New folder\Recovered data 10-06 06_45_31\Deep Scan result\More Lost Files(RAW)\Rich Text Document\BD3D2MK3D (2)\BD3D2MK3D\toolset\x264_x86.exe" --output-depth 8 --crf 23 --preset medium --sar 2:1 --range tv --colormatrix bt709 --frame-packing 4 --qpfile chapters_3D.qpfile --frames 177957 --fps 24000/1001 --output "MKV3D_3D.264" "__ENCODE_3D_MOVIE.avs"
avs [error]: ERROR: Cannot initiate Intel Media Decoder.

(__ENCODE_3D_MOVIE.avs, line 20)
x264 [error]: could not open input file `__ENCODE_3D_MOVIE.avs'
Encoding finished 23/06/2019 18:12:19.44

C:\Users\....\Documents\Captain Marvel (2019)\MKV3D>"D:\S\New folder\Recovered data 10-06 06_45_31\Deep Scan result\More Lost Files(RAW)\Rich Text Document\BD3D2MK3D (2)\BD3D2MK3D\toolset\mkvmerge.exe" @__MUX_3D_OPTIONS.json | "D:\S\New folder\Recovered data 10-06 06_45_31\Deep Scan result\More Lost Files(RAW)\Rich Text Document\BD3D2MK3D (2)\BD3D2MK3D\toolset\tee.exe" "MKV3D_3D.mkvmerge.log"
mkvmerge v33.1.0 ('Primrose') 32-bit
Error: The type of file 'MKV3D_3D.264' could not be recognized.


C:\Users\....\Documents\Captain Marvel (2019)\MKV3D>
Ray Mondo is offline  
post #40 of 53 Old 06-24-2019, 05:40 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Actionable Mango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray Mondo View Post
frustrating with this.....
I don't know what any of this means. I suggest asking here:
https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=170828
Actionable Mango is offline  
post #41 of 53 Old 06-24-2019, 05:58 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
thx can u ask for me i registered but have to wait 5 days to post.
Ray Mondo is offline  
post #42 of 53 Old 06-24-2019, 06:45 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Actionable Mango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray Mondo View Post
thx can u ask for me i registered but have to wait 5 days to post.
Sorry, I don't want to get involved. Send a PM to the thread starter R0lz.
Actionable Mango is offline  
post #43 of 53 Old 07-02-2019, 02:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 1,219
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 632 Post(s)
Liked: 189
What is the best filter to use for resize in BD3DMK3D?
Avisynth Bilinear
Avisynth Bicubic
Avisynth Gauss
Avisynth Lanczos
Avisynth Lanczos 4
Avisynth Blackman
Avisynth Spline16
Avisynth Spline36
Avisynth Spline 64
x246 fastbilinear
x246 bilinear
x246 bicubic
x246 bicublin
x246 experimental
x246 area
x246 gauss
x246 sinc
x246 lanczos
x246 spline
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	01.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	21.8 KB
ID:	2586774   Click image for larger version

Name:	02.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	13.5 KB
ID:	2586776  
noob00224 is offline  
post #44 of 53 Old 07-02-2019, 03:14 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Actionable Mango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by noob00224 View Post
What is the best filter to use for resize in BD3DMK3D?
I don't know. I've never wanted to resize because the native size is correct and works.
Actionable Mango is offline  
post #45 of 53 Old 07-03-2019, 09:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 1,219
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 632 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Actionable Mango View Post
I don't know. I've never wanted to resize because the native size is correct and works.
But generally speaking, wouldn't lanczos be the best?
noob00224 is offline  
post #46 of 53 Old 07-23-2019, 02:11 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hi yday I did one from 40gig disc to 7gb using this, surely there's a loss in quality? If so what's the best way to get like for like with no loss in quality?
Ray Mondo is offline  
post #47 of 53 Old 07-29-2019, 04:56 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Actionable Mango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray Mondo View Post
Hi yday I did one from 40gig disc to 7gb using this, surely there's a loss in quality? If so what's the best way to get like for like with no loss in quality?
There is no way to do a perfect bit-for-bit copy and have it play using the LG TV's native Plex player, which is the goal of this thread.

If you want perfect bit-for-bit 3D files to play on the LG TV, you need to use an external box of some kind and play back ISOs or MKV-MVC files, but that is out of the scope of this thread. AFAIK, your options are Windows10 HTPC (see Brazen1's signature), media players like the Dune and Zidoo, or the OPPO BD player (see relevant threads for those).

However, keep in mind that file size is not a good indication of quality when you are comparing an entire disc to a single file extracted from that disc. I will be very surprised if you can notice the difference in quality from normal viewing. But if you do notice and it bothers you, you can always bump up the quality setting and re-encode until you cannot tell the difference. See the x264 encoder options on Tab 5, it will explain how to increase the quality at the cost of larger file size.

Last edited by Actionable Mango; 07-29-2019 at 05:07 PM.
Actionable Mango is offline  
post #48 of 53 Old 07-30-2019, 02:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 1,219
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 632 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Actionable Mango View Post
There is no way to do a perfect bit-for-bit copy and have it play using the LG TV's native Plex player, which is the goal of this thread.

If you want perfect bit-for-bit 3D files to play on the LG TV, you need to use an external box of some kind and play back ISOs or MKV-MVC files, but that is out of the scope of this thread. AFAIK, your options are Windows10 HTPC (see Brazen1's signature), media players like the Dune and Zidoo, or the OPPO BD player (see relevant threads for those).

However, keep in mind that file size is not a good indication of quality when you are comparing an entire disc to a single file extracted from that disc. I will be very surprised if you can notice the difference in quality from normal viewing. But if you do notice and it bothers you, you can always bump up the quality setting and re-encode until you cannot tell the difference. See the x264 encoder options on Tab 5, it will explain how to increase the quality at the cost of larger file size.
Tried with CRF 23 and medium preset and got an 6GB file. Not good quality. In the 3D Blu ray were to be extracted via MakeMKV (in full Frame Packing), the video alone is 27GB.
I understand that below CRF 18 is not worth it, but what other settings are required for a maximum quality HSBS/HTAB?

Last edited by noob00224; 07-30-2019 at 12:35 PM.
noob00224 is offline  
post #49 of 53 Old 07-30-2019, 10:48 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Actionable Mango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by noob00224 View Post
but what other settings are required for a maximum quality HSBS/HTAB?
Does the "H" mean half? If so, why are you doing half instead of full? That's throwing away half the resolution in one direction. None of the other settings are going to fix losing that.
Actionable Mango is offline  
post #50 of 53 Old 07-30-2019, 11:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 1,219
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 632 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Actionable Mango View Post
Does the "H" mean half? If so, why are you doing half instead of full? That's throwing away half the resolution in one direction. None of the other settings are going to fix losing that.
It's Half. The display is a 1080p projector (Benq W2000).
I thought that when using the SBS/TAB's mode on this kind of display, half the resolution is discarded anyway since it can't display
2160x1920 or 3840x1080.
noob00224 is offline  
post #51 of 53 Old 07-30-2019, 11:47 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Actionable Mango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by noob00224 View Post
It's Half. The display is a 1080p projector (Benq W2000).
I thought that when using the SBS/TAB's mode on this kind of display, half the resolution is discarded anyway since it can't display
2160x1920 or 3840x1080.
My instructions are pretty much the opposite of what you are trying to do in almost every way. It's a list of steps and settings designed to fit within the limitations of the LG's native Plex client while taking advantage of its ability to use 4K resolution in order to keep the full resolution of the source.

It is very confusing for me trying to help people on the assumption that this is what they are trying to do, when in fact they want to do something else completely, with different equipment, and don't mention that.

If you don't want loss of quality on your display, forget SBS and TAB. You want to present full resolution 1080P 3D signal to your projector. This is going to be accomplished with an appropriate media player, such as a Zidoo, Dune, OPPO BD player, or Windows 10 HTPC. Depending on your media player, rip your discs to ISO or MVC-MKV.

If you don't have a media player that can do 3D ISOs or MVC-MKV, then you are stuck with half resolution and no quality setting is going to help.
Actionable Mango is offline  
post #52 of 53 Old 07-30-2019, 12:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 1,219
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 632 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Actionable Mango View Post
My instructions are pretty much the opposite of what you are trying to do in almost every way. It's a list of steps and settings designed to fit within the limitations of the LG's native Plex client while taking advantage of its ability to use 4K resolution in order to keep the full resolution of the source.

It is very confusing for me trying to help people on the assumption that this is what they are trying to do, when in fact they want to do something else completely, with different equipment, and don't mention that.

If you don't want loss of quality on your display, forget SBS and TAB. You want to present full resolution 1080P 3D signal to your projector. This is going to be accomplished with an appropriate media player, such as a Zidoo, Dune, OPPO BD player, or Windows 10 HTPC. Depending on your media player, rip your discs to ISO or MVC-MKV.

If you don't have a media player that can do 3D ISOs or MVC-MKV, then you are stuck with half resolution and no quality setting is going to help.

Sorry for the confusion, I was referring strictly to BD3D2MK3D's functionality.

I want SBS/TAB because the video will be interpolated to 60Hz. The projector can't do Frame Packing at 60Hz, 24Hz maximum. It can however do 3D TAB/SBS @60Hz.

The 6GB file's quality was not good enough, and I've seen HSBS/TAB's with good quality.
How can the image quality be improved? The CRF set to 18? The preset?
noob00224 is offline  
post #53 of 53 Old 07-30-2019, 12:52 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Actionable Mango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by noob00224 View Post
Sorry for the confusion, I was referring strictly to BD3D2MK3D's functionality.

I want SBS/TAB because the video will be interpolated to 60Hz. The projector can't do Frame Packing at 60Hz, 24Hz maximum. It can however do 3D TAB/SBS @60Hz.

The 6GB file's quality was not good enough, and I've seen HSBS/TAB's with good quality.
How can the image quality be improved? The CRF set to 18? The preset?
Unfortunately I know very little about half resolution quality issues and settings because I am only interested in full resolution. The best place to get advice would probably be the Doom9 forums BD3D2MK3D thread here.
Actionable Mango is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply 3D Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off