Do I need an emitter for an Optoma WU515T? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 01-07-2020, 07:31 PM - Thread Starter
dgk
Senior Member
 
dgk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Palm Beach County Florida
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Do I need an emitter for an Optoma WU515T?

I'm getting ready to use an Optoma WU515T, having acquired a 3d player and glasses, but I'm not sure whether there is an optional emitter necessary. The manual shows an output for a 3D emitter, but the only emitter I can find is this one https://www.optoma.com/us/?s=emitter. I think maybe the DLP technology is built in and only Vesa uses the optional emitter?
dgk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 01-08-2020, 08:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NW USA
Posts: 799
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Depends what glasses you got. Yes, the projector has DLP link, and yes, no emitter is required for that (it's a screen light flash), but the glasses also have to be DLP-link. If the glasses are IR/RF/BT, then they need the corresponding emitter off the VESA port.
Roussi is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 01-08-2020, 08:27 AM - Thread Starter
dgk
Senior Member
 
dgk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Palm Beach County Florida
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roussi View Post
Depends what glasses you got. Yes, the projector has DLP link, and yes, no emitter is required for that (it's a screen light flash), but the glasses also have to be DLP-link. If the glasses are IR/RF/BT, then they need the corresponding emitter off the VESA port.
Thanks, they're DLP: "Works with all DLP Link projectors! Compatible with Optoma/BenQ/Sharp/Acer/LG/Samsung/Mitsubishi and other series DLP projectors". So just set within reasonable range of the screen and it operates off the screen. Great, thanks.

I won't have a chance to try this before Friday but by the end of Saturday I'll know. It turns out that a few of the 3D disks I found at the dollar store got pretty decent reviews for 3D effect. Pacific Rim, Tarzan, Rise of the Empire. Should be fun.

I just saw the latest Star Wars movie in 3D at the local theater. Eh. Decent effects, and plenty of explosions, but I'm not a huge SW fan so it sort of passed me by. I am a big Marvel fan so I'll have to get a few of those in 3D. Dr. Strange was great in 3D, particularly when the buildings were rotating.
dgk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 Old 01-08-2020, 06:26 PM - Thread Starter
dgk
Senior Member
 
dgk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Palm Beach County Florida
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Huge success. Naturally I couldn't wait to try it out so I did it tonight. Tarzan looked great in 3D. I had audio issues though. I used a coax to analog converter but apparently there' s an issue of PCM or non-PCM and all I got was sound like a helicopter taking off. I tried to change the BR player audio output but the sound booth is far from the screen and I couldn't read the screen from the booth or operate the BR player from near the screen. Maybe I'll get a cohort to stay by the screen and tell me what it says.

We've used an HDMI to analog audio converter on the non-3D BR players with success so I ordered another one of those - they do claim to pass 3D as long as all the outputs support it. I can't use one that we already have in the system because they go through the 4*4 matrix and booth monitor and those don't support 3D. This will be a bit of a kludgy system but it will work I think.

By way of explanation, the 4*4 matrix currently has two BR players, one English region, the other European, plus a cable TV box and PC hooked up as inputs. The outputs are the booth monitor, central (main Optoma) projector, and two side projectors (Sharp or Sony, I forget). I put in an 2-to-1 HDMI switch so I can bypass the matrix and hook the 3D BR player directly to the balan going to the Optoma. The soundboard is an analog Soundcraft GB4 so getting the audio through it is a bit of a workout. I put this all in another thread but figured I'd repeat it here for simplicity.

Thanks for all the help. Now that I know it's going to work, I'll order a few more 3D videos.
dgk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply 3D Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off