Need a 3D Emitter for my Panansonic TH-50BT300U Plasma - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 01-18-2020, 02:47 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Need a 3D Emitter for my Panansonic TH-50BT300U Plasma

Hi everyone,
I recently acquired an extremely high-end Panasonic TH-50BT300U Plasma 3D display. The picture is absolutely stunning.

Here's the problem. It is fully 3D ready, but it has no 3D emitter. The optional emitter was sold separately for about $2,500. (no joke!).

Its has a small 1/8" mini jack on the back (the size of a small headphone jack) that says "3D Shutter Out". I bought a Monster3D glasses/emitter set, and used both a 2 connection and 3 connection mini plug to connect the jack to the input jack of the Monster3D emitter, but no luck. The Monster Emitter does not recognize any sync signal.

Does anyone have any experience getting a 3rd party emitter to work with this fantastic display?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Panasonic_BackPanel.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	75.2 KB
ID:	2671636  
Dan3D is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 01-18-2020, 11:13 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Anyone? Beuller? Beuller?

Anyone have any ideas about this? I know there has to be a solution.
Dan3D is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 01-21-2020, 05:38 AM
Member
 
adam_knox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Sorry, not off the top of head. I thought there was a standard format for 3d emitter out signals. Check the manual to see if it has any phrasing to see of it sounds proprietary or anything. Would also check if its 120 or 144 for the 3d shutter. Maybe that has to match, like your TV was 144 but the monster is only 120. Sorry, I really have no specific knowledge on this, just what makes sense to me if I was trying to find a unit.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
adam_knox is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 Old 01-21-2020, 07:47 PM
Member
 
PCummins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Just throwing some ideas in, I'm not an electrical expert:

Looks like the specifications are online for similar transmitters (TY-3D30TRW so looks like it uses a M3 jack (Centre Plus) for 8V at 150mA on 850 nm wavelength. (According to the manual here).

Adorama may have the correct transmitter here for $570? Unfortunately you pay a premium for display signage/pro systems these days. This probably is the fastest option (unless you find one somewhere else) as paying to build something custom with specialists below will probably consume most of equivalent budget. Also would need the correct IR glasses to work with it as well, which is a different problem separate to the transmitter.

Otherwise it'd require someone with some electrical know-how to firstly connect something to the port and then analyse the signal coming out of it (probably pulsed in sync with the display, needs an oscilloscope or similar), then to see what IR LEDs would be suitable, my guess is it's using an array of LED's (maybe 10x 15mA?) pulsed but would probably need an Arduino or other similar microcontroller to adjust timing and convert the signal into something useful. At the least you would analyse the signal to convert it to something a normal IR LED could handle and then see if it would work. You could also use the above to try and adapt the signal to your Monster 3D specs but would need it working on an existing TV + your TV to see what signal it accepts, or if you have the specs it's possible to see why it's not working. It could be something as simple as the plug is reversed (Center Gnd) but definitely would need some investigation to figure out the correct signal to use. Also looks like most of those glasses are dead battery wise, so could be that as well not powering on due to age.
PCummins is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply 3D Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off