3D Bluray disc creation/authoring with 2d/3d menus - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 46 Old 11-05-2011, 05:04 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mrmrmrmr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thx.

I hope they release a better version with 3d menu features etc.
mrmrmrmr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 46 Old 11-05-2011, 05:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Wolfgang S.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vienna/Austria
Posts: 1,215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 16
There is only one consumer product with 3D menue 3D BD capabilities by now - and that is the PD10. But still has some bugs especially with 3D menus, but they work on it.

Kind regards,
Wolfgang
videotreffpunkt.com
Wolfgang S. is offline  
post #33 of 46 Old 11-27-2011, 04:41 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mrmrmrmr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what is PD10 ?
mrmrmrmr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 46 Old 11-27-2011, 04:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Wolfgang S.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vienna/Austria
Posts: 1,215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Cyberlinks Powerdirector 10.

Kind regards,
Wolfgang
videotreffpunkt.com
Wolfgang S. is offline  
post #35 of 46 Old 11-27-2011, 05:06 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mrmrmrmr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
does that have any cons to vegas pro ?
mrmrmrmr is offline  
post #36 of 46 Old 11-27-2011, 06:29 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Don Landis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 12,925
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1483 Post(s)
Liked: 438
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmrmrmr View Post

does that have any cons to vegas pro ?

If you know Vegas Pro, then you know that it can make a 3D BluRay disk of your timeline and cannot edit JVC TD1 MVC video with direct import. What Power Director 10 offers is a complete 3D editing package that is compatible with the JVC MVC format for 3D as well as a complete 3D Blu Ray authoring with 3D menus and DTS encoder for higher quality sound. The editor is, IMO, quite limited compared to Vegas Pro v11 but does offer some other minor features that Vegas Pro lacks. The two in combination makes for a really complete editing and authoring bundle.
If you have the JVC TD1 then Power Director is the only simple 3D editing software out today that is as loaded with features as it is and for a great price of around $100 depending on deals offered. If you now edit 3D with twin cameras or Sony TD10 camcorder and use Vegas Pro v11 then adding PD10 is a really great way to enhance your distribution quality.

My 3D and 360VR videos and more
Don Landis HT System: Projector Sony VPL VW665ES Players: Samsung UBD K8500 OPPO BD93 Sony BDP S6200 All Regions Player Denon AVR S940, 7.1 JBL Professional series and Klipsch PS3, XBOX360, Dish VIP722K; 3D Edit Suite:Adobe Premiere, Edius7.53, Vegas Pro v13, Power Director16, i9-7980XE/GTX1080Ti, LG 3D TV DM2752
Don Landis is offline  
post #37 of 46 Old 11-27-2011, 11:10 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mrmrmrmr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks for this little but nice explanation.
actually I only have a Fuji Real3D camera and I use its limited 3d video capabilities to capture my 2 year old son's moments.
Then I use Vegas Pro to combine them and create 3D Bluray CD.

I can use PowerDirector's additional features like menu editing etc. to have a more professional looking video CD.
Ok; I'll try the trial version.
mrmrmrmr is offline  
post #38 of 46 Old 11-27-2011, 12:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Wolfgang S.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vienna/Austria
Posts: 1,215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 16
In the trial version the AVC/MVC encoder is blocked. So the generation of a 3D BD with menu does not work.

Kind regards,
Wolfgang
videotreffpunkt.com
Wolfgang S. is offline  
post #39 of 46 Old 11-27-2011, 12:34 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mrmrmrmr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
but then how will I try before purchase ?
mrmrmrmr is offline  
post #40 of 46 Old 11-27-2011, 12:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Richard Adams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Northern California
Posts: 2,140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmrmrmr View Post

but then how will I try before purchase ?

The trial lets you see if you like the program's features and user interface. Other users here have posted results of how to use this for burning, and what the results of that are like.

Here is a link to the main thread about the PD10. There are companion posts in other threads about how to achieve optimum results using other tools in conjunction with PD10.

https://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1366056

"With Liberty, HDTV and Justice for all."
Richard Adams
Richard Adams is offline  
post #41 of 46 Old 11-27-2011, 03:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mrmrmrmr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm sorry, PD10 is very different for me; how do you put a 3D menu here ?
(I'm on trial version)
mrmrmrmr is offline  
post #42 of 46 Old 11-28-2011, 03:09 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Don Landis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 12,925
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1483 Post(s)
Liked: 438
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmrmrmr View Post

I'm sorry, PD10 is very different for me; how do you put a 3D menu here ?
(I'm on trial version)

Well, you are going to need to go to their website as they have plenty of video tutorials on how to use PD10.

My 3D and 360VR videos and more
Don Landis HT System: Projector Sony VPL VW665ES Players: Samsung UBD K8500 OPPO BD93 Sony BDP S6200 All Regions Player Denon AVR S940, 7.1 JBL Professional series and Klipsch PS3, XBOX360, Dish VIP722K; 3D Edit Suite:Adobe Premiere, Edius7.53, Vegas Pro v13, Power Director16, i9-7980XE/GTX1080Ti, LG 3D TV DM2752
Don Landis is offline  
post #43 of 46 Old 07-29-2018, 01:30 PM
Member
 
Morgus1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Does the PD 16 current version still do all of this? They don’t list it in the specs.
I’ll want to take already edited possibly file lists of frames or can encode first.... full SBS and write a blue ray 3D disc.
Morgus1 is offline  
post #44 of 46 Old 07-29-2018, 04:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tomtastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 3,239
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1270 Post(s)
Liked: 508
Yes, I just upgraded from 13 to 16, much faster too.
Don Landis likes this.

This line intentionally left blank.
tomtastic is offline  
post #45 of 46 Old 07-29-2018, 06:53 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Don Landis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 12,925
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1483 Post(s)
Liked: 438
Quote:
Originally Posted by Morgus1 View Post
Does the PD 16 current version still do all of this? They don’t list it in the specs.
I’ll want to take already edited possibly file lists of frames or can encode first.... full SBS and write a blue ray 3D disc.
The way I did it was to render Top Bottom FULL in Vegas Pro. This can't be properly displayed on a normal 3D monitor so I just render and import the file into PD. This is just to create maximum resolution on the inter editor file. But the PD editor will generate a frame packed full 1080 24P x 1920 Blu Ray compatible with every player I have tried. Then I render a 5.1 wave file for the surround sound. You probably don't need surround. Once on the PD timeline. I then go to the "chapters" section and add the chapters to the timeline. Then you move to the menu section and design the menu. You can create insert 3D images to your own menu design or use sections of the 3D program that loop. Once your menu is designed, the project is rendered to an iso file and then burned to your Blu-ray BR-R. I believe it now supports 100GB discs but the most I use is BD-R 50's. I have an ink jet printer that prints the disks too. You can burn as many disks as you want with the iso file without needing to render every time.

My 3D and 360VR videos and more
Don Landis HT System: Projector Sony VPL VW665ES Players: Samsung UBD K8500 OPPO BD93 Sony BDP S6200 All Regions Player Denon AVR S940, 7.1 JBL Professional series and Klipsch PS3, XBOX360, Dish VIP722K; 3D Edit Suite:Adobe Premiere, Edius7.53, Vegas Pro v13, Power Director16, i9-7980XE/GTX1080Ti, LG 3D TV DM2752
Don Landis is offline  
post #46 of 46 Old 07-30-2018, 07:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
3DBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 2,445
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1087 Post(s)
Liked: 586
I might add that I render in full SBS in Edius and create a bluray in PD, but with some video, 24fps creates way too much judder, so I will create a 720x60p bluray. While you lose some resolution, it's still considered HD and the 60fps makes it very smooth. This works best for video with lots of panning or moving objects. I should note that if you do this, you should also render your full SBS (or TB) video to 30p or 60p first.
3DBob is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply 3D Source Components

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off