Which is actually worth investing into? 3D vs Streaming vs Blu Ray vs 4k? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By brazen1

post #1 of 6 Old 03-26-2018, 01:54 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Which is actually worth investing into? 3D vs Streaming vs Blu Ray vs 4k?

I just got a 3d Projector (HT1070) last week, and the family and I are really enjoying that on a 92" screen. I was at walmart looking at Blu ray players to use instead of my PS3 (it's older and I was hoping to get a region free player), and found the BDP-S6700 for $90. I happened to look on walmarts site, and found it refurbished for $40. I went ahead and ordered it since it had great reviews for picture quality in streaming and blu-ray, but I am new to all this. I was debating getting a second one, however, I didn't know if it would be better to move into 4k players instead for my living room tv if I am going to buy another device. I have a 55" 4k tv, but honestly, I don't know if I want to pick up two new hobbies (4k and 3D). I already have just over 400 movies on Vudu(mostly HDx), and now I'm starting a 3D collection. I'm up to around 20 blu ray movies in 3D.

I've only tried a few 4k movies with my tv on Vudu, and I wasn't impressed. It didn't look any better than HDX to me. I guess the TV already upscales HDX to 4k, and with it only being 55", streaming(compressed), and 10 ft away I can't really tell any difference. I can tell some difference with 4k Youtube videos, especially nature scenes, but not actual movies. I do not have a 4k player or any 4k blu rays. I just own a couple 4k digital movies on Vudu.

With all that being said, what would be the wisest thing to continue collecting?