180 degree 3D - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 27 Old 08-22-2018, 08:18 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
180 degree 3D

I'm not sure if this forum is the best fit, but there is a absolute lack of online information about this subject.

I'm intrigued about the possibilities offered by 180 3d VR. Preserving special events, happenings, heck even loved ones, and pets! Unfortunatley I seem to be rather alone in this excitement as there is apparently little interest? This forum seems to have the most related knowledge.

The camera

I'm just a hobbyist, but would like something better than the current crop of VR "point and shoot" choices. Reports indicate they all suffer from poor video quality and resolution. I'm therefore researching a DIY camera rig, but again very little information, and discussion exists on this subject. I'd like something that cam be synced at the very least, and with genlock if affordable. I'm having a hard time finding these specs for the cameras I've investigated.

I know a popular choice is the GOPro hero 3? with the genlock kit, but they are now obsolete, and were rather low rez? is that correct?

Then there is newer GoPro camera with the aftermarket Genlock attachable backs? Any comment on these?

My first choice for a camera would be the Zcam E1 cameras. These appear to be a step above the Go pros, and are heavily discounted. However, there is no information about their :sync" abilities, and no aftermarket gen lock options? http://www.z-cam.com/e1/
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 27 Old 08-22-2018, 09:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Quoted: 1087 Post(s)
Liked: 586