How to display 3D to a 3D DLP projector from PC? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 Old 07-27-2016, 04:17 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question How to display 3D to a 3D DLP projector from PC?

I bought a BenQ HT 1085ST DLP 3D projector. I have a relatively fast computer with a Xeon E5 3.2Ghz 6 Core with a very old ATI AMD Radeon 4850 HD video card.

I have tried watching SbS and TnB 3D movies which is okay. but due to the fact that only half resolution going to each eyes the output is not sharp.

Then I tried to use TriDef 3D to play games using SbS. Well league of Legend to be exact. It's okay and not sharp at all.

When I try to install iz3D driver, it crashed my Windows 10 system.

So I am wondering what is the best bet for me to achieve Frame Sequentail 3D to my projector?

I probably need a new video card? I understand nVidia 3D vision doesn't work with DLP. So I can only buy a ATI card?

Also if a buy a card like R9 480, do I still need to use TriDef or 3rd party stuff to get 3D gaming? Or just enable HD3D and viola?


THANKS

Sappy
sappy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 Old 07-28-2016, 04:06 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone has suggestions?
sappy is offline  
post #3 of 24 Old 07-28-2016, 11:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NW USA
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 47
You need AMD 5xxx and up (with TriDef AFAIK, I have no experience with games) or NVidia 4xx and up with 3DTVPlay (sold separately) for 3D; frame-packed, limited to [email protected] or [email protected] (or, with AMD only, frame-sequential at [email protected] Hz).
Roussi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 24 Old 07-29-2016, 02:13 AM
Senior Member
 
fxrh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Nvidia 3D Vision (or, more properly, 3D Play) works just fine on my DLP projector (Optoma HD25-LV).

PowerDVD 16 Ultra software will probably serve your purposes better than Tridef. I gave up on Tridef years ago. 3D via PowerDVD works fine with my HTPC, which is now six years old (Nvidia GTX460 graphics card).

I recently upgraded to Windows 10 without any problem and the 3D configuration made it through unscathed.

One thing I don't know is whether it is now possible to enable Nvidia 3D Play without purchasing the blinking green doo-hickey that was required when I originally set up my 3D HTPC about five years ago. (Please forgive my high-tech talk.)

Last edited by fxrh; 07-29-2016 at 03:25 AM.
fxrh is offline  
post #5 of 24 Old 07-29-2016, 02:50 AM
Senior Member
 
fxrh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 53
From what I can tell, you still need the Nvidia 3D Vision emitter to enable the 3D Play feature on your PC (just as I did years ago). (I have an opinion about this hardware requirement that I'll keep to myself for the sake of politeness.)

https://www.amazon.com/nVidia-GeForc...+3d+vision+kit

By the way, 3D Blu-rays look every bit as good on my PC as they do on my standalone Blu-ray player, and I can watch 2D movies in simulated 3D using my PowerDVD 16 Ultra software. (My Blu-ray player also has a 2D-to-3D conversion feature, but it isn't nearly as good as the PowerDVD converter on the PC.)

Last edited by fxrh; 07-29-2016 at 04:22 AM.
fxrh is offline  
post #6 of 24 Old 07-29-2016, 04:03 AM
Senior Member
 
fxrh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 53
An Nvidia 3D Vision IR emitter is still required to enable Nvidia 3D Play on a PC that lacks a built-in emitter. (On the link below, see the NOTE on item 3 or download the User Guide.)

BUMMER!

http://www.nvidia.com/object/3dtv-play-overview.html

Last edited by fxrh; 07-29-2016 at 04:14 AM.
fxrh is offline  
post #7 of 24 Old 07-29-2016, 09:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NW USA
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 47
The emitter is not required for 3DTVPlay, it only makes it free. Neither the adapter nor 3DTVPlay are required for 3D Bluray play with NVidia, only player software (eg. PDVD) is required. 3DTVPlay is required only for gaming with NVidia. Tridef is for gaming only.
Roussi is offline  
post #8 of 24 Old 07-29-2016, 01:21 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So if I want to save money I should go for AMD ATI and avoid the 3DTVplay kit?



Sappy

__________________________________________________ ___________________
To Err is human. No wonder tube amp sounds better.
sappy is offline  
post #9 of 24 Old 07-29-2016, 02:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NW USA
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by sappy View Post
So if I want to save money I should go for AMD ATI and avoid the 3DTVplay kit?
This is what I've been doing, however I don't game. If you need answers on 3D gaming, this is not quite the right forum.
Roussi is offline  
post #10 of 24 Old 07-29-2016, 03:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rekbones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Somers, CT
Posts: 3,300
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1112 Post(s)
Liked: 573
You just need a video card that supports HDMI 1.4.

"Smart enough to know better, to old to care" ------ Dedicated Bat Cave Home Theater, JVC RS49U/Mitsubishi HC7900DW Projector, 110" 16:9 Jamestown screen with variable power masking for CIW 2.50:1 to 16:9, Marantz 7009 with 7.1.4 Atmos with Ohm mains,3 DIY Subs (2 15" (1 ported, 1 sealed and a 12" 4th order bandpass), 1 DIY butt kicker, Custom Built HTPC, 18TB DroboFS NAS
rekbones is online now  
post #11 of 24 Old 08-01-2016, 07:35 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you very much everyone. I kinda read somewhere that there was a hack in the nVidia driver that I can just buy a light blinker thing to replace the 3D vision emitter. This allows me to use a nVidia card with 3D DLP?



Sappy

__________________________________________________ ___________________
To Err is human. No wonder tube amp sounds better.
sappy is offline  
post #12 of 24 Old 09-09-2016, 07:18 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,

I got a new video card ATI AMD Radeon R9 360. I tried playing some 3D movies and play 3D games at 60Hz, but it's very flicker. Is it possible to get 120Hz on my BenQ HT1085ST projector? I tried Toasty CRU, tried importing an ASUS EDID inf file to unlock the 120Hz but it didn't work. I was wondering what is the proper way to get 120Hz?

I tried both a HDMI cable and a DVI to HDMI cable.

Sappy
sappy is offline  
post #13 of 24 Old 09-10-2016, 12:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
BlackShark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Montpellier, France
Posts: 787
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 41
This projector runs under the hdmi 1.4a scheme. There is no 120Hz mode.
When using HD3D, it will detect the hdmi1.4a capability, the computer then either sends frame packing (a special stereoscopic format) at 1080p24 or 720p60 (stereoscopic pack of 2 frames) to the projector according to your windows desktop resolution (AMD's drivers copy your 2D options for HD3D mode, make sure you have previously set your desktop to display properly at both these resolutions before activating an HD3D game or Tridef using HD3D mode).
Then the projector does whatever it wants to the picture to display it in 3D.

What kind of flicker do you encounter ? Can you describe what happens ?

Passive 3D, forever !
My Full-HD dual-projector passive polarised 3D setup. (really out of date ! I need to update it some day...)


Last edited by BlackShark; 09-10-2016 at 12:31 PM.
BlackShark is offline  
post #14 of 24 Old 11-05-2016, 01:33 PM
Senior Member
 
relaxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Even my cheap geforce210 is hdmi 1.4 3D compatible
There is software emulator for 3d vision, but i don't find it now.
relaxman is offline  
post #15 of 24 Old 11-10-2016, 06:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gec5741's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Chcago land area
Posts: 1,039
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 102
I use an intel NUCDC3217iYE (older model) that just has onboard intel graphics card as my "HTPC". Primarily I've been using it as a plex client to my projector in my media room. I have an Epson 5030ub projector. I have used SBS 3d rips playing through plex and they play fine but as you said in your original post they are just not as sharp as the actual disc. What I've just now started playing around with is PowerDVD ultra 16. I can take an iso image of a 3d disc and mount it within windows 10. Then through pdvd play the iso just fine. I did have some audio sync issues that I was able to correct with some offset settings within pdvd. I only just started messing around with this setup and hope to watch a full movie this weekend. I can't answer anything regarding games though but just playing a 3d movie only using a computer is very doable and doesn't take a whole lot. just the right software. I would think for games it would be similar but would require the right video card as well.
gec5741 is offline  
post #16 of 24 Old 11-17-2016, 10:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
The_Nephilim1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New Jersey USA
Posts: 961
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by sappy View Post
Hi all,

I got a new video card ATI AMD Radeon R9 360. I tried playing some 3D movies and play 3D games at 60Hz, but it's very flicker. Is it possible to get 120Hz on my BenQ HT1085ST projector? I tried Toasty CRU, tried importing an ASUS EDID inf file to unlock the 120Hz but it didn't work. I was wondering what is the proper way to get 120Hz?

I tried both a HDMI cable and a DVI to HDMI cable.

Sappy


Well not sure on how to set it too 120hz with a AMD Card but it looks like from the manual 120hz is only available at 1280x800 resolution.. So try setting it in that res and try playing a movie it should kick in to 120hz??


Are you playing on a HTPC?? or just hrough a bluray player??

My Humble HT: Integra 40.3 Audyssey Calibrated / Denon 1930Ci SACD/DVD-A Player / Sony 3600 3D blu Ray / Behringer iNuke 3000DSP / Mach 5 IXL 18.4 Subwoofer / Optoma HD142x 3D REady 1080P DLP Projector / 92" 16:9 Manual screen / miniDSP HD2x4
The_Nephilim1 is offline  
post #17 of 24 Old 11-17-2016, 10:54 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am playing on a HTPC, yes I think I tried 1280x800 and it went to 120hz but not full 1080p. Aww bummer.. Now I need to buy another video card?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
sappy is offline  
post #18 of 24 Old 11-17-2016, 10:55 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Actually now that I modified with the Asus EDID, I can't get any mode to work in 120hz.. Omg


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
sappy is offline  
post #19 of 24 Old 11-18-2016, 09:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
The_Nephilim1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New Jersey USA
Posts: 961
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by sappy View Post
I am playing on a HTPC, yes I think I tried 1280x800 and it went to 120hz but not full 1080p. Aww bummer.. Now I need to buy another video card?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk


No you do not need a new video card. the only projectors that can do 1080P at 120 hz are over 50K and use Dual Link DVI. Running at 720P @ 120Hz is the same with NVidia..
but that is mainly for gaming..


I am unsure what the res. is when watching movies??

My Humble HT: Integra 40.3 Audyssey Calibrated / Denon 1930Ci SACD/DVD-A Player / Sony 3600 3D blu Ray / Behringer iNuke 3000DSP / Mach 5 IXL 18.4 Subwoofer / Optoma HD142x 3D REady 1080P DLP Projector / 92" 16:9 Manual screen / miniDSP HD2x4
The_Nephilim1 is offline  
post #20 of 24 Old 11-18-2016, 11:05 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I usually watch movie at 1080p. It has noticeably improvement over 720p. Same for gaming. I guess I won't be watching 3D movie on my projector then.. Bummer....


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
sappy is offline  
post #21 of 24 Old 08-13-2019, 03:10 PM
Newbie
 
aspectus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Nephilim1 View Post
No you do not need a new video card. the only projectors that can do 1080P at 120 hz are over 50K and use Dual Link DVI.
Now a few years later, you can get Optoma HD27H / HD27HDR, well under 1K. The trick being this thing is a 2K projector but has the 4K input so it does tricksy things that I enjoy.

https://www.optoma.com/ap/wp-content...rochure_EN.pdf
aspectus is offline  
post #22 of 24 Old 08-14-2019, 12:28 AM
Senior Member
 
relaxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 16
So you say we can finally have 1080/60p / eye 3D quality with games or my own 1080/60p stereo videos?
This projector only accept that signal or really show every pixel on the screen?
What vga/software is needed for that?

thanks
relaxman is offline  
post #23 of 24 Old 08-17-2019, 03:10 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I bought an HD29H, wich is the European nameof HD27HDR.
I have far enought bandwidth as I can display 4k 60Hz (well, the card send a 4k signal and the projector downscale it to 1080p).


I have a Vega 64, I can use HD3D in order to display 720p 60Hz 3D or 1080p 24Hz 3D, bu even that is a bit tricky, some games don't want (Trine), tridef nowaday need to be cracked and also sometimes works well and often fail to activate correctle HD3D.


Currently the only way I found is to use 4K60 SBS, so that it match ( it's a bit better in fact) 1080p 3D 60Hz 3D quality, but in case of games, it give a hard time to the GPU and increase input lag.


So if you found a way to make it work, I want to know it.
Guig Esprit du Sage is offline  
post #24 of 24 Old 08-17-2019, 03:19 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Can't edit my own post.
HD29H is in fact updated comparatively of HD27HDR as is use the newer 0.47'' DMD chip.
Guig Esprit du Sage is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply 3D Tech Talk

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off