Soundbar HW-FM55C ARC setup??!? Problems....Help! - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 5 Old 12-16-2013, 11:52 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I am rather new at this, so I apologize ahead of time.  I just bought a Samsung Crystal Surround Soundbar and I'm having some issues.

The setup:

TV: Samsung 60" 3D Smart TV: UN60F7050af
3D Blu-Ray: Sony BDP-S5100 

Soundbar:  AirTrack HW-FM55C 

HD CableTV box 

Before purchasing the soundbar I had my HD CableTV box plugged into HDMI 1 on the TV.  My Blu-Ray player was plugged into HDMI 2 (ARC).  The soundbar has 2 HDMI ports (IN and OUT), and initially, I plugged the soundbar (using HDMI OUT) directly into HDMI 3 on the TV.  After powering on soundbar, set source to HDMI and got no sound.  I double checked my TV's audio settings, changed to external speakers and got nothing.

I then plugged the included optical cable into the soundbar and plugged into the back of the TV.  After doing this, I was able to get it working as long as the source on the soundbar was set to D.IN (Digital Optical in).  However, it's a bit annoying to have to use 2 remotes.  One to change channels and one to handle volume.  Also, even though both the soundbar and TV are Anytime+ ready devices, kicking on the TV won't turn on the soundbar.