The first Atmos Soundbar-Yamaha YSP 5600 - Page 3 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 110Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 681 Old 11-12-2015, 01:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Gator1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Orlando
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 61
You can go to the Yamaha website here and enter your email and they will notify you when it is available. On the website site is says December.

http://usa.yamaha.com/products/audio...ces_worlds%2f&
Gator1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 681 Old 11-12-2015, 01:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Gator1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Orlando
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by taichi4 View Post
I've always been intrigued by the Yamahas with their beam projectors, but my living room, unfortunately, blends into the dining room via a large arch. So, essentially, I have a three sided room. Out of curiosity, how well do the upper tier Yamahas cope with less than ideal environments such as mine? Not too well, I imagine.

It's funny how some in these threads refer to the beam projecting Yamahas as producing simulated surround sound. Although Yamaha does make some inexpensive sound bars which use psychoacoustics to produce a surround effect (AIR SURROUND XREME), the YSP series produce true surround, albeit through projection and reflection.

The Atmos model should be a wonderful option for those with suitable environments.
In the video it seems to indicate that the most important sounds are the ones directed to the ceiling and side walls. These seem to direct the sound the best to the listerer. So not having a "back wall" as such may not be a problem. In the demos I did not see anything being bounced off a back wall but I guess we will have to wait and see. My room is the same as yours.
Gator1 is offline  
post #63 of 681 Old 11-12-2015, 02:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RayGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7,544
Mentioned: 70 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3104 Post(s)
Liked: 2893
Quote:
Originally Posted by 18Hurts View Post
Odd,

Granted, audio reviewers always love the latest thing but... let me get this straight

Atmos the bounce off the ceiling type is generally panned by the home theater folks as a poorly executed and rather bogus way of doing Atmos. If you want sound to come from a location, put a speaker in that location way of thinking. Knowing a bit about acoustics and really did not like the reflective Bose 901... I question Yamaha and putting bounce speakers in a sound bar. Sure, they can make a boat load of money but I figured they would make a second sound bar that mounts above the TV (or at the top of the wall between the wall/ceiling junction) that would steer the sound better and could be added to existing sound bars.

Basically, an Atmos sound bar to mount at the wall/ceiling junction and could have an optional Atmos processor that could extract the signal so regular soundbars could be used with it.

Then again, it is just a soundbar so it is targeted to fit it's niche'...
Yeah, nobody who would buy this would want another one siting at or near the ceiling.
RayGuy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64 of 681 Old 11-12-2015, 05:37 PM
Senior Member
 
WebEffect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 444
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 44
What's with all the Yamaha exposure on this website lately? How much are they paying?

I 've seen barely anything about Yamaha since 2006 and suddenly we're bombarded by Yamaha left right and centre?
WebEffect is offline  
post #65 of 681 Old 11-12-2015, 06:56 PM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 32,784
Mentioned: 464 Post(s)
Tagged: 5 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6180 Post(s)
Liked: 5870
one other tidbit, Triad had a prototype proof of concept Atmos soundbar at Cedia. Pretty simple affair, 3 forward firing speakers. two directed at the ceiling

BIGmouthinDC is offline  
post #66 of 681 Old 11-12-2015, 07:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 2,632
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1316 Post(s)
Liked: 2177
Quote:
Originally Posted by RayGuy View Post
Yeah, nobody who would buy this would want another one siting at or near the ceiling.
Not TWO speakers! All depends how you look at it.

A person that would blow big bucks on a sound bar tends to highly value how it looks, size etc. etc. etc. In reality, most people won't yap about sound bars as a point of conversation (AVS folks exempted!) Now if they see two of them, they might ask WTF is that? Why two of them?
It's not like there is a use for the wall space above the TV... so a second Atmos bar could work.

Not a hard stretch to have the HDMI go to the Atmos bar first, have it processed there and an HDMI out to the second sound bar for conventional x.x surround bar. Really like steering speakers (used in line arrays for concerts etc.) so it could work as an "Atmos bar".

It would be a pretty cool system for the bedroom, allow folks that already blew big bucks for a decent surround bar to add another and should work fine.

That would lead to, IMHO a very cool solution for traditional surround sound systems. The Auro 3D bar with one (or two) high powered "bars" mounted at the wall/ceiling junction since that format is more flexible with height processing. I'm fully aware that my wife would refuse ripping holes in the ceiling for Atmos so maybe in a few years, this technology could move.

Then again, I might have answered a question nobody asked!
18Hurts is offline  
post #67 of 681 Old 11-13-2015, 12:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 1,621
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1018 Post(s)
Liked: 355
why buy a stereo system when i can buy a perfectly good mono speaker that presents sound all around me in a 360 degree force field.

ATMOS soundbars FTW!!!!!111111

Im going to wait for the Bose version though. i heard Bose is the best!!
sage11x likes this.
1201 is offline  
post #68 of 681 Old 11-13-2015, 12:15 AM
Senior Member
 
Shniks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1201 View Post

Im going to wait for the Bose version though. i heard Bose is the best!!


Shniks is offline  
post #69 of 681 Old 11-13-2015, 12:49 AM
Member
 
echtogammut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Not only did that demo have a partially missing wall, all the walls were made out of glass. The open sidewall was probably there to stop the flutter echo effect. Anyone who had an opinion about a demo in a glass room should just stop writing audio reviews. I must confess I haven't heard a sound bar, but I am guessing they must work marginally well or people wouldn't buy them. However reflecting sound off of drywall and dealing with variable surfaces in a room is dramatically different from bouncing sound waves around a glass room. The correct reviews should all read, "it sounded good, but it was in a glass room so I have no idea how it will sound in the real world".
echtogammut is offline  
post #70 of 681 Old 11-13-2015, 06:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
49Merc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: North Texas
Posts: 2,424
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 675 Post(s)
Liked: 134
From what I have read about the 5600 it will not function as designed without solid side wall and 8' ceiling. These spec's would immediately rule out our space. See the below image (minus existing speakers)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	696
Size:	211.9 KB
ID:	1054465  

Sony 4K XBR55X930E, Sony 4K UBPX800 Blu-Ray Player, Sony HTST 5000 SoundBar, DirecTV 4K HS17 w/2 Mini Genies, Panamax MR5100 Power Manager, Harmony Elite Remote, Monoprice Cables
49Merc is offline  
post #71 of 681 Old 11-13-2015, 06:29 AM
Mark Henninger
 
imagic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 16,257
Mentioned: 459 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9297 Post(s)
Liked: 16458
Quote:
Originally Posted by 49Merc View Post
From what I have read about the 5600 it will not function as designed without solid side wall and 8' ceiling. These spec's would immediately rule out our space. See the below image (minus existing speakers)
Yeah, it relies on reflected sound so it needs a room that will work with it.
49Merc likes this.

Mark Henninger
Editor, AVS Forum
imagic is online now  
post #72 of 681 Old 11-13-2015, 06:56 AM
Newbie
 
IMF2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Dear Mr X,
Thanks for your email and for your interest in Yamaha A/V & Hi-fi.

We have been checking with our engineers and currently there are no plans to have HDR support on our YSP-5600 at this moment in time.

Hope this helps and if you have any further questions or queries, please do not hesitate to ask.

Many thanks

Yamaha Technical A/V

A/V & Hi-fi Technical Support
Yamaha Music Europe GmbH (UK)
Sherbourne Drive
Tilbrook
Milton Keynes
MK7 8BL
IMF2000 is offline  
post #73 of 681 Old 11-13-2015, 08:15 AM
Mark Henninger
 
imagic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 16,257
Mentioned: 459 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9297 Post(s)
Liked: 16458
Quote:
Originally Posted by IMF2000 View Post
Dear Mr X,
Thanks for your email and for your interest in Yamaha A/V & Hi-fi.

We have been checking with our engineers and currently there are no plans to have HDR support on our YSP-5600 at this moment in time.

Hope this helps and if you have any further questions or queries, please do not hesitate to ask.

Many thanks

Yamaha Technical A/V

A/V & Hi-fi Technical Support
Yamaha Music Europe GmbH (UK)
Sherbourne Drive
Tilbrook
Milton Keynes
MK7 8BL
Bummer, but at the same time not all HDR requires HDMI 2.0a, namely Dolby Vision. Also irrelevant when streaming HDR content from a TV app. Still, a bit disappointing.

Mark Henninger
Editor, AVS Forum
imagic is online now  
post #74 of 681 Old 11-13-2015, 08:20 AM
Newbie
 
IMF2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by imagic View Post
Bummer, but at the same time not all HDR requires HDMI 2.0a, namely Dolby Vision. Also irrelevant when streaming HDR content from a TV app. Still, a bit disappointing.
Deal breaker for me as I'd want to connect UHD blu-ray player via AMP to ensure full decode of ATMOS/DTS:X AND pass through HDR...

As far as I'm concerned they are releasing a seriously flawed product.
IMF2000 is offline  
post #75 of 681 Old 11-13-2015, 09:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tigerfan33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,810
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 442 Post(s)
Liked: 224
Quote:
Originally Posted by imagic View Post
Bummer, but at the same time not all HDR requires HDMI 2.0a, namely Dolby Vision. Also irrelevant when streaming HDR content from a TV app. Still, a bit disappointing.

When Netflix start streaming 4K and/or 1080p HDR content through Roku 4, 2.0a will not be required?
tigerfan33 is offline  
post #76 of 681 Old 11-13-2015, 09:07 AM
Mark Henninger
 
imagic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 16,257
Mentioned: 459 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9297 Post(s)
Liked: 16458
Quote:
Originally Posted by tigerfan33 View Post
When Netflix start streaming 4K and/or 1080p HDR content through Roku 4, 2.0a will not be required?
"It depends"

I don't have an a good answer, but at CES 2016, I hope to find out more about HDR-related topics including formats and compatibility issues. I'm a bit immersed in some other topics, currently. I have not kept up with the latest HDR-related news, regarding which service is using what format. All I know is the SMPTE standard on the forthcoming Ultra HD Blu-ray format requires HDMI 2.0a, and Dolby Vision does not.

Mark Henninger
Editor, AVS Forum

Last edited by imagic; 11-13-2015 at 09:12 AM.
imagic is online now  
post #77 of 681 Old 11-14-2015, 08:29 AM
Senior Member
 
Gator1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Orlando
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by IMF2000 View Post
Deal breaker for me as I'd want to connect UHD blu-ray player via AMP to ensure full decode of ATMOS/DTS:X AND pass through HDR...

As far as I'm concerned they are releasing a seriously flawed product.
So if you have a UHD blu-ray player, you would connect the output to the soundbar via HDMI and the soundbar output would be connected to your 4K TV via HDMI. Is this correct? If so we are saying that the soundbar would not pass HDR to the TV? You are not able to connect the video output from the UHD blu-ray player to the TV to get HDR benefit and the audio out to the soundbar??
Gator1 is offline  
post #78 of 681 Old 11-14-2015, 08:56 AM
Newbie
 
IMF2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gator1 View Post
So if you have a UHD blu-ray player, you would connect the output to the soundbar via HDMI and the soundbar output would be connected to your 4K TV via HDMI. Is this correct?
Yes that is correct.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gator1 View Post
If so we are saying that the soundbar would not pass HDR to the TV? You are not able to connect the video output from the UHD blu-ray player to the TV to get HDR benefit and the audio out to the soundbar??
Correct, the Soundbar will not be able to pass HDR to the TV as it does not support HDMI 2.0a. It may pass Dolby Vision HDR but I am not interested in that.

If the blu-ray player has TWO HDMI outputs, one for video, and one for audio, then that may provide an inelegant solution.

TOSLINK output on the player will not provide ATMOS or DTS:X output.

ARC from the TV will probably not provide ATMOS or DTS:X output.

Very simple.
HockeyoAJB likes this.
IMF2000 is offline  
post #79 of 681 Old 11-14-2015, 09:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: WI
Posts: 3,085
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2507 Post(s)
Liked: 1210
Quote:
Originally Posted by IMF2000 View Post
Dear Mr X,
Thanks for your email and for your interest in Yamaha A/V & Hi-fi.

We have been checking with our engineers and currently there are no plans to have HDR support on our YSP-5600 at this moment in time.

Hope this helps and if you have any further questions or queries, please do not hesitate to ask.

Many thanks

Yamaha Technical A/V

A/V & Hi-fi Technical Support
Yamaha Music Europe GmbH (UK)
Sherbourne Drive
Tilbrook
Milton Keynes
MK7 8BL
Well, I have emailed Yamaha "technical support" before and have been told the wrong thing both times.

So, who really knows.
New24K is offline  
post #80 of 681 Old 11-14-2015, 09:16 AM
Newbie
 
IMF2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by New24K View Post
Well, I have emailed Yamaha "technical support" before and have been told the wrong thing both times.

So, who really knows.
Well the fact it does not state HDMI 2.0a anywhere would be a good clue.
IMF2000 is offline  
post #81 of 681 Old 11-14-2015, 09:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: WI
Posts: 3,085
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2507 Post(s)
Liked: 1210
Quote:
Originally Posted by IMF2000 View Post
Well the fact it does not state HDMI 2.0a anywhere would be a good clue.
It doesn't state HDMI 2.0 anywhere either
New24K is offline  
post #82 of 681 Old 11-14-2015, 09:31 AM
Newbie
 
IMF2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by New24K View Post
It doesn't state HDMI 2.0 anywhere either

HDMI 4 in (Input1: HDCP2.2) / 1 out (HDCP2.2, ARC)


"To put it another way, all HDCP 2.2 devices will have HDMI 2.0, but not all HDMI 2.0 will have HDCP 2.2."
IMF2000 is offline  
post #83 of 681 Old 11-14-2015, 09:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: WI
Posts: 3,085
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2507 Post(s)
Liked: 1210
My point was that it does not state if it is HDMI 2.0 or HDMI 2.0a.

And that Yamaha "technical support" has been wrong - more than once.

It does however state" "The YSP-5600 supports the latest HDMI standards."

The "latest HDMI standard" is HDMI 2.0a.

So, like I said, who knows - it may have 2.0a and it may not.

I wouldn't rely solely on Yamaha's "technical support"

Just my two cents.

New24K is offline  
post #84 of 681 Old 11-14-2015, 12:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 4,367
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1889 Post(s)
Liked: 1089
All HDMI 2.0 will have HDCP 2.2, however not all HDMI 2.0 devices can handle up to 18gbs some only handle up to 10.2gbs. HDMI 2.0a is needed for HDR. The 5600 spec do not say it is HDMI 2.0a so I doubt it will work for HDR but should work for basic 4K.
Ellebob is offline  
post #85 of 681 Old 11-14-2015, 02:38 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Root suitability

Hello to all YSP-5600 lovers. I am buying this one too, but I am little concerned about our living room - especially the furniture inside it. Some images attached for better picture. Do you think is it suitable? The projector would be placed undet the TV.

Thanks for any advice.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0598.JPG
Views:	672
Size:	185.2 KB
ID:	1057609   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0596.JPG
Views:	672
Size:	222.1 KB
ID:	1057617   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0595.JPG
Views:	642
Size:	170.9 KB
ID:	1057625  
mylix is offline  
post #86 of 681 Old 11-14-2015, 03:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 4,367
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1889 Post(s)
Liked: 1089
I think it will work pretty good in your room, but I am not sure I would give up a nice pair of book shelf speakers to go to a sound bar. The surround effects will be better but not necessarily the sound quality. I'd be more likely to add a sub for the book shelf speakers if you don't have one.
Ellebob is offline  
post #87 of 681 Old 11-14-2015, 04:17 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
markus767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 11,848
Mentioned: 188 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5721 Post(s)
Liked: 2745
I think it would NOT work good in this room. For example, if a beam uses the back of the office chair your side surround would be gone when the chair is turned a bit. Large and flat reflective walls are mandatory for this to work.

Markus

"In science, contrary evidence causes one to question a theory. In religion, contrary evidence causes one to question the evidence." - Floyd Toole
markus767 is offline  
post #88 of 681 Old 11-14-2015, 06:19 PM
Senior Member
 
splogue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Raleigh/Cary/RTP, North Carolina
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by mylix View Post
Hello to all YSP-5600 lovers. I am buying this one too, but I am little concerned about our living room - especially the furniture inside it. Some images attached for better picture. Do you think is it suitable? The projector would be placed undet the TV.

Thanks for any advice.
My opinion is that it would work just fine. Those of us with a missing third wall (like me) are not going to get the best results, but you have them.

BTW, very nice looking room. Modern, but cozy. That's not an easy combination. I'm impressed!

Sean

"The people crazy enough to think they can change the world, are the ones who do."
splogue is offline  
post #89 of 681 Old 11-14-2015, 06:29 PM
Senior Member
 
splogue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Raleigh/Cary/RTP, North Carolina
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 57
I noticed today that Amazon now lists this soundbar as preorder, with no estimated delivery date. The cutoff for Amazon is 30 days, so someone at Yamaha clearly thinks it will be ready in less time than that.

I am disappointed that it appears in the US market, at least, that they are not selling a bundle with the subwoofer. After adding all the separately-priced items like the subwoofer, wireless subwoofer kit, and wall-mounting bracket, the price on this item jumps rather sharply.

I think I'm still going to take the plunge, despite my mostly missing third wall, because I simply have no room whatsoever for even bookshelf speakers in that room. Basically, anything other than a soundbar is going to make my den look like I jammed things into it, and that just isn't going to fly, especially since it is the first thing anyone who enters my front door sees. The bonus room? That I can take a few liberties with, but not this one.

And, there is an advantage to no bundled subwoofer. I have my eye on a much larger one from Polk that should work very well with the wireless kit. Yamaha would have done well to bundle them at a reduced price. If they had done so, they would probably have sold me that too.

Sean

"The people crazy enough to think they can change the world, are the ones who do."
splogue is offline  
post #90 of 681 Old 11-14-2015, 09:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Gator1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Orlando
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Copy of the Operating Manual

If you would like more information you can go here for a copy of the operating manual.

http://usa.yamaha.com/products/audio..._u/?mode=model
Gator1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Soundbars

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off