2016 Vizio SmartCast sound bars - Page 56 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 228Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1651 of 1669 Old 04-01-2018, 02:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
leojj25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Boston, Mass
Posts: 664
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 355 Post(s)
Liked: 205
My 16 has been great with no issues with my P series

Vizio P65-E1 // Sony XBR49X900E
Sony Ht-ST5000 // RCA RTS7015B
Chromcast Ultra // Apple TV 4K
PS4 PRO
leojj25 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1652 of 1669 Old 04-01-2018, 03:04 PM
Senior Member
 
AMRivlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Irvine, Ca
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by leojj25 View Post
My 16 has been great with no issues with my P series
Do you use Smartcast or Bluetooth features?

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
AMRivlin is offline  
post #1653 of 1669 Old 04-01-2018, 03:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
leojj25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Boston, Mass
Posts: 664
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 355 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMRivlin View Post
Do you use Smartcast or Bluetooth features?

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk


I use mostly smartcast. Probably used bluetooth like once. It works pretty good, it did act up the last time i used the smartcast so i used smartcast through my p series

Vizio P65-E1 // Sony XBR49X900E
Sony Ht-ST5000 // RCA RTS7015B
Chromcast Ultra // Apple TV 4K
PS4 PRO
leojj25 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1654 of 1669 Old 04-01-2018, 03:11 PM
Senior Member
 
AMRivlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Irvine, Ca
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by leojj25 View Post
I use mostly smartcast. Probably used bluetooth like once. It works pretty good, it did act up the last time i used the smartcast so i used smartcast through my p series
I try to cast to the speaker and it rarely works. Yes it works through the tv, but i want music just on the speaker.

I'm pretty sure it is just updating the cast firmware, but knowing Vizio that team has been repurposed and will never be fixed.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
AMRivlin is offline  
post #1655 of 1669 Old 04-01-2018, 03:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
leojj25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Boston, Mass
Posts: 664
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 355 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMRivlin View Post
I try to cast to the speaker and it rarely works. Yes it works through the tv, but i want music just on the speaker.

I'm pretty sure it is just updating the cast firmware, but knowing Vizio that team has been repurposed and will never be fixed.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk


I will try mine now and see how it is. Will return with feedback

Vizio P65-E1 // Sony XBR49X900E
Sony Ht-ST5000 // RCA RTS7015B
Chromcast Ultra // Apple TV 4K
PS4 PRO
leojj25 is offline  
post #1656 of 1669 Old 04-01-2018, 03:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
leojj25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Boston, Mass
Posts: 664
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 355 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMRivlin View Post
I try to cast to the speaker and it rarely works. Yes it works through the tv, but i want music just on the speaker.

I'm pretty sure it is just updating the cast firmware, but knowing Vizio that team has been repurposed and will never be fixed.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk


Just tried casting Spotify and it worked good. The only thing i just noticed was my smartcast app on my phone said to pair my soundbar even though it already was. I’ve never seen that since i bought it in December. I do agree the soundbar could use a fw upgrade for more stability and smoothness.

Vizio P65-E1 // Sony XBR49X900E
Sony Ht-ST5000 // RCA RTS7015B
Chromcast Ultra // Apple TV 4K
PS4 PRO
leojj25 is offline  
post #1657 of 1669 Old 04-03-2018, 09:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
joshua goard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1,891
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1469 Post(s)
Liked: 724
I have a sb4551 model and I have issues with the sound coming in a bit late. So the lips aren't in sync with the sound. I've had 2 Sony tvs I've hooked it up to and both have the same issue. Sometimes if I unplug and plug in again it seems better but is not long before I have to do it again. Connected via optical cable direct to tv

Sony 75xZ9D connected to Panasonic UB820
Sony 65xZ9D (Living room)
Sony 65xA9F (Bedroom)
Sony 75x940e (Returned :-( bad motion blur)
Sony 75x900e, Sony 75x940d, Sony 55x930d, 55x810c, Sony 55x850c (All retired)
joshua goard is offline  
post #1658 of 1669 Old 04-05-2018, 06:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 724
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 422 Post(s)
Liked: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshua goard View Post
I have a sb4551 model and I have issues with the sound coming in a bit late. So the lips aren't in sync with the sound. I've had 2 Sony tvs I've hooked it up to and both have the same issue. Sometimes if I unplug and plug in again it seems better but is not long before I have to do it again. Connected via optical cable direct to tv
I have the same soundbar and as you’ll recall I have an x900e. I haven’t had an issue at all. Think I’ve got my sound on auto2 with av sync off on the TV. Might try playing with those settings. Also change the delay and change it back. I leave my soundbar powered on so perhaps that’s when it messes up is when it powers off and comes back on. Another suggestion is try factory resetting the soundbar and reinstalling the firmware if possible. I’ll come up with more ideas later about to get to sleep.
leojj25 likes this.
acphydro is online now  
post #1659 of 1669 Old 04-05-2018, 08:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
joshua goard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1,891
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1469 Post(s)
Liked: 724
Quote:
Originally Posted by acphydro View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshua goard View Post
I have a sb4551 model and I have issues with the sound coming in a bit late. So the lips aren't in sync with the sound. I've had 2 Sony tvs I've hooked it up to and both have the same issue. Sometimes if I unplug and plug in again it seems better but is not long before I have to do it again. Connected via optical cable direct to tv
I have the same soundbar and as you’ll recall I have an x900e. I haven’t had an issue at all. Think I’ve got my sound on auto2 with av sync off on the TV. Might try playing with those settings. Also change the delay and change it back. I leave my soundbar powered on so perhaps that’s when it messes up is when it powers off and comes back on. Another suggestion is try factory resetting the soundbar and reinstalling the firmware if possible. I’ll come up with more ideas later about to get to sleep.
Will try those TV settings. I'm on auto 1. I don't recall seeing the av sync option. Do you know where I'd find that

Nvmd...found it...duh

Sony 75xZ9D connected to Panasonic UB820
Sony 65xZ9D (Living room)
Sony 65xA9F (Bedroom)
Sony 75x940e (Returned :-( bad motion blur)
Sony 75x900e, Sony 75x940d, Sony 55x930d, 55x810c, Sony 55x850c (All retired)

Last edited by joshua goard; 04-05-2018 at 08:44 AM.
joshua goard is offline  
post #1660 of 1669 Old 04-05-2018, 09:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
joshua goard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1,891
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1469 Post(s)
Liked: 724
Quote:
Originally Posted by acphydro View Post
I have the same soundbar and as you’ll recall I have an x900e. I haven’t had an issue at all. Think I’ve got my sound on auto2 with av sync off on the TV. Might try playing with those settings. Also change the delay and change it back. I leave my soundbar powered on so perhaps that’s when it messes up is when it powers off and comes back on. Another suggestion is try factory resetting the soundbar and reinstalling the firmware if possible. I’ll come up with more ideas later about to get to sleep.
Just wanted to thank you, changed the settings and seems to be laser accurate now. I think the AV sync was trying to hard to keep things in sync and actually borked it. I don't think it's ever been so precise. Thanks again.
leojj25 likes this.

Sony 75xZ9D connected to Panasonic UB820
Sony 65xZ9D (Living room)
Sony 65xA9F (Bedroom)
Sony 75x940e (Returned :-( bad motion blur)
Sony 75x900e, Sony 75x940d, Sony 55x930d, 55x810c, Sony 55x850c (All retired)
joshua goard is offline  
post #1661 of 1669 Old 04-05-2018, 10:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 724
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 422 Post(s)
Liked: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshua goard View Post
Just wanted to thank you, changed the settings and seems to be laser accurate now. I think the AV sync was trying to hard to keep things in sync and actually borked it. I don't think it's ever been so precise. Thanks again.
No problem. Was just wondering if that solved your issue or not. I too am using the optical so I hoped it might.
acphydro is online now  
post #1662 of 1669 Old 02-28-2019, 05:57 AM
Member
 
DonRSD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: South Florida
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 13
SB3851-D0

I have connected via Vizio app and the WiFi still shows up as being able to be connected to.

The WiFi the sounder emits constantly changes channels and interferes with my home WiFi.......

How can I disable the Vizio sounder from emitting a WiFi signal or how do I open the sounder up and remove the WiFi chip (where is it located)??

PSN: DonVCorleone
Xbox Live: DonRSD


The U / NY Mets / NY Giants / Miami Heat
DonRSD is offline  
post #1663 of 1669 Old 03-01-2019, 11:39 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 12,269
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 698 Post(s)
Liked: 642
Just config it to connect to your home wifi. That's it.

Sent from my Pixel 3 using Tapatalk
Anago likes this.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #1664 of 1669 Old 04-01-2020, 09:05 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hi all,


I have a SB3830 since 2016 (I think it is a SB3830-D0, but I don't have a the mini LCD Screen on top of the remote).


I never upgraded the firmware before, and noticed today on Vizio website that a fw is available (from 2017), I downloaded it, copy it on a pen drive, and plugged it into the usb port, I was supposed to see the lights blinking, but nothing happened, any idea ?


Thanks.
tilt91600 is offline  
post #1665 of 1669 Old 04-02-2020, 07:34 AM
Member
 
jimsmith94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Midlothian, TX
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by tilt91600 View Post
Hi all,


I have a SB3830 since 2016 (I think it is a SB3830-D0, but I don't have a the mini LCD Screen on top of the remote).


I never upgraded the firmware before, and noticed today on Vizio website that a fw is available (from 2017), I downloaded it, copy it on a pen drive, and plugged it into the usb port, I was supposed to see the lights blinking, but nothing happened, any idea ?


Thanks.
I don't have that model soundbar but if you don't know, you have to unzip the file and put it on the root of your pen drive.
jimsmith94 is offline  
post #1666 of 1669 Old 04-02-2020, 10:16 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimsmith94 View Post
I don't have that model soundbar but if you don't know, you have to unzip the file and put it on the root of your pen drive.
That's what I did.


But thinking about it, I might have the SB3830-C6M, and as per Vizio website, you cannot upgrade it
tilt91600 is offline  
post #1667 of 1669 Old 04-02-2020, 10:16 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have the SB3651-E6 and the ARC was once working from TV to soundbar via the only HDMI in labeled as ARC. Then suddenly it doesn't work from TV to Soundbar but only as ARC so that's PC to TV to Soundbar works (hence arc). I'd be concern for it's Wi-Fi and Updating scheme as the documentation makes me nervous. What makes it worse is how dictionary the Q&A is and you'll never finde it useful.

The Q&A has no ARC info because updates have the ultimate powerhouse control for how prudocts lasts.
fohrums is offline  
post #1668 of 1669 Old 04-03-2020, 10:11 AM
Senior Member
 
AMRivlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Irvine, Ca
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I feel like Vizio gave up on updating their soundbars.

Sent from my Pixel 3 using Tapatalk
AMRivlin is offline  
post #1669 of 1669 Old 06-21-2020, 01:28 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello Everyone, I am new to the avsforum. I have a issue going on with my 2017 Vizio soundbar 3651-e6 model I purchased in the begging of 2018. It was working fine until just recently I made a huge mistake to connect my soundbar to the smartcast app and then it updated a firmware to 1.0.8.1 not sure what it was before. After the update equalizer Direct has so much bass that it feels like as if it is full. And all the gaming systems play so loud even on low volume. Now I cant turn to old firmware or even return it. If someone came across this problem I would highly appreciate a solution or your calibration settings after the firmware update to make the bass back to normal again. Thank you!!
Sunny786 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Soundbars

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off