Samsung HW-K850 & HW-K950 Dolby Atmos Soundbars - Page 156 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1429Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4651 of 4987 Old 12-19-2018, 12:28 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by lparsons21 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by bassem77 View Post
This bar is made for movies and mainly for atmos, the sony is more polyvalent and should give satisfaction with cable tv.
I feel the same as you but i bought it for movies and i don’t even use it with my cable tv.

With the addition of an Xbox One S or X I found that all tv and movies sound much better.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
No doubt that with the dolby app this bar will do better job.
Unlike some i only switch it on for series and movies on my zappiti player and with the audio only output of this player everything sounds great.
bassem77 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4652 of 4987 Old 12-19-2018, 05:54 AM
Senior Member
 
Viscious82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 347
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dvdripa1 View Post
Hi, I looked at the reviews of the Nakamichi shockwafe Ultra 9. 2 and would be tempted.However its not available in the UK and the shipping and custom charges would be eye watering!Thanks for the reply.
I wasn't aware of that. It's too bad that it's not available in your region. Good luck with your search.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
Viscious82 is offline  
post #4653 of 4987 Old 12-19-2018, 09:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
YES HDMI ARC to HDMI ARC is the correct way to connect the TV to the Soundbar for get sound from your TV apps (DD+ but w/o Atmos). Connect you FireTV to the Soundbar HDMI 1 for Atmos via the Cube Apps. The only Amazon Prime program that does Atmos currently is Jack Ryan.

Edit: You have to use the soundbar's HDMI ARC connection to your TV to get video and audio no matter whether you connect it to the TVs ARC port or not. I'd suggest connecting to the TVs ARC port if you want to use the TV for any audio.
Quote:
Originally Posted by lparsons21 View Post
The thing that makes the Xbox so necessary for the K950is that there is an app called Dolby Experience that will give you real Atmos if the source material or a virtualized Atmos if the source doesn’t.

Since you are not a gamer, get the cheapest Xbox One S deal you can find, you won’t regret it.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro



Hey guys, is it possible to have the K950 connect to an Xbox One X to play 4K Blu Rays in HDR with Atmos? I have a Sony X900E TV. I keep reading that the K950 is not HDR video compatible so I'm getting confused. Maybe it's out dated info and the soundbar got updated? Just making sure.

Last edited by SliChillax; 12-19-2018 at 10:21 AM.
SliChillax is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4654 of 4987 Old 12-19-2018, 10:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lparsons21's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,455
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by SliChillax View Post
Hey guys, is it possible to have the K950 connect to an Xbox One X to play 4K Blu Rays in HDR with Atmos? I have a Sony X900E TV. I keep reading that the K950 is not HDR video compatible so I'm getting confused. Maybe it's out dated info and the soundbar got updated? Just making sure.
Incorrect info. The 950 supports HDR just fine, it doesn’t support Dolby Vision.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
naustin likes this.

Lloyd
lparsons21 is offline  
post #4655 of 4987 Old 12-19-2018, 12:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by lparsons21 View Post
Incorrect info. The 950 supports HDR just fine, it doesn’t support Dolby Vision.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
Ah thanks a lot! That's a non issue for me since my TV doesn't support Dolby Vision anyway.
SliChillax is offline  
post #4656 of 4987 Old 12-20-2018, 01:43 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 27
The k950/850 support hdr 10 passthrought up to 30 fps chroma 4:2:0 and it’s enough for most of the content.
bassem77 is offline  
post #4657 of 4987 Old 12-20-2018, 09:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,440
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2024 Post(s)
Liked: 1372
Quote:
Originally Posted by bassem77 View Post
The k950/850 support hdr 10 passthrought up to 30 fps chroma 4:2:0 and it’s enough for most of the content.
Correct.

This means the two soundbars were designed to support HDR10 disc players and probably most HDR10 Apps built into them. You can not connect a Roku or Fire device with the default 60 fps and get any HDR pass through.

I believe the new N950 will accept full 60 fps pass through. The K soundbars were early designs and have inferior HDMI 2.0 ports, which is unfortunate since Sami really has tuned good sound and power into the K950.
naustin is offline  
post #4658 of 4987 Old 12-20-2018, 11:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Exactly the N series does support up to 60 fps hdr and even dolby vision and it’s actually twice the price of the K serie.
IMHO the best way to go is a uhd player with audio out only that goes to the sound bar and the hdmi outpout video to the tv.
bassem77 is offline  
post #4659 of 4987 Old 12-20-2018, 08:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,440
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2024 Post(s)
Liked: 1372
Quote:
Originally Posted by bassem77 View Post
Exactly the N series does support up to 60 fps hdr and even dolby vision and it’s actually twice the price of the K serie.
IMHO the best way to go is a uhd player with audio out only that goes to the sound bar and the hdmi outpout video to the tv.
Agreed and I only route audio from my Roku and AppleTV 4K through my K950 via my Oppo 203 and a HDfury AVR-key. For most people that is a fairly kludgey solution but I bought my K950 early when it was the only "game in town". I would not recommend buying a K950 today.
naustin is offline  
post #4660 of 4987 Old 12-20-2018, 10:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 27
If i won’t recommend it it will be for the lack of dts hdma support and it’s a shame.
My 169 euro samsung 3.1 bar decode it and sounds great!!
This kind of equipement that we like to hate, for atmos and bass the k is really good.
naustin likes this.
bassem77 is offline  
post #4661 of 4987 Old 12-21-2018, 11:47 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Hey guys, new to UHD/4K/Atmos gaming...recently bought a Samsung 65” Q9FN and Atmos-ready soundbar (Samsung HW-N850)...and Xbox One X just got delivered today!

Because I’m a n00b, can someone please explain at a 5-yr old level, what I should connect to what? e.g., Xbox or sound bar to the TV’s HDMI 4 (ARC)? And then plug the other component to another TV HDMI in, right? Then the Xbox directly to the sound bar, also? So 3 connections in total, right? But unclear on what should go to which ARC connection...

Thanks in advance!
fayraree is offline  
post #4662 of 4987 Old 12-21-2018, 12:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 5
...are there supposed to be 2 HDMI connections between the tv and sound bar? One that goes to the HDMI OUT of the soundbar and another for the HDMI in? I want to be able to hear Atmos from the Samsung TV’s Amazon Prime video app in the sound bar, which I read isn’t possible through the ARC connection...I don’t want to always have to turn on the Xbox for certain shows.
fayraree is offline  
post #4663 of 4987 Old 12-21-2018, 01:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,440
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2024 Post(s)
Liked: 1372
Quote:
Originally Posted by fayraree View Post
...are there supposed to be 2 HDMI connections between the tv and sound bar? One that goes to the HDMI OUT of the soundbar and another for the HDMI in? I want to be able to hear Atmos from the Samsung TV’s Amazon Prime video app in the sound bar, which I read isn’t possible through the ARC connection...I don’t want to always have to turn on the Xbox for certain shows.
No just one connection SB HDMI ARC/out to your TVs ARC port.

Sorry you will never hear your TV's Atmos sound with the soundbar that would require it to accept Atmos via the ARC connection between the TV and Soundbar. You will however be able to get your TV's Dolby Digital and DD+ (w/o the Atmos part) via ARC.

If you want Atmos sound you have to connect to HDMI 1 or 2 on the soundbar and the AV signal passes thru the SB to your TV's display.

No it isn't possible to reroute the TV audio into those HDMI ports. Follow the diagrams that are with the K850 or K950 instructions.
naustin is offline  
post #4664 of 4987 Old 12-21-2018, 11:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Thank you so much for the information! I connected my Xbox OUT to HDMI1 IN in the soundbar and HDMI OUT from soundbar to TV’s HDMI4 (ARC) IN.

It worked for a few hours but then when I turned my Xbox off everything went down the toilet when I tried to turn back on. Soundbar stopped working period, no sound coming from TV either!

Then I connected Xbox straight to TV and really liked the integrated feel, using the Samsung TV remote to control the Xbox as well, etc. the TV recognized the Xbox immediately and auto adjusted picture. This is the experience I want.

Not I have to try to get the soundbar working again and hopefully get Atmos sound from the Xbox sourced content. Will that be possible?
fayraree is offline  
post #4665 of 4987 Old 12-22-2018, 12:00 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 27
You have the N850 so this is not the right topic.
But to answer you, yes you can have atmos over arc from tv throught dd+ it’s lossy atmos.
The right way is to hook everything to the xbox and connect the xbox to the sound bar in one of the two hdmi ports.
Then connect the sb to the tv arc to arc ( in order to get the video) and that’s it.
bassem77 is offline  
post #4666 of 4987 Old 12-22-2018, 03:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
No just one connection SB HDMI ARC/out to your TVs ARC port.

Sorry you will never hear your TV's Atmos sound with the soundbar that would require it to accept Atmos via the ARC connection between the TV and Soundbar. You will however be able to get your TV's Dolby Digital and DD+ (w/o the Atmos part) via ARC.

If you want Atmos sound you have to connect to HDMI 1 or 2 on the soundbar and the AV signal passes thru the SB to your TV's display.

No it isn't possible to reroute the TV audio into those HDMI ports. Follow the diagrams that are with the K850 or K950 instructions.
So that's a no for 60fps HDR 4K gaming I guess. Is this limitation for Atmos only? I guess I can use the speakers normally without Atmos in 4K HDR 60fps
SliChillax is offline  
post #4667 of 4987 Old 12-22-2018, 05:29 AM
Senior Member
 
Viscious82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 347
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Get an hdfury integral 2 or avr key or a similar audio splitter to separate the video and audio signal coming from your Xbox. Ive both of these products with my xbox one x and K950 and it worked well. Full video at Xbox and full audio at the soundbar.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
Viscious82 is offline  
post #4668 of 4987 Old 12-22-2018, 08:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,440
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2024 Post(s)
Liked: 1372
Quote:
Originally Posted by bassem77 View Post
You have the N850 so this is not the right topic.
But to answer you, yes you can have atmos over arc from tv throught dd+ it’s lossy atmos.
The right way is to hook everything to the xbox and connect the xbox to the sound bar in one of the two hdmi ports.
Then connect the sb to the tv arc to arc ( in order to get the video) and that’s it.
My bad didn't notice the Poster had an N850. Everything should be a lot easier since it supports everything via ARC.
naustin is offline  
post #4669 of 4987 Old 12-22-2018, 08:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,440
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2024 Post(s)
Liked: 1372
Quote:
Originally Posted by SliChillax View Post
So that's a no for 60fps HDR 4K gaming I guess. Is this limitation for Atmos only? I guess I can use the speakers normally without Atmos in 4K HDR 60fps
See the earlier post, 4K HDR 30 fps is the max these inferior HDMI 2.0 ports can handle for video or gaming. It is in the Owners Manual under specs.
naustin is offline  
post #4670 of 4987 Old 12-22-2018, 08:58 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by bassem77 View Post
You have the N850 so this is not the right topic.
But to answer you, yes you can have atmos over arc from tv throught dd+ it’s lossy atmos.
The right way is to hook everything to the xbox and connect the xbox to the sound bar in one of the two hdmi ports.
Then connect the sb to the tv arc to arc ( in order to get the video) and that’s it.
Oops, my bad! In my haste to resolve I forgot elementary reading comprehension!

Appreciate the response. I previously hooked my Xbox HDMI out to HDMI1 (in) on sound bar and HDMI TV-ARC (out) from sound bar to TV’s HDMI4 (ARC) (in) and it worked for a little while but I didn’t like the fact that I had to change the input on the soundbar to HDMI1 and the tv didn’t recognize the Xbox and I didn’t have the full integration with using the TV’s remote to control the Xbox, etc.

So now I connected Xbox straight to TV and I love the integration but I hate that I don’t have perfect DD or Atmos sound. Something weird going on with my sound bar I think, which is brand new. Will have to check out the N850 thread.

Appreciate all the advice guys! I think the switch might end up being my best option, as long as it can send an Atmos audio signal to my sound bar.
fayraree is offline  
post #4671 of 4987 Old 12-22-2018, 11:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,440
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2024 Post(s)
Liked: 1372
Quote:
Originally Posted by fayraree View Post
Oops, my bad! In my haste to resolve I forgot elementary reading comprehension!

Appreciate the response. I previously hooked my Xbox HDMI out to HDMI1 (in) on sound bar and HDMI TV-ARC (out) from sound bar to TV’s HDMI4 (ARC) (in) and it worked for a little while but I didn’t like the fact that I had to change the input on the soundbar to HDMI1 and the tv didn’t recognize the Xbox and I didn’t have the full integration with using the TV’s remote to control the Xbox, etc.

So now I connected Xbox straight to TV and I love the integration but I hate that I don’t have perfect DD or Atmos sound. Something weird going on with my sound bar I think, which is brand new. Will have to check out the N850 thread.

Appreciate all the advice guys! I think the switch might end up being my best option, as long as it can send an Atmos audio signal to my sound bar.
If your TV passes Atmos via ARC you should be fine with the N850. Assuming you have enhanced (HDR) HDMI ports on your TV you can just connect all your devices to the TV and send Atmos out to the soundbar via ARC. Just use your TV as your switch. Good luck...

Last edited by naustin; 01-08-2019 at 02:07 PM.
naustin is offline  
post #4672 of 4987 Old 12-22-2018, 11:50 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
If your TV passes Atmos via ARC you should be fine with the N850. Assuming you have enhanced (HDR) HDMI ports on your TV you can just connect all your devices to the TV and send Atmos out to the soundbar via ARC. Just use your TV as your switch. Good luck.
Thank you, sir! I actually resolved everything with a bit of muddling around in the TV’s “source” settings.

I was frustrated that I couldn’t enjoy Dolby sound on my soundbar (only reason I bought it!) so I ended up reverting to the Xbox-soundbar connection. Then I was able to (calmly this time) see the soundbar show up in the “sources” under HDMI4 as “Samsung soundbar”. There was an option to set up the remote for this source, so when I entered that, I was able to select a game console component, manually selected Xbox, and now 2 sources appear for the same HDMI4 input: soundbar and Xbox! And the Xbox is fully integrated with FreeSync from the Samsung TV as well as remote control access, etc.

So I’m a happy camper for now!!!
naustin likes this.
fayraree is offline  
post #4673 of 4987 Old 12-23-2018, 07:00 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hopefully someone can help me on what I’m doing wrong.

I have the 850 and can’t for the life of me get the ATMOS to work. I plug my Apple TV 4K and Xbox One X into the sound bar and I can play normal audio but when I play any Atmos audio I get no sound coming through. I’m a little bummed, if anyone has any knowledge that would greatly appreciated!

Please and thanks!
OnNza is offline  
post #4674 of 4987 Old 12-23-2018, 10:39 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Got the same issue with out of the box firmware, after updating to the latest fw everything is working flawlessly.
Are you setting the atv to send bitstream to the k850?
bassem77 is offline  
post #4675 of 4987 Old 12-23-2018, 11:11 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I believe so I go Into the audio settings of the Apple TV and Dolby atmos most is selected
OnNza is offline  
post #4676 of 4987 Old 12-23-2018, 11:46 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Bassem are you putting the Apple TV directly into sound bar or using Arc on your tv?
OnNza is offline  
post #4677 of 4987 Old 12-23-2018, 01:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by OnNza View Post
Bassem are you putting the Apple TV directly into sound bar or using Arc on your tv?
In order to get atmos with the k serie you need to be connected to hdmi, no atmos with arc and it will unfortunatly never be.

This said the atv uses lpcm and also the k is too old to decode it.
The only way is the xbox with the dolby app.
bassem77 is offline  
post #4678 of 4987 Old 12-24-2018, 10:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,440
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2024 Post(s)
Liked: 1372
Quote:
Originally Posted by bassem77 View Post
In order to get atmos with the k serie you need to be connected to hdmi, no atmos with arc and it will unfortunatly never be.

This said the atv uses lpcm and also the k is too old to decode it.
The only way is the xbox with the dolby app.
The K series can handle ATV4K's lpcm Atmos over HDMI 1 or 2. The Soundbars have a problem passing DolbyVision & Atmos combined. I split my A/V using an HDfury AVR-key. Video to my DV display & lpcm Atmos to my K950. I have no knowledge about xbox.
naustin is offline  
post #4679 of 4987 Old 12-24-2018, 10:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,440
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2024 Post(s)
Liked: 1372
Quote:
Originally Posted by OnNza View Post
Bassem are you putting the Apple TV directly into sound bar or using Arc on your tv?
You can go directly to your TV and get DD+ 5.1 sound via ARC but you won't get Atmos. Unfortunately for Atmos you have to get a A/V splitter to route audio into the soundbars HDMI 1 or 2 ports. I use an HDfury AVR-key but there are some others that people use (see a few pages back on this thread). Good luck and happy holidays.
naustin is offline  
post #4680 of 4987 Old 12-24-2018, 06:24 PM
Member
 
WaterBottle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Wanted to voice my opinion on the K950 and ask for help on a couple of things.

Question 1: Why does the sound bar constantly turn itself on and off? This happens when the TV is off. The “hello” and “d.in” messages seem to cycle probably 5-10 times an hour. Why? I thought maybe it was some type of idle power from the TV sending a data through HDMI, so I switched to optical and the same thing happens. Not the biggest thing in the world, but it is annoying.

Question 2: With all of that random on off cycling, is there any way to tell if it is on or off with the remote? I always push the volume button on the remote up or down when I start to watch something, to try to see if the bar is on. If the volume changes, then great - it’s on. But if the volume doesn’t change then you would assume it’s not on, so I push power to turn it on. But half the time when I push power in this case, it turns the bar off. Again, not that big of a deal...but why??

Question 3: My tears and sub disconnect (red light) CONSTANTLY. This happens like every week or so. And it is such a pain to realest - the app is so slow and finicky and the reset buttons on the bar require you to flip it over and mess up your cables. Could there be a reason why they lose their connection so often? I don’t unplug any of the speakers or the bar, I don’t fiddle with the router.

Opinion on the bar after about a year of ownership: It is a cool piece of technology when it works. Dialog is frequently a little hard to hear - but this is almost certainly a personal problem of my own, since I’ve had to heavily tweak the center channel in any system I’ve owned to compensate for dialog. But the limited control over levels makes it tougher to deal with on this system. But overall, the sound from the bar is really great. The sub sounds really good for what it is. The rears are way to quiet and (again) you have minimal control over levels. The app is functional, but slow and not all that intuitive. WiFi connection is a royal pain due to the location of buttons. The HDMI connection problems were so common that I disconnected HDMI entirely and used optical - sacrificing the main selling point of the bar (Atmos) just to have a somewhat stable system.

Short version - speakers are well-built and well-designed, but the firmware, WiFi, handshaking, app, and every other quality of life characteristic are all abysmal. It may be unfair, but this has turned me off of ever considering another Samsung AV component. I even bought a UHD player with two HDMI outs to have some optionality when using the K950...turns out that was pointless.

I largely stopped following this thread a while ago because I’m just treading water/waiting for enough time to pass so that I feel justified in finding something to replace it with. However, since it was so expensive I will be treading for a little while longer. While I wait, I would love for my rears to stop disconnecting.

Sorry for the rant, hope you guys can help me with the questions.
WaterBottle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Soundbars

Tags
4096x2160 , HW-K850 , HW-K950 , hwk950 , Samsung , samsung soundbar , soundbar

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off