Samsung HW-K850 & HW-K950 Dolby Atmos Soundbars - Page 160 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1429Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4771 of 4987 Old 05-09-2019, 07:38 AM
Senior Member
 
mulesqb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Westchester , NY
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I have been on of the lucky ones with my K950..no real long term issues. Had a Directv issue pop up yesterday. Since that was resolved my sub and rears aren't connecting. Been searching high and low on this thread to see if anyone had similar issues. haven't been able to find.

have tried unplugging main unit a few times and that hasn't worked. Did the ID set and that didn't work. any other suggestions?? Any help is much appreciated!

If you have to tell people how good you are, you're not as good as you think.

Last edited by mulesqb; 05-09-2019 at 07:47 AM.
mulesqb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4772 of 4987 Old 05-09-2019, 08:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,437
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2023 Post(s)
Liked: 1369
Quote:
Originally Posted by niccic View Post
What kind of audio splitter? I knew k950 convert lpcm in stereo also if source is lpcm 5.1
Quote:
Originally Posted by niccic View Post
Many Tv channel on air for example (sat or dtv) are in lpcm 5.1, but only stereo in my k950...
I use an HDFury AVR-key to split the Apple's audio since the K950 doesn't pass Dolby Vision video. Generally you want Satellite boxes set to DD or bitstream or Auto. I know my latest Gen Hopper3 if set to PCM will only pass stereo. The Apple is the rare device that decodes to LPCM 5.1 with Atmos which the K950 handles fine w/o any adjustments.
naustin is offline  
post #4773 of 4987 Old 05-09-2019, 09:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,437
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2023 Post(s)
Liked: 1369
Quote:
Originally Posted by mulesqb View Post
I have been on of the lucky ones with my K950..no real long term issues. Had a Directv issue pop up yesterday. Since that was resolved my sub and rears aren't connecting. Been searching high and low on this thread to see if anyone had similar issues. haven't been able to find.

have tried unplugging main unit a few times and that hasn't worked. Did the ID set and that didn't work. any other suggestions?? Any help is much appreciated!
Unplug everything and follow the install instructions. I believe its replug Main, the Sub, then surrounds. Check that the lights are blue indicating pairing. Last stop, contact Samsung Support.
naustin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4774 of 4987 Old 05-09-2019, 10:14 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
I use an HDFury AVR-key to split the Apple's audio since the K950 doesn't pass Dolby Vision video. Generally you want Satellite boxes set to DD or bitstream or Auto. I know my latest Gen Hopper3 if set to PCM will only pass stereo. The Apple is the rare device that decodes to LPCM 5.1 with Atmos which the K950 handles fine w/o any adjustments.
I use my TV (Lg oled 65 B8) to view sat channels, connected to K950 with hdmi ARC. On TV I set dtv out AUTO and tv hdmi arc AUTO (not pcm).
Everything is stereo. Nothing is 5.1.
Netflix and Prime video app on Lg tv sound 5.1.
niccic is offline  
post #4775 of 4987 Old 05-09-2019, 11:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,437
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2023 Post(s)
Liked: 1369
Quote:
Originally Posted by niccic View Post
I use my TV (Lg oled 65 B8) to view sat channels, connected to K950 with hdmi ARC. On TV I set dtv out AUTO and tv hdmi arc AUTO (not pcm).
Everything is stereo. Nothing is 5.1.
Netflix and Prime video app on Lg tv sound 5.1.
I think the issues are your Sat channels are broadcast as 2.1 not 5.1 or 5.1 PCM doesn't pass via ARC. Try setting DTV to digital or bitstream rather than auto since 5.1 PCM may not pass via ARC. You could also try DTV directly into HDMI 1 or 2 on the SB since I know LPCM 5.1 works this way (Apple example) as a test of whether DTV is sending 5.1. You could also try asking on a DTV thread.
naustin is offline  
post #4776 of 4987 Old 05-09-2019, 06:46 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by niccic View Post
I use my TV (Lg oled 65 B8) to view sat channels, connected to K950 with hdmi ARC. On TV I set dtv out AUTO and tv hdmi arc AUTO (not pcm).
Everything is stereo. Nothing is 5.1.
Netflix and Prime video app on Lg tv sound 5.1.
LPCM 5.1 works fine coming from 4k apple tv to my k850 soundbar. I know it's working correctly because if I put in standard mode I can hear the center speaker working . Like naustin said I would check your cable box settings. Make sure it isn't set to stereo.
Sean Nielsen is offline  
post #4777 of 4987 Old 05-09-2019, 11:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean Nielsen View Post
LPCM 5.1 works fine coming from 4k apple tv to my k850 soundbar. I know it's working correctly because if I put in standard mode I can hear the center speaker working . Like naustin said I would check your cable box settings. Make sure it isn't set to stereo.


I use Lg tv as sat tuner. K950 is connected with hdmi arc. I haven’t sat or cable box.
niccic is offline  
post #4778 of 4987 Old 05-10-2019, 12:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,437
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2023 Post(s)
Liked: 1369
Quote:
Originally Posted by niccic View Post
I use Lg tv as sat tuner. K950 is connected with hdmi arc. I haven’t sat or cable box.
Are you using a DirectTV app or a coaxial connection into the Lg? Either way set DTV to digital not PCM.
naustin is offline  
post #4779 of 4987 Old 05-10-2019, 01:26 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
Are you using a DirectTV app or a coaxial connection into the Lg? Either way set DTV to digital not PCM.
I'm in Italy and I don't know what is Direct TV app
The antenna cable into my LG TV Oled B8.

I set DTV out to Digital.
naustin likes this.
niccic is offline  
post #4780 of 4987 Old 05-11-2019, 10:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NJPapi1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,032
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 397 Post(s)
Liked: 114
So I got extremely lucky and Best Buy had the K950 sound bar like new and when I mean like new it had the stickers on it. Only thing missing was the HDMi cable

I am loving the sound bar and for the price of 440 is a steal no?

But I have the ps4 pro connected and it wont do RGB if connected to the sound bar. It must only do optical if I want to connect to tv

Is the picture degraded bad if not using RGB on my QLED tv?

Also on ps4 pro do i select Bitstream Dolby and not Linear PCM for gaming and movies?
NJPapi1977 is offline  
post #4781 of 4987 Old 05-11-2019, 04:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 27
At 440 it’s a real good price.
With the money you saved you can buy a splitter and send audio only to the k950 and keep full rgb on your ps4/tv.
In sound mode i use bitstream on my ps4.
bassem77 is offline  
post #4782 of 4987 Old 05-11-2019, 05:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NJPapi1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,032
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 397 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by bassem77 View Post
At 440 it’s a real good price.
With the money you saved you can buy a splitter and send audio only to the k950 and keep full rgb on your ps4/tv.
In sound mode i use bitstream on my ps4.
Can anyone link me to this splitter
NJPapi1977 is offline  
post #4783 of 4987 Old 05-12-2019, 05:52 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 27
HDFury is one of the best if not the best.
You can also check on aliexpress it’s cheaper.
bassem77 is offline  
post #4784 of 4987 Old 05-13-2019, 05:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NJPapi1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,032
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 397 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by bassem77 View Post
HDFury is one of the best if not the best.
You can also check on aliexpress it’s cheaper.
Is this a good one? Can I have PS4 and xbox one x connected?
NJPapi1977 is offline  
post #4785 of 4987 Old 05-13-2019, 05:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NJPapi1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,032
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 397 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Also which sound mode is used when watching cable or playing ps4 pro and xbox one x?

Standard or Movie or Surround mode?
NJPapi1977 is offline  
post #4786 of 4987 Old 05-14-2019, 05:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lparsons21's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,455
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJPapi1977 View Post
Also which sound mode is used when watching cable or playing ps4 pro and xbox one x?

Standard or Movie or Surround mode?
The best way to take advantage of the 950 if you have an Xbox One in the mix is to use a combination of the splitter and an HDMI switch that's capable of passing 4K video. The connections for that are:
1. Source device to the HDMI switch input. For instance I have my Tivo, AppleTV and FireTV connected to mine
2. Output of the HDMI switch to the splitter (HD fury or another one)
3. Video output of the splitter to the TV
4. Audio output to the Xbox One that is running the Dolby Experience app.
5. Xbox One HDMI out to the 950

What that does is give you real or faked ATMOS for all sources and really makes the 950 come alive.
Orrkis likes this.

Lloyd
lparsons21 is online now  
post #4787 of 4987 Old 05-29-2019, 06:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PJO1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 1,975
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 271 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Out of nowhere the K850 stopped talking to my Samsung TV. They were working fine yesterday. It appears HDMI-CEC is off on the 850 and nothing I do turns it back on again. I'm going to unplug it overnight.

So annoying.
PJO1966 is offline  
post #4788 of 4987 Old 05-31-2019, 11:36 AM
Member
 
Broncocap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Aurora,CO
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Samsung n850

Sorry if this is a dumb question just brought the n850 how do I know it’s playing atoms? It doesn’t display it on the sound bar when watching an atmos movie thanks
Broncocap is offline  
post #4789 of 4987 Old 05-31-2019, 02:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobbino421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,105
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1364 Post(s)
Liked: 885
Quote:
Originally Posted by Broncocap View Post
Sorry if this is a dumb question just brought the n850 how do I know it’s playing atoms? It doesn’t display it on the sound bar when watching an atmos movie thanks
I have the 950 and believe the bars are identical in function it should scroll across the display when it detects an Atmos track! The other way to know is if you can get playback info from you device where the content is playing like a blue ray player.

Sony 55 A9F
Panasonic DP-UB820
Sony UBP-X700
Denon X4500H AVR
Klipsch 5.1.4 Dolby Atmos with Martin Logan 1000W SUB
bobbino421 is offline  
post #4790 of 4987 Old 05-31-2019, 02:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,437
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2023 Post(s)
Liked: 1369
Quote:
Originally Posted by Broncocap View Post
Sorry if this is a dumb question just brought the n850 how do I know it’s playing atoms? It doesn’t display it on the sound bar when watching an atmos movie thanks
This is the K series thread try the N series thread https://www.avsforum.com/forum/195-s...lby-atmos.html
naustin is offline  
post #4791 of 4987 Old 05-31-2019, 02:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobbino421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,105
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1364 Post(s)
Liked: 885
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Broncocap View Post
Sorry if this is a dumb question just brought the n850 how do I know it’s playing atoms? It doesn’t display it on the sound bar when watching an atmos movie thanks
This is the K series thread try the N series thread https://www.avsforum.com/forum/195-s...lby-atmos.html
I didn’t see that I guess maybe they not the same

Sony 55 A9F
Panasonic DP-UB820
Sony UBP-X700
Denon X4500H AVR
Klipsch 5.1.4 Dolby Atmos with Martin Logan 1000W SUB
bobbino421 is offline  
post #4792 of 4987 Old 05-31-2019, 03:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,437
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2023 Post(s)
Liked: 1369
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbino421 View Post
I didn’t see that I guess maybe they not the same
Thought I read there is no blue Atmos light on the N series, I believe the Atmos led still scrolls across the bar but I would not say definitively.
naustin is offline  
post #4793 of 4987 Old 05-31-2019, 06:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
Thought I read there is no blue Atmos light on the N series, I believe the Atmos led still scrolls across the bar but I would not say definitively.
Correct.
william06 likes this.

Nvidia Shield - Zidoo X9S - HTPC/MPC-HC
Oppo 203 - Samsung HW-N950 - SVS PB12-NSD 7.2.4
LG 86UH9500
ntxoa is offline  
post #4794 of 4987 Old 06-02-2019, 11:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,437
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2023 Post(s)
Liked: 1369
I see Best Buy is now selling the 2019 Samsung HW-Q90ZA soundbar for 1699 USD. N950 is also still in stock.
naustin is offline  
post #4795 of 4987 Old 06-02-2019, 12:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,348
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 936 Post(s)
Liked: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
I see Best Buy is now selling the 2019 Samsung HW-Q90ZA soundbar for 1699 USD. N950 is also still in stock.
See my quote on your comments in the N950 thread
naustin likes this.

Lg oled65G7P
Panasonic UB9000 . pioneer lx500 uhd blu ray players
atv4k 2nd gen cube, roku ultra 2019
Toshiba Xa2 HD-DVD
Samsung HW-Q90R ZA soundbar
william06 is online now  
post #4796 of 4987 Old 06-02-2019, 01:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,437
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2023 Post(s)
Liked: 1369
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post
See my quote on your comments in the N950 thread
Thanks for the comments. When the n950 drops more in price, I might replace my k950 just to get Atmos via ARC. Using an HDFury avr-key and my Oppo 203, allows me to get Atmos from my AppleTV and Roku, but it isn't a very user friendly setup.
naustin is offline  
post #4797 of 4987 Old 06-02-2019, 02:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,348
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 936 Post(s)
Liked: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
Thanks for the comments. When the n950 drops more in price, I might replace my k950 just to get Atmos via ARC. Using an HDFury avr-key and my Oppo 203, allows me to get Atmos from my AppleTV and Roku, but it isn't a very user friendly setup.
I have really been enjoying mine and it was great to retire the avrkey
william06 is online now  
post #4798 of 4987 Old 06-03-2019, 05:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by PJO1966 View Post
Out of nowhere the K850 stopped talking to my Samsung TV. They were working fine yesterday. It appears HDMI-CEC is off on the 850 and nothing I do turns it back on again. I'm going to unplug it overnight.

So annoying.

My samsung tv and older samsung bar did this recently. I saw a thread that said to unplug the TV from the wall, wait a bit, plug it back in. I thought no way it would work, but sure enough my tv and soundbar started talking again. So weird, but I'd give that a try.
Mike Credelle is offline  
post #4799 of 4987 Old 06-04-2019, 03:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PJO1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 1,975
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 271 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Credelle View Post
My samsung tv and older samsung bar did this recently. I saw a thread that said to unplug the TV from the wall, wait a bit, plug it back in. I thought no way it would work, but sure enough my tv and soundbar started talking again. So weird, but I'd give that a try.
What I ended up doing was unplugging both the sound bar and the TV, and then plugging the sound bar in first followed by the TV. That did the trick.

I've found that Caavo tech support will help you troubleshoot any device that's connected to their Control Center. They've been really helpful tracking down obscure things to try.
PJO1966 is offline  
post #4800 of 4987 Old 06-10-2019, 07:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PJO1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 1,975
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 271 Post(s)
Liked: 79
I'm losing my mind. How do I prevent the K850 from shutting down when a program is paused? I've done it before and can't find it in the manual.
PJO1966 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Soundbars

Tags
4096x2160 , HW-K850 , HW-K950 , hwk950 , Samsung , samsung soundbar , soundbar

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off