Samsung HW-K850 & HW-K950 Dolby Atmos Soundbars - Page 161 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1378Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4801 of 4813 Old 06-13-2019, 08:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 2,935
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1684 Post(s)
Liked: 1055
Quote:
Originally Posted by PJO1966 View Post
I'm losing my mind. How do I prevent the K850 from shutting down when a program is paused? I've done it before and can't find it in the manual.
You can not.

You get a 5 minute power off on ARC and 15 minutes on HDMI 1 & 2. Sometimes using Mute seems to delay power off YMMV.
jeep05 likes this.
naustin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4802 of 4813 Old 06-20-2019, 05:58 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by lparsons21 View Post
The best way to take advantage of the 950 if you have an Xbox One in the mix is to use a combination of the splitter and an HDMI switch that's capable of passing 4K video. The connections for that are:
1. Source device to the HDMI switch input. For instance I have my Tivo, AppleTV and FireTV connected to mine
2. Output of the HDMI switch to the splitter (HD fury or another one)
3. Video output of the splitter to the TV
4. Audio output to the Xbox One that is running the Dolby Experience app.
5. Xbox One HDMI out to the 950

What that does is give you real or faked ATMOS for all sources and really makes the 950 come alive.
What switch did you use? Bought one from Amazon, just gave me problems.
kennyt85 is offline  
post #4803 of 4813 Old 06-20-2019, 06:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lparsons21's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,428
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by kennyt85 View Post
What switch did you use? Bought one from Amazon, just gave me problems.
I got this one :
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Lloyd
lparsons21 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4804 of 4813 Old 06-29-2019, 05:52 AM
Newbie
 
2mchpwr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi - last night tv (2017 Vizio M Series ) played fine. but this morning, no sound being sent to my samsung HW-K950 thru ARC.
wondering if something was pushed to the speaker firmwave to change anything.
As i cycle thru the speaker inputs, ARC is not shown.

TV Samsung PN64F8500
Receiver Pioneer VSX-1020
Blu-ray Panasonic DMP-BDT220
Speakers Definitive Technology Mythos SSA-50
2mchpwr is offline  
post #4805 of 4813 Old 07-01-2019, 01:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 2,935
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1684 Post(s)
Liked: 1055
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2mchpwr View Post
hi - last night tv (2017 Vizio M Series ) played fine. but this morning, no sound being sent to my samsung HW-K950 thru ARC.
wondering if something was pushed to the speaker firmwave to change anything.
As i cycle thru the speaker inputs, ARC is not shown.
Check the firmware on your Vizio. My Vizio P series got a 7.X beta firmware that broke ARC. My temp fix was turning off UHD Color on the ARC port. Just a suggestion.
naustin is offline  
post #4806 of 4813 Old 07-02-2019, 08:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 2,935
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1684 Post(s)
Liked: 1055
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2mchpwr View Post
hi - last night tv (2017 Vizio M Series ) played fine. but this morning, no sound being sent to my samsung HW-K950 thru ARC.
wondering if something was pushed to the speaker firmwave to change anything.
As i cycle thru the speaker inputs, ARC is not shown.
Did you find a fix?
naustin is offline  
post #4807 of 4813 Old 07-08-2019, 06:48 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I'm having the same issue with my KS8000. Just moved the other day and ARC was working fine on my K950 but then when I connected my TV to wifi it updated to the newest firmware from a few days or so ago (Update 1240) and now ARC won't work longer than 10 seconds, if at all. I've tried everything I can think of and it always defaults back to TV Speaker and then the K950 won't even show up as an option. When it does sometimes show up after leaving everything unplugged for hours, it'll show up as "HW-K950 (HDMI)" for a min and then default to being called "Receiver (HDMI)" and then back again to the TV Speaker.
Andrew Hendrycks is offline  
post #4808 of 4813 Old 07-08-2019, 08:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 2,935
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1684 Post(s)
Liked: 1055
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hendrycks View Post
I'm having the same issue with my KS8000. Just moved the other day and ARC was working fine on my K950 but then when I connected my TV to wifi it updated to the newest firmware from a few days or so ago (Update 1240) and now ARC won't work longer than 10 seconds, if at all. I've tried everything I can think of and it always defaults back to TV Speaker and then the K950 won't even show up as an option. When it does sometimes show up after leaving everything unplugged for hours, it'll show up as "HW-K950 (HDMI)" for a min and then default to being called "Receiver (HDMI)" and then back again to the TV Speaker.
I don't have a Samsung TV, but it is obviously related to the TV firmware update assuming you are using the same HDMI cable between the two devices. First I'd check the ARC settings on the TV then I'd contact Samsung support and the appropriate Samsung TV forum for your model. Good luck.
naustin is offline  
post #4809 of 4813 Old 07-08-2019, 08:39 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
I don't have a Samsung TV, but it is obviously related to the TV firmware update assuming you are using the same HDMI cable between the two devices. First I'd check the ARC settings on the TV then I'd contact Samsung support and the appropriate Samsung TV forum for your model. Good luck.
Thanks, ya I've contacted them and waiting for a reply. The ARC settings are pretty barebones, just having Anynet+ on the soundbar and TV and hoping they talk to each other properly. One thing I'm always wondering is if my TV's HDMI audio out should be PCM or Bitstream on the TV itself? I had switched it to PCM as on Bitstream my Chromecast Ultra has audio cut-outs with a white screen flash every minute or so but it's perfect on PCM. I can't test the audio quality differences because of the issues I'm having with it atm.

Some say PCM is best from TV to soundbar so it gets an uncompressed signal, the Samsung manual for the K950 says to set TV to "Bitstream (uncompressed)" but the KS8000 only has bitstream so I'm not 100% on if it's uncompressed or not? Some say that PCM forces the audio to only be stereo so then you can't get surround sound so it seems like there's some contention on what setting to use.
Andrew Hendrycks is offline  
post #4810 of 4813 Old 07-08-2019, 09:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 2,935
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1684 Post(s)
Liked: 1055
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hendrycks View Post
Thanks, ya I've contacted them and waiting for a reply. The ARC settings are pretty barebones, just having Anynet+ on the soundbar and TV and hoping they talk to each other properly. One thing I'm always wondering is if my TV's HDMI audio out should be PCM or Bitstream on the TV itself? I had switched it to PCM as on Bitstream my Chromecast Ultra has audio cut-outs with a white screen flash every minute or so but it's perfect on PCM. I can't test the audio quality differences because of the issues I'm having with it atm.

Some say PCM is best from TV to soundbar so it gets an uncompressed signal, the Samsung manual for the K950 says to set TV to "Bitstream (uncompressed)" but the KS8000 only has bitstream so I'm not 100% on if it's uncompressed or not? Some say that PCM forces the audio to only be stereo so then you can't get surround sound so it seems like there's some contention on what setting to use.
Bitstream is the prefered format. It could be a bad HDMI port setting causing your Chromecast problem. HDMI handshakes can cause issues. Something else to try Pull the plug on your TV and the Soundbar. Turn on the TV and about a minute later plug in the soundbar.
naustin is offline  
post #4811 of 4813 Old 07-09-2019, 07:16 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
Bitstream is the prefered format. It could be a bad HDMI port setting causing your Chromecast problem. HDMI handshakes can cause issues. Something else to try Pull the plug on your TV and the Soundbar. Turn on the TV and about a minute later plug in the soundbar.
Ok so I kept re-reading the manuals for my soundbar and TV and the TV said that it can only handle 1 Home Theater at a time. When I got home yesterday I checked and because when I moved in I accidentally plugged my Soundbar into HDMI 1 and then fixed it and switched it to HDMI 4 (ARC), it had my K950 as the name for HDMI 1 and 4. I went to edit HDMI 1 to be called the default "HDMI 1" again and immediately, ARC came back...

Off topic but with the Chromecast I've tried all HDMI ports, factory resetting, rebooting, plugging in ethernet to it, etc and the only fix is to set it to PCM. If Bitstream is preferred I really don't want to manually change my audio to PCM whenever I cast, to then have to switch back to Bitstream for every other device. I'm not sure if there's a replacement device that won't have the issue but thank you for your help and I hope me resetting the HDMI names might help someone else too!
naustin likes this.
Andrew Hendrycks is offline  
post #4812 of 4813 Old 07-11-2019, 03:47 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Would the atmos high effects would be good with ceiling approx 12 feet high?

Last edited by Elavarasan; 07-11-2019 at 07:52 AM.
Elavarasan is offline  
post #4813 of 4813 Old 07-11-2019, 10:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 2,935
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1684 Post(s)
Liked: 1055
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elavarasan View Post
Would the atmos high effects would be good with ceiling approx 12 feet high?
Should be fine just higher/longer before it bounces back to you. My ceiling is high & sloped so I increase the decibel settings on the up firing speakers a bit.
Elavarasan likes this.
naustin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Soundbars

Tags
4096x2160 , HW-K850 , HW-K950

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off