Bose SoundTouch 300 - Page 6 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 141Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #151 of 505 Old 02-01-2017, 04:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by vis64 View Post
Thanks again for all of your assistance, 49Merc. I do have a WAP that is close by and when I originally installed the system I moved the SUB to different areas of the room with min. 6' distance up to 9' away to help avoid possible interference. When this fully did not work Bose support sent me the 3.5 mm audio cable and same issue. I believe it to be a bad bass or soundbar as you indicated previously. I have not tried to power cycle the soundbar and I will give that a shot. I have not tried to move away from other power cables as I would have to daisy chain power strips. I will try both posts from you this evening to see what happens.
I reset the soundbar and then I could hear faint sound from the sub with the bass set at default. The sub sounds very close to what the soundbar does without sub. I changed to +2 and it was a little better but at +4 I get good bass which is significantly better than +2. Is this normal?
vis64 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 505 Old 02-01-2017, 04:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
49Merc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: North Texas
Posts: 2,424
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 675 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by vis64 View Post
I reset the soundbar and then I could hear faint sound from the sub with the bass set at default. The sub sounds very close to what the soundbar does without sub. I changed to +2 and it was a little better but at +4 I get good bass which is significantly better than +2. Is this normal?
Run Adaptiq then ascertain the sub's volume.

Sony 4K XBR55X930E, Sony 4K UBPX800 Blu-Ray Player, Sony HTST 5000 SoundBar, DirecTV 4K HS17 w/2 Mini Genies, Panamax MR5100 Power Manager, Harmony Elite Remote, Monoprice Cables
49Merc is offline  
post #153 of 505 Old 02-01-2017, 05:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by 49Merc View Post
Run Adaptiq then ascertain the sub's volume.
I have done that and same results. Thoughts!
vis64 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #154 of 505 Old 02-01-2017, 06:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
49Merc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: North Texas
Posts: 2,424
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 675 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by vis64 View Post
I have done that and same results. Thoughts!
Return both the 300 Soundbar and Sub. Start over with a new Bose 300 Soundbar and 300 Subwoofer. Yours is too new to go through the repair hassle.

Sony 4K XBR55X930E, Sony 4K UBPX800 Blu-Ray Player, Sony HTST 5000 SoundBar, DirecTV 4K HS17 w/2 Mini Genies, Panamax MR5100 Power Manager, Harmony Elite Remote, Monoprice Cables
49Merc is offline  
post #155 of 505 Old 02-02-2017, 06:31 PM
Senior Member
 
steevo123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 181 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quick question. I read a post earlier that suggested that the Bose needs to be equi distant between 2 walls to sound correct. Is this true? Id like to put this in my bedroom but it would be a few feet right of center (between the walls) Thanks!

Some guy
steevo123 is offline  
post #156 of 505 Old 02-02-2017, 08:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by 49Merc View Post
Return both the 300 Soundbar and Sub. Start over with a new Bose 300 Soundbar and 300 Subwoofer. Yours is too new to go through the repair hassle.
I am going to do this tomorrow and hopefully BestBuy will exchange them. I did try the Yamaha YSP-2700 tonight and after playing with it and different settings the audio seems a little too hollow for me. My wife even commented the Bose sounded better even with the sub issue.
49Merc likes this.
vis64 is offline  
post #157 of 505 Old 02-03-2017, 12:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
49Merc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: North Texas
Posts: 2,424
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 675 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by vis64 View Post
I am going to do this tomorrow and hopefully BestBuy will exchange them. I did try the Yamaha YSP-2700 tonight and after playing with it and different settings the audio seems a little too hollow for me. My wife even commented the Bose sounded better even with the sub issue.
Looking forward to your comments after setup and Adaptiq. 😋

Sony 4K XBR55X930E, Sony 4K UBPX800 Blu-Ray Player, Sony HTST 5000 SoundBar, DirecTV 4K HS17 w/2 Mini Genies, Panamax MR5100 Power Manager, Harmony Elite Remote, Monoprice Cables
49Merc is offline  
post #158 of 505 Old 02-03-2017, 05:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by 49Merc View Post
Looking forward to your comments after setup and Adaptiq. 😋
I got the new setup complete and wow what a difference. I had a little issue with the Blue Ray as it had no sound. I did have sound with DirecTV. I powered off the TV and back on and it started working. So far so good. Initial question, is there a way to setup the remote so the base is at +4 for movies and +2 for music and for everything else +0? I noticed I could do that with the Yamaha remote and have not seen this option on Bose remote. Thanks again 49Merc for your assistance.
vis64 is offline  
post #159 of 505 Old 02-03-2017, 07:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
49Merc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: North Texas
Posts: 2,424
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 675 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by vis64 View Post
I got the new setup complete and wow what a difference. I had a little issue with the Blue Ray as it had no sound. I did have sound with DirecTV. I powered off the TV and back on and it started working. So far so good. Initial question, is there a way to setup the remote so the base is at +4 for movies and +2 for music and for everything else +0? I noticed I could do that with the Yamaha remote and have not seen this option on Bose remote. Thanks again 49Merc for your assistance.
Sure glad you are off to a good start. Sorry, can't help you with a specific 300 tech issue. My previous advice has been based on 63 years of logic. With that said, carefully reread the manual's section on remote functions. You are wanting the remote to execute custom routines. If the Bose 300's remote cannot fulfill your expectations consider researching Logitech's Harmony Remotes. I own the Harmony Ulimate One. Link to Logitech Harmony Remotes - http://www.logitech.com/en-us/harmony-remotes.

The Super Bowl is going to sound great on your new 300!

Sony 4K XBR55X930E, Sony 4K UBPX800 Blu-Ray Player, Sony HTST 5000 SoundBar, DirecTV 4K HS17 w/2 Mini Genies, Panamax MR5100 Power Manager, Harmony Elite Remote, Monoprice Cables
49Merc is offline  
post #160 of 505 Old 02-11-2017, 01:32 PM
Member
 
Dub from GA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Georgia
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Grrrrrrrr.


Having issues with my Soundtouch 300 system now.


I'll cut the system on (Sony TV, Direct TV and soundbar).....using either the Bose remote, Direct TV remote or Sony remote.

It all powers on, however there will be no audio from the Bose....I'll toggle it over to the Sony TV speaker audio.

Sometimes the tv will automatically switch to external speakers and the Bose soundbar will begin working fine on its on.

Other times the tv, cable and Bose system will simply power down after a while.

So aggravating.
Dub from GA is offline  
post #161 of 505 Old 02-11-2017, 02:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
49Merc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: North Texas
Posts: 2,424
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 675 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dub from GA View Post
Grrrrrrrr.


Having issues with my Soundtouch 300 system now.


I'll cut the system on (Sony TV, Direct TV and soundbar).....using either the Bose remote, Direct TV remote or Sony remote.

It all powers on, however there will be no audio from the Bose....I'll toggle it over to the Sony TV speaker audio.

Sometimes the tv will automatically switch to external speakers and the Bose soundbar will begin working fine on its on.

Other times the tv, cable and Bose system will simply power down after a while.

So aggravating.
I've sent you a PM.

Sony 4K XBR55X930E, Sony 4K UBPX800 Blu-Ray Player, Sony HTST 5000 SoundBar, DirecTV 4K HS17 w/2 Mini Genies, Panamax MR5100 Power Manager, Harmony Elite Remote, Monoprice Cables
49Merc is offline  
post #162 of 505 Old 02-12-2017, 07:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 4,367
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1889 Post(s)
Liked: 1086
Use the optical connection, I bet it will work fine.
Ellebob is offline  
post #163 of 505 Old 02-18-2017, 09:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
49Merc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: North Texas
Posts: 2,424
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 675 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Although we really enjoy the performance of our Bose SoundTouch 130 I find myself wanting the SoundTouch 300 Soundbar and 300 Subwoofer. Selling the 130 would be a lost cause since new units are highly discounted. I would appreciate anyone's opinion regarding a switch to the 300. Btw, our interest is in HDTV and Blu-ray viewing. Music via apps is not at all important. DirecTV has great music only channels.

Thanks

Sony 4K XBR55X930E, Sony 4K UBPX800 Blu-Ray Player, Sony HTST 5000 SoundBar, DirecTV 4K HS17 w/2 Mini Genies, Panamax MR5100 Power Manager, Harmony Elite Remote, Monoprice Cables
49Merc is offline  
post #164 of 505 Old 02-22-2017, 08:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Anybody on the West Coast receive the newest update?? Still waiting on it....
Kirkobangz is offline  
post #165 of 505 Old 02-22-2017, 09:12 AM
Senior Member
 
Skipm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirkobangz View Post
Anybody on the West Coast receive the newest update?? Still waiting on it....
I'm on the east coast and I haven't received the update either.
Skipm is offline  
post #166 of 505 Old 03-01-2017, 10:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
PlatinumSV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 553
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 305 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Bluetooth drop outs

Anyone else having issues when streaming via Bluetooth. I stream iTunes music from my new MacBook that sits about 15 feet away at most and the audio keeps dropping out. It's driving me nuts. I've tried deleting it and repairing it several times. Same issue.
PlatinumSV is offline  
post #167 of 505 Old 03-01-2017, 01:34 PM
Member
 
mikem471's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi everyone. Hopefully one of you kind souls can impart your wisdom on my Soundbar "wisdom-less" self.

I recently picked up a Samsung UN75JU7100 and I really like the sounds of the 300. In doing my preliminary homework, I've read about the ARC issues some run into. Here's where the stupid question comes........

If I just hook the soundbar into an HDMI port on the TV and bypass the ARC, shouldn't everyrhing be fine? I won't even pretend to fully understand the ARC feature, I just want a soundbar for a 4k TV that doesn't run much more $$ than the Bose 300.

Thanks
mikem471 is offline  
post #168 of 505 Old 03-01-2017, 09:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
49Merc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: North Texas
Posts: 2,424
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 675 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikem471 View Post
Hi everyone. Hopefully one of you kind souls can impart your wisdom on my Soundbar "wisdom-less" self.

I recently picked up a Samsung UN75JU7100 and I really like the sounds of the 300. In doing my preliminary homework, I've read about the ARC issues some run into. Here's where the stupid question comes........

If I just hook the soundbar into an HDMI port on the TV and bypass the ARC, shouldn't everyrhing be fine? I won't even pretend to fully understand the ARC feature, I just want a soundbar for a 4k TV that doesn't run much more $$ than the Bose 300.

Thanks
For thorough answers I suggest you ask your question on the official Bose Community Forums. As usual you will have to register and become a member. https://community.bose.com/

Sony 4K XBR55X930E, Sony 4K UBPX800 Blu-Ray Player, Sony HTST 5000 SoundBar, DirecTV 4K HS17 w/2 Mini Genies, Panamax MR5100 Power Manager, Harmony Elite Remote, Monoprice Cables
49Merc is offline  
post #169 of 505 Old 03-05-2017, 02:54 PM
Senior Member
 
tpro8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 59
This thread has been very informative. Specially the comparison between the Bose and the Sonos. I currently have the full Sonos 5.1 system. While it sounds really good, there is one issue with it that now has me looking at the Bose SoundTouch 300. The fact that Sonos limited - no wait, crippled is a better word, the Playbar with just a single optical input has turned into a real pain in the a$$ for me. To get surround sound the source has to be DD 5.1 - none of the newer codecs will work. I want to get a 4K Blu-Ray player and almost all will not transcode to DD5.1. The only exception is the Samsung K8500 and that is probably the poorest performer of all the new players.

I have a LG OLED65B6 and I saw earlier in this thread that there are no HDMI-ARC issues with this TV. So that's good. But has anyone been using the Bose with a 4K player? Is just having DTS as an additional codec been sufficient?

LG OLED65B6P
Denon X3400H, KEF LS50. KEF Kube8b, KEF R200c, KEF R50
tpro8 is offline  
post #170 of 505 Old 03-07-2017, 09:30 AM
Senior Member
 
HarpuaFSB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by tpro8 View Post
This thread has been very informative. Specially the comparison between the Bose and the Sonos. I currently have the full Sonos 5.1 system. While it sounds really good, there is one issue with it that now has me looking at the Bose SoundTouch 300. The fact that Sonos limited - no wait, crippled is a better word, the Playbar with just a single optical input has turned into a real pain in the a$$ for me. To get surround sound the source has to be DD 5.1 - none of the newer codecs will work. I want to get a 4K Blu-Ray player and almost all will not transcode to DD5.1. The only exception is the Samsung K8500 and that is probably the poorest performer of all the new players.

I have a LG OLED65B6 and I saw earlier in this thread that there are no HDMI-ARC issues with this TV. So that's good. But has anyone been using the Bose with a 4K player? Is just having DTS as an additional codec been sufficient?
The Xbox One S will transcode as well as the new Sony from what I've read.
HarpuaFSB is offline  
post #171 of 505 Old 03-07-2017, 09:34 AM
Senior Member
 
tpro8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by HarpuaFSB View Post
The Xbox One S will transcode as well as the new Sony from what I've read.
I can confirm that the Sony UBP-X800 does not transcode to DD5.1. It will only "downsample" to Dolby Pro Logic. I will look into the Xbox, as I hadn't even thought of that one.

LG OLED65B6P
Denon X3400H, KEF LS50. KEF Kube8b, KEF R200c, KEF R50
tpro8 is offline  
post #172 of 505 Old 03-07-2017, 09:39 AM
Senior Member
 
HarpuaFSB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by tpro8 View Post
I can confirm that the Sony UBP-X800 does not transcode to DD5.1. It will only "downsample" to Dolby Pro Logic. I will look into the Xbox, as I hadn't even thought of that one.
AH ok, I thought I read in the thread here that it does.

The Xbox One S definitely does, I have one hooked up to my LG65E6P > Optical > Sonos Playbar and I get DD5.1.
HarpuaFSB is offline  
post #173 of 505 Old 03-07-2017, 06:37 PM
Senior Member
 
tpro8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by HarpuaFSB View Post
AH ok, I thought I read in the thread here that it does.

The Xbox One S definitely does, I have one hooked up to my LG65E6P > Optical > Sonos Playbar and I get DD5.1.
Regarding the Xbox, Can I ask a further question?
Regarding getting it to transcode to DD5.1. Was this a setting you had to enable in the setup menu somewhere?
I ask because I want to be sure that the Xbox is really transcoding the stream and what you're hearing wasn't already in DD5.1 to begin with.

Thanks

LG OLED65B6P
Denon X3400H, KEF LS50. KEF Kube8b, KEF R200c, KEF R50
tpro8 is offline  
post #174 of 505 Old 03-07-2017, 06:43 PM
Senior Member
 
HarpuaFSB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by tpro8 View Post
Regarding the Xbox, Can I ask a further question?
Regarding getting it to transcode to DD5.1. Was this a setting you had to enable in the setup menu somewhere?
I ask because I want to be sure that the Xbox is really transcoding the stream and what you're hearing wasn't already in DD5.1 to begin with.

Thanks
Yeah, there's a setting:

All Settings > Display & Sound > Audio Output

Set to:
HDMI audio: Bitstream out
Optical audio: Bitstream out
Bitstream format: Dolby Digital (other option is DTS Digital Surround)

I know it works because I have watched X-Men: Apocalypse and Fury Road which are DTS and Atmos on my Xbox One S.
HarpuaFSB is offline  
post #175 of 505 Old 03-07-2017, 06:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
49Merc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: North Texas
Posts: 2,424
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 675 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Have any 300 owners also owned or auditioned the 130? If so, is upgrading to the 300 worth the $$$$?

Sony 4K XBR55X930E, Sony 4K UBPX800 Blu-Ray Player, Sony HTST 5000 SoundBar, DirecTV 4K HS17 w/2 Mini Genies, Panamax MR5100 Power Manager, Harmony Elite Remote, Monoprice Cables
49Merc is offline  
post #176 of 505 Old 03-07-2017, 07:55 PM
Senior Member
 
tpro8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by HarpuaFSB View Post
Yeah, there's a setting:

All Settings > Display & Sound > Audio Output

Set to:
HDMI audio: Bitstream out
Optical audio: Bitstream out
Bitstream format: Dolby Digital (other option is DTS Digital Surround)

I know it works because I have watched X-Men: Apocalypse and Fury Road which are DTS and Atmos on my Xbox One S.
Awesome. Thanks!

LG OLED65B6P
Denon X3400H, KEF LS50. KEF Kube8b, KEF R200c, KEF R50
tpro8 is offline  
post #177 of 505 Old 03-09-2017, 02:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
PlatinumSV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 553
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 305 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Bluetooth Issues

Does anyone else have an issue while streaming bluetooth. The sound touch app works great but when I stream apple music from my mac or iPhone, songs drop out like 3-4 times per song. So much so that I don't even bother anymore. I have zero issues with any other bluetooth devices. I've even gone as far as shutting down anything in the house that would cause an issue and it still happens.
PlatinumSV is offline  
post #178 of 505 Old 03-23-2017, 01:17 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodean View Post
No Apple / Airplay compatibility, no thanks.
Remember this thing has bluetooth input. It's actually better/more reliable than airplay as long as you're in the same room. I have very limited success with actual airplay. The bluetooth worked great from both the macbook and the iphone.
storkinsj is offline  
post #179 of 505 Old 03-28-2017, 08:06 AM
Member
 
marknga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Warner Robins, Ga.
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Been scanning this thread.
This past Sunday I got the Soundtouch 300 Bar and bass module.
I am replacing a very old Onkyo AV receiver and 5.1 speaker system. The old sub was blown, system sounded crappy. The wife was tired of all the wires. I no longer have a turntable or cd to use. Time to upgrade.
Went into local BB, looking to spend 300-400. We stopped and listened to the Bose demo.
Sold. Sounded great, so much for that budget.

Get home, un box the new Bose and go to connect to my older Sony KDL5200v100 TV; no HDMI out.
Used Optical. Spent 4 hours trying to get some sound. No manual in boxes, only quickstart pamphlet.
Finally on one of the BOSE boards I read about turning off the CEC.
I downloaded the Soundtouch app (should have been instruction #1) under the Advance Settings : turn off CEC.
Did that, unhooked optical cable, unplugged tv and sound bar, sub.
Reconnected and bam... we got sound.
Did the calibration.
After 2 days I am ..... kinda underwhelmed.
It is clear but the mids and highs are ... not real impressive.
Sources are Direct TV, Sony Blueray, streaming Netflix, Google Movies thru chrome cast.
Going to give it a few more listens but dang I want to twist that Treble knob but can't.
Any suggestions?
Would HDMI vs Optical make that much difference? In the store ( I know demo station isn't real life) it was so bright and wide.
Thanks in advance.
Mark
marknga is offline  
post #180 of 505 Old 03-28-2017, 08:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 4,367
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1889 Post(s)
Liked: 1086
For most sources optical vs. HDMI will not make a difference in sound quality. Blu-ray is the exception as it has lossless multi-channel sound that optical does not do. When you use a Blu-ray with optical the signal is with the least amount of compression so the difference between lossless and it is not that great. The difference between lossless and more heavily compressed sources like cable and many streaming services is much more noticeable.
Ellebob is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Soundbars

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off