Vizio Sound bar control with LG TV Magic Remote? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 12-30-2016, 05:14 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Vizio Sound bar control with LG TV Magic Remote?

Hello all. I had a decent 5.1 sound system, but there were too many wires running around my place (my living room looked like it was plugged into the Matrix). So, I just got a nice Vizio sound bar (model: S4251w-B4) with a wireless subwoofer to combat the issue. I have the same TV (LG 55G2 - "smart" google TV) that has a nice magic remote with QWERTY keyboard.

While I solved the "wire" issue, I now have a new issue. How do I control the sound bar volume with the LG magic remote? If I cannot solve this, then I have to keep multiple remotes, including the small Vizio remote to control the volume, for my entire system to work. I contacted LG and they told me to contact Vizio. I contacted Vizio and they told me to contact LG. I'm at impasse!

At the end of the day, I don't really have a complicated set-up, so I don't want to use multiple remotes.

Is there a way to use the magic remote (with QWERTY keyboard) to control the Vizio soundbar? Or if needed, is there a universal remote I can buy (Harmony?) that has all the features of the magic remote and can control the volume of the sound bar?

Any help from the experts on this forum is greatly appreciated.
ChicagoFire2016 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 12-31-2016, 01:01 AM
Senior Member
 
brenden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Peoria, IL
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 16
As long as the LG tv has HDMI-CEC enabled in audio settings and is hooked up via optical or HDMI ARC... the TV volume will control the soundbar.

My issue is usually getting the soundbar turned on, and I generally use the Visio remote (and may have to cycle through the inputs), but then any TV remote (my LG TV's or my DirecTv remote) controls the Vizio soundbar volume
brenden is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 12-31-2016, 04:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
mercennarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 133
I have that same sound bar and two LG TVs...both magic remotes can control the sound bar. You need to go into your TV settings to setup the remote to control the soundbar...
mercennarius is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 14 Old 12-31-2016, 04:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
mercennarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by brenden View Post
As long as the LG tv has HDMI-CEC enabled in audio settings and is hooked up via optical or HDMI ARC... the TV volume will control the soundbar.

My issue is usually getting the soundbar turned on, and I generally use the Visio remote (and may have to cycle through the inputs), but then any TV remote (my LG TV's or my DirecTv remote) controls the Vizio soundbar volume
HDMI-CEC only controls HDMI devices and will have no effect on an optical connected device. But LG TVs with the LG Magic remote can be programmed under settings to control the Vizio sound bar. My S4251 soundbar can be powered on and controlled via the magic remote, the newer smartcast soundbar has to be turned on by the vizio remote but can then be controlled via the LG Magic Remote. This is with my setup via optical connection.
mercennarius is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 12-31-2016, 07:20 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by mercennarius View Post
I have that same sound bar and two LG TVs...both magic remotes can control the sound bar. You need to go into your TV settings to setup the remote to control the soundbar...
Thanks merc! I tried doing this on my LG 55g2 (this is a a google TV), but it doesn't seem to have that option. Maybe this is because this is an older LG model with the special QWERTY magic remote. What type of LG TVs do you have? Any insights on this?

As for the on/off for the soundbar. I just leave it on at all times.
ChicagoFire2016 is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 01-01-2017, 10:22 AM
Senior Member
 
brenden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Peoria, IL
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by mercennarius View Post
HDMI-CEC only controls HDMI devices and will have no effect on an optical connected device. But LG TVs with the LG Magic remote can be programmed under settings to control the Vizio sound bar. My S4251 soundbar can be powered on and controlled via the magic remote, the newer smartcast soundbar has to be turned on by the vizio remote but can then be controlled via the LG Magic Remote. This is with my setup via optical connection.
It may not be the HDMI CEC, but my LG 65UH6030 TV remote controls the volume on the Vizio SmartCast 3851 with just optical plugged in (and I've never programmed the soundbar to recognize TV codes)
brenden is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 01-01-2017, 08:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
mercennarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChicagoFire2016 View Post
Thanks merc! I tried doing this on my LG 55g2 (this is a a google TV), but it doesn't seem to have that option. Maybe this is because this is an older LG model with the special QWERTY magic remote. What type of LG TVs do you have? Any insights on this?

As for the on/off for the soundbar. I just leave it on at all times.
I have the LG 55G3 google TV with the QWERTY magic remote and was able to program mine to control the sound bar. I'm pretty sure the G2 has this option as well.
mercennarius is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 01-02-2017, 09:22 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mercennarius View Post
I have the LG 55G3 google TV with the QWERTY magic remote and was able to program mine to control the sound bar. I'm pretty sure the G2 has this option as well.
Thanks again Merc. I didn't know there was a LG G3.

Can you walk me through how you programmed your magic remote on your LG tv? I can't for the life of me figure out on my LG 55g2 TV. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
ChicagoFire2016 is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 02-13-2017, 02:11 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have a LG TV 47' (without web OS) with the magic remote and the same sound bar Vizio S4251.

The LG TV software didnt have an option to program with different remotes. I think the Web OS (newer software TVs) has that option
Dennis Mathew Philip is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 01-01-2018, 04:04 PM
Newbie
 
process's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have the LG OLED 65B7 with Web OS and the Vizio 4551-D5.
The Vizio remote has a menu option to program the SB.
If tried and tried to get the magic remote to program the SB but to no avail.
I am connected via optical. I have the TV outputing optical. I have CEC turned on but nothing works.
I'm at a loss
Can someone post the settings required?

Thanks
process is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 01-01-2018, 05:29 PM
Newbie
 
process's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
How did you program it? Steps please.
Tnx
process is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 01-08-2018, 12:28 AM
Senior Member
 
jlgomez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Miami, Fl
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Angry Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by process View Post
I have the LG OLED 65B7 with Web OS and the Vizio 4551-D5.
The Vizio remote has a menu option to program the SB.
If tried and tried to get the magic remote to program the SB but to no avail.
I am connected via optical. I have the TV outputing optical. I have CEC turned on but nothing works.
I'm at a loss
Can someone post the settings required?

Thanks
Hello,
Where you able to get ur setup working.. I have the same issue with my 65b7 and a Vizio 4051.. Im able to control volume and turning off sound bar with tv power off but it wont turn on the sound bar when tv power with the remote.. I have it connected through the HDMI arc on the sound bar to hdmi arc on the TV.. I called Vizio with no resolution.. Would greatly appreciate your help..
jlgomez is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 04-22-2018, 11:00 PM
Member
 
themcbrooms's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlgomez View Post
Hello,
Where you able to get ur setup working.. I have the same issue with my 65b7 and a Vizio 4051.. Im able to control volume and turning off sound bar with tv power off but it wont turn on the sound bar when tv power with the remote.. I have it connected through the HDMI arc on the sound bar to hdmi arc on the TV.. I called Vizio with no resolution.. Would greatly appreciate your help..
Same boat here. Any solution?
themcbrooms is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 01-02-2020, 12:11 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I was able to make it work!
They was setting the audio to Pass Through. Once that was done, it worked!
Ian Jessop is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Soundbars

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off