SONY 7.1.2 Dolby Atmos Soundbar HT-ST5000 - Page 10 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 452Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 2390 Old 06-01-2017, 01:15 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,090
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9416 Post(s)
Liked: 6103
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjtoadie97 View Post
It seems that the only Atmos bars that can currently decode Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD MA are the Pioneer and Onkyo. Am I missing any?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
The Integra bar(DLB-5) can too. But then all three are basically the same design with some software differences and input differences. The Integra is the most expensive one at $1200 and the Onkyo is the least expensive at $900. But the Onkyo also has the fewest features.

I'm hoping one day I'll be able to demo the Sony ST5000 and the Pioneer FSEB70.
pjtoadie97 likes this.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt; 06-01-2017 at 01:22 PM.
aaronwt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 2390 Old 06-01-2017, 02:00 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
The Integra bar(DLB-5) can too. But then all three are basically the same design with some software differences and input differences. The Integra is the most expensive one at $1200 and the Onkyo is the least expensive at $900. But the Onkyo also has the fewest features.



I'm hoping one day I'll be able to demo the Sony ST5000 and the Pioneer FSEB70.


Ahh ok, I didn't know about the Integra bar. Yeah I would love to demo them too. Also it boggles my mind that there is barely any reviews on the Pioneer. Makes no sense!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
pjtoadie97 is offline  
post #273 of 2390 Old 06-01-2017, 06:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcourt99 View Post
However, despite what HDMI can do, DV still needs the AVR to have a special update to process to signal properly for passthrough so the AVR recognizes the signal as DV and handles it correctly. Just a summary from what I've read.
I've never heard this before. For my own curiosity, do you happen to have any links handy describing this?

It would seem like the receiver should just be able to pass the video signal, unchanged, from the video component to the TV, regardless of the content. Unfortunate if that's not the case though - one more thing to keep track of for compatibility.
kyle2371 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #274 of 2390 Old 06-02-2017, 04:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 4,367
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1889 Post(s)
Liked: 1089
The Yamaha 5600 can decode those formats. However, it has the old HDMI chips which can't handle the bandwidth of 4K with HDR to be sent to the display. You can work around this with an HDMI splitter or a Blu-ray/UHD player with two HDMI outputs.

The term pass through is technically incorrect with HDMI but I know what you mean. With HDMI nothing is passed through, it is repeated. To repeat a signal the repeater (switch, sound bar, receiver, etc.) needs to have the capability of handling that signal. So it needs enough bandwidth and the same or better HDMI/HDCP version, even if it is not doing anything to the signal and just repeating it.

If you are wondering why they don't just simply pass through the signal, especially with something like a switch which doesn't do anything to the signal. The reason is every time you add connections with HDMI you change capacitance and that alters the waveform of the signal, which then might not be recognized by the receiving device. So with HDMI the signal needs to be repeated. Again, some understand this already but I post this for the people that don't and relate pass through to the analog world where it is a different situation.
Ellebob is offline  
post #275 of 2390 Old 06-06-2017, 05:14 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
My local store should receive my HT-ST5000 tomorrow. Can't wait to test it with my 65A1 !
aaronwt and kinglm like this.
Sonny Red is offline  
post #276 of 2390 Old 06-06-2017, 05:29 AM
Member
 
casemanx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I just know mine is going to get delivered while I'm out of town... curses!
casemanx is offline  
post #277 of 2390 Old 06-06-2017, 10:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kinglm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,012
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinglm View Post
Will this fit under the Sony Z9D without blocking the screen? The specs say the height is 80mm or 3.15 inches.
I see courtesy of DanDT over at the AVF owners HT-ST5000 forum across the pond (post #125) , it will fit nicely under the 65Z9D!

https://www.avforums.com/threads/son...2102569/page-5
aaronwt likes this.
kinglm is offline  
post #278 of 2390 Old 06-06-2017, 02:31 PM
Member
 
salvag98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I wish it would be released already! B&H now states expected availability of July 3 and Amazon still says 1-2 months. I'm getting impatient!
aaronwt and kinglm like this.
salvag98 is offline  
post #279 of 2390 Old 06-06-2017, 05:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinglm View Post
I see courtesy of DanDT over at the AVF owners HT-ST5000 forum across the pond (post #125) , it will fit nicely under the 65Z9D!

https://www.avforums.com/threads/son...2102569/page-5
Thanks for the link!

As a side note, I admittedly didn't read through most of that thread, but how are they getting these already?
kyle2371 is offline  
post #280 of 2390 Old 06-07-2017, 12:36 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyle2371 View Post
Thanks for the link!

As a side note, I admittedly didn't read through most of that thread, but how are they getting these already?
They are located in Europe like me. The HT-ST5000 is sold here since may. I am getting mine today. I will write a review as soon as I will have tested it.

For once Europe first ! 😄
kyle2371 likes this.
Sonny Red is offline  
post #281 of 2390 Old 06-07-2017, 01:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 751 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonny Red View Post
They are located in Europe like me. The HT-ST5000 is sold here since may. I am getting mine today. I will write a review as soon as I will have tested it.

For once Europe first ! 😄
Eagerly waiting
sahil0909 is offline  
post #282 of 2390 Old 06-07-2017, 11:17 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 58
The stupidity continues. Someone responded to my question on B&H regarding DTS. He/she responded by stating that the bar will NOT get a DTS firmware update because of a hardware issue. I don't believe it. One hand doesn't know what the other is doing/saying.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
aaronwt and kinglm like this.
bcourt99 is offline  
post #283 of 2390 Old 06-07-2017, 01:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kinglm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,012
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 296
It looks like Amazon has a few in stock - 3.
kinglm is offline  
post #284 of 2390 Old 06-07-2017, 02:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinglm View Post
It looks like Amazon has a few in stock - 3.
Appears to be from a third party seller on Amazon. Tempting, but that makes me nervous for a purchase of this size. I think I'll just hang on to my Amazon order and hope it comes sometime this month....
kyle2371 is offline  
post #285 of 2390 Old 06-07-2017, 02:33 PM
Member
 
salvag98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyle2371 View Post
Appears to be from a third party seller on Amazon. Tempting, but that makes me nervous for a purchase of this size. I think I'll just hang on to my Amazon order and hope it comes sometime this month....
Focus Camera is reputable, although I find it odd that they would get stock before Amazon. I'm also tempted to cancel my order with Amazon and reorder from Focus Camera. It says I would receive it on Monday with Prime.
salvag98 is offline  
post #286 of 2390 Old 06-07-2017, 03:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Finally here :





I will write a quick review in a few days when I will have time to test The soundbar with the 10 UHD BD I have.

I have plugged in a Sony Ultra HD BD player UBP-X800, a PS4 Pro, an Apple TV 4 and a French ISP Box which can handle 4K.
aaronwt likes this.

Last edited by Sonny Red; 06-07-2017 at 03:11 PM.
Sonny Red is offline  
post #287 of 2390 Old 06-07-2017, 03:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonny Red View Post
Finally here :











I will write a quick review in a few days when I will have time to test The soundbar with the 10 UHD BD I have.

I think that entertainment center may block your 2 up-firing speakers. My 2 cents.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
bcourt99 is offline  
post #288 of 2390 Old 06-07-2017, 03:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcourt99 View Post
I think that entertainment center may block your 2 up-firing speakers. My 2 cents.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yes this set up is just temporary. My 65A1 will be soon wall-mounted and the soundbar will be where the A1 currently is.
Sonny Red is offline  
post #289 of 2390 Old 06-07-2017, 03:14 PM
Member
 
salvag98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonny Red View Post
Yes this set up is just temporary. My 65A1 will be soon wall-mounted and the soundbar will be where the A1 currently is.
Who did you order from?
salvag98 is offline  
post #290 of 2390 Old 06-07-2017, 03:36 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,090
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9416 Post(s)
Liked: 6103
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonny Red View Post
Finally here :





I will write a quick review in a few days when I will have time to test The soundbar with the 10 UHD BD I have.

I have plugged in a Sony Ultra HD BD player UBP-X800, a PS4 Pro, an Apple TV 4 and a French ISP Box which can handle 4K.
How do the upfiring speakers work in that setup? It looks like they would be blocked.

EDIT: whoops... I see in a later post it's a temporary setup.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #291 of 2390 Old 06-07-2017, 03:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by salvag98 View Post
Who did you order from?
I live in France. I ordered the soundbar in a home-cinema specialized store which has several physical store in France and a website. I ordered it one month ago. They had some in May but it was sold out so I had to wait until they receive a new batch.
aaronwt likes this.
Sonny Red is offline  
post #292 of 2390 Old 06-07-2017, 04:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonny Red View Post
I live in France. I ordered the soundbar in a home-cinema specialized store which has several physical store in France and a website. I ordered it one month ago. They had some in May but it was sold out so I had to wait until they receive a new batch.
Looks good!

Question - can you easily turn off or dim the little screen that shows the current input? Does it turn off by itself after a period of time? Just wondering if that would be distracting if the soundbar is located right below the TV.

Edit: Also, that is a beautiful TV. Nice choice.
kyle2371 is offline  
post #293 of 2390 Old 06-07-2017, 04:18 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,090
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9416 Post(s)
Liked: 6103
Like all the other Sony soundboard you should have two dimming options and the ability to turn it off. I know with my HTNT3, the dumbest setting is not noticeable when watching TV, unless I look down at the bar.

Sent from my Galaxy S8 using Tapatalk
kyle2371 likes this.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #294 of 2390 Old 06-07-2017, 08:32 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Well Amazon US has shipped my soundbar out, arriving 06/14/17. I am a little afraid as I thought there would be some official response to the DTS audio by now. I will definitely return if it ends up not supporting but that will only be a small window... I will be happy to answer any questions I can once I am setup.
aaronwt likes this.
Guntharia is offline  
post #295 of 2390 Old 06-08-2017, 06:55 AM
Member
 
salvag98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Amazon US currently has this bar on sale for $1,380.21
aaronwt likes this.
salvag98 is offline  
post #296 of 2390 Old 06-08-2017, 07:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 751 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonny Red View Post
Yes this set up is just temporary. My 65A1 will be soon wall-mounted and the soundbar will be where the A1 currently is.
Even though it's a temportary setup, you're going to get little to no overhead effect with the upfiring speakers, the whole point is for the sound to go undisturbed to the ceiling and bounce back to you. You can't review the soundbar in this position
sahil0909 is offline  
post #297 of 2390 Old 06-08-2017, 07:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobbino421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,007
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1296 Post(s)
Liked: 812
Quote:
Originally Posted by sahil0909 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonny Red View Post
Yes this set up is just temporary. My 65A1 will be soon wall-mounted and the soundbar will be where the A1 currently is.
Even though it's a temportary setup, you're going to get little to no overhead effect with the upfiring speakers, the whole point is for the sound to go undisturbed to the ceiling and bounce back to you. You can't review the soundbar in this position
Funny that's my thought on the A1E with way it sits you would either sit the bar right in front of the screen for now until he hung it on wall. Which for me personally is not an option I don't like my TV hanging on the wall! That's also why the A1E is not really an option for me but that's for another thread. You could probably hang the bar somehow off the stand or get a stand with a shelf that juts out if you had a low screen that would interrupt the ir or block you viewing area like the A1E sitting on a stand. I hear the you can adjust upfires depending on your ceiling height also! Which is a cool feature!
bobbino421 is offline  
post #298 of 2390 Old 06-08-2017, 07:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 751 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbino421 View Post
Funny that's my thought on the A1E with way it sits you would either sit the bar right in front of the screen for now until he hung it on wall. Which for me personally is not an option I don't like my TV hanging on the wall! That's also why the A1E is not really an option for me but that's for another thread. You could probably hang the bar somehow off the stand or get a stand with a shelf that juts out if you had a low screen that would interrupt the ir or block you viewing area like the A1E sitting on a stand. I hear the you can adjust upfires depending on your ceiling height also! Which is a cool feature!
Yes that's great on the HT:ST5000 you can adjust the height upto about 16 feet approx if i'm not forgetting. But you're right he should probably figure out a way, even if it's an extra stand he has he can place the soundbar on top of it temporarily. Otherise i mean what's the point of the atmos soundbar if it will not give any overhead effects?
sahil0909 is offline  
post #299 of 2390 Old 06-08-2017, 07:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 751 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbino421 View Post
Funny that's my thought on the A1E with way it sits you would either sit the bar right in front of the screen for now until he hung it on wall. Which for me personally is not an option I don't like my TV hanging on the wall! That's also why the A1E is not really an option for me but that's for another thread. You could probably hang the bar somehow off the stand or get a stand with a shelf that juts out if you had a low screen that would interrupt the ir or block you viewing area like the A1E sitting on a stand. I hear the you can adjust upfires depending on your ceiling height also! Which is a cool feature!
Why don't you like the A1E if it's just sitting on the stand?
sahil0909 is offline  
post #300 of 2390 Old 06-08-2017, 10:18 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,090
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9416 Post(s)
Liked: 6103
Quote:
Originally Posted by salvag98 View Post
Amazon US currently has this bar on sale for $1,380.21
I hope the price stays like that. Then I can pricematch at BestBuy whenever they get it in stock. If I get the ST5000 my plan is to get it from BestBuy since I have a 45 day return period. And I also plan to get the four year extended warranty from them for the ST5000.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Soundbars

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off