SONY 7.1.2 Dolby Atmos Soundbar HT-ST5000 - Page 15 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 450Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #421 of 2377 Old 06-14-2017, 08:03 PM
Member
 
dmb359's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Mine showed up today. Here's some pictures of it, and alongside the Sonos playbar/sub it's replacing. Listened to a little music using Spotify, and it definitely sounded better and clearer than the playbar. Haven't done any movies or anything, and don't even have the Sony x940e I'll be hooking it up to yet to really play around with it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_9188_1497495714355.jpg
Views:	333
Size:	113.3 KB
ID:	2188713   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_9190_1497495739973.jpg
Views:	370
Size:	135.6 KB
ID:	2188721   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_9189_1497495762096.jpg
Views:	345
Size:	130.8 KB
ID:	2188729   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_9192_1497495776551.jpg
Views:	412
Size:	123.2 KB
ID:	2188737  
aaronwt, ryanmcv and New24K like this.
dmb359 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #422 of 2377 Old 06-14-2017, 11:56 PM
Member
 
CrimsonSword's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinglm View Post
Lost my tv app sound to the soundbar. I'm connected via ARC in from the TV to the ARC out on the soundbar. Despite resetting rebooting unplugging and repplugging the HDMI cables toggling Bravia Synch on/off can't get sound from the TV apps. I have a Sony Z9D and you would think the integration would be seamless. Very disappointed and frustrated after spending the last 3 hours trying to get it to work again. Exasperating!
Sorry to hear that's gone wrong. Any chance the TV sound setting in the HT-ST5000 settings has changed to Optical instead of HDMI.

Only other thing I can think to try is open up the Sync Menu on your TV and manually go to Use audio system (not sure if that menu is the same on your TV as my older one)
CrimsonSword is offline  
post #423 of 2377 Old 06-15-2017, 05:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kinglm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,009
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 335 Post(s)
Liked: 296
I don't see an explicit setting for optical in the HT-ST5000 menus. On the TV I can toggle to use audio system but then it reverts back to TV speakers - although sound will come from the cable programming through the bar. For whatever reason it isn't recognizing external audio for the TV apps.

I think the ARC implementation is still buggy either in the TV or the soundbar or both. I unplugged the bar today for the day and may fiddle with it again this evening.

The optical out from the TV to the optical in on the soundbar does appear to work. But the point of the soundbar with the ARC connection to the TV was a key part of the decision to buy.

Thank you for your input.
kinglm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #424 of 2377 Old 06-15-2017, 05:34 AM
Member
 
dmb359's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I connected mine to a Sony XBR43X800D (since I haven't purchased my main tv yet) late last night. I didn't try any TV apps though, just spotify connect, bluetooth, and regular TV, which all worked fine.
dmb359 is offline  
post #425 of 2377 Old 06-15-2017, 06:36 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 58
SONY 7.1.2 Dolby Atmos Soundbar HT-ST5000

Quote:
Originally Posted by kinglm View Post
I don't see an explicit setting for optical in the HT-ST5000 menus. On the TV I can toggle to use audio system but then it reverts back to TV speakers - although sound will come from the cable programming through the bar. For whatever reason it isn't recognizing external audio for the TV apps.

I think the ARC implementation is still buggy either in the TV or the soundbar or both. I unplugged the bar today for the day and may fiddle with it again this evening.

The optical out from the TV to the optical in on the soundbar does appear to work. But the point of the soundbar with the ARC connection to the TV was a key part of the decision to buy.

Thank you for your input.


The ARC / Optical setting is in HDMI Settings>TV Audio Input Mode. I would check that. Page 57 of manual.

ARC on mine works fine but I use Optical for TV Sound output as I despise CEC. It fiddles with input switching. Which is why I use the harmony remote.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
kinglm likes this.
bcourt99 is offline  
post #426 of 2377 Old 06-15-2017, 07:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
keyser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Iceland
Posts: 1,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Can I use wireless bluetooth headphones with this soundbar?

Birgir "keyser"
keyser is offline  
post #427 of 2377 Old 06-15-2017, 08:00 AM
Member
 
shadylpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Yes, you can use Bluetooth headphones. They'll communicate with the bar.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
relaxnl likes this.
shadylpete is offline  
post #428 of 2377 Old 06-15-2017, 08:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
keyser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Iceland
Posts: 1,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by shadylpete View Post
Yes, you can use Bluetooth headphones. They'll communicate with the bar.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Brilliant, thank you.

For those using it with a ZD9 with a stand, is the soundbar higher than the stand(then I´ll have to raise my TV). And yes... I know I can also google this info. But thought I´d ask.

Birgir "keyser"
keyser is offline  
post #429 of 2377 Old 06-15-2017, 08:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kinglm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,009
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 335 Post(s)
Liked: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by keyser View Post
Brilliant, thank you.

For those using it with a ZD9 with a stand, is the soundbar higher than the stand(then I´ll have to raise my TV). And yes... I know I can also google this info. But thought I´d ask.
No it's fits under in front of the Z9D stand nicely with room to spare if you can believe that.
kinglm is offline  
post #430 of 2377 Old 06-15-2017, 09:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
keyser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Iceland
Posts: 1,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinglm View Post
No it's fits under in front of the Z9D stand nicely with room to spare if you can believe that.
Awesome, thanks.

Subwoofer is wireless, correct? What is the range?

Birgir "keyser"
keyser is offline  
post #431 of 2377 Old 06-15-2017, 09:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kinglm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,009
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 335 Post(s)
Liked: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by keyser View Post
Awesome, thanks.

Subwoofer is wireless, correct? What is the range?
Yes sub is wireless. I am somewhat space constrained and found a spot upfront to the left of the TV/Stand/Soundbar. I do not know what the range is.

I tested it to the left on my sofa (L shaped) between the chaise and the wall and I found the bass too prominent/localized even with the volume of the sub turned down. You want it blended with the soundbar sound and it seems to work better near the soundbar.
kinglm is offline  
post #432 of 2377 Old 06-15-2017, 03:16 PM
Member
 
saiks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 13
For those that already have this unit. How is Atmos working for you. I have tested a few demos and clips but not convince with the downward effect. Again this unit has so much power to get with sub, my couch shakes, yeah. None of the things I tried convinced me enough that Atmos is working right. Anyone any has thoughts
saiks is offline  
post #433 of 2377 Old 06-15-2017, 03:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kinglm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,009
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 335 Post(s)
Liked: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by saiks View Post
For those that already have this unit. How is Atmos working for you. I have tested a few demos and clips but not convince with the downward effect. Again this unit has so much power to get with sub, my couch shakes, yeah. None of the things I tried convinced me enough that Atmos is working right. Anyone any has thoughts
A couple of Atmos demos for download can be found here. I played them back through my OPPO's USB input.

https://www.dolby.com/us/en/guide/test-tones.html
aaronwt and kyle2371 like this.
kinglm is offline  
post #434 of 2377 Old 06-15-2017, 05:45 PM
Member
 
BinaryJay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinglm View Post
Yes sub is wireless. I am somewhat space constrained and found a spot upfront to the left of the TV/Stand/Soundbar. I do not know what the range is.

I tested it to the left on my sofa (L shaped) between the chaise and the wall and I found the bass too prominent/localized even with the volume of the sub turned down. You want it blended with the soundbar sound and it seems to work better near the soundbar.
The localized sound from sub was also the worst part of the nt5 for me. Problem is they cross over these subs at way high frequencies. They call them subwoofers but really they are treated like a woofer from a full range speaker.
BinaryJay is offline  
post #435 of 2377 Old 06-15-2017, 06:43 PM
Member
 
salvag98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I've tested the Atmos effect using all the Dolby supplied tests and watched John Wick (beginning rain scene) on my UBP-X800. Perhaps I need to tweak the settings some, but I have a hard time imagining that the sounds are coming from over my head.

The sound bar itself is spectacular for music and general surround sound, I'm just not really getting any "wow factor" as pertains to the Atmos feature.
salvag98 is offline  
post #436 of 2377 Old 06-15-2017, 07:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: WI
Posts: 3,028
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2453 Post(s)
Liked: 1174
Quote:
Originally Posted by salvag98 View Post
I've tested the Atmos effect using all the Dolby supplied tests and watched John Wick (beginning rain scene) on my UBP-X800. Perhaps I need to tweak the settings some, but I have a hard time imagining that the sounds are coming from over my head.

The sound bar itself is spectacular for music and general surround sound, I'm just not really getting any "wow factor" as pertains to the Atmos feature.

Do you have the distances, etc. set up properly in the settings?

Some people have said that they tweaked the distances and it made a difference.
kinglm likes this.

Shopping List:
TV: LG C9/C10, or Samsung Q90R, or Sony ...
Blu-ray: Panasonic UB820, or Pioneer Elite LX500, or Sony X800M
AVR/Pre-pro: Marantz 8805/7705 or 8012, or Yamaha 5200 or 3080
Speakers: GE Triton One.R, or ML ElectroMotion ESL X

Last edited by New24K; 06-15-2017 at 07:25 PM.
New24K is offline  
post #437 of 2377 Old 06-15-2017, 07:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kinglm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,009
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 335 Post(s)
Liked: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by New24K View Post
Do you have the distances, etc. set up properly in the settings?

So people have said that they tweaked the distances and it make a difference.
What's also great is you can tweak the levels such as increasing the sound from the upfiring atmos speakers. The test tones can help you do that.
aaronwt likes this.
kinglm is offline  
post #438 of 2377 Old 06-15-2017, 08:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 4,367
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1889 Post(s)
Liked: 1086
Quote:
Originally Posted by BinaryJay View Post
The localized sound from sub was also the worst part of the nt5 for me. Problem is they cross over these subs at way high frequencies. They call them subwoofers but really they are treated like a woofer from a full range speaker.
With the size of drivers in this bar I would guess the crossover is in the 150-200hz range, it would be recommended to keep the sub near the sound bar to avoid localization.
Ellebob is offline  
post #439 of 2377 Old 06-16-2017, 06:54 AM
Member
 
saiks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by salvag98 View Post
I've tested the Atmos effect using all the Dolby supplied tests and watched John Wick (beginning rain scene) on my UBP-X800. Perhaps I need to tweak the settings some, but I have a hard time imagining that the sounds are coming from over my head.

The sound bar itself is spectacular for music and general surround sound, I'm just not really getting any "wow factor" as pertains to the Atmos feature.
I'm on the same boat here too. I'm not woww'd yet. Tired the Vudu demo and the once from Dolby not convinced. Will keep adjusting settings
saiks is offline  
post #440 of 2377 Old 06-16-2017, 07:43 AM
Member
 
BinaryJay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ellebob View Post
With the size of drivers in this bar I would guess the crossover is in the 150-200hz range, it would be recommended to keep the sub near the sound bar to avoid localization.
I used to run two of these (each has a pair of 15 inch drivers in them they were bigger than dishwashers).


Powered by this.


I got ruined for subs a long time ago. Before I knew what WAF was. 200hz a subwoofer is not lol.
aaronwt likes this.
BinaryJay is offline  
post #441 of 2377 Old 06-16-2017, 09:58 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by saiks View Post
None of the things I tried convinced me enough that Atmos is working right. Anyone any has thoughts
I've experienced no Atmos effect. I properly adjusted the speaker distance and ceiling height. Once finished, I played the Dolby "conductor" demo only to find myself very disappointed. I closed my eyes and listened carefully but heard little more than stereo sound. Not sure how people are experiencing convincing directional sound effects, but maybe members can share some tips?

PS: I also watched John Wick last night and heard no Atmos effect during the beginning and final rain scenes.
felix222 is offline  
post #442 of 2377 Old 06-16-2017, 10:02 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 58
SONY 7.1.2 Dolby Atmos Soundbar HT-ST5000

Quote:
Originally Posted by felix222 View Post
I've experienced no Atmos effect. I properly adjusted the speaker distance and ceiling height. Once finished, I played the Dolby "conductor" demo only to find myself very disappointed. I closed my eyes and listened carefully but heard little more than stereo sound. Not sure how people are getting virtual directional sound effects, but maybe they can share some tips?



PS: I also watched John Wick last night and heard no Atmos effect during the beginning and final rain scenes.


I agree with the lack of Atmos effect and virtual surround effects. However, I knew it was a sound bar and knew it was going to be extremely limited in that regard so I'm not too disappointed. However, the audio clarity is great, the bass is powerful. Most importantly, it passes HDR. I wanted a good quality sound bar with all the current bells and whistles. With a DTS:X update, I'll have just that.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
sweeney and kinglm like this.

Last edited by bcourt99; 06-16-2017 at 10:44 AM.
bcourt99 is offline  
post #443 of 2377 Old 06-16-2017, 10:41 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,964
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9318 Post(s)
Liked: 6002
Quote:
Originally Posted by felix222 View Post
I've experienced no Atmos effect. I properly adjusted the speaker distance and ceiling height. Once finished, I played the Dolby "conductor" demo only to find myself very disappointed. I closed my eyes and listened carefully but heard little more than stereo sound. Not sure how people are experiencing convincing directional sound effects, but maybe members can share some tips?

PS: I also watched John Wick last night and heard no Atmos effect during the beginning and final rain scenes.
SOmething doesn't sound right if you can only hear stereo effects. Even my SOny HT-NT3, 2.1 sound bar does a great job taking a 7.1 signal and placing sound all around the room. It makes it sound like audio is coming from nowhere near the speaker bar. The ST5000 with nine speakers should be able to do an even better job.

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #444 of 2377 Old 06-16-2017, 12:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: WI
Posts: 3,028
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2453 Post(s)
Liked: 1174
Anyone tried to turn the Atmos speakers all the way up?

Play around with the height and distance set-ups?

Is the soundbar getting an Atmos signal?

I can't believe that the Atmos effects would be THAT bad...

Shopping List:
TV: LG C9/C10, or Samsung Q90R, or Sony ...
Blu-ray: Panasonic UB820, or Pioneer Elite LX500, or Sony X800M
AVR/Pre-pro: Marantz 8805/7705 or 8012, or Yamaha 5200 or 3080
Speakers: GE Triton One.R, or ML ElectroMotion ESL X
New24K is offline  
post #445 of 2377 Old 06-16-2017, 02:04 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by New24K View Post
Anyone tried to turn the Atmos speakers all the way up?

Play around with the height and distance set-ups?

Is the soundbar getting an Atmos signal?

I can't believe that the Atmos effects would be THAT bad...
Yep, been tinkering with the settings. I cranked up the upward speakers and I am currently watching Hacksaw Ridge. I can't hear falling debris from the ceiling during action scenes. I put my ear to the upward speakers and I hear sound but it doesn't reflect off the ceiling effectively. Standard surround sound is lacking too. Bullets whiz left to right, but that's it. I hear no simulated effect.

I've spent the day comparing the ST5000 to my Boston Acoustics Tvee Model 30. The Tvee Model 30 cost me just $350 just 4 years ago. I played Dolby Atmos demos side by side to compare, and even asked my girlfriend for her opinion. She thought the Boston Acoustics sounded better. Honestly, I'm tempted to agree with her. I don't want to bash the Sony, but it offers marginal, if any, improvement over my BA soundbar. I'm not an audiophile and I don't have unrealistic expectations. I'm judging the soundbar on my live side by side comparisons to the TVee 30, the ST5000's price, and positive member experiences.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrimsonSword View Post
The gun battles are stunning, ricochets exploding wood all around you. The glass shattering behind me was a real surprise.
Really places you in the action. The clarity is the first thing that hits you, just amazing.
This is what I was hoping to experience^

I'm open to any ideas or solutions...anything that might offer improvement.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20170616_134756_1200.jpg
Views:	334
Size:	817.3 KB
ID:	2191393  

Last edited by felix222; 06-16-2017 at 02:25 PM.
felix222 is offline  
post #446 of 2377 Old 06-16-2017, 02:24 PM
Member
 
CrimsonSword's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 48
That does seem odd that you're not getting the effect.

I noticed you're playing an MKV, is the bar definately reporting as receiving an Atmos signal (wheb pressing display)?

And looking at your setup can see why it wouldnt work, ceiling looks flat etc.

Mine is much lower placement wise. The ceiling height it 2.4m, and the stand its on is only .32m high. I am getting full surround effect though. Will give Hacksaw UHD blu-ray a go tomorrow and report back
felix222 likes this.
CrimsonSword is offline  
post #447 of 2377 Old 06-16-2017, 02:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: WI
Posts: 3,028
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2453 Post(s)
Liked: 1174
According to page 23 of the manual.

For wall-mounting -

If the distance from the wall to the outer-end of your TV is UNDER 4" then the soundbar has to be AT LEAST 4+" beneath the bottom of your TV.

If the distance from the wall to the outer-end of your TV is MORE than 4" then the soundbar has to be AT LEAST 8+" beneath the bottom of your TV.

Some of your soundbars may be too close to the bottom of your TVs and obstructing the Atmos speakers.
relaxnl and felix222 like this.

Shopping List:
TV: LG C9/C10, or Samsung Q90R, or Sony ...
Blu-ray: Panasonic UB820, or Pioneer Elite LX500, or Sony X800M
AVR/Pre-pro: Marantz 8805/7705 or 8012, or Yamaha 5200 or 3080
Speakers: GE Triton One.R, or ML ElectroMotion ESL X
New24K is offline  
post #448 of 2377 Old 06-16-2017, 02:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 4,367
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1889 Post(s)
Liked: 1086
I am surprised you are not getting any Atmos effect even minimal, just wondering if all the settings are correct in your system. I am not at all surprised the TVee30 sounds better though, I would expect that.
felix222 likes this.
Ellebob is offline  
post #449 of 2377 Old 06-16-2017, 03:24 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Thank you for the replies.

I've attached photos of my setup along with the vaulted ceiling. The soundbar to ceiling max distance is 7ft:

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrimsonSword View Post
That does seem odd that you're not getting the effect.

I noticed you're playing an MKV, is the bar definately reporting as receiving an Atmos signal (wheb pressing display)?

And looking at your setup can see why it wouldnt work, ceiling looks flat etc.

Mine is much lower placement wise. The ceiling height it 2.4m, and the stand its on is only .32m high. I am getting full surround effect though. Will give Hacksaw UHD blu-ray a go tomorrow and report back
Display button worked at first but no longer does, annoyingly. The soundbar received the Dolby Atmos stream while the Display button worked. Now that I turned on Enhanced HDMI mode for HDR, the Display button does not work. It doesn’t work even if I revert to Standard HDMI and turn off Video Direct.

Quote:
Originally Posted by New24K View Post
According to page 23 of the manual.

For wall-mounting -

If the distance from the wall to the outer-end of your TV is UNDER 4" then the soundbar has to be AT LEAST 4+" beneath the bottom of your TV.

If the distance from the wall to the outer-end of your TV is MORE than 4" then the soundbar has to be AT LEAST 8+" beneath the bottom of your TV.

Some of your soundbars may be too close to the bottom of your TVs and obstructing the Atmos speakers.
Not quite wall mounted. It's sitting on the mantle, which allows me to place it away from the wall and forward of the TV. The manual reads that if the TV with is less than 2 5/8 inch deep, the soundbar must be 2 inches or more from the bottom of the TV. My TV is mounted 2 1/4 deep and the soundbar is 2 1/2 inches below the TV. Again, the soundbar is sitting on the mantle and forward of the TV. I've attached closeup pics of the TV with the Atmos speakers. Please keep in mind that the Atmos speakers are not directed 90 degrees upwards. Instead, they are closer to 60, if I had to guess, and should allow the sound to be thrown beyond the TV.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ellebob
I am surprised you are not getting any Atmos effect even minimal, just wondering if all the settings are correct in your system. I am not at all surprised the TVee30 sounds better though, I would expect that.
I've always been satisfied with my TVee 30, but it doesn’t support lossless audio and is just 3.1 channels. Why would you expect it sound better?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20170616_144715_1200.jpg
Views:	298
Size:	946.0 KB
ID:	2191497   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20170616_144638_1200.jpg
Views:	332
Size:	135.8 KB
ID:	2191505   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_1499_1200.jpg
Views:	331
Size:	704.3 KB
ID:	2191513   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_1497_1200.jpg
Views:	346
Size:	869.3 KB
ID:	2191521   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20170616_150355_1200.jpg
Views:	292
Size:	863.9 KB
ID:	2191529  


Last edited by felix222; 06-16-2017 at 03:29 PM.
felix222 is offline  
post #450 of 2377 Old 06-16-2017, 03:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 58
SONY 7.1.2 Dolby Atmos Soundbar HT-ST5000

Quote:
Originally Posted by felix222 View Post
Thank you for the replies.



I've attached photos of my setup along with the vaulted ceiling. The soundbar to ceiling max distance is 7ft:







Display button worked at first but no longer does, annoyingly. The soundbar received the Dolby Atmos stream while the Display button worked. Now that I turned on Enhanced HDMI mode for HDR, the Display button does not work. It doesn’t work even if I revert to Standard HDMI and turn off Video Direct.







Not quite wall mounted. It's sitting on the mantle, which allows me to place it away from the wall and forward of the TV. The manual reads that if the TV with is less than 2 5/8 inch deep, the soundbar must be 2 inches or more from the bottom of the TV. My TV is mounted 2 1/4 deep and the soundbar is 2 1/2 inches below the TV. Again, the soundbar is sitting on the mantle and forward of the TV. I've attached closeup pics of the TV with the Atmos speakers. Please keep in mind that the Atmos speakers are not directed 90 degrees upwards. Instead, they are closer to 60, if I had to guess, and should allow the sound to be thrown beyond the TV.







I've always been satisfied with my TVee 30, but it doesn’t support lossless audio and is just 3.1 channels. Why would you expect it sound better?


Display doesn't work with Enhanced. I know you said you put it back to standard but it might need to reset.

You have a huge room. With big windows and an open side to the kitchen. The bar isn't going to do much for immersion/virtual surround. No place for the sound to bounce/reflect. It's going to be minimal.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited by bcourt99; 06-16-2017 at 03:38 PM.
bcourt99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Soundbars

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off