Official LG SJ9 Thread - Page 66 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 266Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1951 of 1986 Old 11-12-2018, 09:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 761
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 508 Post(s)
Liked: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by beefy314 View Post
Hi all!

Can anyone help me with my problem.

My SJ9 is connceted via arc to an lg C7 and configured as arc. I have a media player connected to the hdmi in of the soundbar.

Everytime I switch to the “hdmi in “ input of the sj9, it switches the LGC7 to internal speakers mode thus when playing a movie, both the tv and soundbar outputs sound.

If i adjust the c7 to output sound via arc, it switches the soundbar to the arc input again thus not being able to watch the media player via hdmi in of the sj9

How do i fix this?
Try this. Unplug all 3 devices for 20-30 seconds then replug.
Skunkbeard is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1952 of 1986 Old 11-12-2018, 12:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by aero29 View Post
My SJ9 and H7's received a firmware update today anybody know what this update is?
At first it seemed that the issue of flickering when using Apple TV4k in 50/60hz mode with variable HDR/refresh rate was fixed. And while it occurs less, I still get static when switching form Dolby Vision to SDR and back a couple of times in the last few days. So i reverted back to 30hz again.
SanderSNL is offline  
post #1953 of 1986 Old 11-12-2018, 12:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by aero29 View Post
My SJ9 and H7's received a firmware update today anybody know what this update is?
Also, I think, not sure. But when i use spotify connect now it seems that volume control is a bit better. At first it jumped 3 steps up/down everytime I used my volume up/down buttons on the iPhone. Also the first click did not work. This seems to work now and it now moves 1 step everytime.

Though this could have been a fix of the Spotify iOS app?
SanderSNL is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1954 of 1986 Old 11-12-2018, 02:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 761
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 508 Post(s)
Liked: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skunkbeard View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by beefy314 View Post
Hi all!

Can anyone help me with my problem.

My SJ9 is connceted via arc to an lg C7 and configured as arc. I have a media player connected to the hdmi in of the soundbar.

Everytime I switch to the “hdmi in “ input of the sj9, it switches the LGC7 to internal speakers mode thus when playing a movie, both the tv and soundbar outputs sound.

If i adjust the c7 to output sound via arc, it switches the soundbar to the arc input again thus not being able to watch the media player via hdmi in of the sj9

How do i fix this?
Try this. Unplug all 3 devices for 20-30 seconds then replug.
Or can disable HDMI CEC temporarily and cycle to the correct sound source.
Skunkbeard is offline  
post #1955 of 1986 Old 11-16-2018, 01:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mtbdudex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 6,831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 1534
I see a lot of people with the 2018 LG C8 OLED are using this SJ9 soundbar.
I'm doing research for my in-laws usage, they are mid-70's and love my 2016 LG B8 OLED viewing, so pairing them with a new OLED and easy to use soundbar is a win-win.

Are there any con's in using the SJ9 with the C8?
Their only other input device will be X-finity cable, all will go thru the TV HDMI then via arc to the soundbar.

Best buy has both at good deals now, I'll hold off the wireless rear's for now, but any feedback from those that use them appreciated.
mtbdudex is offline  
post #1956 of 1986 Old 11-17-2018, 08:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 272 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by beefy314 View Post
Hi all!

Can anyone help me with my problem.

My SJ9 is connceted via arc to an lg C7 and configured as arc. I have a media player connected to the hdmi in of the soundbar.

Everytime I switch to the “hdmi in “ input of the sj9, it switches the LGC7 to internal speakers mode thus when playing a movie, both the tv and soundbar outputs sound.

If i adjust the c7 to output sound via arc, it switches the soundbar to the arc input again thus not being able to watch the media player via hdmi in of the sj9

How do i fix this?
I have same problem in lgb6, to me it works again if i change tv to other HDMI input then switch back to lgs9 input. Annoying i know, that is why i decided to connect xbox directly to tv so i don't have this problem anymore.
OwnerOfLg is online now  
post #1957 of 1986 Old 11-26-2018, 11:56 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hello everyone.

I am trying to use the bar on PC (HDMI In). However when I enable HDR in Windows 10, the option is not supported. And when I play Resident Evil 7 (which uses HDR) the game limits me to 4k 30Fps. The nvidia driver is in 4:2:0 and 60Hz. I use a GTX 1070. After all, does this bar support HDR/60FPS/4k? When I use the PS4 in it, it looks okay. But I am in doubt if on PS4 / Xbox One X it is also limited to 30Hz as it seems to be on PC.
André Alexandre is offline  
post #1958 of 1986 Old 12-28-2018, 04:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Is anyone using this soundbar with an x900f? Just trying to get Atmos from Netflix but getting no good luck
Og92 is offline  
post #1959 of 1986 Old 01-01-2019, 07:58 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Og92 View Post
Is anyone using this soundbar with an x900f? Just trying to get Atmos from Netflix but getting no good luck


Straight from the TV Netflix app? Or through an Apple TV?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Nosara2017 is offline  
post #1960 of 1986 Old 01-02-2019, 06:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Str8 from the TV Netflix app to SJ9 soundbar

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nosara2017 View Post



Straight from the TV Netflix app? Or through an Apple TV?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Og92 is offline  
post #1961 of 1986 Old 01-03-2019, 12:07 AM
Member
 
paulhenta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nosara2017 View Post
Straight from the TV Netflix app? Or through an Apple TV?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk


Supposedly this tv support lossy atmos from built-in apps (atmos recoded to DD+) with the latest firmware x900f firmware. So acknowledging that you have that and a good tested 18gbs hdmi cable, it should work.
Check also if there is not a menu to activate « enhanced hdmi » for the hdmi port used

I have a OLED b6 not capable of passing even lossy atmos but even if it was, I would not want a lossy experience. So I acquired a hdmi hub plugged straight into the only SJ9 hdmi port and all my problem were solved.

E-arc will be all over the place at CES and with hdmi 2.1 hopefully these issues will disappear.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
paulhenta is offline  
post #1962 of 1986 Old 01-13-2019, 03:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hello everyone. I have ran into another problem with my SJ9.


Today my passthrew will not work. I have reset the soundbar twice now. Im still getting no audio or video.


I have tried to plug both my hdmi cables into differant things to make sure they actually work.


My set up is Laptop<HIMI IN SJ9> HDMI OUT(ARC) SJ9> HDMI ON TV (ARC) IN... It use to work.





Edit. I just tried to connect both again. my computer now reads the SJ9 as the hdmi in......... and I get sound....... no video still




Edit #2 . If I use two sperate connections I get video and sound. so it works... just not able to do atmos.
it works if I do Xbox> HMDI 1 TV //// SOUNDBAR ARC> TV ARC...... but I dont want that

Last edited by irishwheels; 01-13-2019 at 03:40 PM.
irishwheels is offline  
post #1963 of 1986 Old 01-16-2019, 07:06 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi! I got the SJ9 but I'm facing a big issue with Sony movies. When the track is ATMOS it randomly drop out sound and shows "not supported" on the bar, then the audio works fine for a while and then issue again. ONLY happens with Sony movies (Ex: Spiderman Home Coming and The Labyrinth"), if I change the language to another track without Atmos it works just fine. Other non Sony movies work perfectly.... anyone with the asme issue? (Already changed the HDMI cable, reboot the bar, updated and unplugged)

Also I want to know if the rear speakers (H3 or H7 I think that is the name) works as a surround for movies or is just for music.

Thank you in advance.
René Serrato Enriquez is offline  
post #1964 of 1986 Old 01-16-2019, 08:54 PM
Senior Member
 
schalliol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Carmel, IN, USA
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 33
I have some ATMOS drop-outs too. I think it's fully updated and wish I had a solution.
schalliol is offline  
post #1965 of 1986 Old 01-18-2019, 03:14 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I was able to solve my problem in WIndows 10. Before I could not use the PC in the bar running at 4k / 60hz with active HDR. I could only get HDR if I used it at 30Hz. If I set it to 60Hz, the Nvidia driver automatically locks the bar in Chroma 4: 2: 0 with 8 bits that does not HDR, and would not accept any other option. So I used a program that edits the resolution of the Soundbar driver. Now my windows 10 is running at full 4k / 60Hz / RGB and 8bit with active HDR and Dolby Atmos. All through the SJ9's HDMI. The program I used to fix this firmware error is the CRU. I just included a new RGB resolution in the soundbar. My setup is a GTX 1070 with a Sony 900F TV.
André Alexandre is offline  
post #1966 of 1986 Old 01-19-2019, 02:06 PM
Member
 
paulhenta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by René Serrato Enriquez View Post
Hi! I got the SJ9 but I'm facing a big issue with Sony movies. When the track is ATMOS it randomly drop out sound and shows "not supported" on the bar, then the audio works fine for a while and then issue again. ONLY happens with Sony movies (Ex: Spiderman Home Coming and The Labyrinth"), if I change the language to another track without Atmos it works just fine. Other non Sony movies work perfectly.... anyone with the asme issue? (Already changed the HDMI cable, reboot the bar, updated and unplugged)



Also I want to know if the rear speakers (H3 or H7 I think that is the name) works as a surround for movies or is just for music.



Thank you in advance.


The H3 or H7 works as surround for movies. The effect is convincing in Atmos mode.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
paulhenta is offline  
post #1967 of 1986 Old 01-26-2019, 04:35 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello to everyone. (Sorry for my english i'm italian)

I bought sj9 6 months ago and i've 2 big question

I've ps4 pro and sj9.

I try to connect ps4 pro to sj9 hdmi in and hdmi out to hdmi2 arc tv (lg55b8)
Is this correct?
Cause if i do that the best resolution in ps4 is 2160 yuv420 (compressed). No 2160rgb.
If i connect ps4 pro direct to tv the resolution is 2160rgb full hdr.
I think the best way (for audio) is passthrought sj9 hdmi-in but if i do that i've not the best video quality... Do you have Any solution?

And the second question is:
When i use netflix on tv and watch somethings with atoms. I send audio signal from tv hdmi2 arc to soundbar. When i press info button for see what kind of audio i have.. I see PCM on the soundbar....
And if i watch any bluray in ps4 pro and i try to set the film audio to DTS HD 7.1 or any other... the result is always PCM on the soundbar... I don't understand... I try to change on the ps4menu from pcm to bitstream (dolby digital or dts) but i have always PCM on the soundbar.
Anyone can help me?
Thank you!
Tomdelonge is offline  
post #1968 of 1986 Old 01-26-2019, 06:30 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Update: everythings works via "arc port" ...

I have to turn on "bypass" in LG tv audio setting - Av sync.


And for the ps4 pro i have to press option while watching bd and choose bitstream on setting. Default is PCM...


One more question: while i'm watching netflix film with atmos audio like punisher hill house etc... If i press info on soundbar control i see "dolby audio" not "dolby atmos"is this normal?
Tomdelonge is offline  
post #1969 of 1986 Old 02-07-2019, 11:00 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomdelonge View Post
Hello to everyone. (Sorry for my english i'm italian)

I bought sj9 6 months ago and i've 2 big question

I've ps4 pro and sj9.

I try to connect ps4 pro to sj9 hdmi in and hdmi out to hdmi2 arc tv (lg55b8)
Is this correct?
Cause if i do that the best resolution in ps4 is 2160 yuv420 (compressed). No 2160rgb.
If i connect ps4 pro direct to tv the resolution is 2160rgb full hdr.
I think the best way (for audio) is passthrought sj9 hdmi-in but if i do that i've not the best video quality... Do you have Any solution?

And the second question is:
When i use netflix on tv and watch somethings with atoms. I send audio signal from tv hdmi2 arc to soundbar. When i press info button for see what kind of audio i have.. I see PCM on the soundbar....
And if i watch any bluray in ps4 pro and i try to set the film audio to DTS HD 7.1 or any other... the result is always PCM on the soundbar... I don't understand... I try to change on the ps4menu from pcm to bitstream (dolby digital or dts) but i have always PCM on the soundbar.
Anyone can help me?
Thank you!
2160rgb + HDR on the ps4 pro is not posible (due HDMI limitations if i'm not wrong). When a HDR game is running the default setting is yuv422 (not yuv420 unless you set the ps4 settings to force that) without HDR (any other SDR game) should be 2160 rgb.

Which TV do you have? Because this are the only devices that support NETFLIX with ATMOS
  • Apple TV 4K (requires tvOS 12 or later)
  • LG OLED TVs (2017 or newer models)
  • Pixela 4K Smart Tuner
  • Sony BRAVIA Android TVs (2018 models)
  • Windows 10 computer or tablet (requires Windows 10 RS3 Build 16299 or later)
  • Xbox One, Xbox One S, and Xbox One X

And for the movie, you should check if the movie has ATMOS and set on the ps4 setting to bitstream dolby digital.
René Serrato Enriquez is offline  
post #1970 of 1986 Old 02-23-2019, 08:18 AM
Newbie
 
scotthillier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Guys
Im reading in here about people getting sj9 firmware updates to fix handshake issues.

I'm dealing with an LG support agent who says there is no such thing as firmware updates for the sj9.

Does anyone have any emails or anything that proves he's talking sh*t that I could use ??!

Thanks!
scotthillier is offline  
post #1971 of 1986 Old 04-29-2019, 02:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hi all
Is there a way to increase only Atmos speakers volume without touching other speakers?
Thank you.
niccic is offline  
post #1972 of 1986 Old 05-11-2019, 08:59 AM
Senior Member
 
Bejoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 301 Post(s)
Liked: 146
HI there. I currently have the SJ9 connected to the Sony OLED A1E (via ARC). I am not getting Atmos on Vudu anymore.

It was working fine for 5 months via ARC. Any way to fix this? The A1E passes Atmos via ARC for Vudu and it worked fine from Jan 11- May 10. Today it doesn't do it anymore..

Spoiler!
Bejoy is offline  
post #1973 of 1986 Old 05-12-2019, 07:16 AM
OT7
Member
 
OT7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
[QUOTE=niccic;57969946]Hi all
Is there a way to increase only Atmos speakers volume without touching other speakers?
Thank you.[/QUOTE

No
OT7 is online now  
post #1974 of 1986 Old 05-21-2019, 09:56 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi, I know this have been discussed but I'm not able to get a clear answer.

I have a Sony X850F 4K LCD Range (known as the XF85 range in Europe) and the SJ9 to the TV via ARC while my PS4 PRO directly to the TV via HDMI 1.

What will be the most ideal setup.

Currently:
PS4 Pro (HDMI 1) > Sony TV (ARC) > SJ9

Will this setup be better or work:
PS4 Pro (HDMI) > SJ9 (HDMI 1)> Sony TV

If so which audio output should i use? PCM, Bitstream DD or Bitstream DTS?
Will there be visual quality lost if I set it up this way, understand that the SJ9 have 4k pass through.

Thanks in advance!
shawnsterz is offline  
post #1975 of 1986 Old 06-13-2019, 10:25 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by schalliol View Post
I have some ATMOS drop-outs too. I think it's fully updated and wish I had a solution.
Drop outs in general. Especially with the subwoofer. I haven't experienced a single one since upgrading to the SL10Y.
bjstick is offline  
post #1976 of 1986 Old 06-13-2019, 11:11 AM
Senior Member
 
schalliol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Carmel, IN, USA
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Thanks for letting me know. I don’t think the 10 will fit in my space, but maybe the new 9 Would solve the issue
schalliol is offline  
post #1977 of 1986 Old 06-21-2019, 05:32 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by beefy314 View Post
Hi all!

Can anyone help me with my problem.

My SJ9 is connceted via arc to an lg C7 and configured as arc. I have a media player connected to the hdmi in of the soundbar.

Everytime I switch to the “hdmi in “ input of the sj9, it switches the LGC7 to internal speakers mode thus when playing a movie, both the tv and soundbar outputs sound.

If i adjust the c7 to output sound via arc, it switches the soundbar to the arc input again thus not being able to watch the media player via hdmi in of the sj9

How do i fix this?
I'm also facing the same issue. Did you get a resolution. I tried unplugging cables as suggested but it does not work. XBOX one X works on HDMI 2 (ARC) on LG C7 and with HDMI IN on SJ9. Sounds outputs from both TV and soundbar.
akshay Kathuria is offline  
post #1978 of 1986 Old 06-21-2019, 05:33 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by beefy314 View Post
Hi all!

Can anyone help me with my problem.

My SJ9 is connceted via arc to an lg C7 and configured as arc. I have a media player connected to the hdmi in of the soundbar.

Everytime I switch to the “hdmi in “ input of the sj9, it switches the LGC7 to internal speakers mode thus when playing a movie, both the tv and soundbar outputs sound.

If i adjust the c7 to output sound via arc, it switches the soundbar to the arc input again thus not being able to watch the media player via hdmi in of the sj9

How do i fix this?
I'm also facing the same issue. Did you get a resolution. I tried unplugging cables as suggested but it does not work. XBOX one X works on HDMI 2 (ARC) on LG C7 and with HDMI IN on SJ9. Sounds outputs from both TV and soundbar.
akshay Kathuria is offline  
post #1979 of 1986 Old 06-21-2019, 05:42 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
My xbox one x has hdmi out connected to Lg sj9 HDMI IN and the SJ9 HDMI Out TV ARC to LG C7 HDMI 2 ARC.
Is this the right configuration because i'm getting sound output from both Internal speakers of TV and soundbar?
akshay Kathuria is offline  
post #1980 of 1986 Old 06-21-2019, 07:59 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 272 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay Kathuria View Post
My xbox one x has hdmi out connected to Lg sj9 HDMI IN and the SJ9 HDMI Out TV ARC to LG C7 HDMI 2 ARC.
Is this the right configuration because i'm getting sound output from both Internal speakers of TV and soundbar?
No, you should only be gettings sound from sj9. I had this configuration and it worked fine (lg b6). Connections seem to be right, are you sure hdmi is in right arc port in your tv? And is sound output set to hdmi/arc? Have you "installed" sj9 in c7 hardware wizard? It is working right if/when you can adjust soundbar sound volume with tv remote. Oh yep, also simplink has to be enabled in tv.
OwnerOfLg is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Soundbars



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off