Sony 3.1ch Dolby Atmos / DTS:X Sound bar HT-ZF9 - Page 25 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 129Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 734 Old 07-21-2019, 07:43 AM
Newbie
 
Chappystyle31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Watched Spiderman: Homecoming on Vudu in Dolby Vision/Atmos. The voices sounded like they were coming out of a tin can at times while crystal clear other times. I second the "switch to Dolby Virtualizer" - voices sound normal again!
Chappystyle31 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 734 Old 07-27-2019, 06:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Alabama (36093)
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 50
ARC Port Dead

I think the ARC port on my bar died. Recently, the bar would have problems whereby the bar would turn on but no sound came out. The fix was to turn the TV off and back on. Now, I've got a new, more serious problem. The bar does not pass video to the TV through the ARC port. I use premium certified high speed cables and have tried many to no avail. I tried another device on the TVs ARC port and it worked fine. The TV will also send audio to the soundbar. The soundbar just won't send video to the TV from HDMI 1 or 2. Are there any solutions or does the bar need replacement/warranty work? I can't reset the bar since i can't get an onscreen menu.

My setup: Sony 65X900F w/ Sony UBP-X700, Tivo Bolt 4k, AppleTV 4k (64GB), Sony HT-Z9F soundbar w/ Sony SAZ9R rear wireless speakers. TCL 4K 43" S405 w/ Sony UBP-X800, Tivo Mini 4k and Sony HT-XT100 soundbar.
jtrippe is offline  
post #723 of 734 Old 07-27-2019, 09:58 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtrippe View Post
I think the ARC port on my bar died. Recently, the bar would have problems whereby the bar would turn on but no sound came out. The fix was to turn the TV off and back on. Now, I've got a new, more serious problem. The bar does not pass video to the TV through the ARC port. I use premium certified high speed cables and have tried many to no avail. I tried another device on the TVs ARC port and it worked fine. The TV will also send audio to the soundbar. The soundbar just won't send video to the TV from HDMI 1 or 2. Are there any solutions or does the bar need replacement/warranty work? I can't reset the bar since i can't get an onscreen menu.
Go to your HDMI input that your soundbar is in, and then press home on your soundbar remote to get the Home Menu.
If that does not work, on the bar itself Press and hold (power) and –(minus volume) on the main unit for more than 5 seconds.
The settings return to their initial status.
jtrippe likes this.
Rtex67 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #724 of 734 Old 07-28-2019, 10:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Alabama (36093)
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rtex67 View Post
Go to your HDMI input that your soundbar is in, and then press home on your soundbar remote to get the Home Menu.

If that does not work, on the bar itself Press and hold (power) and –(minus volume) on the main unit for more than 5 seconds.

The settings return to their initial status.


Thank you. I was able to get it to reset and all seems to be working fine now. However, since this seems to be a persistent problem I’m still gonna make a warranty claim.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

My setup: Sony 65X900F w/ Sony UBP-X700, Tivo Bolt 4k, AppleTV 4k (64GB), Sony HT-Z9F soundbar w/ Sony SAZ9R rear wireless speakers. TCL 4K 43" S405 w/ Sony UBP-X800, Tivo Mini 4k and Sony HT-XT100 soundbar.
jtrippe is offline  
post #725 of 734 Old 08-08-2019, 06:18 AM
Member
 
mbeezie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 31
is there a way to wire this soundbar? My audio dropouts are back, and i have reset the settings, tried all different combinations of settings, and it's even happening on my new A9G that was a warranty replacement for an A9F OLED. So it's most definitely the soundbar itself. :|
mbeezie is offline  
post #726 of 734 Old 08-08-2019, 11:52 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbeezie View Post
is there a way to wire this soundbar? My audio dropouts are back, and i have reset the settings, tried all different combinations of settings, and it's even happening on my new A9G that was a warranty replacement for an A9F OLED. So it's most definitely the soundbar itself. :|
Via HDMI of course. Or are you talking about the subwoofer?
TechNerd666 is offline  
post #727 of 734 Old 08-08-2019, 01:47 PM
Member
 
mbeezie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechNerd666 View Post
Via HDMI of course. Or are you talking about the subwoofer?
Apologies, yes. The subwoofer. I don't know if the issue is just the sub, or the whole unit. I have now had multiple different HDMI cords and now two different TVs (Sony A9F and A9G). The software on the speaker is up to date. I don't know if it's the wireless feature of the sub (ALL the audio drops out, not just the bass) or the eARC port. It's just really frustrating.
mbeezie is offline  
post #728 of 734 Old 08-09-2019, 12:04 AM
Member
 
rmgrenley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 11
eARC LG C9 to eARC Sony ZF9

When I first hooked up my Sony ZF9 soundbar to my LG C9, the soundbar would turn on and off with my TV remote.
However, after about a couple of weeks or so, the soundbar continued to turn on with my TV but it no longer turns off with the TV.
It consistently turns on, it consistently will not turn off.

I have checked, and both TV and soundbar are set to eARC.
I realize that eARC may not be as reliable in its current applications as it is billed to be, but i was wondering if anyone had any suggestions that I could try to see if I could get it to work as it had when it was first hooked up.
rmgrenley is offline  
post #729 of 734 Old 08-09-2019, 10:23 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmgrenley View Post
When I first hooked up my Sony ZF9 soundbar to my LG C9, the soundbar would turn on and off with my TV remote.
However, after about a couple of weeks or so, the soundbar continued to turn on with my TV but it no longer turns off with the TV.
It consistently turns on, it consistently will not turn off.

I have checked, and both TV and soundbar are set to eARC.
I realize that eARC may not be as reliable in its current applications as it is billed to be, but i was wondering if anyone had any suggestions that I could try to see if I could get it to work as it had when it was first hooked up.
I’ve had the same problem as well. Try resetting the connection for the soundbar from your TVs Device Connector settings.
TechNerd666 is offline  
post #730 of 734 Old 08-09-2019, 04:51 PM
Member
 
TechoGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmgrenley View Post
When I first hooked up my Sony ZF9 soundbar to my LG C9, the soundbar would turn on and off with my TV remote.

However, after about a couple of weeks or so, the soundbar continued to turn on with my TV but it no longer turns off with the TV.

It consistently turns on, it consistently will not turn off.



I have checked, and both TV and soundbar are set to eARC.

I realize that eARC may not be as reliable in its current applications as it is billed to be, but i was wondering if anyone had any suggestions that I could try to see if I could get it to work as it had when it was first hooked up.
I had this issue, then I lost sound from the soundbar. I did a reset of the soundbar and the problem continued. I then toggled the cec control on my Samsung Q8 and bingo everything works again.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
TechoGeek is offline  
post #731 of 734 Old 08-13-2019, 06:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Alabama (36093)
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtrippe View Post
Thank you. I was able to get it to reset and all seems to be working fine now. However, since this seems to be a persistent problem I’m still gonna make a warranty claim.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Made my warranty claim. They couldn't replicate the issue but replaced the circuit board any way. One day of having it back and all is good so far. Finger's crossed!
iMac1310 likes this.

My setup: Sony 65X900F w/ Sony UBP-X700, Tivo Bolt 4k, AppleTV 4k (64GB), Sony HT-Z9F soundbar w/ Sony SAZ9R rear wireless speakers. TCL 4K 43" S405 w/ Sony UBP-X800, Tivo Mini 4k and Sony HT-XT100 soundbar.
jtrippe is offline  
post #732 of 734 Old 08-13-2019, 04:53 PM
Member
 
rmgrenley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechoGeek View Post
I had this issue, then I lost sound from the soundbar. I did a reset of the soundbar and the problem continued. I then toggled the cec control on my Samsung Q8 and bingo everything works again.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
Anyone know where to go on my LG C9 to toggle the CEC off and on?
rmgrenley is offline  
post #733 of 734 Old Yesterday, 11:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 440 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Hi guys,
I just relocated, and my current apartment(unlike the last one), has very thin walls. Does anyone know how to decouple the ht-z9f's sub? I have had neighbors complain in the past, and I would like to hear the atmos and dts-x on my 4k blu-rays.. I was looking for a sub isolation. -> https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...k_ql_qh_dp_hza This one is pretty popular, but is it compatible? Any help would be great. This thing vibrates like crazy even on sub volume 2. Thanks in advance. Also, does anyone have any pointers for sound proofing in an apartment? I would like to watch my tv comfortably, and I was looking at getting the surrounds.
MLM87 is offline  
post #734 of 734 Old Yesterday, 06:47 PM
Member
 
rmgrenley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmgrenley View Post
Anyone know where to go on my LG C9 to toggle the CEC off and on?
OK, so i went and found the LG Simplink, and toggled it off and on. It did not change anything...the soundbaar will turn on with the TV but not turn off with the TV.

I chatted with LG support, and they suggested doing a hard reset on the TV (unplug, then hold down power button for like 20 seconds, then plug back in).
They said if that did not work, to try a factory reset, but I would lose all my settings, wifi settings, etc...which i would rather not do unless there is a significant chance it would work.
If that does not work, they suggested i wait for the next firmware update.
rmgrenley is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Soundbars

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off