Sony 3.1ch Dolby Atmos / DTS:X Sound bar HT-ZF9 - Page 26 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 133Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #751 of 779 Old 10-17-2019, 12:30 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I'm having an issue that (I think) came along after updating my bar. When I turn on my Nvidia Shield, which turns on my TV which turns on my soundbar. All is good for a couple of seconds. The shield comes on the screen and displays just fine. After about five seconds though, my soundbar automatically switches to its 'home menu' and I have to hit HDMI1 on the soundbar remote to go back to the shield. I don't ever remember this happening in the past. Anyone know whats going on?
theplasticbling is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #752 of 779 Old 10-21-2019, 09:57 AM
Member
 
mbeezie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 32
My sound dropping issues have returned. For the last 8 months i have battled these intermittent sound dropouts. Very frustrating. I had the same issues on my Sony A9F TV, and now with the A9G that was a warranty replacement.



Do other people have this issue? or can i chalk this up to a defective unit?



I notice it most on Plex on a Shield, but also often with Netflix/Hulu being run off the TV. So it seems to be an eARC issue.
mbeezie is offline  
post #753 of 779 Old 10-21-2019, 03:47 PM
Member
 
ToonTonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbeezie View Post
My sound dropping issues have returned. For the last 8 months i have battled these intermittent sound dropouts. Very frustrating. I had the same issues on my Sony A9F TV, and now with the A9G that was a warranty replacement.



Do other people have this issue? or can i chalk

this up to a defective unit?



I notice it most on Plex on a Shield, but also often with Netflix/Hulu being run off the TV. So it seems to be an eARC issue.
I've had this sound bar hooked up to various TVs (Q9FN, Q900R & Q950R.....Samsungs) and never noticed this.

Recently switched to an LG C9 and enabled eARC on both the soundbar & TV as its supported, suddenly I too get occasional sound drops.

Only happens when playing high bitrate content via Plex/Kodi etc. Not noticed it on Prime/Netflix or any other source.

I can literally rewind the scene it drops out in & once playback resumes, the sound drops at the same point.

Turning off EARC & the problem goes away completely.

Seems to me there may be a bug lurking with the soundbar EARC.
ToonTonic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #754 of 779 Old 10-22-2019, 11:15 AM
Member
 
mbeezie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 32
right but turning off eARC means no atmos right? no lossless audio either?


Guess i can try that as a troubleshooting step!
mbeezie is offline  
post #755 of 779 Old 10-22-2019, 12:59 PM
Member
 
ToonTonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbeezie View Post
right but turning off eARC means no atmos right? no lossless audio either?


Guess i can try that as a troubleshooting step!
Still get Atmos, but via DD+
ToonTonic is offline  
post #756 of 779 Old 10-23-2019, 07:38 AM
Member
 
mbeezie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToonTonic View Post
Still get Atmos, but via DD+

Thanks for the clarification.

I'll see how it goes with eARC turned off. Unfortunately, the reason i got this soundbar to begin with was it was one of the few that gave you lossless atmos.

I will be moving soon, so i will likely throw this soundbar up in the guest room and get a proper atmos AVR for the living room.
mbeezie is offline  
post #757 of 779 Old 10-23-2019, 08:46 AM
Member
 
ToonTonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbeezie View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToonTonic View Post
Still get Atmos, but via DD+

Thanks for the clarification.

I'll see how it goes with eARC turned off. Unfortunately, the reason i got this soundbar to begin with was it was one of the few that gave you lossless atmos.

I will be moving soon, so i will likely throw this soundbar up in the guest room and get a proper atmos AVR for the living room.
It does, but the issue is a bug in FW eith on the soundbar or TV. Few folks in C9 forums report similar issues with EARC on a "proper atmos" rig.

That all been said, I've heard a few very good decent ATMOS rigs, the surround effect is great, like in any 5.1, 7.1 + setup etc, but the actual atmos effects are usually underwhelming.

Same goes for DTS X.

After going to plenty of demos, I'm happy to stick with this setup. Maybe one day move to a a proper speaker setup rather than soundbar, just not bothered by this Atmos nonsense.

Anyway, it's certainly a FW bug. Hopefully gets fixed. For now switch of eARC & it's fine. You probably wont notice the difference, but maybe you will.
ToonTonic is offline  
post #758 of 779 Old 10-24-2019, 03:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
i need help
i have Windows 10 pro, I have this soundbar and rear speakers and i don't have 5.1 sound over bluetooth
windows only recognized stereo speakers
how to setup windows to get 5.1 (dolby atmos if possible) via bluetooth?

PS3 -> NAD C356BEE DAC -> KEF R300
Onkyo TX-NR818 -> KEF iQ50, C10, PSW2500, NAD C356BEE DAC -> KEF R300
Panasonic 50ST60
Marijan Milinovic is offline  
post #759 of 779 Old 10-25-2019, 08:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 419 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Is there that much of a noticeable difference with the 3.1 ZF9 over the 2.1 X9000F?

Room 1 Samsung Q8FN 75" TV || Denon X2400H Receiver || Triad InWall/4 Satellites || Triad InRoom Silver/4 Satellites || Triad OmniSub 12
Room 2 Sony X900F 65" TV  || Sony HT-X9000F sound bar
Xbox Live : BoDEAN
bodean is offline  
post #760 of 779 Old 10-25-2019, 03:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: italy
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodean View Post
Is there that much of a noticeable difference with the 3.1 ZF9 over the 2.1 X9000F?
Tried both before buying ZF9, months ago.
Used for both the same 3 movies , few tv episodes and sky tv channels, and zf9 is honestly worth the price difference, IMHO.

(and i'm buying in the next few weeks its rears, they REALLY improve the experience).
bobs33 is offline  
post #761 of 779 Old 10-26-2019, 03:36 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobs33 View Post
Tried both before buying ZF9, months ago.
Used for both the same 3 movies , few tv episodes and sky tv channels, and zf9 is honestly worth the price difference, IMHO.

(and i'm buying in the next few weeks its rears, they REALLY improve the experience).
are you connected with your pc to this soundbar over bluetooth or maybe over DLNA?
and if you are, do you have 2.1 sound (subwoofer)?

PS3 -> NAD C356BEE DAC -> KEF R300
Onkyo TX-NR818 -> KEF iQ50, C10, PSW2500, NAD C356BEE DAC -> KEF R300
Panasonic 50ST60

Last edited by Marijan Milinovic; 10-26-2019 at 12:32 PM.
Marijan Milinovic is offline  
post #762 of 779 Old 10-26-2019, 03:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coercion Shaman View Post
And you are sure the rear speakers are connected? No inference, just making sure.


How are you connected? HDMI? Optical? Player to soundbar to TV?
Hi,
I need help.
I have sony ht-zf9 soundbar with rear speakrs sa-z9r.
And I can't get 5.1 sound from my PC over bluetooth or wi-fi network.
Is it possible to have 5.1 dolby atmos sound from PC over bluetooth or wi-fi network (for example DLNA)?

PS3 -> NAD C356BEE DAC -> KEF R300
Onkyo TX-NR818 -> KEF iQ50, C10, PSW2500, NAD C356BEE DAC -> KEF R300
Panasonic 50ST60

Last edited by Marijan Milinovic; 10-28-2019 at 09:18 AM.
Marijan Milinovic is offline  
post #763 of 779 Old 10-28-2019, 05:23 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have just bought this soundbar and a LG B9, both arriving this week. What is the best way to set up my devices? Since both support eArc.

PlayStation 4 (base model)
Nvidia shield
4K Blu ray Dolby Atmos/Vision

All devices to TV, then soundbar to the TV via arc, or devices to the soundbar?
Gordon Morris is offline  
post #764 of 779 Old 10-29-2019, 11:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 419 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gordon Morris View Post
I have just bought this soundbar and a LG B9, both arriving this week. What is the best way to set up my devices? Since both support eArc.

PlayStation 4 (base model)
Nvidia shield
4K Blu ray Dolby Atmos/Vision

All devices to TV, then soundbar to the TV via arc, or devices to the soundbar?
I would say all devices to tv then arc.

Room 1 Samsung Q8FN 75" TV || Denon X2400H Receiver || Triad InWall/4 Satellites || Triad InRoom Silver/4 Satellites || Triad OmniSub 12
Room 2 Sony X900F 65" TV  || Sony HT-X9000F sound bar
Xbox Live : BoDEAN
bodean is offline  
post #765 of 779 Old 10-29-2019, 04:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
if someone wants to have 5.1 surround sound wireless from pc, don't but this soundbar
and sony support is really bad

PS3 -> NAD C356BEE DAC -> KEF R300
Onkyo TX-NR818 -> KEF iQ50, C10, PSW2500, NAD C356BEE DAC -> KEF R300
Panasonic 50ST60
Marijan Milinovic is offline  
post #766 of 779 Old 11-01-2019, 01:13 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have set the sound bar up with an LG B9 but it's out of sync on TV apps and bblu ray.

I have eArc on, and simple link enabled, and all devices are going through the arc,

How can I fix the sync issue?
Gordon Morris is offline  
post #767 of 779 Old 11-03-2019, 01:56 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi everyone,
Would there be an issue if I had the subwoofer laid on its side, on the floor underneath the TV cabinet?

This setup would allow me to save some space in my small room.

Cheers!
Juan López is offline  
post #768 of 779 Old 11-05-2019, 10:49 AM
Member
 
JayMatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, folks. I have a question about connecting the HT-Z9F to a TV, Blu-ray player, and Directv Genie mini. The key here is that my preference is to use the TV remote to control volume and inputs during regular daily use. I really don't want to use the soundbar's remote after the initial setup; however, I want to make sure I'm getting the best audio available from my sources. Can I have my cake and eat it too (TV remote to control input switching while getting the highest audio quality)?

Of the following two configurations, which is the optimal connection method to make sure I'm getting the highest quality sound from the given sources?

Configuration 1 (connect components to TV):
DIRECTV Genie Mini to Sony TV (85X900F) via HDMI
Sony BD Player to TV via HDMI
Sony Soundbar (HT-Z9F) to TV via HDMI-ARC

Configuration 2 (Connect components to Soundbar):
DIRECTV Genie Mini to Sony Soundbar via HDMI
Sony BD Player to Sony Soundbar via HDMI
Sony TV to Sony Soundbar via HDMI-ARC

Thanks!
JayMatt is online now  
post #769 of 779 Old 11-06-2019, 10:38 PM
Member
 
barong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayMatt View Post
Hi, folks. I have a question about connecting the HT-Z9F to a TV, Blu-ray player, and Directv Genie mini. The key here is that my preference is to use the TV remote to control volume and inputs during regular daily use. I really don't want to use the soundbar's remote after the initial setup; however, I want to make sure I'm getting the best audio available from my sources. Can I have my cake and eat it too (TV remote to control input switching while getting the highest audio quality)?

Of the following two configurations, which is the optimal connection method to make sure I'm getting the highest quality sound from the given sources?

Configuration 1 (connect components to TV):
DIRECTV Genie Mini to Sony TV (85X900F) via HDMI
Sony BD Player to TV via HDMI
Sony Soundbar (HT-Z9F) to TV via HDMI-ARC

Configuration 2 (Connect components to Soundbar):
DIRECTV Genie Mini to Sony Soundbar via HDMI
Sony BD Player to Sony Soundbar via HDMI
Sony TV to Sony Soundbar via HDMI-ARC

Thanks!
Config 2 will allow high res audio like DTS-HD and Dolby-TrueHD to be processed.
barong is offline  
post #770 of 779 Old 11-09-2019, 02:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 419 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Just setup my Z9F with the rear speakers.
For those who use AppleTV (YoutubeTV app, Netflix) and Xbox One, any recommended settings that I should have set on the soundbar?

Currently have:
Vertical S Off
Standard Soundmode

Under Audio Settings:
DSEE HX - On
Audio DRC - Auto
Sound Mode ON (not using the dolby speaker virtualizer)
Autovolume - On.


Am I missing anything? Thanks.

Room 1 Samsung Q8FN 75" TV || Denon X2400H Receiver || Triad InWall/4 Satellites || Triad InRoom Silver/4 Satellites || Triad OmniSub 12
Room 2 Sony X900F 65" TV  || Sony HT-X9000F sound bar
Xbox Live : BoDEAN
bodean is offline  
post #771 of 779 Old 11-17-2019, 02:22 PM
Member
 
Nocturne123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Got a question

I have Sony 75XBR940C and this sound bar. I had it so the volume bar would not display on screen when I turned up the volume. My friends were over this weekend and one of them used the tv remote to mess with the volume instead of the soundbar remote and now when I turn up the volume using the sound bar remote the volume display shows up on the tv. Is there a way to turn that off? Ive fixed it before but no idea how to now but its highly annoying to me.

Thanks for any help
Nocturne123 is offline  
post #772 of 779 Old 11-22-2019, 04:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: italy
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Bought today the rears for € 200, price too good to pass. :P

Few questions about their placement.

- for the configuration of my room i need them to be on some kind of vertical base, which would be the suggested height? And the exact cable length is?

- I'm not listening perfectly in the right space between the rears, do you suggest to modify some values or what? Attaching a small jpg LOL


Green is the most used position to view tv, sofa is not in the symmetrical position (yellow the second position ahah).

Behind sofa there's the wall. Red dots are rears in what i think could be the optimal condition, light blue is the direction i should point the rears.


Any suggestions??
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	audio.png
Views:	32
Size:	6.7 KB
ID:	2644274  
bobs33 is offline  
post #773 of 779 Old 11-22-2019, 04:58 PM
Audio/Video Enthusiast
 
alexcoluzzi32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: California
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 271 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobs33 View Post
Bought today the rears for € 200, price too good to pass. :P
Yes! Got mine for $199 USD for the pair and they make ALL the difference!!

Living Room: Xfinity XG1v4-A cable box + Apple TV 4K > Sony HT-ST5000 Atmos/DTS:X Soundbar > Sony XBR-65X900F Television
Office: Oppo UDP-203 + Apple TV 4K > Sony HT-Z9F Atmos/DTS:X Soundbar (with rears) > Sony XBR-55A1E Television
alexcoluzzi32 is offline  
post #774 of 779 Old 11-26-2019, 04:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: italy
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexcoluzzi32 View Post
Yes! Got mine for $199 USD for the pair and they make ALL the difference!!
How did you set up the speakers?
Se sei italiano, in caso ci sentiamo in pvt ahahha
bobs33 is offline  
post #775 of 779 Old 12-02-2019, 10:19 AM
Member
 
daveatkinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I see this sound bar is on sale at my local Best Buy here in Canada. I currently have an LG Oled 55C7, cable box and an Oppo.
I use those as well as the Netflix and YouTube apps.
My question re sub woofer placement. I had planned to place it behind my entertainment unit facing sideways so it's out of sight and would not be as cluttered. I already have 2 PSB speakers on stands next to the unit that I use for listening to cds.
Would this placement be an issue or does it have to be forward facing and to one of the sides? I suppose I could also get rid of the PSBs and use the analog audio input on the ZF9, but suspect the sound may be inferior.
daveatkinson is offline  
post #776 of 779 Old Yesterday, 10:55 AM
Senior Member
 
elgibby's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: St Louis
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Apple devices won't pair

I am unable to pair my iPhone or iPad, both running iOS 13.2.3, with the Z9F in Receiver Mode. It's been a long time since I tried, since before the iOS13 update.

I've done all the usual troubleshooting steps, power cycling, removing other devices etc etc but I'm still unable to pair.

Anyone else having this issue?
elgibby is offline  
post #777 of 779 Old Yesterday, 02:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by elgibby View Post
I am unable to pair my iPhone or iPad, both running iOS 13.2.3, with the Z9F in Receiver Mode. It's been a long time since I tried, since before the iOS13 update.

I've done all the usual troubleshooting steps, power cycling, removing other devices etc etc but I'm still unable to pair.

Anyone else having this issue?
It seems like a common problem. Here is a link to a possible solution. Good luck.


https://thecellguide.com/bluetooth-i...-3-update-8290
[email protected] is online now  
post #778 of 779 Old Yesterday, 03:57 PM
Senior Member
 
elgibby's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: St Louis
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
It seems like a common problem. Here is a link to a possible solution. Good luck.


https://thecellguide.com/bluetooth-i...-3-update-8290
Thank you!

This likely a Sony issue. I just today got a pair of powered speakers (Edifier S3000Pro) for music, and my iPhone paired immediately.
elgibby is offline  
post #779 of 779 Old Yesterday, 07:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 6
I have this sound bar since June with rear speakers. It’s been working flawlessly until few weeks ago.

Sometimes the sound just drops for a fraction of a second. Very difficult to explain what exactly is the problem but it glitches for a very very brief moment like the sound lower. Sometime I also have noise.

Can happen several times in a minute or not at all for hours.

I didn’t changed any settings of the soundbar. The problem occurs with all my devices.


It seems to happen more often during evening. Right now the problem occurs a lot. This afternoon, no problem at all.

I live in a place where there are a lot of neighbors around me and I starting to think I get interference from one of them.

But sometimes, rebooting the soundbar solves it for a while so IDK....

Sometimes I change RF to OFF in settings to solve the problem. The next day I have to turn it on again. Some days later, I need to turn it off again to solve the problem...

Any idea ?

Edit : After doing some tests, as soon as I turn off the rears, no more drops and noise so far...

Edit 2 : I starting to think it may be related to my wifi. Wife is using her computer just beside me and there was more dropouts while she was browsing. Now she left the room and it’s way better....

Edit 3 : I changed wifi channels, I’ll test more.

Last edited by Dentifrice; Yesterday at 09:56 PM.
Dentifrice is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Soundbars

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off