Sennheiser Ambeo Soundbar? - Page 36 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 238Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1051 of 1133 Old 01-10-2020, 12:16 PM
Member
 
TheDuke1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by K_Thompson View Post
Are owners here having the muffled dialogue issue with only the apps on their smart TVs or with apps on external devices as well? I never use my TV apps. I have an Nvidia Shield TV I use for Kodi, Netflix, YouTube, etc.
I get it with Apple 4k tv. Randomly not most of the time. Haven't had it yet with the Xbox one X

Sent from my Pixel 3 using Tapatalk
TheDuke1980 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1052 of 1133 Old 01-10-2020, 12:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
K_Thompson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 1,363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDuke1980 View Post
I get it with Apple 4k tv. Randomly not most of the time. Haven't had it yet with the Xbox one X

Sent from my Pixel 3 using Tapatalk

Hmm...Not the answer I was hoping for, but thanks.


Anyone using the Ambeo with the Nvidia Shield TV? If so, are you happy with your experience or are you having issues too?
K_Thompson is offline  
post #1053 of 1133 Old 01-10-2020, 11:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I run run Nvidia Shield Pro to Ambeo to TV. No problems with Ambeo on using multiple streaming apps.
bchassy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1054 of 1133 Old 01-11-2020, 03:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
K_Thompson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 1,363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by bchassy View Post
I run run Nvidia Shield Pro to Ambeo to TV. No problems with Ambeo on using multiple streaming apps.

That's encouraging. Thanks!
K_Thompson is offline  
post #1055 of 1133 Old 01-12-2020, 08:13 AM
Senior Member
 
doubleroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 399
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDuke1980 View Post
I get it with Apple 4k tv. Randomly not most of the time. Haven't had it yet with the Xbox one X

Sent from my Pixel 3 using Tapatalk
About ready to pull the trigger on the Sennheiser but will be used with an Apple 4K TV primary. Wonder if there will be a firmware fix for this soon...I don’t really use the built in Vizio TV apps as it’s an older model.
doubleroll is offline  
post #1056 of 1133 Old 01-12-2020, 08:32 AM
Member
 
Jesse Coane's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Finally pulled the trigger on the ambeo. Also ordered a rhythmik L12 subwoofer. All arriving this week. Will be using mainly with Apple TV so fingers crossed about that.

Also thanks to theduke1980 for the heads up about Neiman Marcus. Saved $600.
doubleroll and TheDuke1980 like this.
Jesse Coane is online now  
post #1057 of 1133 Old 01-12-2020, 11:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
healthnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,645
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 983 Post(s)
Liked: 975
Watched Ad Astra with the Ambeo: spectacular surround effects, particularly top and sides, and it’s only DTS:HD. Had to turn the volume up over 50%, but if you don’t, you probably won’t get much surround defect. Anyway, with all the negative posts lately, thought I’d weigh in with something positive.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
healthnut is offline  
post #1058 of 1133 Old 01-12-2020, 12:20 PM
Member
 
TheDuke1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 43
I recently watched Aquaman and Overlord on Blue Ray 4k - Dolby Atmos. With my subwoofer and the Ambeo it is a night and day difference over the Sony ST5000. I also downloaded an Atmos/Vision sound file and it was an amazing demo. Had people over to watch football and threw that on at halftime. It shook the house and you could hear the surround effects we were all very impressed. I do not regret my purchase even with the occasional issues with the buggy app and Apple tv.

Sent from my Pixel 3 using Tapatalk
TheDuke1980 is offline  
post #1059 of 1133 Old 01-12-2020, 01:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
a5ian300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: England, UK
Posts: 1,048
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 637 Post(s)
Liked: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by bchassy View Post
I run run Nvidia Shield Pro to Ambeo to TV. No problems with Ambeo on using multiple streaming apps.
I run it with shield Pro with no issues and use to have apple tv 4k and that worked with out issues.

Also have my oppo 203 connected without issues and had the hdi dune player again no issues.

Thanks

Sent from my Samsung Note 9 using Tapatalk

TV: Sony 65" A1E OLED Surround: Sennheiser AMBEO + SVS SB12-NSD Stereo: Yamaha AS500 + Kef Q300 Processor: DVDO Iscan Mini + Darbee 5000S Players: Oppo 203 (Coris) / Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 / VU+ Ultimo 4K NAS: Qnap TVS-871 Pro i7 10GBE
a5ian300zx is offline  
post #1060 of 1133 Old 01-12-2020, 01:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
a5ian300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: England, UK
Posts: 1,048
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 637 Post(s)
Liked: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDuke1980 View Post
I recently watched Aquaman and Overlord on Blue Ray 4k - Dolby Atmos. With my subwoofer and the Ambeo it is a night and day difference over the Sony ST5000. I also downloaded an Atmos/Vision sound file and it was an amazing demo. Had people over to watch football and threw that on at halftime. It shook the house and you could hear the surround effects we were all very impressed. I do not regret my purchase even with the occasional issues with the buggy app and Apple tv.

Sent from my Pixel 3 using Tapatalk
Same here sounds much better now I have calibrated my sub back in again. I also have loads of atmos and dtsx demo disc and sound files to test with and all sound fantastic.

Not to forget my movies especially on my oppo 203.


Sent from my Samsung Note 9 using Tapatalk
TheDuke1980 likes this.

TV: Sony 65" A1E OLED Surround: Sennheiser AMBEO + SVS SB12-NSD Stereo: Yamaha AS500 + Kef Q300 Processor: DVDO Iscan Mini + Darbee 5000S Players: Oppo 203 (Coris) / Nvidia Shield TV Pro 2019 / VU+ Ultimo 4K NAS: Qnap TVS-871 Pro i7 10GBE
a5ian300zx is offline  
post #1061 of 1133 Old 01-12-2020, 07:03 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
So has Sennheiser basically fixed most of the early issues that people were having. What are the issues that have not yet been fixed? I see there are still some apple TV bugs.



I have a PS4 Pro, Switch and Nvidia Shield 2017. I see that Shield is good to go. Anyone have any issues with the gaming consoles?
Jmask5 is offline  
post #1062 of 1133 Old 01-13-2020, 06:00 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Im still wavering about this bar on whether to get it or not. I do have a Apple TV so some of the issues would pertain to me but I'm used to it with the Apple TV at this point.
suitechicguy is online now  
post #1063 of 1133 Old 01-14-2020, 08:44 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex Wisniewski View Post
I thought that there is something wrong with my TV (LG 65 B7), so I verified the soundbar on another one, this time a brand new LG 65 C9. It turns out there the exact same problems with dialogues and Ambeo although this TV is supporting E-Arc. The only app where the soundbar with Ambeo turned ON works normal is YouTube. As soon as I switch to Netflix or Amazon Prime I have to turn off the Ambeo Mode or switch in the Netflix settings from English [Ambeo/5.1] to English [Original]. Otherwise you can't hear properly any dialogues [muffled voices, etc.]. Very annoying..
And if you try with ARC (not E-Arc), is it better?
Karthus is offline  
post #1064 of 1133 Old 01-14-2020, 05:35 PM
Senior Member
 
doubleroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 399
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Well I just placed an order for one at Magnolia since I have a bunch of BB gift cards :-)

Will be placed in a 692 sq/ft condo paired with a older Vizio E701i-A3E and Apple TV. Hope it’s not over-kill...fingers crossed Sennheiser fixes the issues soon. Anyway from what I read, most all sound bars have issues.
Obviously, this can’t take the place of a separates system but if it can do music with accuracy and movies at decent levels I will be happy.
doubleroll is offline  
post #1065 of 1133 Old 01-14-2020, 06:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
healthnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,645
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 983 Post(s)
Liked: 975
Quote:
Originally Posted by doubleroll View Post
Well I just placed an order for one at Magnolia since I have a bunch of BB gift cards :-)



Will be placed in a 692 sq/ft condo paired with a older Vizio E701i-A3E and Apple TV. Hope it’s not over-kill...fingers crossed Sennheiser fixes the issues soon. Anyway from what I read, most all sound bars have issues.

Obviously, this can’t take the place of a separates system but if it can do music with accuracy and movies at decent levels I will be happy.


Welcome to the club! Please post impressions and don’t hesitate to ask if you need help with anything.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
doubleroll likes this.
healthnut is offline  
post #1066 of 1133 Old 01-14-2020, 10:17 PM
Member
 
Jesse Coane's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Sennheiser Ambeo Soundbar?

Got it set up. Haven’t had a chance to dive in but seems pretty great. Only issue is I’m getting a buzzing sound out of the subwoofer.

Hoping it’s the cable. Will swap it out tomorrow.

Last edited by Jesse Coane; 01-14-2020 at 10:56 PM.
Jesse Coane is online now  
post #1067 of 1133 Old 01-15-2020, 03:33 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karthus View Post
And if you try with ARC (not E-Arc), is it better?
No difference, the problem remains the same. It's like there's something wrong with the center speakers. These deep and muffy voice is hearable on Netflix / YouTube / Amazon Prime as long as Ambeo is ON.
Alex Wisniewski is offline  
post #1068 of 1133 Old 01-15-2020, 08:34 AM
Member
 
Jesse Coane's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex Wisniewski View Post
No difference, the problem remains the same. It's like there's something wrong with the center speakers. These deep and muffy voice is hearable on Netflix / YouTube / Amazon Prime as long as Ambeo is ON.


Have you reached out to sennheiser? Curious if they think it’s a software thing or hardware.
Jesse Coane is online now  
post #1069 of 1133 Old 01-16-2020, 09:14 AM
Member
 
Jesse Coane's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Sennheiser Ambeo Soundbar?

So have just had a little time to play around, but I’m pretty impressed with the ambeo. Agree the sub really brings it to life.

Have it hooked up to an LG C8 and noticing that atmos sounds better on the internal apps through ARC than the Apple TV hooked directly to the ambeo. At least just testing with the opening scene of Underground 6 on Netflix. Could be a Netflix issue or an Apple issue. Just sounds more alive and detailed. Need to do more tests.
Jesse Coane is online now  
post #1070 of 1133 Old 01-16-2020, 09:45 AM
Senior Member
 
doubleroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 399
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Now you guys have me wanting a sub! My small condo does have an open floor plan so maybe a smallish 8” or 10”?

On another note...I really hope the Apple TV issues get sorted soon...
TheDuke1980 likes this.

Last edited by doubleroll; 01-16-2020 at 09:49 AM.
doubleroll is offline  
post #1071 of 1133 Old 01-16-2020, 10:29 AM
Member
 
Jesse Coane's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by doubleroll View Post
Now you guys have me wanting a sub! My small condo does have an open floor plan so maybe a smallish 8” or 10”?

On another note...I really hope the Apple TV issues get sorted soon...
Ya Im in a New York condo myself so had to keep it relatively compact. Went with this 12" sealed sub.

http://www.rythmikaudio.com/L12.html

It's a 14" cube. Clean and tight, but can go low too. Have a 2 year old and another on the way so trying not to blow the roof off. Quality over quantity.
doubleroll and TheDuke1980 like this.
Jesse Coane is online now  
post #1072 of 1133 Old 01-16-2020, 10:48 AM
Member
 
TheDuke1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse Coane View Post
So have just had a little time to play around, but I’m pretty impressed with the ambeo. Agree the sub really brings it to life.

Have it hooked up to an LG C8 and noticing that atmos sounds better on the internal apps through ARC than the Apple TV hooked directly to the ambeo. At least just testing with the opening scene of Underground 6 on Netflix. Could be a Netflix issue or an Apple issue. Just sounds more alive and detailed. Need to do more tests.
Had the same issue with Apple 4k tv on my Sony ST5000 soundbar and the Ambeo. The volume has to be cranked way louder than any other streaming device. Xbox, internal apps etc.

Sent from my Pixel 3 using Tapatalk
TheDuke1980 is offline  
post #1073 of 1133 Old 01-16-2020, 01:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
healthnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,645
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 983 Post(s)
Liked: 975
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse Coane View Post
Ya Im in a New York condo myself so had to keep it relatively compact. Went with this 12" sealed sub.



http://www.rythmikaudio.com/L12.html



It's a 14" cube. Clean and tight, but can go low too. Have a 2 year old and another on the way so trying not to blow the roof off. Quality over quantity.


I also live in a condo and am considering adding a sub. I think a 12” would be too much, so I’m considering dual RSL Speedwoofer 10”s. I also plan to put them on isolators to minimize floor vibration.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
doubleroll likes this.
healthnut is offline  
post #1074 of 1133 Old 01-16-2020, 01:25 PM
Member
 
Jesse Coane's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by healthnut View Post
I also live in a condo and am considering adding a sub. I think a 12” would be too much, so I’m considering dual RSL Speedwoofer 10”s. I also plan to put them on isolators to minimize floor vibration.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Ya I got this


Auralex Acoustics SubDude-II Subwoofer Acoustic Isolation Platform, 1.75" x 15" x 15", v2 https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00DI5AXNI..._jAmiEbNT39RK6
doubleroll likes this.
Jesse Coane is online now  
post #1075 of 1133 Old 01-16-2020, 01:27 PM
Member
 
TheDuke1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by healthnut View Post
I also live in a condo and am considering adding a sub. I think a 12” would be too much, so I’m considering dual RSL Speedwoofer 10”s. I also plan to put them on isolators to minimize floor vibration.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Got the SVS Isolation feet and they helped a lot. Way less rattling.

Sent from my Pixel 3 using Tapatalk
doubleroll likes this.
TheDuke1980 is offline  
post #1076 of 1133 Old 01-16-2020, 03:10 PM
Senior Member
 
doubleroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 399
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse Coane View Post
Ya I got this


Auralex Acoustics SubDude-II Subwoofer Acoustic Isolation Platform, 1.75" x 15" x 15", v2 https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00DI5AXNI..._jAmiEbNT39RK6
I use Auralex isolation pads for my studio monitors and they are excellent...
doubleroll is offline  
post #1077 of 1133 Old 01-16-2020, 07:34 PM
Member
 
Jesse Coane's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse Coane View Post
So have just had a little time to play around, but I’m pretty impressed with the ambeo. Agree the sub really brings it to life.

Have it hooked up to an LG C8 and noticing that atmos sounds better on the internal apps through ARC than the Apple TV hooked directly to the ambeo. At least just testing with the opening scene of Underground 6 on Netflix. Could be a Netflix issue or an Apple issue. Just sounds more alive and detailed. Need to do more tests.


Apologies. I think I had different acoustical settings on for arc and hdmi 1. That’s why it was sounding different.
doubleroll likes this.
Jesse Coane is online now  
post #1078 of 1133 Old 01-17-2020, 04:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
healthnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,645
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 983 Post(s)
Liked: 975
Thanks for all the suggestions regarding sub isolation.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
healthnut is offline  
post #1079 of 1133 Old 01-17-2020, 09:48 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse Coane View Post
Have you reached out to sennheiser? Curious if they think it’s a software thing or hardware.
Yes, I have even send them my soundbar for repair and after 3 weeks they said that - I quote "It works fine with our TV" (lol) and send back the same soundbar. No explanation. I should check again the cables (hdmi / optical) etc. Not very helpful. Ive send another email 2 weeks ago and no reply..
Alex Wisniewski is offline  
post #1080 of 1133 Old 01-17-2020, 04:02 PM
Member
 
TheDuke1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Is there a setting on the soundbar to turn eARC on? I can't get sound from my Sony 950g internal apps.

Sent from my Pixel 3 using Tapatalk
TheDuke1980 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Soundbars

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off