Samsung HW-N950 Soundbar 7.1.4 Dolby Atmos - Page 102 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 980Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3031 of 3060 Old 12-21-2019, 02:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,308
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 918 Post(s)
Liked: 508
I also posted this in the q90r thread. I have a n950. I do like it but was researching to possibly upgrade or replace it with the Sony st5000, or even the ambeo But mainly the q90r But to my surprise on one major on line retailers site it is currently in stock but marked as discontinued. I went on live chat with them asking if it was just them or Samsung. The answer I received was he could not see why they would discontinue it as it’s been sell very well I only post this as I was very close to purchasing one and would get stuck again with Samsung releasing a new top model only 8 months after the n950.

Lg oled65G7P
Panasonic UB9000 . pioneer lx500 uhd blu ray players
atv4k 2nd gen cube, roku ultra 2019
Toshiba Xa2 HD-DVD
Samsung HW-Q90R ZA soundbar
william06 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3032 of 3060 Old 12-21-2019, 02:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 8,690
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 800 Post(s)
Liked: 372
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post
I also posted this in the q90r thread. I have a n950. I do like it but was researching to possibly upgrade or replace it with the Sony st5000, or even the ambeo But mainly the q90r But to my surprise on one major on line retailers site it is currently in stock but marked as discontinued. I went on live chat with them asking if it was just them or Samsung. The answer I received was he could not see why they would discontinue it as it’s been sell very well I only post this as I was very close to purchasing one and would get stuck again with Samsung releasing a new top model only 8 months after the n950.
My N950 is not going anywhere any time soon for some minor upgrade.
Gary J is offline  
post #3033 of 3060 Old 12-21-2019, 02:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,308
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 918 Post(s)
Liked: 508
Just got the bug but was just shocked to see it being discontinued it was just the one vendor. I have no real issue with the n950.
william06 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3034 of 3060 Old 12-21-2019, 03:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
UnfoldingSquid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 554 Post(s)
Liked: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post
I also posted this in the q90r thread. I have a n950. I do like it but was researching to possibly upgrade or replace it with the Sony st5000, or even the ambeo But mainly the q90r But to my surprise on one major on line retailers site it is currently in stock but marked as discontinued. I went on live chat with them asking if it was just them or Samsung. The answer I received was he could not see why they would discontinue it as it’s been sell very well I only post this as I was very close to purchasing one and would get stuck again with Samsung releasing a new top model only 8 months after the n950.
It probably was discontinued, it’s a 2017 model and was replaced by the hw-q90r this year.

Samsung 75Q9FN
Samsung HW-N950
Samsung UBD-M9500

Samsung 55Q80R - Bedroom
UnfoldingSquid is offline  
post #3035 of 3060 Old 12-21-2019, 03:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,308
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 918 Post(s)
Liked: 508
Quote:
Originally Posted by UnfoldingSquid View Post
It probably was discontinued, it’s a 2017 model and was replaced by the hw-q90r this year.
No it is the q90r that they marked as discontinued
william06 is offline  
post #3036 of 3060 Old 12-21-2019, 08:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
UnfoldingSquid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 554 Post(s)
Liked: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post
No it is the q90r that they marked as discontinued
I’m sure it will be discontinued and replaced next year, but I doubt seriously that it already is.

Samsung 75Q9FN
Samsung HW-N950
Samsung UBD-M9500

Samsung 55Q80R - Bedroom
UnfoldingSquid is offline  
post #3037 of 3060 Old 12-22-2019, 01:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,232
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1891 Post(s)
Liked: 1223
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post
I also posted this in the q90r thread. I have a n950. I do like it but was researching to possibly upgrade or replace it with the Sony st5000, or even the ambeo But mainly the q90r But to my surprise on one major on line retailers site it is currently in stock but marked as discontinued. I went on live chat with them asking if it was just them or Samsung. The answer I received was he could not see why they would discontinue it as it’s been sell very well I only post this as I was very close to purchasing one and would get stuck again with Samsung releasing a new top model only 8 months after the n950.
CES is just a few weeks off and Samsung announces their new 2020 models during the show. Maybe a new Soundbar that actually has eARC which the Q90r was supposed to have but never received. I am happy with my n950 and don't need eARC.
Gary J likes this.
naustin is online now  
post #3038 of 3060 Old 12-22-2019, 09:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,232
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1891 Post(s)
Liked: 1223
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post
No it is the q90r that they marked as discontinued
I saw that on C**tchfield's site.
naustin is online now  
post #3039 of 3060 Old 12-22-2019, 09:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,308
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 918 Post(s)
Liked: 508
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
I saw that on C**tchfield's site.
Yes that’s where I saw it. I chatted with the rep and his comment was he could not understand why they would discontinue it as it was a good seller I should call Samsung. Didn’t go any further.

Lg oled65G7P
Panasonic UB9000 . pioneer lx500 uhd blu ray players
atv4k 2nd gen cube, roku ultra 2019
Toshiba Xa2 HD-DVD
Samsung HW-Q90R ZA soundbar
william06 is offline  
post #3040 of 3060 Old 12-22-2019, 10:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
UnfoldingSquid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 554 Post(s)
Liked: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post
Yes that’s where I saw it. I chatted with the rep and his comment was he could not understand why they would discontinue it as it was a good seller I should call Samsung. Didn’t go any further.
I can buy it at several Best Buy locations in my area as well as order it from them ship to home, but if you want to go by one online seller then ok.

Samsung 75Q9FN
Samsung HW-N950
Samsung UBD-M9500

Samsung 55Q80R - Bedroom
UnfoldingSquid is offline  
post #3041 of 3060 Old 12-22-2019, 10:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,308
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 918 Post(s)
Liked: 508
Quote:
Originally Posted by UnfoldingSquid View Post
I can buy it at several Best Buy locations in my area as well as order it from them ship to home, but if you want to go by one online seller then ok.
I had some interest in upgrading from my n950. And best buy would be my preference but was just shopping around and saw it was marked discontinued on crutchfield site which is causing me to hesitate for awhile. I would be also interested in the Sennheiser ambeo but Best Buy does not carry it and it is quite pricey. Yet I have no complaints with my n950.

Lg oled65G7P
Panasonic UB9000 . pioneer lx500 uhd blu ray players
atv4k 2nd gen cube, roku ultra 2019
Toshiba Xa2 HD-DVD
Samsung HW-Q90R ZA soundbar
william06 is offline  
post #3042 of 3060 Old 12-23-2019, 09:45 PM
Member
 
xsabrewulf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does this soundbar pass dolby vision?

I have a Vizio 2018 quantum the n950 and Fire tv Cube 2nd gem and using 8k cables

I plugged the fire tv into port 1 on the sound bar but I only get HDR.. I get atmos in Netflix but no vision.


also does Samsung ever plan on releasing another firmware? seems like a long time
xsabrewulf is offline  
post #3043 of 3060 Old 12-24-2019, 08:52 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by xsabrewulf View Post
Does this soundbar pass dolby vision?
Yes.

Make sure your network connection is fast enough.

Make sure you have full uhd color turned on for the Vizio input you are using.

Nvidia Shield - Zidoo X9S - HTPC/MPC-HC
Oppo 203 - Samsung HW-N950 - 7.2.4
LG 86UH9500
ntxoa is offline  
post #3044 of 3060 Old 12-24-2019, 11:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,232
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1891 Post(s)
Liked: 1223
Quote:
Originally Posted by xsabrewulf View Post
Does this soundbar pass dolby vision?

I have a Vizio 2018 quantum the n950 and Fire tv Cube 2nd gem and using 8k cables

I plugged the fire tv into port 1 on the sound bar but I only get HDR.. I get atmos in Netflix but no vision.


also does Samsung ever plan on releasing another firmware? seems like a long time
Some say the Gen2 Cube does DV on Netflix, we know the FireTV 4K sticks do not do DV on Netflix. You could test by connecting to an UHD enabled port on you PQ since via ARC you still get Atmos on the n950.
naustin is online now  
post #3045 of 3060 Old 12-24-2019, 04:40 PM
Member
 
xsabrewulf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by xsabrewulf View Post
Does this soundbar pass dolby vision?

I have a Vizio 2018 quantum the n950 and Fire tv Cube 2nd gem and using 8k cables

I plugged the fire tv into port 1 on the sound bar but I only get HDR.. I get atmos in Netflix but no vision.


so I plugged it direct to the TV and now I get Vision with the cube but not Atmos.


so now I get 1 or the other but not both... weird


also does Samsung ever plan on releasing another firmware? seems like a long time
Some say the Gen2 Cube does DV on Netflix, we know the FireTV 4K sticks do not do DV on Netflix. You could test by connecting to an UHD enabled port on you PQ since via ARC you still get Atmos on the n950.



so I plugged the Cube direct to my TV and now I get Vision but I do not get Atmos. it's like 1 or the other.... very weird
xsabrewulf is offline  
post #3046 of 3060 Old 12-24-2019, 05:42 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Please help! Losing my mind a bit. Trying to figure out what's causing problems between my devices. I'm not getting a stable picture on my TV.
I have a Sony XBR65X900E connected to a Samsung N950 soundbar connected to my Xbox one x.

Until this past weekend I was convinced that my Xbox one S was just faulty all along and causing all my issues. I got a good deal on a one X and I'm still having intermittent video issues! I promise everything is connected correctly, arc from my TV to soundbar, advanced HDMI output enabled on my TV, etc.
As a last ditch effort I tried swapping out my HDMI cable today with a 2.1 monoprice cable from my TV to soundbar and I thought that fixed the issue but it didn't. Image started cutting out after a bit.

I know I'm asking a lot of my devices, but they're supposed to be able to handle 4k, HDR, and Atmos! Please help! Do I need to swap out the OEM Xbox HDMI as well? Shouldn't it be able to handle everything the Xbox can do?!

Is this soundbar known for not handling all this passthrough well?!
Justin Fahimian is offline  
post #3047 of 3060 Old 12-24-2019, 08:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,232
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1891 Post(s)
Liked: 1223
Quote:
Originally Posted by xsabrewulf View Post
so I plugged the Cube direct to my TV and now I get Vision but I do not get Atmos. it's like 1 or the other.... very weird
It should work for Atmos. I have a FireTV4K stick so I can't test Netflix Atmos on my n950. You should Audio on your Fire to best available and bitstream on your Vizio.
naustin is online now  
post #3048 of 3060 Old 12-24-2019, 08:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,232
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1891 Post(s)
Liked: 1223
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin Fahimian View Post
Please help! Losing my mind a bit. Trying to figure out what's causing problems between my devices. I'm not getting a stable picture on my TV.
I have a Sony XBR65X900E connected to a Samsung N950 soundbar connected to my Xbox one x.

Until this past weekend I was convinced that my Xbox one S was just faulty all along and causing all my issues. I got a good deal on a one X and I'm still having intermittent video issues! I promise everything is connected correctly, arc from my TV to soundbar, advanced HDMI output enabled on my TV, etc.
As a last ditch effort I tried swapping out my HDMI cable today with a 2.1 monoprice cable from my TV to soundbar and I thought that fixed the issue but it didn't. Image started cutting out after a bit.

I know I'm asking a lot of my devices, but they're supposed to be able to handle 4k, HDR, and Atmos! Please help! Do I need to swap out the OEM Xbox HDMI as well? Shouldn't it be able to handle everything the Xbox can do?!

Is this soundbar known for not handling all this passthrough well?!
See this post.
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/195-s...l#post58936074
naustin is online now  
post #3049 of 3060 Old 12-25-2019, 09:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin Fahimian View Post
I know I'm asking a lot of my devices, but they're supposed to be able to handle 4k, HDR, and Atmos! Please help! Do I need to swap out the OEM Xbox HDMI as well? Shouldn't it be able to handle everything the Xbox can do?!

Is this soundbar known for not handling all this passthrough well?!
Swap out the xbox cable.

I read somewhere that the xbox hdmi is known to be particularly finicky and can take swapping out multiple cables, even certified ones.

Nvidia Shield - Zidoo X9S - HTPC/MPC-HC
Oppo 203 - Samsung HW-N950 - 7.2.4
LG 86UH9500
ntxoa is offline  
post #3050 of 3060 Old 12-25-2019, 05:21 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
It's a brand new Xbox one x now and a brand new monoprice 48gbps cable from the soundbar to the TV. You think it may be the OEM Xbox HDMI cable?! If so that's really bad... This would be the 3rd bad HDMI if that's the case, I swapped out HDMI cables with my Xbox one S and still had the issue. Pretty sure it's the soundbar and/or TV?
Justin Fahimian is offline  
post #3051 of 3060 Old 01-01-2020, 07:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 111
I am having a new issue where the soundbar isn't switching to ARC. It just says DIN. But won't switch to ARC. Very frustrating and annoying. I remember having a similar issue with the k950 as well. I've had the N950 for about a year and a half and the problem just started randomly today.
longhorn23 is offline  
post #3052 of 3060 Old 01-02-2020, 03:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin Fahimian View Post
Please help! Losing my mind a bit. Trying to figure out what's causing problems between my devices. I'm not getting a stable picture on my TV.
I have a Sony XBR65X900E connected to a Samsung N950 soundbar connected to my Xbox one x.

Until this past weekend I was convinced that my Xbox one S was just faulty all along and causing all my issues. I got a good deal on a one X and I'm still having intermittent video issues! I promise everything is connected correctly, arc from my TV to soundbar, advanced HDMI output enabled on my TV, etc.
As a last ditch effort I tried swapping out my HDMI cable today with a 2.1 monoprice cable from my TV to soundbar and I thought that fixed the issue but it didn't. Image started cutting out after a bit.

I know I'm asking a lot of my devices, but they're supposed to be able to handle 4k, HDR, and Atmos! Please help! Do I need to swap out the OEM Xbox HDMI as well? Shouldn't it be able to handle everything the Xbox can do?!

Is this soundbar known for not handling all this passthrough well?!
Plug your xbox one x directly to N950. Then N950 to your TV. Don't use the ARC function.
naustin likes this.
tearfalls is offline  
post #3053 of 3060 Old 01-06-2020, 07:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Speaking of Xbox, I've been struggling to get Xbox to play on the rear speakers for 5.1 content when using Bitstream Out - Atmos. I used to have the prior model before the N950 (K950) which was 5.1, and when I had Xbox turned on to Atmos, it would truly sound like Atmos with sound coming from both the upfiring and rear speakers even if I was playing 5.1 content. I used to think the issue was with how the additional side speakers were configured, and once the Dolby Atmos Upmixing feature would be available on the Xbox, it would solve my issue. However, this new feature is available on the Beta channel which I am on, and still no luck. With or without the upmix on, rears are completely silent on most content unless it is an Atmos enabled game. As soon as I switch the Xbox to DD mode, then the rears come alive. I hate having to switch the sound mode on the Xbox each time I want to switch from 5.1 to 7.1 to Atmos, but it seems like that's the only way it works. I was wondering if anyone else is familiar with this issue and knows how to fix it. It's a shame since the HW-K950 sounded amazing with the Atmos setting always on because I thought the fake "Atmos" actually sounded very good with that combo. N950 is great for everything else, but doesn't work super well with the Xbox.

My configuration
Xbox -> N950 -> LG B6
rg9400 is offline  
post #3054 of 3060 Old 01-07-2020, 01:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by rg9400 View Post
Speaking of Xbox, I've been struggling to get Xbox to play on the rear speakers for 5.1 content when using Bitstream Out - Atmos. I used to have the prior model before the N950 (K950) which was 5.1, and when I had Xbox turned on to Atmos, it would truly sound like Atmos with sound coming from both the upfiring and rear speakers even if I was playing 5.1 content. I used to think the issue was with how the additional side speakers were configured, and once the Dolby Atmos Upmixing feature would be available on the Xbox, it would solve my issue. However, this new feature is available on the Beta channel which I am on, and still no luck. With or without the upmix on, rears are completely silent on most content unless it is an Atmos enabled game. As soon as I switch the Xbox to DD mode, then the rears come alive. I hate having to switch the sound mode on the Xbox each time I want to switch from 5.1 to 7.1 to Atmos, but it seems like that's the only way it works. I was wondering if anyone else is familiar with this issue and knows how to fix it. It's a shame since the HW-K950 sounded amazing with the Atmos setting always on because I thought the fake "Atmos" actually sounded very good with that combo. N950 is great for everything else, but doesn't work super well with the Xbox.

My configuration
Xbox -> N950 -> LG B6

You are right it is because of the side speakers since they are now treated as regular surround speakers in a 5.1 configuration. Basically with N950, the rear speakers are treated as back speakers in a 7.1/7.1.4 configuration. So they won't have any info if the source is 5 channels surround signal. And the new upmix mode in the Atmos app only adds height channel info but still leaves the back channels empty. The reason why DD5.1 works is because at that mode the soundbar itself is doing the upmixing which will make use of the rear speakers. So unless Microsoft changes the logic and upmixes everything to a full 7.1.4 configuration, the rear speakers will remain silent with 5 channels surround signal. Very annoying to be honest.
tearfalls is offline  
post #3055 of 3060 Old 01-07-2020, 03:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by tearfalls View Post
You are right it is because of the side speakers since they are now treated as regular surround speakers in a 5.1 configuration. Basically with N950, the rear speakers are treated as back speakers in a 7.1/7.1.4 configuration. So they won't have any info if the source is 5 channels surround signal. And the new upmix mode in the Atmos app only adds height channel info but still leaves the back channels empty. The reason why DD5.1 works is because at that mode the soundbar itself is doing the upmixing which will make use of the rear speakers. So unless Microsoft changes the logic and upmixes everything to a full 7.1.4 configuration, the rear speakers will remain silent with 5 channels surround signal. Very annoying to be honest.
Yeah, I am hoping that either a new set of soundbars in 2020 or the new Xbox console fixes this issue. I wouldn't mind it that much (just use the DD setting and forget about it), but coming from the K950, I know how the Atmos setting can make a drastic difference.
rg9400 is offline  
post #3056 of 3060 Old 01-21-2020, 08:44 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Can someone please help me. How do I set the soundbar to play Atmos from watching movies through my TV's media player or built in Netflix app? I have an LG B9. I can play Atmos just fine from my Xbox One X but I'd rather not turn it on and wait for it's slow start up every time I wanna watch something. Audio does come out normally when playing from the built in TV apps but it's not Atmos (of course talking about media that supports Atmos).
SliChillax is offline  
post #3057 of 3060 Old 01-22-2020, 10:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,232
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1891 Post(s)
Liked: 1223
Quote:
Originally Posted by SliChillax View Post
Can someone please help me. How do I set the soundbar to play Atmos from watching movies through my TV's media player or built in Netflix app? I have an LG B9. I can play Atmos just fine from my Xbox One X but I'd rather not turn it on and wait for it's slow start up every time I wanna watch something. Audio does come out normally when playing from the built in TV apps but it's not Atmos (of course talking about media that supports Atmos).
There isn't any unique settings on the N950 assuming you have bitstream and ARC active on your LG B9. Not all applications of Netflix do Atmos. I would suggest trying the LG B9 thread for specific issues if an LG B9 owner doesn't answer on this soundbar thread. Good luck.

Edit: @SliChillax I see you may own the K950. The K950 is an earlier model that does NOT support Atmos over ARC. For Atmos over ARC you need the N950 or Q90R.

Last edited by naustin; 01-22-2020 at 10:56 AM.
naustin is online now  
post #3058 of 3060 Old 01-22-2020, 12:15 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
There isn't any unique settings on the N950 assuming you have bitstream and ARC active on your LG B9. Not all applications of Netflix do Atmos. I would suggest trying the LG B9 thread for specific issues if an LG B9 owner doesn't answer on this soundbar thread. Good luck.

Edit: @SliChillax I see you may own the K950. The K950 is an earlier model that does NOT support Atmos over ARC. For Atmos over ARC you need the N950 or Q90R.
You are right I have the K950 but my I can select Atmos just fine on my PC using ARC. Now TV ARC stopped working it doesn't work at all.
SliChillax is offline  
post #3059 of 3060 Old 01-22-2020, 12:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,232
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1891 Post(s)
Liked: 1223
Quote:
Originally Posted by SliChillax View Post
You are right I have the K950 but my I can select Atmos just fine on my PC using ARC. Now TV ARC stopped working it doesn't work at all.
As I said, try the LG B9 TV owners thread, there isn't any SB settings to adjust for ARC except unplugging AC to reboot the SB.
naustin is online now  
post #3060 of 3060 Old 01-22-2020, 02:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,232
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1891 Post(s)
Liked: 1223
Quote:
Originally Posted by pifemaster View Post
I just purchased the HW-Q90R today and have it connected to an LG OLED C9.

I am trying to confirm the version of the Firmware in the Sub & Rear channel speakers. I tried following STEP 2 from this page: https://www.samsung.com/us/support/t...g/TSG01202075/ but that does not show anything.

I did use the Smartthings app and ran the firmware update and feel that the main soundbar is updated, but I can not seem to get the Sub & rears to update.

Thank you,
Robert
Wrong thread, this is N950 soundbars. Good luck.
naustin is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Soundbars

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off