Samsung HW-N950 Soundbar 7.1.4 Dolby Atmos - Page 103 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1005Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3061 of 3141 Old 02-02-2020, 07:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Now that most of us have had this soundbar for awhile do you regret it?

I have it in my basement and don't get much use. Recently set up a 5.1 Sonos setup in my living room and was shocked about how good the surround was. Decided to give my theater some love (where my n950 is) and was a bit disappointed with the surround.. it does a few Atmos movies well but Netflix and Amazon Atmos content doesn't really use the rear speakers much. The rear speakers feel very soft and weak for 90% of day to day use.

Other than those few moments that I'm constantly searching for, I feel like this is kind of a bust. Thoughts?

Sent from my SM-G975W using Tapatalk
vuongjas is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3062 of 3141 Old 02-02-2020, 08:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,437
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2023 Post(s)
Liked: 1370
Quote:
Originally Posted by vuongjas View Post
Now that most of us have had this soundbar for awhile do you regret it?

I have it in my basement and don't get much use. Recently set up a 5.1 Sonos setup in my living room and was shocked about how good the surround was....Thoughts?

Sent from my SM-G975W using Tapatalk
I'm happy with my Samsung after 20+ years of AVRs. Surrounds aren't supposed to be active all the time, just when the soundtrack warrants it. That said I use the Samy daily and tweaked the soundbar many times to my room's acoustics using the db setting for front, side etc. and the SmartThings App for custom EQ with the standard output. The Sonos out of the box may work better for you. Cheers.
naustin is offline  
post #3063 of 3141 Old 02-02-2020, 08:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
I'm happy with my Samsung after 20+ years of AVRs. Surrounds aren't supposed to be active all the time, just when the soundtrack warrants it. That said I use the Samy daily and tweaked the soundbar many times to my room's acoustics using the db setting for front, side etc. and the SmartThings App for custom EQ with the standard output. The Sonos out of the box may work better for you. Cheers.
How did you tweak it? The settings are pretty minimal.

I just set mine to smart, virtual off, everything at 0, except rears to +6.

Not much more tweaking. Was hoping Samsung would release an update to at least Pump the rear volume up a bit. Even when there is sound it's so quiet relative to the front sound bar.

Sent from my SM-G975W using Tapatalk
vuongjas is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3064 of 3141 Old 02-02-2020, 09:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,437
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2023 Post(s)
Liked: 1370
Quote:
Originally Posted by vuongjas View Post
How did you tweak it? The settings are pretty minimal.

I just set mine to smart, virtual off, everything at 0, except rears to +6.

Not much more tweaking. Was hoping Samsung would release an update to at least Pump the rear volume up a bit. Even when there is sound it's so quiet relative to the front sound bar.

Sent from my SM-G975W using Tapatalk
You adjust to your room & your ears. As I said the rears on a normal AVR 5.1 system are rarely active. The SmartThings App is your friend for software updates and adjusting EQ. The speaker adjustments speaker I made were +6 to front top and +6 rear top (I have a high ceiling) and +4 to the sides for my open spaces. The Classic EQ with standard mode is a good place to start. I found smart mode compresses the dynamic range too much for my ear. Good luck.
naustin is offline  
post #3065 of 3141 Old 02-05-2020, 05:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
ToonMasterTim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 549
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by vuongjas View Post
Now that most of us have had this soundbar for awhile do you regret it?

I have it in my basement and don't get much use. Recently set up a 5.1 Sonos setup in my living room and was shocked about how good the surround was. Decided to give my theater some love (where my n950 is) and was a bit disappointed with the surround.. it does a few Atmos movies well but Netflix and Amazon Atmos content doesn't really use the rear speakers much. The rear speakers feel very soft and weak for 90% of day to day use.

Other than those few moments that I'm constantly searching for, I feel like this is kind of a bust. Thoughts?

Sent from my SM-G975W using Tapatalk

I have been very happy with mine. Ensure you're using bitstream and not PCM from your source devices. I inadvertently set my TV to output PCM and noticed that Netflix wasn't providing me 5.1. So, I dug in and found I had switched it while trying to get the 950 to switch to ARC when it was having some handshake issues. Once I went back to bitstream, everything sounded better.


I use Standard mode. And it really depends on the content when it comes to the surrounds, as was mentioned. I definitely hear mine, no problem. And Atmos really fills the listening space. Even when there aren't a lot of height effects, I still hear the difference that immersive sound makes.
naustin likes this.
ToonMasterTim is offline  
post #3066 of 3141 Old 02-05-2020, 05:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 3
I'll swap it to standard and see if it makes a difference.

Currently using a shield on sound settings auto play the source material. Not sure how to change it to bitstream

Sent from my SM-G975W using Tapatalk
vuongjas is offline  
post #3067 of 3141 Old 02-05-2020, 05:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by vuongjas View Post
I'll swap it to standard and see if it makes a difference.

Currently using a shield on sound settings auto play the source material. Not sure how to change it to bitstream

Sent from my SM-G975W using Tapatalk
I use surround mode. That way, DTS:X and Atmos play as designed and everything else gets upmixed to 7.1.4.

I have my rear speakers and rear overheads at +6. Front overheads at +3. SW at +3. 150 hz at +1. 10 khz at -1.

Super happy with my setup.

Nvidia Shield - Zidoo X9S - HTPC/MPC-HC
Oppo 203 - Samsung HW-N950 - SVS PB12-NSD 7.2.4
LG 86UH9500
ntxoa is offline  
post #3068 of 3141 Old 02-06-2020, 05:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
PlasmaHiDef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 382 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by ntxoa View Post
I use surround mode. That way, DTS:X and Atmos play as designed and everything else gets upmixed to 7.1.4.

I have my rear speakers and rear overheads at +6. Front overheads at +3. SW at +3. 150 hz at +1. 10 khz at -1.

Super happy with my setup.
Did you use a calibration tool to adjust the 150hz and 10khz? Mine are all at 0 (from the factory) as I'm not sure if they will make a difference.

There are the 150Hz, 300Hz, 600Hz, 1.2kHz, 2.5kHz, 5kHz, and 10kHz frequency bands. So if I have a lot of hard surfaces, I should change all these to -1?

Last edited by PlasmaHiDef; 02-06-2020 at 06:11 AM.
PlasmaHiDef is offline  
post #3069 of 3141 Old 02-06-2020, 09:00 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaHiDef View Post
Did you use a calibration tool to adjust the 150hz and 10khz? Mine are all at 0 (from the factory) as I'm not sure if they will make a difference.

There are the 150Hz, 300Hz, 600Hz, 1.2kHz, 2.5kHz, 5kHz, and 10kHz frequency bands. So if I have a lot of hard surfaces, I should change all these to -1?
I just adjusted based on listening.

My room also has a lot of hard surfaces. I just needed to cut the 10khz to decrease that really busy high frequency that was grating and tiring to listen to.

I bumped up the 150hz and SW because I like it for action movies. (I set up a second SW and bass shakers for that too.)

Leaving the other frequencies alone was fine for me.

Nvidia Shield - Zidoo X9S - HTPC/MPC-HC
Oppo 203 - Samsung HW-N950 - SVS PB12-NSD 7.2.4
LG 86UH9500
ntxoa is offline  
post #3070 of 3141 Old 02-06-2020, 12:15 PM
Newbie
 
Akerhage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Anyone else here with HW-N960 that encounters problem with the rear speakers and subwoofer disconnects?

This happens to me almost every day. Serveral times each week I need to reset the soundbar or make a ID-set and unplug the subwoofer to get it to work again.
Akerhage is offline  
post #3071 of 3141 Old 02-06-2020, 12:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,437
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2023 Post(s)
Liked: 1370
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaHiDef View Post
Did you use a calibration tool to adjust the 150hz and 10khz? Mine are all at 0 (from the factory) as I'm not sure if they will make a difference.

There are the 150Hz, 300Hz, 600Hz, 1.2kHz, 2.5kHz, 5kHz, and 10kHz frequency bands. So if I have a lot of hard surfaces, I should change all these to -1?
If you use the SmartThings App, you can test via the Equalization settings: None (0 on all), Pop, Jazz, Classic and Custom (one that you save). Try playing with EQ settings as you listen to programs and adjust the sliders and save as Custom. Good luck.
naustin is offline  
post #3072 of 3141 Old 02-06-2020, 01:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,437
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2023 Post(s)
Liked: 1370
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaHiDef View Post
....So if I have a lot of hard surfaces, I should change all these to -1?
Setting everything to -1 is just another way to reduce all volume, so don't. Just use the volume control.
ntxoa likes this.
naustin is offline  
post #3073 of 3141 Old 02-07-2020, 08:45 AM
Member
 
twEEkerAreUs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by vuongjas View Post
Now that most of us have had this soundbar for awhile do you regret it?

I have it in my basement and don't get much use. Recently set up a 5.1 Sonos setup in my living room and was shocked about how good the surround was. Decided to give my theater some love (where my n950 is) and was a bit disappointed with the surround.. it does a few Atmos movies well but Netflix and Amazon Atmos content doesn't really use the rear speakers much. The rear speakers feel very soft and weak for 90% of day to day use.

Other than those few moments that I'm constantly searching for, I feel like this is kind of a bust. Thoughts?

Sent from my SM-G975W using Tapatalk
Zero regret, I got it on sale early on and still love it with no issues. How far are the rear speakers from you? I just don't have this issue with the current firmware, the very first firmware on it rears were a tad soft.

Samsung - Display: 65Q9FN | Audio: HW-N950 | Player: UBD-M9500



twEEkerAreUs is offline  
post #3074 of 3141 Old 02-07-2020, 09:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,350
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 937 Post(s)
Liked: 521
Works great for me
william06 is offline  
post #3075 of 3141 Old 02-07-2020, 09:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,350
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 937 Post(s)
Liked: 521
Oops now have q90r had 950. Both work fine gave 950 to my son
william06 is offline  
post #3076 of 3141 Old 02-07-2020, 09:17 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akerhage View Post
Anyone else here with HW-N960 that encounters problem with the rear speakers and subwoofer disconnects?

This happens to me almost every day. Serveral times each week I need to reset the soundbar or make a ID-set and unplug the subwoofer to get it to work again.
Try playing around with subwoofer location and orientation. They can be sensitive to RF interference.

Try switching off any 5ghz wifi to test, even temporarily. And try reorienting any wifi routers or access points.

Nvidia Shield - Zidoo X9S - HTPC/MPC-HC
Oppo 203 - Samsung HW-N950 - SVS PB12-NSD 7.2.4
LG 86UH9500
ntxoa is offline  
post #3077 of 3141 Old 02-07-2020, 09:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
PlasmaHiDef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 382 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post
Oops now have q90r had 950. Both work fine gave 950 to my son
It's all good. The 90r and 950 are basically twins lol
PlasmaHiDef is offline  
post #3078 of 3141 Old 02-07-2020, 10:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,350
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 937 Post(s)
Liked: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaHiDef View Post
It's all good. The 90r and 950 are basically twins lol
Much better control of sub, adaptive is a bit more. Effective sound mode. On the q90 bit of a redesign of the sub that’s about it

Lg oled65G7P
Panasonic UB9000 . pioneer lx500 uhd blu ray players
atv4k 2nd gen cube, roku ultra 2019
Toshiba Xa2 HD-DVD
Samsung HW-Q90R ZA soundbar
william06 is offline  
post #3079 of 3141 Old 02-08-2020, 11:04 AM
Senior Member
 
tdrozdowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akerhage View Post
Anyone else here with HW-N960 that encounters problem with the rear speakers and subwoofer disconnects?

This happens to me almost every day. Serveral times each week I need to reset the soundbar or make a ID-set and unplug the subwoofer to get it to work again.
Yes - I have this problem - all. the. time. the only fix for it is to power on/off the main bar (for 30+ seconds) and then power on/off the subwoofer - then it resets.

I don't know if this is related to:

1. The Apple TV 4K
or
2. My Orbi
or
3. some other interference from neighbors wifi...

Its just irritating. I feel totally ripped off that for $1400 I have to physically unplug the damn thing every other week to get it to function like it should.
tdrozdowski is offline  
post #3080 of 3141 Old 02-08-2020, 03:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdrozdowski View Post
Yes - I have this problem - all. the. time. the only fix for it is to power on/off the main bar (for 30+ seconds) and then power on/off the subwoofer - then it resets.

I don't know if this is related to:

1. The Apple TV 4K
or
2. My Orbi
or
3. some other interference from neighbors wifi...

Its just irritating. I feel totally ripped off that for $1400 I have to physically unplug the damn thing every other week to get it to function like it should.
Saw a post about Orbi causing problems for another person.

Can you test by temporarily turning it off?

Can it be configured not to use 5ghz?

Nvidia Shield - Zidoo X9S - HTPC/MPC-HC
Oppo 203 - Samsung HW-N950 - SVS PB12-NSD 7.2.4
LG 86UH9500
ntxoa is offline  
post #3081 of 3141 Old 02-09-2020, 01:09 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdrozdowski View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akerhage View Post
Anyone else here with HW-N960 that encounters problem with the rear speakers and subwoofer disconnects?

This happens to me almost every day. Serveral times each week I need to reset the soundbar or make a ID-set and unplug the subwoofer to get it to work again.
Yes - I have this problem - all. the. time. the only fix for it is to power on/off the main bar (for 30+ seconds) and then power on/off the subwoofer - then it resets.

I don't know if this is related to:

1. The Apple TV 4K
or
2. My Orbi
or
3. some other interference from neighbors wifi...

Its just irritating. I feel totally ripped off that for $1400 I have to physically unplug the damn thing every other week to get it to function like it should.
I have the same set up and the same problem. The ‘solution’ for me was to buy a Wi-fi plug socket and have it set to turn off and on every night. This seems to work but is clearly ridiculous for such high-end kit.
Tim Harrison is offline  
post #3082 of 3141 Old 02-09-2020, 10:25 AM
Senior Member
 
tdrozdowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by ntxoa View Post
Saw a post about Orbi causing problems for another person.

Can you test by temporarily turning it off?

Can it be configured not to use 5ghz?
Configuring it to not use 5ghz kinda defeats the whole purpose of having it (its the Wifi6 version).

It was doing this with my prior Orbi too - I don't think its the Orbi itself. Pondering getting in touch with Samsung as I'm still in my first 12 months - or just chalk it up as a bad purchase and try again this summer when new units from LG, Sony, etc are available.
tdrozdowski is offline  
post #3083 of 3141 Old 02-09-2020, 03:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
UnfoldingSquid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 771
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 569 Post(s)
Liked: 367
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdrozdowski View Post
Configuring it to not use 5ghz kinda defeats the whole purpose of having it (its the Wifi6 version).

It was doing this with my prior Orbi too - I don't think its the Orbi itself. Pondering getting in touch with Samsung as I'm still in my first 12 months - or just chalk it up as a bad purchase and try again this summer when new units from LG, Sony, etc are available.
If you research this issue you will see plenty of people talking about this soundbar and any wifi causing issues. I used to have an Orbi and found it worked best if I experimented with wifi channels, I believe channel 2 on 2.4Ghz worked best for me but your mileage may vary. Why people claim turning off 5Ghz helped I have no idea, I'm pretty sure the soundbar uses 2.4Ghz frequencies.

Samsung 75Q9FN
Samsung HW-N950
Samsung UBD-M9500

Samsung 55Q80R - Bedroom
UnfoldingSquid is online now  
post #3084 of 3141 Old 02-09-2020, 10:59 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by UnfoldingSquid View Post
If you research this issue you will see plenty of people talking about this soundbar and any wifi causing issues. I used to have an Orbi and found it worked best if I experimented with wifi channels, I believe channel 2 on 2.4Ghz worked best for me but your mileage may vary. Why people claim turning off 5Ghz helped I have no idea, I'm pretty sure the soundbar uses 2.4Ghz frequencies.
So I have been having issues with my N950 since I got it. Speaker cutting out / cracking. Had no idea what was going on. I called Samsung who advised me to do a reset and stated it was a known “static glitch”...pretty sure dude had no idea what he was saying.
The other day I saw a post where someone got the issue to stop when they changed their Wi-Fi channel on their router. This got me thinking. I dove into the manual and where I learned the N950 transmits sound to the rear/sub speakers at 5.80Ghz. I realized the rears and sub must be getting interference from something in my home. Long story short...it was the 5 GHz band on my router. When there was a device connected to my 5 GHz channel in my living room it was interfering with the N950. I have a NETGEAR tri-band router. My 5 GHz-2 operates between 5.725 and 5.825 GHz. I essentially had to stop my router from broadcasting the 5Ghz-2 range and all my issues went away. The system is clear and precise. The rears and sub are also louder. The 5 GHz channel that operates between 5 GHz and 5.5 GHz does not seem to interfere with the N950 at all. I have also not noticed any issues running 2.4 GHz either.
naustin and ntxoa like this.
Boba_Fett23 is offline  
post #3085 of 3141 Old 02-09-2020, 11:46 PM
Newbie
 
Akerhage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks for the tips about 5ghz interference. I did call Samsung support and they just said I should send it in to replace motherboard in the speakers and sub. Its strange that they cannot know that this is a problem related to interference with the router when it seems that many people have the very same issues.

I havent yet tried to change this, will try today after work. the repairshop operates only during my work hours so its hard for me (without car) to even send it in for service.

Would be very happy if this solves my problem!


Edit, should I try to change anything else here?
Channels I can only choose 1,6 or 11 and bandwith 20Mhz or 40Mhz.



Last edited by Akerhage; 02-10-2020 at 12:53 AM.
Akerhage is offline  
post #3086 of 3141 Old 02-10-2020, 10:11 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akerhage View Post
Edit, should I try to change anything else here?
Channels I can only choose 1,6 or 11 and bandwith 20Mhz or 40Mhz.
Those settings look good. 20Mhz gives less potential for interference between your 2.4Ghz devices.

You can let the equipment autoselect channels, or you can manually test to see if any particular channel works better for you. It can depend on what channels your neighbors’ equipment are using.

Nvidia Shield - Zidoo X9S - HTPC/MPC-HC
Oppo 203 - Samsung HW-N950 - SVS PB12-NSD 7.2.4
LG 86UH9500
ntxoa is offline  
post #3087 of 3141 Old 02-10-2020, 10:22 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Harrison View Post
I have the same set up and the same problem. The ‘solution’ for me was to buy a Wi-fi plug socket and have it set to turn off and on every night. This seems to work but is clearly ridiculous for such high-end kit.
I found that for the rare occasions I did have a disconnect issue, it was enough to power off the sub, wait a bit, then power it back up for the majority of cases.

I have the sub on a switched power strip just in case. I think I had to use the switch once in the last 2-3 months.

Nvidia Shield - Zidoo X9S - HTPC/MPC-HC
Oppo 203 - Samsung HW-N950 - SVS PB12-NSD 7.2.4
LG 86UH9500
ntxoa is offline  
post #3088 of 3141 Old 02-11-2020, 09:19 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello, I' new to this thread. I have a Samsung HW-N950, with my Roku Ultra plugged to the soundbar HDMI in and from Soundbar ARC HDMI out connected to my LG UHD TV (LG 43UJ634V) ARC HDMI port. My issues is if i keep my roku display setting to 4K 30Hz no issues, however, if I set to either 4K 60Hz or 4k HDR 30 Hz my TV screen gets black screen constantly but the audio is working.

If I plug the Roku device directly to TV, TV display works fine with all the resolution.

Any clue what is wrong?

Thanks for your support.
Ben Sundar is offline  
post #3089 of 3141 Old 02-12-2020, 08:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Sundar View Post
My issues is if i keep my roku display setting to 4K 30Hz no issues, however, if I set to either 4K 60Hz or 4k HDR 30 Hz my TV screen gets black screen constantly but the audio is working.

If I plug the Roku device directly to TV, TV display works fine with all the resolution.
Make sure you are using certified HDMI cables such as the Monoprice.

Some Apple TV users found that even Monoprice didn’t work for them, and they had to use Belkin 2.1 cables.
naustin likes this.

Nvidia Shield - Zidoo X9S - HTPC/MPC-HC
Oppo 203 - Samsung HW-N950 - SVS PB12-NSD 7.2.4
LG 86UH9500
ntxoa is offline  
post #3090 of 3141 Old 02-13-2020, 10:13 AM
Newbie
 
Akerhage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ntxoa View Post
Those settings look good. 20Mhz gives less potential for interference between your 2.4Ghz devices.

You can let the equipment autoselect channels, or you can manually test to see if any particular channel works better for you. It can depend on what channels your neighbors’ equipment are using.

So far so good! The rear speakers and sub still works, I really hope this fixed it for me
naustin and ntxoa like this.
Akerhage is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Soundbars

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off