Samsung HW-N950 Soundbar 7.1.4 Dolby Atmos - Page 27 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 967Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #781 of 3002 Old 09-09-2018, 11:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,262
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 890 Post(s)
Liked: 493
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post
On the left side facing inward to my stand and back port 6” from wall looks good base at 12 is awesome but I need to tame it . I live. In a townhouse and neighbors and all. They’ve been away.
I moved the sub to the right side facing a more open area helped tame the base

Lg oled65G7P
Panasonic UB9000 pioneer lx500
atv4k -roku ultra
Toshiba Xa2 HD-DVD
Samsung HW-N950 soundbar
william06 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #782 of 3002 Old 09-09-2018, 12:26 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Just a question regarding the sub woofer, have previous owners of the K950 noticed the sub bass of the N950 has been reduced somewhat? Not that I'm complaining, I set my N950 to +4 while the K950 I had to set it to -3 and even then it was quite overwhelming.


Overall a stellar soundbar, definitely what the K950 should have been.
Faurix is offline  
post #783 of 3002 Old 09-09-2018, 12:37 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by kendo34 View Post
hi Guys looking for a bit of advice i am thinking of getting Samsung Atmos HW-K950 to replace my av receiver and 5.1 speakers as i am feed up of all the cables problem is i have my sky Q box my blueray player and my xbox one x how will i connect all them up
Use a HDMI switcher, preferably one with a remote controller.
shawncos is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #784 of 3002 Old 09-09-2018, 01:05 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
If you use an hdmi splitter will it need to be a 4k one anyoneysing on which one would people recommend
kendo34 is offline  
post #785 of 3002 Old 09-09-2018, 01:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dreaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 2,103
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 601 Post(s)
Liked: 776
I will be getting the HW-N950 Wednesday but I already have an issue with it. If I have like 5 HDMI sources, 2 4K, how do you make that work in a N950 with only 2 HDMI inputs.


Will something like this type of switcher work?

5 in 1 Out HDMI 2.0 Switch 4K 60Hz HDR HDCP 2.2 Dolby Vision 1080P 3D, 5x1 5 Port HDMI 2.0 Switcher,
5.1CH / 7.1CH AUDIO - This HDMI switch support DTS:X / Dolby Atmos / Dolby Digital / DTS-HD / Dolby-trueHD / LPCM7.1 / Dolby-AC3 / DSD HD(HBR) / PCM, Essentially all available audio options are supported.


On paper this looks like it will work. What am I missing?

Last edited by dreaux; 09-09-2018 at 01:38 PM.
dreaux is offline  
post #786 of 3002 Old 09-09-2018, 02:30 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I've looked up and downloaded SPL readers but still am not having luck with audio adjustments. What does everyone have their sound settings set to? My couch is 9-10ft away from my soundbar/tv.
Timothy Michael is offline  
post #787 of 3002 Old 09-09-2018, 02:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Craft View Post
Shield is your better bet on this one, the Xbox Media Player has trouble supporting a lot of file types.

Maybe Kodi on XBOX one is better, but I haven't tried playing local files through it, only streaming and as far as I recall the only thing that Microsoft allows bitstream thru is the Blu Ray app.
Thank you! Looks like I'll be picking up a shield. As reference, the "Movies & TV" app on Xbox now plays 4K, HDR, and Atmos. They had to update it for their store and therefore local media users can reap the benefits as well. [I'll try DTS:X with the app as well and report back]
manuman888 is offline  
post #788 of 3002 Old 09-09-2018, 03:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
SkyYYZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hamilton, ON
Posts: 669
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 266 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Faurix View Post
Just a question regarding the sub woofer, have previous owners of the K950 noticed the sub bass of the N950 has been reduced somewhat? Not that I'm complaining, I set my N950 to +4 while the K950 I had to set it to -3 and even then it was quite overwhelming.


Overall a stellar soundbar, definitely what the K950 should have been.
My subwoofer overall is subtle. I have it set to +4 as well, but it doesn't make much of a difference for regular TV watching. During a movie though, when there needs to be bass, it vibrates the floor and I'm definitely reminded of its presence. Of note, when I connect to the Smart Things app, I'm warned that the connection is weak. Everything seems fine, but it may have something to do with the low level during 'normal' programming even at the higher setting.
Faurix likes this.
SkyYYZ is offline  
post #789 of 3002 Old 09-09-2018, 03:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 946
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 604 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by Faurix View Post
Just a question regarding the sub woofer, have previous owners of the K950 noticed the sub bass of the N950 has been reduced somewhat? Not that I'm complaining, I set my N950 to +4 while the K950 I had to set it to -3 and even then it was quite overwhelming.


Overall a stellar soundbar, definitely what the K950 should have been.
I think Sub is as powerful as K950. I have mine set at +2 and it still rattles. For K950, I've used higher for non-Atmos. The Soundbar in N950 is overall more powerful than K950.
Faurix likes this.
New_to_4K is offline  
post #790 of 3002 Old 09-09-2018, 03:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,262
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 890 Post(s)
Liked: 493
Quote:
Originally Posted by New_to_4K View Post
I think Sub is as powerful as K950. I have mine set at +2 and it still rattles. For K950, I've used higher for non-Atmos. The Soundbar in N950 is overall more powerful than K950.
Sure seems that way

Lg oled65G7P
Panasonic UB9000 pioneer lx500
atv4k -roku ultra
Toshiba Xa2 HD-DVD
Samsung HW-N950 soundbar
william06 is online now  
post #791 of 3002 Old 09-09-2018, 03:48 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I've just pulled the trigger and returned mine. In some cases/demos it sounds good, like the Bladerunner BR, but for daily use; Netflix/Amazon, it felt like something was missing and fatigued my ears. Also too much fiddling with levels and that auto power off made me return it.

My search continues; it had all the specs on paper, but in this price range having no calibration, or even test tones, and no leveling in left/right just frustrated me. It did not have a single 'wow' moment and never experience any Atmos effect.

Too bad, I really wanted to like this bar.
HvLee is offline  
post #792 of 3002 Old 09-09-2018, 04:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Does holding the play/pause button for 5 seconds to disable auto off not work on the n950?
manuman888 is offline  
post #793 of 3002 Old 09-09-2018, 05:42 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by kendo34 View Post
If you use an hdmi splitter will it need to be a 4k one anyoneysing on which one would people recommend
Try monoprice or a local computer store like Microcenter, lots to choose from on Amazon but hard to recommend. I used an older 4X4 matrix awhile back to feed 3 TV's but this was before 4K and 3D TVs. They do make 4K and 3D passthrough models, prices very widely.
shawncos is offline  
post #794 of 3002 Old 09-09-2018, 06:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dreaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 2,103
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 601 Post(s)
Liked: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by kendo34 View Post
If you use an hdmi splitter will it need to be a 4k one anyoneysing on which one would people recommend

Do you want a splitter or a switcher?
dreaux is offline  
post #795 of 3002 Old 09-09-2018, 09:11 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 3
I've been using mine a little over a week now and so far I'm very happy with it except for one major issue.

I live in a townhouse and I've got the sub set to -12 (as low as it will go) and when attempting to watch a movie on 8/100 volume (In this case Deadpool 2) in heavy bass scenes my neighbour seems to get annoyed and bangs on the wall.

Happened twice during Deadpool.

Not really sure what I can do about it other than what I've already done which is unplug the sub altogether.

I've tried an Isolation pad and while it helped tighten up the bass a little it didn't stop the issue.

It's not exactly like the sub is loud or overpowering, it just puts a slight rumble through the room so I'd say the townhouse walls must be paper thin.
Aussierox is offline  
post #796 of 3002 Old 09-09-2018, 10:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,262
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 890 Post(s)
Liked: 493
Kinda funny some people feel the sub is week. I am in the same boat as you. I stuff the tube in back to tame it a bit and it does help. I use foam a small cloth or anything thing soft large enough not to get trapped or scratch. I love the unit also.

Lg oled65G7P
Panasonic UB9000 pioneer lx500
atv4k -roku ultra
Toshiba Xa2 HD-DVD
Samsung HW-N950 soundbar
william06 is online now  
post #797 of 3002 Old 09-10-2018, 04:23 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
It’s a switcher I require which would need to be hdcp 2.2
kendo34 is offline  
post #798 of 3002 Old 09-10-2018, 04:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
SkyYYZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hamilton, ON
Posts: 669
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 266 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Last night I decided to dive deeper into the manual. I turned Wi-Fi off, unplugged the home entertainment centre, and power-cycled the wireless router. Then, I re-enabled Wi-Fi on the N950, and that process took care of the weak signal warning from the SmartThings app. However, it didn't make any noticeable difference to the level of bass. Curious @Aussierox and @william06 when you refer to needing to muffle your bass units—is that only when watching movies, or are your modules heavy at all times including regular DD 5.1 TV through ARC? Also, there are more advanced EQ settings in the SmartThings app, although it may be that it only applies to music if you're using the soundbar for Wi-Fi or BT music.

Lastly, and this is for anyone: Having a closer look at the manual on page 27, I noted that the 'Play/Pause' button is supposed to double as a toggle for the 'Auto Power Down' function, but it doesn't seem to do anything when I hold it down. Does this feature work for anyone?

Last edited by SkyYYZ; 09-10-2018 at 05:40 AM. Reason: elaborated on weak Wi-Fi signal fix
SkyYYZ is offline  
post #799 of 3002 Old 09-10-2018, 07:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,262
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 890 Post(s)
Liked: 493
As far as the sub is concerned the amount of base depends on input sours and programming. That said it tends to be a bit base heavy. By stuffing the port it helps a lot you can always turn it up if necessary. As far as the manual stating play paus button it also specifies with optical connected. In either case I did it with hdmi no optical. So far it doesn’t shut off I think you have 15 minutes .

Lg oled65G7P
Panasonic UB9000 pioneer lx500
atv4k -roku ultra
Toshiba Xa2 HD-DVD
Samsung HW-N950 soundbar
william06 is online now  
post #800 of 3002 Old 09-10-2018, 07:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,262
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 890 Post(s)
Liked: 493
Quote:
Originally Posted by kendo34 View Post
It’s a switcher I require which would need to be hdcp 2.2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Faurix View Post
Just a question regarding the sub woofer, have previous owners of the K950 noticed the sub bass of the N950 has been reduced somewhat? Not that I'm complaining, I set my N950 to +4 while the K950 I had to set it to -3 and even then it was quite overwhelming.


Overall a stellar soundbar, definitely what the K950 should have been.
I find it stronger

Lg oled65G7P
Panasonic UB9000 pioneer lx500
atv4k -roku ultra
Toshiba Xa2 HD-DVD
Samsung HW-N950 soundbar
william06 is online now  
post #801 of 3002 Old 09-10-2018, 07:58 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess no one has figured out what the Virtual on/off in settings does?
beligasse and hey_AJ like this.
ac3knight is offline  
post #802 of 3002 Old 09-10-2018, 08:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,262
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 890 Post(s)
Liked: 493
Haven’t really played with that yet
william06 is online now  
post #803 of 3002 Old 09-10-2018, 08:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dreaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 2,103
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 601 Post(s)
Liked: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by kendo34 View Post
It’s a switcher I require which would need to be hdcp 2.2

https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
longhorn23 and shawncos like this.
dreaux is offline  
post #804 of 3002 Old 09-10-2018, 11:41 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I get super confused now with this thread, still ordered mine. If I better get a Real Dolby Atmos System but I doubt you can get one for 1200 €. So I guess my best bet is this Soundbar.
Dastano is offline  
post #805 of 3002 Old 09-10-2018, 11:59 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Poland
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hello, I have a question for you, I have read for a few days your forum and in particular about soundbars, I am wondering the two models are Samsung N950 and Sony ZF9. Could you advise me which one is better?
reddeatth is offline  
post #806 of 3002 Old 09-10-2018, 01:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
SkyYYZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hamilton, ON
Posts: 669
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 266 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post
As far as the sub is concerned the amount of base depends on input sours and programming. That said it tends to be a bit base heavy. By stuffing the port it helps a lot you can always turn it up if necessary. As far as the manual stating play paus button it also specifies with optical connected. In either case I did it with hdmi no optical. So far it doesn’t shut off I think you have 15 minutes .
Gotcha'... I thought you meant before that your sub is crazy bass all the time or something

Regarding the 'Auto Power Down' question, I think you thought I was asking about the 'Auto Power Link' feature, which is for Toslink. See thumbnails:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.PNG
Views:	56
Size:	19.9 KB
ID:	2453672   Click image for larger version

Name:	2.PNG
Views:	70
Size:	63.7 KB
ID:	2453674  
SkyYYZ is offline  
post #807 of 3002 Old 09-10-2018, 01:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,262
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 890 Post(s)
Liked: 493
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkyYYZ View Post
Gotcha'... I thought you meant before that your sub is crazy bass all the time or something

Regarding the 'Auto Power Down' question, I think you thought I was asking about the 'Auto Power Link' feature, which is for Toslink. See thumbnails:
Gotcha
william06 is online now  
post #808 of 3002 Old 09-10-2018, 01:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Does anyone running an N950 have a large living/viewing room? High ceilings? I'd like to know if this soundbar can produce in a large room, especially the Atmos in a high ceiling.

My room is about 15ft wide by maybe 28ft long by 12ft tall. I sit about 16 ft from where the soundbar would be, with about 8 feet open behind me before a 3 foot wide set of half-beight stairs and landing are (ultimately 3-4 feet up from floor) with an open iron railing and then finally full back wall. Ceiling is vaulted, closest to a gable type ceiling except the ceiling doesn't come to a point but does have a flat section, like this: /--\ (kind of ). Solid plaster walls and ceiling painted smooth.

So my living room is kinda open and big. Wondering if this thing can fill it?
ARegularGuy is offline  
post #809 of 3002 Old 09-10-2018, 01:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
SkyYYZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hamilton, ON
Posts: 669
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 266 Post(s)
Liked: 204
@william06 Yeah, so looking at thumbnail #1 , it's not clear what the 'Play/Pause' button is supposed to do for HDMI connected devices when you use its secondary function. It does nothing when I press and hold it, so I wonder if it's planned future functionality or something?

@ac3knight g I've seen it, but I haven't played around with the 'Virtual' setting yet either. The only thing that comes up in Google is that BHPhotoVideo.com lists the N950 specs as only "5.1.4-channel, with virtual 7.1.4-channel effects", so perhaps it's meant for 5.1 sources?

To the person that asked a couple of days ago if the system upscales all music files to 32bit UHQ audio: I spoke with Samsung via Chat and the agent confirmed that it's 'Always-ON' by default. I was on there for another reason and I didn't think to ask if it could be switched off, sorry. Hope that helps.
SkyYYZ is offline  
post #810 of 3002 Old 09-10-2018, 04:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dreaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 2,103
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 601 Post(s)
Liked: 776
^^^


Virtual---
not physically existing as such but made by software to appear to do so.



dreaux is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Soundbars

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off