Samsung HW-N950 Soundbar 7.1.4 Dolby Atmos - Page 85 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 924Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2521 of 2829 Old 04-02-2019, 07:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Not surprisingly, Hans Zimmer - Live in Prague sounds amazing on this thing. Highly recommended if you want some musical Atmos content to show off.
william06 and longhorn23 like this.

LG OLED E8
Oppo UDP-203
Samsung HW-N950
sovereignstar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2522 of 2829 Old 04-03-2019, 02:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by sovereignstar View Post
Not surprisingly, Hans Zimmer - Live in Prague sounds amazing on this thing. Highly recommended if you want some musical Atmos content to show off.
are there any other atmos music related blu-rays?
longhorn23 is offline  
post #2523 of 2829 Old 04-03-2019, 02:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,125
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 814 Post(s)
Liked: 441
Quote:
Originally Posted by sovereignstar View Post
Not surprisingly, Hans Zimmer - Live in Prague sounds amazing on this thing. Highly recommended if you want some musical Atmos content to show off.
Based on your comment just ordered it from amazon just had reg blue Ray hope it has atmos track.
longhorn23 likes this.

Lg oled65G7P
Panasonic UB9000 pioneer LX-500
atv4k -roku ultra
Toshiba X1 HD-DVD
Samsung HW-N950 soundbar
william06 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2524 of 2829 Old 04-03-2019, 03:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by longhorn23 View Post
are there any other atmos music related blu-rays?
I've heard good things about Roger Waters The Wall, but haven't watched yet.
longhorn23 likes this.

LG OLED E8
Oppo UDP-203
Samsung HW-N950
sovereignstar is offline  
post #2525 of 2829 Old 04-03-2019, 04:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post
Based on your comment just ordered it from amazon just had reg blue Ray hope it has atmos track.
Yep, there is only one Blu-ray version and its regular HD (not 4k), so you are good to go.
longhorn23 likes this.

LG OLED E8
Oppo UDP-203
Samsung HW-N950
sovereignstar is offline  
post #2526 of 2829 Old 04-03-2019, 05:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,125
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 814 Post(s)
Liked: 441
Quote:
Originally Posted by sovereignstar View Post
Yep, there is only one Blu-ray version and its regular HD (not 4k), so you are good to go.
Thanks
william06 is offline  
post #2527 of 2829 Old 04-04-2019, 11:07 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi guys, I have a situation now. After use N950 for three months, sometimes I lost wireless connection for subwoofer and rear speaker after my WiFi restart, but they still show constantly blue light all three with no other error indication. So I need to try some Atmos movie scene first to know are these subwoofer and rear all working or not. I have tried to re-pair these several times and it still lost connection like every week, I just don’t know what to do, is anyone can help for this situation?
Robblelee is offline  
post #2528 of 2829 Old 04-04-2019, 12:24 PM
Newbie
 
barak06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Unhappy where is HDR ?

Hi!
I just received my 950. Everything is perfect except....
With my previous soundbar (Sony CT770) and my beelink ultimate i had HDR (PQ) on my Panasonic EZ950 screen (and even with my HDD directly plug in Pana USB )
Now with the 950 i don't have HDR any longer.... with the same hdmi connections...
WTF ?
THX
-->(I used the HDMI cable which comes with the 950)
--> (I didn't update to 1005.1 yet)
Apologize for my bad english

Last edited by barak06; 04-04-2019 at 12:32 PM.
barak06 is offline  
post #2529 of 2829 Old 04-04-2019, 12:25 PM
Newbie
 
barak06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robblelee View Post
Hi guys, I have a situation now. After use N950 for three months, sometimes I lost wireless connection for subwoofer and rear speaker after my WiFi restart, but they still show constantly blue light all three with no other error indication. So I need to try some Atmos movie scene first to know are these subwoofer and rear all working or not. I have tried to re-pair these several times and it still lost connection like every week, I just don’t know what to do, is anyone can help for this situation?
Is your box in 5ghz ? In this case try 2.4ghz
barak06 is offline  
post #2530 of 2829 Old 04-08-2019, 01:56 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi guys. Wondering if anyone can help me out. Have trawled through most of the 85 pages in this thread to no avail.
I have a LG C8 and the n950.
If I just plug the hdmi arc directly from soundbar to tv will it automatically play Atmos.

I have never seen the word Atmos flash on the soundbar itself and cannot tell if it’s working ?

Thanks
Alexalex111 is offline  
post #2531 of 2829 Old 04-08-2019, 03:43 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexalex111 View Post
Hi guys. Wondering if anyone can help me out. Have trawled through most of the 85 pages in this thread to no avail.
I have a LG C8 and the n950.
If I just plug the hdmi arc directly from soundbar to tv will it automatically play Atmos.

I have never seen the word Atmos flash on the soundbar itself and cannot tell if it’s working ?

Thanks
You need to watch content with Dolby atmos ( e.g. on netflix, with 4k subscription ). When you start playing given content, "Dolby Atmos" words will show on soundbar. C7 owner here.
Strasburger000 is offline  
post #2532 of 2829 Old 04-08-2019, 11:12 AM
Newbie
 
Akerhage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I have had both the HW N850 and now the HW N950 soundbar, both of them have major problems.



The HW N950 that I have now struggles a lot when having the Apple TV4k connected to it. I have also my PC connected. With only PC connected if I turn off the TV, the soundbar also turns off. (CEC On, Arc connected). When I do plug in the Apple TV 4k, the soundbar turns on after shutdown. So I have to manually turn it off some times. Also it seems that my rear speakers loose connection sometimes, even after a factory reset. Its also very frustrating to change input when both PC and Apple TV is connected. Sometimes I need to first start the apple TV on HDMI 2 to be able to change back to PC on HDMI1. I sometimes can try 10 times to enable HDMI1 but nothing happends. I can just here a sound just as a mouse is connected to the computer and windows makes a sound.


Anyone else experience similar problems with 2 devices connected? I really want to make my apple tv to work, beacuse I do like to have Atmos from Netflix there, enabling my PC to be free to do something else with meanwhile.
Akerhage is offline  
post #2533 of 2829 Old 04-08-2019, 11:41 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akerhage View Post
So I have had both the HW N850 and now the HW N950 soundbar, both of them have major problems.



The HW N950 that I have now struggles a lot when having the Apple TV4k connected to it. I have also my PC connected. With only PC connected if I turn off the TV, the soundbar also turns off. (CEC On, Arc connected). When I do plug in the Apple TV 4k, the soundbar turns on after shutdown. So I have to manually turn it off some times. Also it seems that my rear speakers loose connection sometimes, even after a factory reset. Its also very frustrating to change input when both PC and Apple TV is connected. Sometimes I need to first start the apple TV on HDMI 2 to be able to change back to PC on HDMI1. I sometimes can try 10 times to enable HDMI1 but nothing happends. I can just here a sound just as a mouse is connected to the computer and windows makes a sound.


Anyone else experience similar problems with 2 devices connected? I really want to make my apple tv to work, beacuse I do like to have Atmos from Netflix there, enabling my PC to be free to do something else with meanwhile.
Not what you want to hear, but I have multiple atvs and a shield, along with my oppo and I've given up on CEC. It's not totally down to the soundbar as I had issues before owning it. I just can't be bothered to troubleshoot the kind of issues you are seeing anymore. So yes I have to use like 3 remotes before I do anything. Thank god I'm currently single haha.

LG OLED E8
Oppo UDP-203
Samsung HW-N950
sovereignstar is offline  
post #2534 of 2829 Old 04-10-2019, 12:37 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Strasburger000 View Post
You need to watch content with Dolby atmos ( e.g. on netflix, with 4k subscription ). When you start playing given content, "Dolby Atmos" words will show on soundbar. C7 owner here.
Thanks for the reply Strasburger. I have definitely got the 4k Neflix (premium uhd subscription)
When I play something atmos enabled, it shows on the TV top right corner, but still havent seen anything on the soundbar. When would It appear?
Thanks for your help
Alexalex111 is offline  
post #2535 of 2829 Old 04-10-2019, 09:23 AM
Member
 
twEEkerAreUs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by longhorn23 View Post
are there any other atmos music related blu-rays?

INXS - Kick is awesome!
longhorn23 likes this.

Samsung - Display: 65Q9FN | Audio: HW-N950 | Player: UBD-M9500



twEEkerAreUs is offline  
post #2536 of 2829 Old 04-13-2019, 12:41 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexalex111 View Post
Thanks for the reply Strasburger. I have definitely got the 4k Neflix (premium uhd subscription)
When I play something atmos enabled, it shows on the TV top right corner, but still havent seen anything on the soundbar. When would It appear?
Thanks for your help
“Dolby Atmos” will show on your soundbar screen, and disappear after few seconds. I would advise to play “our planet” as it’s Dolby vision and Dolby Atmos to test what’s wrong with your system. First of all make sure, English (Atmos) is chosen from the audio/ subtitles list in Netflix. If you still won’t see “Dolby Atmos” on soundbar, then I would guess, you need to check your TV Audio settings whether Atmos pass through is enabled, and finally whether your HDMI cable has the latest specification (2.0a?)
Strasburger000 is offline  
post #2537 of 2829 Old 04-13-2019, 04:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 8,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 740 Post(s)
Liked: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by Strasburger000 View Post
“Dolby Atmos” will show on your soundbar screen, and disappear after few seconds. I would advise to play “our planet” as it’s Dolby vision and Dolby Atmos to test what’s wrong with your system. First of all make sure, English (Atmos) is chosen from the audio/ subtitles list in Netflix. If you still won’t see “Dolby Atmos” on soundbar, then I would guess, you need to check your TV Audio settings whether Atmos pass through is enabled, and finally whether your HDMI cable has the latest specification (2.0a?)
What device are you using for Netflix? I don't get Atmos as an option from the audio/ subtitles list in Netflix for Our Planet on X-Box.
Gary J is online now  
post #2538 of 2829 Old 04-14-2019, 04:30 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Hi guys,

I am considering buying n950 (for Atmos) and the only thing that is stopping me is this auto power off issue when pausing a video (for let say 15 min) I have read about.
Can someone confirm this auto power off issue is a real thing ? In what cases does it occur ? Actually I would like to know if it would occur in my cases. I have an LG C7, oppo 203, firestick 4k and shield tv.

Will this soundbar auto power off if I pause the video for 15 min, when using C7's build-in Netflix or Amazon Prime app ? (ARC)
Will this soundbar auto power off if I pause the video for 15 min, when using Oppo 203's Blu-ray playback ? (Directly connected to N950 using HDMI)
Will this soundbar auto power off if I pause the video for 15 min, when using Kodi on Shield TV? (ARC)
Will this soundbar auto power off if I pause the video for 15 min, when using Firestick 4K's Netflix app? (Directly connected to N950 using HDMI)

Thank you in advance for any replies
jaqb is offline  
post #2539 of 2829 Old 04-14-2019, 12:48 PM
Member
 
Dean Randle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK (Now in Sydney)
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey, I've had the 950 since November and I am still on the initial firmware. Is there any reason to update (after all the issues on the previous model)?
Dean Randle is offline  
post #2540 of 2829 Old 04-14-2019, 02:31 PM
Member
 
talkshowchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I've got a problem with small crackles every now and then when playing Atmos content. It happens about 10 times per film and at random times.
DTS X appears to be fine.

Has anyone else experrienced this bizarre issue?
talkshowchris is offline  
post #2541 of 2829 Old 04-14-2019, 03:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,125
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 814 Post(s)
Liked: 441
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dean Randle View Post
Hey, I've had the 950 since November and I am still on the initial firmware. Is there any reason to update (after all the issues on the previous model)?
I am on the latest firmware with no real issues
william06 is offline  
post #2542 of 2829 Old 04-15-2019, 04:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 8,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 740 Post(s)
Liked: 343
Quote:
What device are you using for Netflix? I don't get Atmos as an option from the audio/ subtitles list in Netflix for Our Planet on X-Box.
Who is getting Our Planet in Atmos?
Gary J is online now  
post #2543 of 2829 Old 04-15-2019, 04:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,125
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 814 Post(s)
Liked: 441
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
Who is getting Our Planet in Atmos?
I am atv4k Apple TV, lgg7 app.lgg7p oled Netflix app.

Last edited by william06; 04-15-2019 at 04:46 AM.
william06 is offline  
post #2544 of 2829 Old 04-15-2019, 04:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 8,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 740 Post(s)
Liked: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post
I am atv4k, lgg7 app.
I don't know what either is.
Gary J is online now  
post #2545 of 2829 Old 04-15-2019, 05:07 AM
Senior Member
 
PlasmaHiDef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 332 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
I don't know what either is.
Apple TV 4K and LG G7 (OLED) internal app

LG OLED55B8PUA
LG OLED65C7P
LG UBK90
ATV 4K
Samsung HW-N950
PlasmaHiDef is offline  
post #2546 of 2829 Old 04-15-2019, 05:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,125
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 814 Post(s)
Liked: 441
Both of those shows atmos in the audio choices also I forgot my panny 820 uhd also. The firetv4k and Roku Ultra app only have 5.1 in Netflix app.

Lg oled65G7P
Panasonic UB9000 pioneer LX-500
atv4k -roku ultra
Toshiba X1 HD-DVD
Samsung HW-N950 soundbar
william06 is offline  
post #2547 of 2829 Old 04-15-2019, 06:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 8,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 740 Post(s)
Liked: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaHiDef View Post
Apple TV 4K and LG G7 (OLED) internal app
I am starting to thin LG is exclusive for this show in Atmos. I do not get the Atmos choice in any app.
Gary J is online now  
post #2548 of 2829 Old 04-15-2019, 08:27 AM
Senior Member
 
PlasmaHiDef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 332 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
I am starting to thin LG is exclusive for this show in Atmos. I do not get the Atmos choice in any app.
Not to get to far off topic but I also get ATMOS using the Netflix App when watching Our Planet on my Apple TV, as William06 already mentioned.

LG OLED55B8PUA
LG OLED65C7P
LG UBK90
ATV 4K
Samsung HW-N950
PlasmaHiDef is offline  
post #2549 of 2829 Old 04-15-2019, 09:19 AM
Member
 
glenngreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
Who is getting Our Planet in Atmos?
Im using ATV4K with the Samsung JS9500. I just checked, and I don't see ATMOS on the title/info screen before selecting play, but when I do play it the N950 shows Dolby Atmos on the screen.

Fear is a path to the Dark Side: Fear leads to Anger, Anger leads to Hate, Hate leads to Suffering.
--- Master Yoda, a long time ago in a galaxy far, far away.
glenngreen is online now  
post #2550 of 2829 Old 04-15-2019, 09:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,125
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 814 Post(s)
Liked: 441
Your right the atv4k shows above title with atmospheric not in Audio menus as usual not a lot of consistency between devices.
william06 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Soundbars

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off