Sk10y - Page 48 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 196Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1411 of 1722 Old 03-30-2019, 06:56 PM
Senior Member
 
toomanytvstosee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 300 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Hi there. Just got this after upgrading from a 9. Question, can you add a second sub?
toomanytvstosee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1412 of 1722 Old 03-30-2019, 07:34 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
How do you find the upgrade from SK9 to SK10?
sweat100 is offline  
post #1413 of 1722 Old 03-30-2019, 08:28 PM
Senior Member
 
jlgomez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by sweat100 View Post
i would like to get a set of sk10y from the us, however in the uk the mains voltage is 230v. May i ask if the label on the base of the sound bar of a us set states that it is 110-230v or just 110v?

If it is 110v, i would need an additional stepdown transformer which can be quite tedious.
120v
jlgomez is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1414 of 1722 Old 03-30-2019, 08:29 PM
Senior Member
 
jlgomez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by sweat100 View Post
How do you find the upgrade from SK9 to SK10?
I think he means he went from one to another
jlgomez is offline  
post #1415 of 1722 Old 03-30-2019, 08:33 PM
Senior Member
 
jlgomez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by toomanytvstosee View Post
Hi there. Just got this after upgrading from a 9. Question, can you add a second sub?
I dont think so because its a 5.1.2 center number means sub channel.. So then it would say 5.2.2.. but call them an ask 24 hours service.. 1 (800) 243-0000
jlgomez is offline  
post #1416 of 1722 Old 03-31-2019, 06:26 PM
Member
 
Skratchy_Seal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by sweat100 View Post
I would like to get a set of SK10Y from the US, however in the UK the mains voltage is 230V. May I ask if the label on the base of the sound bar of a US set states that it is 110-230V or just 110V?

If it is 110V, I would need an additional stepdown transformer which can be quite tedious.
The label on mine is 110-120V only.
Skratchy_Seal is offline  
post #1417 of 1722 Old 03-31-2019, 09:39 PM
Newbie
 
len3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
"OCV" setting on LG SK10Y

I had the SK10Y with S8 rear speakers for a few weeks and wasn't very impressed at that price. I'd never moved the OCV control from the 0 it came set as. (Mainly, I wasn't sure what OCV was.) Then I moved it from 0 to 1 and the soundbar bloomed, it is now gorgeous! ATMOS is stunning, but so is streaming Spotify, watching TV, it doesn't have "dialogue" problems that others experience. I have two questions though:

1-"Movie" setting is VERY low volume; where "12" is plenty loud for the other settings, I need to go to "23" or more for the same volume in Movie. Is this normal?

2-What happened when I moved OCR from 0 to 1? Surely, it was more than slightly making the up-facing speakers a bit louder. The SK10 went from a rating of, maybe a 3, probably a 2+, to 5+++. I'm delighted (I was considering replacing it with a Sony bar), but also wonder what happened.

Thank you
len3d is offline  
post #1418 of 1722 Old 03-31-2019, 09:42 PM
Newbie
 
len3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by sweat100 View Post
How do you find the upgrade from SK9 to SK10?
I think it was worth the cost to replace my SK9 with an SK10.
len3d is offline  
post #1419 of 1722 Old 04-04-2019, 05:05 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by len3d View Post
I had the SK10Y with S8 rear speakers for a few weeks and wasn't very impressed at that price. I'd never moved the OCV control from the 0 it came set as. (Mainly, I wasn't sure what OCV was.) Then I moved it from 0 to 1 and the soundbar bloomed, it is now gorgeous! ATMOS is stunning, but so is streaming Spotify, watching TV, it doesn't have "dialogue" problems that others experience. I have two questions though:

1-"Movie" setting is VERY low volume; where "12" is plenty loud for the other settings, I need to go to "23" or more for the same volume in Movie. Is this normal?

2-What happened when I moved OCR from 0 to 1? Surely, it was more than slightly making the up-facing speakers a bit louder. The SK10 went from a rating of, maybe a 3, probably a 2+, to 5+++. I'm delighted (I was considering replacing it with a Sony bar), but also wonder what happened.

Thank you
What's ocv and ocr? And how do move it from to 1?
leej00 is offline  
post #1420 of 1722 Old 04-05-2019, 12:25 AM
Newbie
 
len3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
"OCV" setting on LG SK10Y

Re: "What's ocv and ocr? And how do move it from to 1?", As I scroll through the settings using the remote, BASS TREBLE, REAR, etc, one of them is OCV. (There is no OCR.) It controls the "ceiling" sound of the two upfacing speakers in ATMOS. (That is my understanding). Moving it from -6 to +6 is done the same way you increase/decrease CENTER, BASS, etc.
My question asks what happened the first time I moved OCV from zero that so changed ALL the soundbar from "OK" to "WOW!"?

That question is different than the one about what MOVIE sounds like.

Does the webmaster think ""OCV" setting on LG SK10Y" should be a new thread or leave it where it is?

Last edited by len3d; 04-05-2019 at 12:30 AM. Reason: omission
len3d is offline  
post #1421 of 1722 Old 04-06-2019, 05:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by len3d View Post
1-"Movie" setting is VERY low volume; where "12" is plenty loud for the other settings, I need to go to "23" or more for the same volume in Movie. Is this normal?
Movie is one of my loudest settings. I normally go up to vol 20 with Standard and sometimes there is content that sounds weak at that level. When I switch to Movie, I have to lower vol to 15.

Do you have Night, DRC and Auto Vol disabled? I also have Rear Speaker Output to "Original Sound"
Kpyo012 is offline  
post #1422 of 1722 Old 04-06-2019, 12:06 PM
Newbie
 
len3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
"OCV" setting on LG SK10Y

Do you mean OCV, I don't see a DRC? OCV is always on. How would it be turned off? The remote can change its volume from +6 to -6 and everything in between. I was told 0 is a sound level, not an OFF setting. Was I misinformed?

Please tell me where I will find NIGHT.

Auto Volume is not disabled.

I, too, have S8 rear speakers installed. Where is the control to set them to Original Sound, and how do I turn off the rear speakers (why would I want to turn them off)?

My level settings for MOVIE work the opposite of yours.

(I apologize if these are newbie questions, but I am one.)

Thank you
len3d is offline  
post #1423 of 1722 Old 04-06-2019, 02:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by len3d View Post
Do you mean OCV, I don't see a DRC? OCV is always on. How would it be turned off? The remote can change its volume from +6 to -6 and everything in between. I was told 0 is a sound level, not an OFF setting. Was I misinformed?

Please tell me where I will find NIGHT.

Auto Volume is not disabled.

I, too, have S8 rear speakers installed. Where is the control to set them to Original Sound, and how do I turn off the rear speakers (why would I want to turn them off)?

My level settings for MOVIE work the opposite of yours.

(I apologize if these are newbie questions, but I am one.)

Thank you
Download the LG WiFi Speaker App. Much easier to change the settings thru the mobile app. The settings I asked about are all toggle options on the app.
Kpyo012 is offline  
post #1424 of 1722 Old 04-06-2019, 08:12 PM
Senior Member
 
jabz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by medieval7 View Post
I am guessing and speculating what the poster intended here, but the LG TK10 integrated TV stand and soundbar shelf that is made especially for the SK10Y does not fit the 2017 LG OLEDs. The bolt pattern on the stand is apparently only compatible with 2018 LG OLEDs. The TK10 stand provides for a very nice physical integration between the TV and the soundbar just beneath it on a table top.
Im a bit late getting the soundbar however I have a 2017 C7 and ordered the SK10Y which came with the TK10 perfect fit stand. In the manual it shows the mount points for the C8 and SK series , however the bolts lined up perfectly with my C7, and currently thats how its mounted no issues. So the TK10 does indeed work with the C7 series.
taylor3397 likes this.

Sony VPL-VW520 | Elitescreens TT 135" 2.35:1 | Elitescreens TT 120" 16x9 | Prismasonic HD-6000F | Onkyo TX-RZ3100 | Oppo UDP-203 | PS4 PRO | ATV4K | LG OLED 65 C7 | Klipsch Reference RP-280 | Klipsch Reference RP-280C | Klipsch Reference RP-250S | Klipsch Reference RP-150M | Klipsch Reference R-115SW | Klipsch Reference R-140SA
jabz is offline  
post #1425 of 1722 Old 04-07-2019, 02:00 AM
Newbie
 
len3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
"OCV" setting on LG SK10Y

to Kpyo012

My son downloaded that app to his phone (I don't have one). It wouldn't stay paired, he gave up after an hour. I was able to see that I had the latest updated bar, which was important, otherwise found the app too much trouble to use (during the periods it was paired), prefer the remote. It's moot, because I don't have a mobile phone to download the app to.

Is the answer to all my questions Download The App? Including why the bar sound improved so greatly after I moved OCV off zero, and some others?

Last edited by len3d; 04-07-2019 at 02:04 AM.
len3d is offline  
post #1426 of 1722 Old 04-07-2019, 05:08 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by len3d View Post
to Kpyo012

My son downloaded that app to his phone (I don't have one). It wouldn't stay paired, he gave up after an hour. I was able to see that I had the latest updated bar, which was important, otherwise found the app too much trouble to use (during the periods it was paired), prefer the remote. It's moot, because I don't have a mobile phone to download the app to.

Is the answer to all my questions Download The App? Including why the bar sound improved so greatly after I moved OCV off zero, and some others?
Okay, you need the app to change the DRC and Night settings. Tell your son, when my app has difficulty sticking to the sound bar, I have to change the WiFi network from 5g to 2g on my phone.

Surround Mode you can toggle by pressing and holding the Auto Vol key.

Do you have high ceilings? OCV is just the overhead channel adjustment for the upfiring speakers.
Kpyo012 is offline  
post #1427 of 1722 Old 04-09-2019, 06:45 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 2
LG App showed a Micom update for the SK10Y today, they also updated their app a few days ago.

Wonder what they changed..

It's now

Main:18061178
Micom:18112100 (this updated)
HDMI:18071000
DSP:18071100
Chromecast:1.21.75965
Sina Moghbel likes this.
chaosminionx is offline  
post #1428 of 1722 Old 04-09-2019, 02:10 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
So I’ve got an issue that’s become very frustrating. I have my Xbox one connected to my sk10y which is then connected to my TV through an hdmi. Every time I turn on my Xbox it turns on my tv and changes the source on the soundbar (hdmi1 is the only thing I have plugged it in) to something other than the last thing it was at.
pdemp85 is offline  
post #1429 of 1722 Old 04-13-2019, 10:15 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
New Firmware

just got new firmware update to the SK10Y.
Does anyone know where to see the change log for it?
I reached the online support but they just copy-paste a reply with no details.
Sina Moghbel likes this.
Alon Maimon is offline  
post #1430 of 1722 Old 04-14-2019, 12:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alon Maimon View Post
just got new firmware update to the SK10Y.
Does anyone know where to see the change log for it?
I reached the online support but they just copy-paste a reply with no details.


Same waiting to find out what it includes.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Sina Moghbel is offline  
post #1431 of 1722 Old 04-15-2019, 07:14 AM
Member
 
patters000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Supporting Dolby Vision (60fps) + Dolby Atmos

Hi all,

I've read this entire thread after attempting to use my SK10Y for Dolby Atmos playback along with a Dolby Vision (60fps) passthrough for my Apple TV 4K. Through this process I experienced numerous dropouts, static lines, black screens, Atmos dropping out ("Not supported" flashing on the SK10Y display after a few seconds), replacing cables (twice).

(There were a few posters that claim to get DV passthrough if using HDMI1 instead of HDMI2. Others claimed that one could connect the ATV to a TV and use ARC to pass Atmos back to the soundbar. Couldn't get this working with my TCL R617 either.)

In the best setup I could achieve, the ATV is connected to HDMI2 on the SK10Y (I have a TiVo Bolt on HDMI1), and the SK10Y is connected to HDMI1 on the TV. ARC is disabled, which helps my Harmony remote maintain the correct input (yet another headache with this sounder -- disabling CEC across the board helps).

DV at 30fps will pass through, but 60fps won't consistently, which means I'm left with a stuttery UI at 30fps when navigating the Apple TV menus. Most movies, of course, aren't in 60fps so actually watching content isn't much of a problem.

It sounds like the only way to get this working is to split the HDMI signal coming out of the Apple TV. One poster last year mentioned the HDFury 4K Ultra AVRkey to do this -- running an "audio" HDMI path to the SK10Y (the AVRkey claims Atmos support) and the "UHD" path directly to the TV for Dolby Vision at 60fps.

Any recommendations here? Is anyone else using the HDFury 4K Ultra AVRkey or other hardware to accomplish this?
patters000 is offline  
post #1432 of 1722 Old 04-16-2019, 06:56 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello,

I have a 65C8 with a SK10Y setup so far so good but does anyone get a hdmi notification at the top right of the TV each time that the TV is turn on ? (the soundbar is connected to the hdmi arc of the TV) It gets kind of annoying in the long run...

Thank you for your help.
shokaze is offline  
post #1433 of 1722 Old 04-16-2019, 11:05 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have my Directv box going into the SK10Y then out to my LG 65C8 HDMI 2 (Arc).

I’m using certified HDMI cables.

The problem is my SK10Y keeps shutting off randomly! I’ll be watching TV then all of a sudden the SK 10 Y shuts off and the picture shuts off on my TV. The sound bar is not passing video or sound through anymore. When I reboot the sound bar and TV everything works fine. For a little bit…

Any suggestions? I have the latest update on the sound bar. ( unfortunately I am out of my return window from best buy! )
[email protected] is offline  
post #1434 of 1722 Old 04-17-2019, 11:59 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Follow this thread for some time now. But 2 questions I don’t understand so far😬

1. Is it possible to connect an Apple TV 4K and get BOTH Dolby Vision and Dolby Atmos from apps like ITunes and Netflix?

2. The complaint about center speaker. Some say to only correct in settings while others says it still bad sound in dialouge when action appears?

Will in the coming weeks buy an LG Oled 65 C8 and prob LG SK10y but not shure yet about this SB🤔😅
Kafferast is offline  
post #1435 of 1722 Old 04-17-2019, 12:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kafferast View Post
Follow this thread for some time now. But 2 questions I don’t understand so far😬

1. Is it possible to connect an Apple TV 4K and get BOTH Dolby Vision and Dolby Atmos from apps like ITunes and Netflix?

2. The complaint about center speaker. Some say to only correct in settings while others says it still bad sound in dialouge when action appears?

Will in the coming weeks buy an LG Oled 65 C8 and prob LG SK10y but not shure yet about this SB🤔😅
Spare Change just did a review for the new LG SL10Y and he pretty much said the same thing regarding the center channel audio. The firmware update has improves it over all and you'll definitely notice an improvement for center audio but watching big action sequences any audio dialogue sounds muffled and at time inaudible.

Can't answer your first question as I don't have ATV4K
Sina Moghbel is offline  
post #1436 of 1722 Old 04-17-2019, 01:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Funny just saw the you tube review of the new SL 10Y as well. Basically said if you have the SK 10Y not worth upgrading unless you need dts support and or want to use Google to talk to it. Disappointed the latest and greatest from LG doesn’t seem to awesome, though just one man’s review
P
Sina Moghbel likes this.
paul douglas is offline  
post #1437 of 1722 Old 04-17-2019, 05:23 PM
Member
 
Skratchy_Seal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kafferast View Post
Follow this thread for some time now. But 2 questions I don’t understand so far😬

1. Is it possible to connect an Apple TV 4K and get BOTH Dolby Vision and Dolby Atmos from apps like ITunes and Netflix
Yes, you can connect your Apple TV 4K and get BOTH Dolby Vision and Dolby Atmos on iTunes and Netflix for movies/shows that offer it. I just tested First Man on iTunes, and Guardians of the Galaxy 2 on Netflix. I also tested First Man on Vudu and get both Vision and Atmos.
Skratchy_Seal is offline  
post #1438 of 1722 Old 04-18-2019, 05:27 AM
Member
 
patters000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skratchy_Seal View Post
Yes, you can connect your Apple TV 4K and get BOTH Dolby Vision and Dolby Atmos on iTunes and Netflix for movies/shows that offer it. I just tested First Man on iTunes, and Guardians of the Galaxy 2 on Netflix. I also tested First Man on Vudu and get both Vision and Atmos.
Not at 60fps though, right? (Please see my previous post on 30 vs 60fps difficulties.)
patters000 is offline  
post #1439 of 1722 Old 04-18-2019, 04:50 PM
Member
 
Skratchy_Seal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by patters000 View Post
Not at 60fps though, right? (Please see my previous post on 30 vs 60fps difficulties.)
I have an LG OLED, so I can't check what the actual frame rate for the input signal is on the TV. Hopefully, someone else can chime in and help you with that.
Skratchy_Seal is offline  
post #1440 of 1722 Old 04-19-2019, 01:57 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Question .. i have the Samsung Q9FN TV that is neither dolby vision nor dolby atmos support... should i be able to run a new amazon firestick/TV through the soundbar and then an hdmi cable from the soundbar to the tv to at least get dolby atmos???? or how would i go abouts doing this ? thanks so much for your time folks!
Bwestman1385 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Soundbars

Tags
arc , hdr , lg sk10y , sky10y , soundbar , Vizio

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off