Sk10y - Page 7 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 199Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 1861 Old 05-26-2018, 11:09 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
3Dhereicome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 829
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 356 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by otranto300 View Post
My Samsung Atmos 950k was never able to get Atmos working since the rears produces static.
And I realized there is NOTHING in ATMOS anyway, so what's the point? I watch movies in MOVIE THEATERS, not home !

So, I'm shopping for something else with amazing sound, but really for cable TV, because let's face it, app streaming sucks, except for netflix.

And is this LG pretty good for playing music?
Nothing about what you said is even remotely true. Black panther, Star Wars, John wick 1 and 2, Thor ragnorok, the matrix, war for the planet of the apes, transformers, mad max, IT, cars 3, blade runner 2049, guardians of the galaxy 2 and many more high profile have Atmos, these are just the few I own. Every Star Wars and marvel movie from pretty much here on out will have atmos as well. Dolby vision and Dolby Atmos are getting MORE popular, not less popular.

App streaming does not suck. Netflix, VUDU and Fandango now all support 4K and Netflix and VUDU both support 4K, HDR, Dolby Vision and Dolby Atmos. Half of my movies are bought off VUDU and they look and sound INCREDIBLE and they compare to the disc versions incredibly well. I couldn’t tell you the difference if I tried and I’d have to take photos and look for one.

As for the movie comment. You want to buy a $1000 soundbar because you don’t watch movies at home? Were you dropped on your head as a child? For cable TV? Lol

This would work perfectly for cable TV and in no way would this be overkill, I promise. Everything is 5.1 surround sound on TV!

Quote:
Originally Posted by otranto300 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrRobotoPlus View Post
It's not terrific, is pretty good. For music I think a complete eq is needed.
As a MILLENNIAL, I don't have time to mess with EQ, as that is OLD SCHOOL. I just want to turn on and play, with immersive sound.
Lol I really just hope this comment was a joke. Go buy the Bose Soundtouch 300. It doesn’t support anything Atmos so it won’t hurt when you can’t find any atmos movies to watch and it sounds fantastic with music. Will run you $700-$1700 but you’re a millennial so you can just throw a fit until someone gives you one. The best part is it will work without you having to use your brain, win!
Ryyonvin likes this.

Last edited by 3Dhereicome; 05-26-2018 at 11:20 AM.
3Dhereicome is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 1861 Old 05-26-2018, 11:17 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3Dhereicome View Post
Black panther, Star Wars, John wick 1 and 2, Thor ragnorok, the matrix, war for the planet of the apes, transformers, mad max, IT, cars 3, blade runner 2049, guardians of the galaxy 2 and many more high profile have Atmos, these are just the few I own.

App streaming does not suck. Netflix, VUDU and Fandango now all support 4K and Netflix and VUDU both support 4K, HDR, Dolby Vision and Dolby Atmos.
So you watch a movie in a Theater, and then watch it again at home?

With Cable TV, I just channel surf until I find something interesting. With App Streaming, I have to scroll, then read through a bunch of crap before deciding.

Last edited by otranto300; 05-28-2018 at 01:01 AM.
otranto300 is offline  
post #183 of 1861 Old 05-26-2018, 11:23 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
3Dhereicome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 829
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 356 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by otranto300 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3Dhereicome View Post
Black panther, Star Wars, John wick 1 and 2, Thor ragnorok, the matrix, war for the planet of the apes, transformers, mad max, IT, cars 3, blade runner 2049, guardians of the galaxy 2 and many more high profile have Atmos, these are just the few I own.

App streaming does not suck. Netflix, VUDU and Fandango now all support 4K and Netflix and VUDU both support 4K, HDR, Dolby Vision and Dolby Atmos.
So you watch a movie in a Theater, and then watch it again at home?

Like I said, as a MILLENNIAL, we have way too many things going on and no time to re watch movies.

With Cable TV, I just channel surf until I find something interesting. With App Streaming, I have to scroll, then read through a bunch of crap before deciding.
No, I just buy the movies to collect them and I put them in decorative cases so I can one day show my children the movies I watched only once.

I hate when people make me read! What an inconvenience! You can stop trolling now
3Dhereicome is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #184 of 1861 Old 05-26-2018, 11:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 629
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 426 Post(s)
Liked: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by otranto300 View Post
So you watch a movie in a Theater, and then watch it again at home?

Like I said, as a MILLENNIAL, we have way too many things going on and no time to re watch movies.

With Cable TV, I just channel surf until I find something interesting. With App Streaming, I have to scroll, then read through a bunch of crap before deciding.
This is very old school actually but it's interesting said by a millenial.

Video: LG OLED 55 B7v | Calibration: i1D3 OEM, Calman Enthusiast.
Audio: Yamaha RX-V585, Polk s15e, Polk s10e, Polk s35ce, Atmos Dynavoice Magix FX-4, 2x Sub DIY Dayton RSS210HF Ported | Calibration: MiniDSP, UMIK-1, REW
MrRobotoPlus is offline  
post #185 of 1861 Old 05-26-2018, 11:40 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 28
oh I tried the cord cutting, but went back like 100 million others.

Last edited by otranto300; 05-28-2018 at 01:02 AM.
otranto300 is offline  
post #186 of 1861 Old 05-26-2018, 04:41 PM
Member
 
Evanwashere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Guys.. I need help. I can't seem to get into Atmos mode.

I have a Sony X900F. I have the SK10Y plugged into the ARC slot of the Sony.

I start up the Netflix app on the Sony (in Android) and all the shows and movies show 5.1, not Atmos.

How do I switch to Atmos mode on the SK10Y or get Netflix to recognize I have Atmos?
Evanwashere is offline  
post #187 of 1861 Old 05-26-2018, 04:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Zoland2020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Clarksville, TN
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 181 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evanwashere View Post
Guys.. I need help. I can't seem to get into Atmos mode.

I have a Sony X900F. I have the SK10Y plugged into the ARC slot of the Sony.

I start up the Netflix app on the Sony (in Android) and all the shows and movies show 5.1, not Atmos.

How do I switch to Atmos mode on the SK10Y or get Netflix to recognize I have Atmos?
You can't get Netflix with Dolby Atmos based on the TV you have, only Netflix on Xbox One, Windows 10, and LG OLEDs have Atmos support.
Evanwashere likes this.

America elevates you to another level.
Zoland2020 is offline  
post #188 of 1861 Old 05-26-2018, 05:35 PM
Member
 
Evanwashere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoland2020 View Post
You can't get Netflix with Dolby Atmos based on the TV you have, only Netflix on Xbox One, Windows 10, and LG OLEDs have Atmos support.
Yup.. booted into Windows 10 and instant Atmos.

Thanks!
Evanwashere is offline  
post #189 of 1861 Old 05-26-2018, 11:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3Dhereicome View Post

Lol I really just hope this comment was a joke. Go buy the Bose Soundtouch 300. It doesn’t support anything Atmos so it won’t hurt when you can’t find any atmos movies to watch and it sounds fantastic with music. Will run you $700-$1700 but you’re a millennial so you can just throw a fit until someone gives you one. The best part is it will work without you having to use your brain, win!

not entirely true lol - the bose soundtouch is well documented to be one of the most time consuming and frustrating soundbars to get setup, I wouldn't say you can get it setup without thinking


most reviews I've read the reviewer mentioned how difficult it was to setup - and I found the same issue when I had one


on the other hand my sonos playbar could be setup by a zombie, now that was super easy brainless setup
Naekyr is offline  
post #190 of 1861 Old 05-27-2018, 06:03 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
3Dhereicome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 829
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 356 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by Naekyr View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3Dhereicome View Post

Lol I really just hope this comment was a joke. Go buy the Bose Soundtouch 300. It doesn’t support anything Atmos so it won’t hurt when you can’t find any atmos movies to watch and it sounds fantastic with music. Will run you $700-$1700 but you’re a millennial so you can just throw a fit until someone gives you one. The best part is it will work without you having to use your brain, win!

not entirely true lol - the bose soundtouch is well documented to be one of the most time consuming and frustrating soundbars to get setup, I wouldn't say you can get it setup without thinking


most reviews I've read the reviewer mentioned how difficult it was to setup - and I found the same issue when I had one


on the other hand my sonos playbar could be setup by a zombie, now that was super easy brainless setup
Sonos it is! Now he can get a Sonos and quit wracking his brain and get back to REDEFINING media as a MILLENIAL! I’m sure being here has been very STRESSFUL since he’s too BUSY to watch MOVIES but LOVES to channel SURF.

I for one was honored that he graced us with his presence.
3Dhereicome is offline  
post #191 of 1861 Old 05-27-2018, 06:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 629
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 426 Post(s)
Liked: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3Dhereicome View Post
Sonos it is! Now he can get a Sonos and quit wracking his brain and get back to REDEFINING media as a MILLENIAL! I’m sure being here has been very STRESSFUL since he’s too BUSY to watch MOVIES but LOVES to channel SURF.

I for one was honored that he graced us with his presence.
Funny things are that he has a wife:

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...l#post46336553

And a bluray collection:

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/195-so...l#post46292377

Video: LG OLED 55 B7v | Calibration: i1D3 OEM, Calman Enthusiast.
Audio: Yamaha RX-V585, Polk s15e, Polk s10e, Polk s35ce, Atmos Dynavoice Magix FX-4, 2x Sub DIY Dayton RSS210HF Ported | Calibration: MiniDSP, UMIK-1, REW
MrRobotoPlus is offline  
post #192 of 1861 Old 05-27-2018, 06:42 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
3Dhereicome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 829
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 356 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrRobotoPlus View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3Dhereicome View Post
Sonos it is! Now he can get a Sonos and quit wracking his brain and get back to REDEFINING media as a MILLENIAL! I’m sure being here has been very STRESSFUL since he’s too BUSY to watch MOVIES but LOVES to channel SURF.

I for one was honored that he graced us with his presence.
Funny things are that he has a wife:

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...l#post46336553

And a bluray collection:

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/195-so...l#post46292377
Blasphemy. MILLENNIAL’s don’t buy MOVIES, they don’t have TIME for MOVIES. They also would NEVER have a WIFE, they can’t be BOTHERED with RESPONSIBILITY.

That’s funny though, lol.
3Dhereicome is offline  
post #193 of 1861 Old 05-27-2018, 01:47 PM
Member
 
Gusnyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Campaign for firmware update.

Hello!

I've been trying to setup the sound bar to an enjoyable sound setting without success. I have to constantly fight a hollow sound in movies, no matter the setting.

Since LG is responding to reviews in their website and also in Best Buy, recommending to contact @LGUSSupport in twitter.

So what about all of us writing to them asking for a firmware update to fix the sound and center channel adjustment? These companies tend to respond more to complaints in social media than to calls to their service department.

Their twitter addresses for the United States are @LGUSSupport and @LGUS

Cheers
MVXIMUS and paul douglas like this.

Last edited by Gusnyc; 05-28-2018 at 08:36 AM.
Gusnyc is offline  
post #194 of 1861 Old 05-27-2018, 02:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 272
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 51
I have a bit of sympathy for this guy... the Samsung K950 is a very stressful thing to own and it can exacerbate latent mental health issues.

LG B7 65", PS4 Pro, Switch, Roku Premiere+, Samsung K8500, Sennheiser RS185
Denon X4400H, RSL CG23+CG3, Onkyo SKH-410, Emotiva BasX8 (5.1.4)
Oil of OLED is offline  
post #195 of 1861 Old 05-28-2018, 03:25 PM
Member
 
Evanwashere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Sigh..

So the back speakers I purchased are no longer live during 5.1 content unless I go from Standard to Movie mode on the LG. And worse, when I go to Atmos, they don't play anything. I have tried using Netflix and Kodi/Plex via Windows (with Atmos configured in Windows), via the Netflix and Kodi/Plex apps on my X900F, and via the Nvidia Shield via the Netflix and Kodi/Plex apps.

If I go into the Android app and in rear speaker output, select "surround" instead of original, then it is on, but like Movie mode, not as clear as standard should be.

What am I doing wrong?
Evanwashere is offline  
post #196 of 1861 Old 05-29-2018, 05:59 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gusnyc View Post
Hello!

I've been trying to setup the sound bar to an enjoyable sound setting without success. I have to constantly fight a hollow sound in movies, no matter the setting.

Since LG is responding to reviews in their website and also in Best Buy, recommending to contact @LGUSSupport in twitter.

So what about all of us writing to them asking for a firmware update to fix the sound and center channel adjustment? These companies tend to respond more to complaints in social media than to calls to their service department.

Their twitter addresses for the United States are @LGUSSupport and @LGUS

Cheers
Just tweeted to LG, if they would read the reviews on their own website, they would be working on an update and tell their customers to hang tight. The unit is on sale for 150 bucks less than it was a couple of months ago at BB, they gotta know they have a problem.
Paul
paul douglas is offline  
post #197 of 1861 Old 05-29-2018, 06:10 AM
Member
 
Gusnyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by paul douglas View Post
Just tweeted to LG, if they would read the reviews on their own website, they would be working on an update and tell their customers to hang tight. The unit is on sale for 150 bucks less than it was a couple of months ago at BB, they gotta know they have a problem.
Paul
Hi Paul! Thank you!

I think the more noise we make about this issue the more likely LG will have to respond with an update. Even if the reviews are bad, these companies tend to pay more attention to social media complaints than reviews and calls to support.

It is hard to understand how this top-of-the-line product was released with such a big issue. It could be a great sound bar if we could adjust the center level.

Have a great day.
Gusnyc is offline  
post #198 of 1861 Old 05-29-2018, 06:49 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gusnyc View Post
Hi Paul! Thank you!

I think the more noise we make about this issue the more likely LG will have to respond with an update. Even if the reviews are bad, these companies tend to pay more attention to social media complaints than reviews and calls to support.

It is hard to understand how this top-of-the-line product was released with such a big issue. It could be a great sound bar if we could adjust the center level.

Have a great day.
Same here in France. On forum like this one, some people (including me) are mailing LG. Tweets are sent (LG France & LGUSSupport)
timmylamoule is offline  
post #199 of 1861 Old 05-29-2018, 11:54 AM
Member
 
Gusnyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by timmylamoule View Post
Same here in France. On forum like this one, some people (including me) are mailing LG. Tweets are sent (LG France & LGUSSupport)
Thanks again!

I just got a response on Twitter from @LGUSSupport "We'll reach out to our Product Specialists and will follow up with your shortly."

I hope they mean it. I will keep asking until I get an answer about a firmware update to this bar.
Gusnyc is offline  
post #200 of 1861 Old 05-29-2018, 01:24 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gusnyc View Post
Thanks again!

I just got a response on Twitter from @LGUSSupport "We'll reach out to our Product Specialists and will follow up with your shortly."

I hope they mean it. I will keep asking until I get an answer about a firmware update to this bar.
Got the exact same response, like you can only hope
they’re taking this issue seriously.
Paul
paul douglas is offline  
post #201 of 1861 Old 05-29-2018, 02:06 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
If I own the LG C7 TV, can I connect the SK10Y and control everything with the regular TV remote I have for the C7, or do I need to have two remotes lying around?
KungWaz is offline  
post #202 of 1861 Old 05-29-2018, 09:14 PM
Member
 
Gusnyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by KungWaz View Post
If I own the LG C7 TV, can I connect the SK10Y and control everything with the regular TV remote I have for the C7, or do I need to have two remotes lying around?
I have the C7 as well. You can control the sound bar volume with the TV remote, but that’s it. For any other function you will need the sound bar remote or the app.
Gusnyc is offline  
post #203 of 1861 Old 05-30-2018, 05:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Antarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 152
I exchanged SK10Y for SK9Y and there are no problems with center channel on this one. I hope they fix SK10Y eventually.
Antarius is offline  
post #204 of 1861 Old 05-30-2018, 08:24 PM
Member
 
Gusnyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Antarius View Post
I exchanged SK10Y for SK9Y and there are no problems with center channel on this one. I hope they fix SK10Y eventually.
Overall, do you think the SK9Y sounds better than the SK10Y (besides the voice problem). How is the Atmos effect? Do you have the rear speakers installed?

Thanks for your answers.
Gusnyc is offline  
post #205 of 1861 Old 05-31-2018, 05:51 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by bosjoe View Post
Actually you are right, I just tested it again, I realized now that I first tried on the sk9y and watched Lost in Space, I am pretty sure they sounded fine for voice. This morning I tried it again since I upgraded to the sk10y and yes the dialog through loud action scenes are soft.
Why did you upgrade from the SK9Y? Aren't they almost the same setup?
Jake St.Germain is offline  
post #206 of 1861 Old 05-31-2018, 06:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 629
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 426 Post(s)
Liked: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake St.Germain View Post
Why did you upgrade from the SK9Y? Aren't they almost the same setup?
Different tweeters (silk vs alluminum), different design, different speakers housing, different form factor.

Video: LG OLED 55 B7v | Calibration: i1D3 OEM, Calman Enthusiast.
Audio: Yamaha RX-V585, Polk s15e, Polk s10e, Polk s35ce, Atmos Dynavoice Magix FX-4, 2x Sub DIY Dayton RSS210HF Ported | Calibration: MiniDSP, UMIK-1, REW
MrRobotoPlus is offline  
post #207 of 1861 Old 05-31-2018, 06:24 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Even though I’m hoping LG will allow the center speaker
to be EQ like the sub, upfiring and rears, having owned
both the 9 and now the 10, I think the 10 overall
has better sound, more surround/submersive and
better sub kick. It would be 10 out of 10 and/or a
5 Star review for me if we could boost the volume
on the centers. Adding the rears to the 10, which I
didn’t have on the 9 made a big difference
In my overall satisfaction w the unit.
Paul
paul douglas is offline  
post #208 of 1861 Old 05-31-2018, 10:50 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
3Dhereicome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 829
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 356 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gusnyc View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Antarius View Post
I exchanged SK10Y for SK9Y and there are no problems with center channel on this one. I hope they fix SK10Y eventually.
Overall, do you think the SK9Y sounds better than the SK10Y (besides the voice problem). How is the Atmos effect? Do you have the rear speakers installed?

Thanks for your answers.
It’s got like 50 more watts and those meridian aluminum domed tweeters. It’s pretty much the exact same speaker.
3Dhereicome is offline  
post #209 of 1861 Old 05-31-2018, 06:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Antarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gusnyc View Post
Overall, do you think the SK9Y sounds better than the SK10Y (besides the voice problem). How is the Atmos effect? Do you have the rear speakers installed?
I can't honestly say if it is better or not. I could not sit through even a single movie with SK10Y. I had to constantly adjust volume up to hear what was being said or down because of too loud effects.
Atmos effect was more noticeable on SK10Y. But I wonder was it actually better or just unbalanced...?


My observations for SK9Y probably apply to SK10Y.

There is only one hdmi input (2 on SK10Y). I plugged in hdmi switch with CEC support. I could not get uhd player and nvidia shield to connect CEC through switch. Only apple tv connected. No problems with CEC if connected directly into sound bar. Your experience may vary if using a different switch.

I connected rear speakers, but they did not work as I expected. With rear speakers sound bar switches to 7.1.2 mode, not 5.1.2 with rear speakers. When audio was just 5.1, rear speakers never engaged, rear channels still went through sound bar. You can hear rear speakers if you have 7.1 audio stream.

There is an option to enable surround on all speakers. It will output 5.1 on rear speakers, yes, but it does not disable rear speakers on sound bar. So you get rear sound coming from both rear speakers on sound bar and on rear speakers behind you. Unacceptable for me.

Nvidia shield interface navigation clicks disappeared. When I increased volume very high I could hear them coming from sub. WTH? I wonder how many more low sounds like that get lost.

When you go through input sources, there is one called LG TV. It enables tv speakers as sound output instead of ARC. I found TV several times not re-enabling ARC when cycling through this input. You can use phone app to switch inputs without cycling.



I bought soundbar for my second TV which only has xbox one connected to it. So it will do just fine. Buydig was selling them with a good discount on ebay. But I would never use it with living room tv.
Antarius is offline  
post #210 of 1861 Old 06-01-2018, 01:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 765
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 508 Post(s)
Liked: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by Antarius View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gusnyc View Post
Overall, do you think the SK9Y sounds better than the SK10Y (besides the voice problem). How is the Atmos effect? Do you have the rear speakers installed?
I can't honestly say if it is better or not. I could not sit through even a single movie with SK10Y. I had to constantly adjust volume up to hear what was being said or down because of too loud effects.
Atmos effect was more noticeable on SK10Y. But I wonder was it actually better or just unbalanced...?


My observations for SK9Y probably apply to SK10Y.

There is only one hdmi input (2 on SK10Y). I plugged in hdmi switch with CEC support. I could not get uhd player and nvidia shield to connect CEC through switch. Only apple tv connected. No problems with CEC if connected directly into sound bar. Your experience may vary if using a different switch.

I connected rear speakers, but they did not work as I expected. With rear speakers sound bar switches to 7.1.2 mode, not 5.1.2 with rear speakers. When audio was just 5.1, rear speakers never engaged, rear channels still went through sound bar. You can hear rear speakers if you have 7.1 audio stream.

There is an option to enable surround on all speakers. It will output 5.1 on rear speakers, yes, but it does not disable rear speakers on sound bar. So you get rear sound coming from both rear speakers on sound bar and on rear speakers behind you. [IMG class=inlineimg]/forum/images/smilies/confused.gif[/IMG] Unacceptable for me.

Nvidia shield interface navigation clicks disappeared. When I increased volume very high I could hear them coming from sub. [IMG class=inlineimg]/forum/images/smilies/confused.gif[/IMG] WTH? I wonder how many more low sounds like that get lost.

When you go through input sources, there is one called LG TV. It enables tv speakers as sound output instead of ARC. I found TV several times not re-enabling ARC when cycling through this input. You can use phone app to switch inputs without cycling.



I bought soundbar for my second TV which only has xbox one connected to it. So it will do just fine. Buydig was selling them with a good discount on ebay. But I would never use it with living room tv.
Do you mind telling or linking me what HDMI switch you bought? Thanks.
Skunkbeard is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Soundbars

Tags
arc , hdr , lg sk10y , sky10y , soundbar , Vizio

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off