Sk10y - Page 8 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 199Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #211 of 1861 Old 06-02-2018, 10:26 AM
Member
 
Evanwashere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Antarius View Post
I can't honestly say if it is better or not. I could not sit through even a single movie with SK10Y. I had to constantly adjust volume up to hear what was being said or down because of too loud effects.
Atmos effect was more noticeable on SK10Y. But I wonder was it actually better or just unbalanced...?


My observations for SK9Y probably apply to SK10Y.

There is only one hdmi input (2 on SK10Y). I plugged in hdmi switch with CEC support. I could not get uhd player and nvidia shield to connect CEC through switch. Only apple tv connected. No problems with CEC if connected directly into sound bar. Your experience may vary if using a different switch.

I connected rear speakers, but they did not work as I expected. With rear speakers sound bar switches to 7.1.2 mode, not 5.1.2 with rear speakers. When audio was just 5.1, rear speakers never engaged, rear channels still went through sound bar. You can hear rear speakers if you have 7.1 audio stream.

There is an option to enable surround on all speakers. It will output 5.1 on rear speakers, yes, but it does not disable rear speakers on sound bar. So you get rear sound coming from both rear speakers on sound bar and on rear speakers behind you. Unacceptable for me.

Nvidia shield interface navigation clicks disappeared. When I increased volume very high I could hear them coming from sub. WTH? I wonder how many more low sounds like that get lost.

When you go through input sources, there is one called LG TV. It enables tv speakers as sound output instead of ARC. I found TV several times not re-enabling ARC when cycling through this input. You can use phone app to switch inputs without cycling.



I bought soundbar for my second TV which only has xbox one connected to it. So it will do just fine. Buydig was selling them with a good discount on ebay. But I would never use it with living room tv.

I've had many of the same issues as you have. I too have the Nvidia Shield and the back speaker option.
I've enabled surround sound so I can have the back speakers on with 5.1 content.
The CEC on the Shield is not working for me when going from Shield/HDMI1 input on Soundbar/ARC output on soundbar/ARC input on Sony X900F TV.
I use "Display Off" on the Sony TV instead of turning it off, because if the TV turns off, the LG soundbar turns off too. And then I may have to cycle through the inputs each time.
I have a Windows PC with Nvidia 1060 card output to both the LG and Sony TV. If the soundbar gets turned off, it doesn't something to the TV where it's just a static snow picture.
Funnily enough, I don't have a voice issues on the soundbar, but I am listening to it at a volume pretty damn high.

The biggest issue is changing the inputs via remote and having to cycle through them. I still have to use Netflix on the PC to get Atmos but cycling through inputs is a pain. Is there a universal remote that can transmit the direct input I want like you can in the mobile app?
Evanwashere is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #212 of 1861 Old 06-03-2018, 08:59 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 40
There are many who have speech/dialogue issues
with this bar, including me and for some reason I just noticed the following
in LG’s description of the SK 10Y

Meridian audio
Combines advanced signal processing and hardware design to expand image height and widen the sound field, with custom Clear Vocal and Enhanced Bass presets for uncompromising performance.

Does anyone see a ‘custom clear voice’ preset
on this soundbar? There’s a custom preset
for the bass, rears and up firing speakers, but
Not for the center channel. So weird LG
would promote a special custom preset for clear voice
but it doesn’t exist!

Paul
paul douglas is offline  
post #213 of 1861 Old 06-03-2018, 09:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 629
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 426 Post(s)
Liked: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by paul douglas View Post
There are many who have speech/dialogue issues
with this bar, including me and for some reason I just noticed the following
in LG’s description of the SK 10Y

Meridian audio
Combines advanced signal processing and hardware design to expand image height and widen the sound field, with custom Clear Vocal and Enhanced Bass presets for uncompromising performance.

Does anyone see a ‘custom clear voice’ preset
on this soundbar? There’s a custom preset
for the bass, rears and up firing speakers, but
Not for the center channel. So weird LG
would promote a special custom preset for clear voice
but it doesn’t exist!

Paul
Clear Vocal = ASC
Enhanced Bass = Bass Boost

BTW, STANDARD (by MERIDIAN) is the right preset to use.

Video: LG OLED 55 B7v | Calibration: i1D3 OEM, Calman Enthusiast.
Audio: Yamaha RX-V585, Polk s15e, Polk s10e, Polk s35ce, Atmos Dynavoice Magix FX-4, 2x Sub DIY Dayton RSS210HF Ported | Calibration: MiniDSP, UMIK-1, REW
MrRobotoPlus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #214 of 1861 Old 06-03-2018, 09:32 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Thanks, I too find standard w surround on (have the rears)
sounds better than ASC, but still wish dialogue
would punch through better.
Appreciate your counsel on this unit.
Paul
paul douglas is offline  
post #215 of 1861 Old 06-03-2018, 10:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 629
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 426 Post(s)
Liked: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by paul douglas View Post
Thanks, I too find standard w surround on (have the rears)
sounds better than ASC, but still wish dialogue
would punch through better.
Appreciate your counsel on this unit.
Paul
Paul, if you have dialogue problems with Standard mode maybe you've got a lemon.

Video: LG OLED 55 B7v | Calibration: i1D3 OEM, Calman Enthusiast.
Audio: Yamaha RX-V585, Polk s15e, Polk s10e, Polk s35ce, Atmos Dynavoice Magix FX-4, 2x Sub DIY Dayton RSS210HF Ported | Calibration: MiniDSP, UMIK-1, REW
MrRobotoPlus is offline  
post #216 of 1861 Old 06-03-2018, 07:31 PM
Member
 
Evanwashere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrRobotoPlus View Post
Paul, if you have dialogue problems with Standard mode maybe you've got a lemon.
I only have it in Standard mode (unless watching Atmos).

I just watched the entire season of FireFly, 2 seasons of Santa Clarita Diet, 2 episodes of Billions, 20-30 Youtube videos, and quite a few movies.

I have NO issue with dialog.

I agree. You may have gotten a defective unit.
Evanwashere is offline  
post #217 of 1861 Old 06-04-2018, 05:11 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evanwashere View Post
I only have it in Standard mode (unless watching Atmos).

I just watched the entire season of FireFly, 2 seasons of Santa Clarita Diet, 2 episodes of Billions, 20-30 Youtube videos, and quite a few movies.

I have NO issue with dialog.

I agree. You may have gotten a defective unit.
You guys could be right. In standard mode I have
Treble +5 and Bass -3 to 5 with sub at zero
and still have dialogue being overwhelmed at times
With sound effects etc. maybe the rears aren’t helping
the situation, well past return policy so might
be stuck. I find w auto volume on everything
Is louder but the dialogue is crisper, with it off the unit
needs to be turned up to 20-25 and the dialogue
sounds a bit muddy or muffled to be. I’m guessing
this is a lemon the more I hear other comments.
Thanks
P
paul douglas is offline  
post #218 of 1861 Old 06-04-2018, 05:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 629
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 426 Post(s)
Liked: 212
^^ 20-25 volume it's a lot! i keep mine at 14 (even 10 at night) for general content and 17 when i want to push some good movie. Isn't that you are a hard of hearing?

Video: LG OLED 55 B7v | Calibration: i1D3 OEM, Calman Enthusiast.
Audio: Yamaha RX-V585, Polk s15e, Polk s10e, Polk s35ce, Atmos Dynavoice Magix FX-4, 2x Sub DIY Dayton RSS210HF Ported | Calibration: MiniDSP, UMIK-1, REW
MrRobotoPlus is offline  
post #219 of 1861 Old 06-04-2018, 08:52 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 40
You’re latest response convinces me this is a lemon.
At 43 hearing is fine, using standard mode at 10 ,you’re
lucky to hear low frequencies only, takes 20-25 w standard mode
to reach acceptable volume w auto volume off,
if ON, then w the compression 15-20 works fine.
It’s gojng back for a different unit
Thanks
Paul
paul douglas is offline  
post #220 of 1861 Old 06-04-2018, 09:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 629
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 426 Post(s)
Liked: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by paul douglas View Post
You’re latest response convinces me this is a lemon.
At 43 hearing is fine, using standard mode at 10 ,you’re
lucky to hear low frequencies only, takes 20-25 w standard mode
to reach acceptable volume w auto volume off,
if ON, then w the compression 15-20 works fine.
It’s gojng back for a different unit
Thanks
Paul
Watching Star Trek in True-HD right now at 15 and the windows are having hard times.
Good luck for the new unit.

Video: LG OLED 55 B7v | Calibration: i1D3 OEM, Calman Enthusiast.
Audio: Yamaha RX-V585, Polk s15e, Polk s10e, Polk s35ce, Atmos Dynavoice Magix FX-4, 2x Sub DIY Dayton RSS210HF Ported | Calibration: MiniDSP, UMIK-1, REW
MrRobotoPlus is offline  
post #221 of 1861 Old 06-04-2018, 10:16 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Sounds like the way the unit is aupppsed to operate.
Let u know how the 2nd one operates.
paul douglas is offline  
post #222 of 1861 Old 06-04-2018, 05:25 PM
Senior Member
 
F34R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 111
I have the same issues with the dialogue being drowned out in the same manner already described by others.
F34R is offline  
post #223 of 1861 Old 06-04-2018, 07:03 PM
Member
 
Evanwashere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I made a quick video for you low dialog people. This is how your speaker should sound with voice and music.
Speaker was set to 20-25 volume.
Playing Plex via my Nvidia Shield.
Sorry about the shaky cell phone. Did this really quick.


Evanwashere is offline  
post #224 of 1861 Old 06-04-2018, 11:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 629
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 426 Post(s)
Liked: 212
^^ yep, that's how mine sounds

Video: LG OLED 55 B7v | Calibration: i1D3 OEM, Calman Enthusiast.
Audio: Yamaha RX-V585, Polk s15e, Polk s10e, Polk s35ce, Atmos Dynavoice Magix FX-4, 2x Sub DIY Dayton RSS210HF Ported | Calibration: MiniDSP, UMIK-1, REW
MrRobotoPlus is offline  
post #225 of 1861 Old 06-05-2018, 05:25 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evanwashere View Post
I made a quick video for you low dialog people. This is how your speaker should sound with voice and music.
Speaker was set to 20-25 volume.
Playing Plex via my Nvidia Shield.
Sorry about the shaky cell phone. Did this really quick.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wt7d1Xanez4
Nice, yep mine doesn’t sound like that, curious you said volume at 20 or so
,is that will auto volume on or off? Mine is louder
With auto volume on, mind sharing your other
settings as recorded in the video? Dialogue sounds
solid here, does it have anything to do you think
with not running ARC from TV to soundbar?
sorry for all the Q’s, getting another one tomorrow
to test to see if it’s better than the one I currently
have.
Paul
paul douglas is offline  
post #226 of 1861 Old 06-05-2018, 01:05 PM
Member
 
Evanwashere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by paul douglas View Post
Nice, yep mine doesn’t sound like that, curious you said volume at 20 or so
,is that will auto volume on or off? Mine is louder
With auto volume on, mind sharing your other
settings as recorded in the video? Dialogue sounds
solid here, does it have anything to do you think
with not running ARC from TV to soundbar?
sorry for all the Q’s, getting another one tomorrow
to test to see if it’s better than the one I currently
have.
Paul
Auto volume off
I have surround sound on (for back speakers)
I lowered the sub by -2 (for the neighbors).
Everything else is standard.

I am running Nvidia Shield to HDMI input 1 on soundbar which then outputs via HDMI ARC on soundbar to HDMI ARC on TV.

You are supposed to output to soundbar and then to TV, not TV to soundbar (Atmos takes up a lot of bandwidth).

BTW, connecting the soundbar to the TV arm was a pain in the butt. Totally macgyvered it. Will take pics tomorrow to show it off. Still need to finish the cabling clean up.
Evanwashere is offline  
post #227 of 1861 Old 06-06-2018, 12:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Royal Oak MI
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by MVXIMUS View Post
The soundbar comes with some plates for wall mounting, but no stand. Just measured the height of the SK10Y and it's exactly 6.5cm tall. My C7 is wall-mounted, so I can't say how much clearance the stand gives you from the soundbar. According to LG's website "A specially designed mount* is available separately to replace the original television stand, enabling the sound bar to fit seamlessly with select LG OLED and SUPER UHD TVs... *LG TK10 mount available separately. Compatible with the LG 65 and 55-inch OLED TV (C8/B8 series) or SUPER UHD TV (SK95/85 series)" so the separate TV stand may not be compatible with the C7.
So to comment on this real quick ...

1. I had my c7 with the sj8 and the integrated stand , let me tell you it looked down right sexy .
But the sj8 sounds like absolute dog **** and lack base.

I returned the sj8 at best buy and got an sj9 definitely a major improvement hand down !

Later I had some issues with audio sync on the sj9 and the c7 so I recently upgraded to a c8 and sk10.

I had no idea about this tk10 bracket , that is bad ass !

I am researching it , but there doesn't seem to be much on it , is it even sold in North America ?

Any info on this ?

Thanks
Todd
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20180409_120618.jpg
Views:	261
Size:	1.43 MB
ID:	2412774  
ToddH82 is offline  
post #228 of 1861 Old 06-06-2018, 01:41 PM
Member
 
Gusnyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by F34R View Post
I have the same issues with the dialogue being drowned out in the same manner already described by others.
It seems it would be a lot of lemons out there based on the user reviews online. I think the sound is just not calibrated correctly.
Gusnyc is offline  
post #229 of 1861 Old 06-06-2018, 08:32 PM
Member
 
Evanwashere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 12
WHOAH.. I just experienced the same audio glitch.

I was watching Plex TV shows, movies, and Netflix with no issue. Then I went to watch some mobie trailers on Youtube (like the new Mortal Engines one) via the Nvidia Shield.. and I could barely hear the narration over the background music.

I returned to Plex and the speech clarity returned.
Evanwashere is offline  
post #230 of 1861 Old 06-07-2018, 06:04 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evanwashere View Post
WHOAH.. I just experienced the same audio glitch.

I was watching Plex TV shows, movies, and Netflix with no issue. Then I went to watch some mobie trailers on Youtube (like the new Mortal Engines one) via the Nvidia Shield.. and I could barely hear the narration over the background music.

I returned to Plex and the speech clarity returned.
Have experienced the same thing, no voice/dialogue watching
the Dolby videos within he Dolby app on the C7
w the sk 10 y bar. Rebooted the bar and it worked
30 seconds later. Last night watched a movie on Showtime, no issues,
movie ended switched to another channel and there
was very low dialogue audio far below
volume level used on the other channel.
Not sure why but there are definitely
some issues w this soundbar that LG
has yet to concede.
Paul
paul douglas is offline  
post #231 of 1861 Old 06-07-2018, 06:32 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by paul douglas View Post
Have experienced the same thing, no voice/dialogue watching
the Dolby videos within he Dolby app on the C7
w the sk 10 y bar. Rebooted the bar and it worked
30 seconds later. Last night watched a movie on Showtime, no issues,
movie ended switched to another channel and there
was very low dialogue audio far below
volume level used on the other channel.
Not sure why but there are definitely
some issues w this soundbar that LG
has yet to concede.
Paul
How does the SK10Y fit under the C7? I am not mounting mine on the wall and I am hoping the C7 stand is tall enough for the soundbar
Jake St.Germain is offline  
post #232 of 1861 Old 06-07-2018, 06:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 629
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 426 Post(s)
Liked: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by paul douglas View Post
Have experienced the same thing, no voice/dialogue watching
the Dolby videos within he Dolby app on the C7
w the sk 10 y bar. Rebooted the bar and it worked
30 seconds later. Last night watched a movie on Showtime, no issues,
movie ended switched to another channel and there
was very low dialogue audio far below
volume level used on the other channel.
Not sure why but there are definitely
some issues w this soundbar that LG
has yet to concede.
Paul
Yep, same here a couple of times.

Video: LG OLED 55 B7v | Calibration: i1D3 OEM, Calman Enthusiast.
Audio: Yamaha RX-V585, Polk s15e, Polk s10e, Polk s35ce, Atmos Dynavoice Magix FX-4, 2x Sub DIY Dayton RSS210HF Ported | Calibration: MiniDSP, UMIK-1, REW
MrRobotoPlus is offline  
post #233 of 1861 Old 06-07-2018, 08:39 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake St.Germain View Post
How does the SK10Y fit under the C7? I am not mounting mine on the wall and I am hoping the C7 stand is tall enough for the soundbar
Have the SK10 Y in front of the 65 inch C7, the bar is
basically the same width of the TV so it looks
like it belongs. Height wise maybe 1/4 higher or
above the very bottom of the screen, but honestly sitting 10
feet away or so it isn’t noticeable that a tiny
fraction of the bottom of the screen is blocked, if I move the TV
back an inch or so then you can see the very
bottom of the screen.
Paul
paul douglas is offline  
post #234 of 1861 Old 06-08-2018, 02:20 PM
Senior Member
 
F34R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 111
I spoke with an LG rep via Twitter. Here is the response:
Quote:
We're sorry again to see that you've run into this. We're working with our Product Specialists regarding this and will follow up with you as soon as we have an update.
This was 4 days ago.
F34R is offline  
post #235 of 1861 Old 06-09-2018, 04:57 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by F34R View Post
I spoke with an LG rep via Twitter. Here is the response:


This was 4 days ago.
Gotten the same response here. Wonder if
they’ll ever update the bar to have the ability to
boost center speaker volume for those complaining
that in some instances the dialogue gets drowned out.
Maybe not an easy fix don’t know, but having
more control whether you needed or not seems like a good thing.
paul douglas is offline  
post #236 of 1861 Old 06-11-2018, 09:07 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
So I currently have Sony's flagship model the Sony XBR65A8F. Seems like during their last firmware update to support Dolby Vision they silently added in support for Dolby Atmos. With the LG SK10y hooked up via hdmi arc to my tv, while watching a movie on vudu or netflix it shows the soundbar is in dolby atmos.

Below is a picture of my settings and the tv sounds great, sometimes ill increase everything to +2(rear, sub, overhead) but rarely. This has seemed to be the best preset for me. Movie sounds a hell of a lot better but muffles the dialogue. While in atmos you can't seem to adjust any settings. Personal opinion of the soundbar is that it is good, could be better with future firmware updates.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	asdfasdf.jpg
Views:	287
Size:	140.9 KB
ID:	2415096  
tkerkove85 is offline  
post #237 of 1861 Old 06-12-2018, 07:05 AM
Member
 
Evanwashere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by tkerkove85 View Post
So I currently have Sony's flagship model the Sony XBR65A8F. Seems like during their last firmware update to support Dolby Vision they silently added in support for Dolby Atmos. With the LG SK10y hooked up via hdmi arc to my tv, while watching a movie on vudu or netflix it shows the soundbar is in dolby atmos.

Below is a picture of my settings and the tv sounds great, sometimes ill increase everything to +2(rear, sub, overhead) but rarely. This has seemed to be the best preset for me. Movie sounds a hell of a lot better but muffles the dialogue. While in atmos you can't seem to adjust any settings. Personal opinion of the soundbar is that it is good, could be better with future firmware updates.
What are you using to play Netflix? It can't be in Sony's built in, as that doesn't support Atmos.

I have the 75" X900F. I use the Shield to play Netflix, but if I want Netflix with Atmos, I have to use my Windows 10 HTPC.
Evanwashere is offline  
post #238 of 1861 Old 06-12-2018, 07:36 AM
Newbie
 
rille31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In the market for a soundbar with rears + atmos and looking at this and the new samsung n950 to go with my 65 lg c7


7.1 would be nice and the n950 also has upfiring speakers in the rears but I guess it will almost cost twice as much so not sure if its worth it
rille31 is offline  
post #239 of 1861 Old 06-12-2018, 08:22 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evanwashere View Post
What are you using to play Netflix? It can't be in Sony's built in, as that doesn't support Atmos.

I have the 75" X900F. I use the Shield to play Netflix, but if I want Netflix with Atmos, I have to use my Windows 10 HTPC.
I have the 55 900e in my gaming room too and doesn't support the same Netflix. Netflix must have made an update specifically for this tv or something...here is a video

tkerkove85 is offline  
post #240 of 1861 Old 06-12-2018, 08:32 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by rille31 View Post
In the market for a soundbar with rears + atmos and looking at this and the new samsung n950 to go with my 65 lg c7


7.1 would be nice and the n950 also has upfiring speakers in the rears but I guess it will almost cost twice as much so not sure if its worth it
Do you have the Newest Dolby Vision update yet on your TV? If not you can manually download it. I think once you have it you can watch Netflix directly from the tv. That's when it started to work for me. Vudu is also a big app that supports movies/tv shows in Atmos. I use moviesanywhere to bring all my digital libraries together.
tkerkove85 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Soundbars

Tags
arc , hdr , lg sk10y , sky10y , soundbar , Vizio

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off