Vizio Announces Three Dolby Atmos Soundbar Systems Including 5.1.4 - Page 23 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 331Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #661 of 938 Old 12-07-2018, 12:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 101 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Hello all,

We have begun releasing firmware 1.2.3.1 for the VIZIO Atmos sound bars.

This firmware includes the following improvements below.

Updates:

1. Color banding occurring when being pass thru the sound bar.

2. Apple TV 4K audio not switching to Dolby 5.1.

3. Factory reset not fully resetting network settings.

4. Sound bar stopped responding to CEC commands after system idled for 5 mins.

5. Resolved a Surround balance issue where surround balance was only increasing channel gain, and did not reduce the gain.

6. Other CEC compatibility issues.

This update will be rolling out slowly over the next couple of weeks.

Please let us know if you have any other issues.
a61688, Anago and leojj25 like this.
VizioService is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #662 of 938 Old 12-09-2018, 01:00 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I’d really like to get the SB36512-F6 but I have a lot of questions. I’m not an audio expert at all.

At the moment I have a 5.1 system with a 2009 or 2010 Sony receiver and small Harmon Kardon speakers from 2011 at the latest. My main issue with the system is that it’s too quiet for movies at Max volume and I don’t know why that is. Dialogue in quiet scene is just barely listenable sometimes. The front channels are all set to max volume but the side ones seem particularly quiet. I’m also passing through TV audio to the receiver through optical out because it won’t support 4K.

Instead of trying to get either a new receiver or speakers to solve all of this a 5.1 sound bar system seems like a good solution and the idea of having Atmos with it is really appealing. I’ve heard good things about the subwoofer. My main concern would be if it’s acfually worse than my current 5.1 system can be.
JackSawyer is offline  
post #663 of 938 Old 12-09-2018, 03:40 PM
Newbie
 
mark729's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Angry

Still doesn't work.
keep loosing CEC and ARC function.
I need to soft power cycle or factory reset to work and it is not even last long.
I have a Vizio P65F1 TV and Vizio SB36512 conneted ARC port both side.
Do not buy Vizio soundbar yet. they are not ready.


Quote:
Originally Posted by VizioService View Post
Hello all,

We have begun releasing firmware 1.2.3.1 for the VIZIO Atmos sound bars.

This firmware includes the following improvements below.

Updates:

1. Color banding occurring when being pass thru the sound bar.

2. Apple TV 4K audio not switching to Dolby 5.1.

3. Factory reset not fully resetting network settings.

4. Sound bar stopped responding to CEC commands after system idled for 5 mins.

5. Resolved a Surround balance issue where surround balance was only increasing channel gain, and did not reduce the gain.

6. Other CEC compatibility issues.

This update will be rolling out slowly over the next couple of weeks.

Please let us know if you have any other issues.
mark729 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #664 of 938 Old 12-09-2018, 04:17 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark729 View Post
Still doesn't work.
keep loosing CEC and ARC function.
I need to soft power cycle or factory reset to work and it is not even last long.
I have a Vizio P65F1 TV and Vizio SB36512 conneted ARC port both side.
Do not buy Vizio soundbar yet. they are not ready.
Speak for yourself, my vizio p quantum and the 5.1.4 handshake is excellent
Anago and leojj25 like this.
divo1979 is offline  
post #665 of 938 Old 12-09-2018, 05:30 PM
Newbie
 
mark729's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 1
No one knows...Mine was working well for couple of weeks then screwed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by divo1979 View Post
Speak for yourself, my vizio p quantum and the 5.1.4 handshake is excellent
mark729 is offline  
post #666 of 938 Old 12-10-2018, 02:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
leojj25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Boston, Mass
Posts: 640
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark729 View Post
No one knows...Mine was working well for couple of weeks then screwed.


Have Vizio replace yours


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Vizio P65-E1 // Sony XBR49X900E
Sony Ht-ST5000 // RCA RTS7015B
Chromcast Ultra // Apple TV 4K
PS4 PRO
leojj25 is offline  
post #667 of 938 Old 12-10-2018, 05:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackSawyer View Post
I’d really like to get the SB36512-F6 but I have a lot of questions. I’m not an audio expert at all.

At the moment I have a 5.1 system with a 2009 or 2010 Sony receiver and small Harmon Kardon speakers from 2011 at the latest. My main issue with the system is that it’s too quiet for movies at Max volume and I don’t know why that is. Dialogue in quiet scene is just barely listenable sometimes. The front channels are all set to max volume but the side ones seem particularly quiet. I’m also passing through TV audio to the receiver through optical out because it won’t support 4K.

Instead of trying to get either a new receiver or speakers to solve all of this a 5.1 sound bar system seems like a good solution and the idea of having Atmos with it is really appealing. I’ve heard good things about the subwoofer. My main concern would be if it’s acfually worse than my current 5.1 system can be.
The dialogue is very clear and it definitely gets loud enough. It will certainly be better than your receiver in that regard. Overall it sounds very good too, great bass and surround sound.
cb86 is offline  
post #668 of 938 Old 12-11-2018, 08:22 AM
Senior Member
 
Bacon_67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Last night I noticed the right rear speaker on my 5.1.4 system has some slight static/distortion sound even when there is no sound coming from the main bar (only really audible when you're close to the speaker).


What are my options? Try different power outlets/surge protectors. Move the wires around? Going to try and fiddle with it tonight to see if I can make it go away...
Bacon_67 is offline  
post #669 of 938 Old 12-11-2018, 08:48 AM
Senior Member
 
a61688's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bacon_67 View Post
Last night I noticed the right rear speaker on my 5.1.4 system has some slight static/distortion sound even when there is no sound coming from the main bar (only really audible when you're close to the speaker).


What are my options? Try different power outlets/surge protectors. Move the wires around? Going to try and fiddle with it tonight to see if I can make it go away...
Make sure the speaker wire isn't touching sources of interference like other power cables.
a61688 is offline  
post #670 of 938 Old 12-12-2018, 12:40 PM
Member
 
T3h Professor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark729 View Post
Still doesn't work.
keep loosing CEC and ARC function.
I need to soft power cycle or factory reset to work and it is not even last long.
I have a Vizio P65F1 TV and Vizio SB36512 conneted ARC port both side.
Do not buy Vizio soundbar yet. they are not ready.
I have the exact same tv and bought the 36" soundbar from Costco. It worked fine for about two days and then suddenly had handshake issues left and right. I took it back to Costco since I had the 5.1.4 bar as well and that has worked flawlessly so far.

Maybe you have a bad unit.
T3h Professor is offline  
post #671 of 938 Old 12-12-2018, 12:58 PM
Senior Member
 
a61688's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by T3h Professor View Post
I have the exact same tv and bought the 36" soundbar from Costco. It worked fine for about two days and then suddenly had handshake issues left and right. I took it back to Costco since I had the 5.1.4 bar as well and that has worked flawlessly so far.

Maybe you have a bad unit.
Keep in mind that there have been updates to try and fix those issues. It's possible that the 36 would work fine nowadays.
a61688 is offline  
post #672 of 938 Old 12-13-2018, 08:28 AM
Newbie
 
sgruby's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by VizioService View Post
Hello all,

We have begun releasing firmware 1.2.3.1 for the VIZIO Atmos sound bars.

This firmware includes the following improvements below.

Updates:

1. Color banding occurring when being pass thru the sound bar.

2. Apple TV 4K audio not switching to Dolby 5.1.

3. Factory reset not fully resetting network settings.

4. Sound bar stopped responding to CEC commands after system idled for 5 mins.

5. Resolved a Surround balance issue where surround balance was only increasing channel gain, and did not reduce the gain.

6. Other CEC compatibility issues.

This update will be rolling out slowly over the next couple of weeks.

Please let us know if you have any other issues.

Excellent! I think some of these issues are ones that I've been experiencing. When will the firmware update be available for manual download?
sgruby is offline  
post #673 of 938 Old 12-13-2018, 10:18 AM
Member
 
Hubert.J.Farnsworth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 45
To anyone who has tested both 5.1.2 and 5.1.4, what are the main differences (appart from the massive sub) and is it worth spending twice as much for the 5.1.4, does it sound twice as good? Also Are the height channels as bad as the 5.1.2 with tons of sound bleed in the front?



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Hubert.J.Farnsworth is offline  
post #674 of 938 Old 12-13-2018, 10:56 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 101 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgruby View Post
Excellent! I think some of these issues are ones that I've been experiencing. When will the firmware update be available for manual download?
We will keep you posted on when this will be made available.
VizioService is offline  
post #675 of 938 Old 12-13-2018, 10:57 AM
Newbie
 
sgruby's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by VizioService View Post
We will keep you posted on when this will be made available.
Thanks! Did the update get pulled due to issues?
sgruby is offline  
post #676 of 938 Old 12-13-2018, 11:10 AM
Member
 
Hubert.J.Farnsworth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by VizioService View Post
We will keep you posted on when this will be made available.


Hello, any plans of adding volume control for height channels?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Hubert.J.Farnsworth is offline  
post #677 of 938 Old 12-13-2018, 12:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 101 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hubert.J.Farnsworth View Post
Hello, any plans of adding volume control for height channels?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I do not currently have information on future updates or improvement but I can pass along your suggestion to our development team.
VizioService is offline  
post #678 of 938 Old 12-14-2018, 05:11 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 29
@VizioService the newest firmware update that you all implemented for the SB 5.1.4 and the SB5.1.2 aren't really responding to HDMI handshakes and CEC accessibility. I have updated my 5.1.4 to the newest firmware, and it keeps losing CEC and ARC capabilities all the time. I have to unplug and replug the sound bar in order for my tv to connect with it every time I turn on the TV. Also like someone mentioned a dedicated volume update for the height channels would prove very useful. All of the sound seems to bleed forward when listening to audio formatted in ATMOS. Please revisit this new update because it seems very buggy for these new sound bars.
divo1979 is offline  
post #679 of 938 Old 12-14-2018, 11:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 101 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Hello All,

We have currently halted the further release of firmware version 1.2.3.1 due to the feedback we have received on a compatibility issues with Apple TV connected to the HDMI In on the sound bar.

We will be working quickly to resolve this issue and get a update released to correct this behavior.

For those that have already received the update we recommend that you connect the ATV directly to one of the TV’s other HDMI inputs and power cycle your TV, ATV and sound bar.

We will continue to update this thread as more information becomes available about this update.

Thank you all for you patience and feedback as we continue to work in enhancing the Atmos sound bar experience.
a61688, leojj25 and divo1979 like this.
VizioService is offline  
post #680 of 938 Old 12-15-2018, 10:06 AM
Member
 
thaiusmle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by VizioService View Post
Hello All,

We have currently halted the further release of firmware version 1.2.3.1 due to the feedback we have received on a compatibility issues with Apple TV connected to the HDMI In on the sound bar.

We will be working quickly to resolve this issue and get a update released to correct this behavior.

For those that have already received the update we recommend that you connect the ATV directly to one of the TV’s other HDMI inputs and power cycle your TV, ATV and sound bar.

We will continue to update this thread as more information becomes available about this update.

Thank you all for you patience and feedback as we continue to work in enhancing the Atmos sound bar experience.
Please look into Nvidia Shield issues as well - losing HDMI signal when changing frame rate and artifacts with 4:2:0 chroma. Thanks.
thaiusmle is offline  
post #681 of 938 Old 12-18-2018, 06:20 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 29
@VizioService I know that you all are working tirelessly on the newest update for the atmos sound bars, and the community really does appreciate it a lot. I'm some what unhappy with the issues that these sound bars are having as I'm sure there are many others who would agree with me. For those that aren't having arc response and cec failures than that's pretty awesome. The update that you all launched with 5.1.4 seemed to work perfectly like a previous comment mentioned. I know I sound like a broken record with the same problems being worded differently, but when you spend a $1,000 plus dollars on a product you expect it to function properly with minor updates for a few quirk. These issues are major for some of us, I shouldn't have to unplug my $1,000 sound bar that I just purchased, and replug it back into the outlet in order for it to connect to my tv for sound and cec functions. I like the sound bar don't get me wrong, I'm not rich so this is an investment that I hope will pay off in the future. I may have spoken to soon stating that my handshake issues were perfect in previous post
divo1979 is offline  
post #682 of 938 Old 12-18-2018, 11:14 AM
Member
 
Hubert.J.Farnsworth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by divo1979 View Post
@VizioService the newest firmware update that you all implemented for the SB 5.1.4 and the SB5.1.2 aren't really responding to HDMI handshakes and CEC accessibility. I have updated my 5.1.4 to the newest firmware, and it keeps losing CEC and ARC capabilities all the time. I have to unplug and replug the sound bar in order for my tv to connect with it every time I turn on the TV. Also like someone mentioned a dedicated volume update for the height channels would prove very useful. All of the sound seems to bleed forward when listening to audio formatted in ATMOS. Please revisit this new update because it seems very buggy for these new sound bars.


A tuning option or adding a distance setting instead of channel volume would be great.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Hubert.J.Farnsworth is offline  
post #683 of 938 Old 12-18-2018, 11:52 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,822
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9218 Post(s)
Liked: 5927
Can these sound bars work with 96khz and 192khz audio? Or is it limited to only 48khz and lower?

I'm looking at the 5.1.2 system, since it's on sale now.

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #684 of 938 Old 12-19-2018, 08:11 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,822
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9218 Post(s)
Liked: 5927
I went ahead and ordered a supposed open box in excellent condition from BestBuy. For almost half the normal price. but when I got home I had planned on testing things out. But it was anything but excellent condition, since it didn't work.

So I was able to exchange it this morning for a new one. Which works out great for the very low price. I just hope that this new one works.
a61688 likes this.

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #685 of 938 Old 12-19-2018, 06:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Chingu808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I went ahead and ordered a supposed open box in excellent condition from BestBuy. For almost half the normal price. but when I got home I had planned on testing things out. But it was anything but excellent condition, since it didn't work.

So I was able to exchange it this morning for a new one. Which works out great for the very low price. I just hope that this new one works.

For the last 3 nights the open box excellent condition one keeps on popping back in stock for $279.99. I guess I'm lucky I did not buy it. To bad the $299.99 price is over at Sam's Club & Costco. Although not sure how much I would need this since I do not have a 4K TV to stream 4K content.
Chingu808 is online now  
post #686 of 938 Old 12-19-2018, 07:53 PM
Member
 
Hubert.J.Farnsworth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chingu808 View Post
For the last 3 nights the open box excellent condition one keeps on popping back in stock for $279.99. I guess I'm lucky I did not buy it. To bad the $299.99 price is over at Sam's Club & Costco. Although not sure how much I would need this since I do not have a 4K TV to stream 4K content.


$349 at Costco lately, not Black Friday good but better than $500


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Hubert.J.Farnsworth is offline  
post #687 of 938 Old 12-19-2018, 08:49 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,822
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9218 Post(s)
Liked: 5927
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chingu808 View Post
For the last 3 nights the open box excellent condition one keeps on popping back in stock for $279.99. I guess I'm lucky I did not buy it. To bad the $299.99 price is over at Sam's Club & Costco. Although not sure how much I would need this since I do not have a 4K TV to stream 4K content.
The brand new one I got at Best Buy in exchange for the open box at that price is working great.

I definitely like this sound bar better than the Sony 9000F I have been trying out. For several reasons.
The vizio does seem to have more power and can get louder. The Vizio also has more bass than the Sony.
I also hear more of the height effects from the Vizio with it's dedicated height speakers.
And of course the two surround speakers also greatly enlarge the soundfield.

I also tried some 192Khz and 96hkz TrueHD tracks and the Vizio was able to play them without any issue.
Although that is one thing I've always liked about the Sony sound bars. They would tell you the sampling rate of the content being played. The Vizio just shows you the format in the app. But for the setup I'm using it in, that is all I really need any way.

And it is working great with a 5x1 18Gbps HDMi switch connected to it.

For the price I paid for the Vizio, I am extremely happy with it. I did get the four year extended warranty for $50 from Bestbuy, just in case.

And the Vizio was at the current firmware out of the box. So I guess it was new stock?

And it's working fine with the ARC from my 2015 Sony UHD TV. It would automatically switch to the speaker bar for audio like it is supposed to.

The Vizio 5.1.2 sound bar seems to have a lot of bang for the buck.
a61688 and Anago like this.

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt; 12-19-2018 at 08:54 PM.
aaronwt is offline  
post #688 of 938 Old 12-19-2018, 09:58 PM
Senior Member
 
a61688's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
The brand new one I got at Best Buy in exchange for the open box at that price is working great.



I definitely like this sound bar better than the Sony 9000F I have been trying out. For several reasons.

The vizio does seem to have more power and can get louder. The Vizio also has more bass than the Sony.

I also hear more of the height effects from the Vizio with it's dedicated height speakers.

And of course the two surround speakers also greatly enlarge the soundfield.



I also tried some 192Khz and 96hkz TrueHD tracks and the Vizio was able to play them without any issue.

Although that is one thing I've always liked about the Sony sound bars. They would tell you the sampling rate of the content being played. The Vizio just shows you the format in the app. But for the setup I'm using it in, that is all I really need any way.



And it is working great with a 5x1 18Gbps HDMi switch connected to it.



For the price I paid for the Vizio, I am extremely happy with it. I did get the four year extended warranty for $50 from Bestbuy, just in case.



And the Vizio was at the current firmware out of the box. So I guess it was new stock?



And it's working fine with the ARC from my 2015 Sony UHD TV. It would automatically switch to the speaker bar for audio like it is supposed to.



The Vizio 5.1.2 sound bar seems to have a lot of bang for the buck.
Dump your HDMI switch model on here.
a61688 is offline  
post #689 of 938 Old 12-20-2018, 05:53 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,822
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9218 Post(s)
Liked: 5927
Quote:
Originally Posted by a61688 View Post
Dump your HDMI switch model on here.
I'm using a couple of $40 to $50 switches in that setup. Which looks and behaves identically to the $70 Sewell 18Gbps switches I got last year for my main UHD setup. I'll need to find the links from Amazon later.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
a61688 likes this.

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #690 of 938 Old 12-20-2018, 10:35 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,822
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9218 Post(s)
Liked: 5927
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I'm using a couple of $40 to $50 switches in that setup. Which looks and behaves identically to the $70 Sewell 18Gbps switches I got last year for my main UHD setup. I'll need to find the links from Amazon later.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
Here are the two 5x1 Sewell HDMI switches I have.

https://sewelldirect.com/switchdeck-...-22-444-chroma

And here are the two 5x1 HDMI Switches I got from Amazon recently(One costing around $50 and the other around $40)
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

All four switches have worked with the same UHD/HDR10/DV components in my testing and use. Although I've had the Sewell switches in use for eighteen months. While I've only had the switches from Amazon in use for two months. So I have no idea how reliable the switches from Amazon will be in the long term.(since the reviews show that some people have had issues) But they all look and work identically, except for the color. And also use the same IR codes.

I got extended warranties through Sewell and Amazon just in case I have issues with the switches in the future.
a61688 likes this.

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt; 12-20-2018 at 10:38 AM.
aaronwt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Soundbars

Tags
atmos , soundbar , Vizio

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off