Vizio Announces Three Dolby Atmos Soundbar Systems Including 5.1.4 - Page 24 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 328Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #691 of 912 Old 12-20-2018, 01:49 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 29
@VizioService O.K I've been tinkering with the 5.1.4 CEC and HDMI handshake all and I think I found the culprit. It has come to my understanding the once I remove my ATV4 from the HDMI input in on the sound bar, CEC seem to work perfectly with the Vizio P quantum. So I'm hoping during you testing you can see why the ATV4 won't properly handshake with the tv and lose CEC functionality with these new atmos sound bar. I'll continue to fool around with my set up to see how's that's possible because when I had the 5.1.2 it worked extremely well with the ATV4. This for you all notes so that you will implement a proper future update for these sound bars, thanks.
divo1979 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #692 of 912 Old 12-21-2018, 12:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 88 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by divo1979 View Post
@VizioService O.K I've been tinkering with the 5.1.4 CEC and HDMI handshake all and I think I found the culprit. It has come to my understanding the once I remove my ATV4 from the HDMI input in on the sound bar, CEC seem to work perfectly with the Vizio P quantum. So I'm hoping during you testing you can see why the ATV4 won't properly handshake with the tv and lose CEC functionality with these new atmos sound bar. I'll continue to fool around with my set up to see how's that's possible because when I had the 5.1.2 it worked extremely well with the ATV4. This for you all notes so that you will implement a proper future update for these sound bars, thanks.
Thank you for your feedback and your continued testing. I will pass along your feedback.
VizioService is offline  
post #693 of 912 Old 12-21-2018, 01:21 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,289
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8896 Post(s)
Liked: 5686
Any chance of having info about the number of audio channels being received? To go along with the audio format info we already get in the app.

Sent from my Nexus 7(16GB) using Tapatalk

53TB unRAID2--45TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #694 of 912 Old 12-22-2018, 08:52 AM
Senior Member
 
F34R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Welp, we'll see what comes out next year. Since Best Buy doesn't seem to have any intention of getting the 5.1.4, I've opted for a Nakamichi 7.1. See ya next year Vizio.
F34R is offline  
post #695 of 912 Old 12-24-2018, 06:57 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 29
@vizio SService, alright I've discovered more issues during some of my testing, again this is just information to be passed along for a proper future update. The 5.1.4 and maybe the 5.1.2 seems to lose smartcast functionality intermittently, and when issuing a search for the sound bar through the app, it seems to never find the sound bar forcing me repair with smarcast again. Most and if not all of the issues are posted on a reddit forum that's being monitored by Vizio_Support. There is also a xbox one x handshake with the sound bars as well. Once you are well into playing your game/movie, the sound and sub starts to distort and bottoms out all of the time. It makes the consumer think that they have a defective unit while gaming. I myself am monitoring both AVS and reddit to make sure you all are aware of all of the issues that started with the latest update that was implemented. I repeat, I enjoy this sound bar very much, but the overwhelming problems that some customers are experiencing are vexing to say the least. This isn't to brow beat you all as a company with my comments, I'm a proud owner of numerous vizio products, I just know you guys are working hard on all of these issues and therefore you have my thanks.
divo1979 is offline  
post #696 of 912 Old 12-24-2018, 03:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Chingu808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by F34R View Post
Welp, we'll see what comes out next year. Since Best Buy doesn't seem to have any intention of getting the 5.1.4, I've opted for a Nakamichi 7.1. See ya next year Vizio.

https://www.bestbuy.com/site/vizio-5...?skuId=6315192
aaronwt and a61688 like this.
Chingu808 is offline  
post #697 of 912 Old 12-24-2018, 05:30 PM
Senior Member
 
a61688's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chingu808 View Post
This is what I've been waiting for. Now I just need a reasonable price drop and that bitch is mine!
a61688 is offline  
post #698 of 912 Old 12-25-2018, 10:18 AM
Newbie
 
asc72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Any issues with using the 5.1.4 with a harmony remote? I had a Samsung K850 bar and there were continual issues, so I sold it and am considering this one. It working well with Harmony would help with the wife acceptance factor. Also, anywhere to source these in Canada yet? I see the 5.1.2 bar at Costco, but not the 5.1.4.
asc72 is offline  
post #699 of 912 Old 12-25-2018, 11:12 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,289
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8896 Post(s)
Liked: 5686
Quote:
Originally Posted by asc72 View Post
Any issues with using the 5.1.4 with a harmony remote? I had a Samsung K850 bar and there were continual issues, so I sold it and am considering this one. It working well with Harmony would help with the wife acceptance factor. Also, anywhere to source these in Canada yet? I see the 5.1.2 bar at Costco, but not the 5.1.4.
My 5.1.2 Vizio bar is working great with a Harmony remote/Harmony Hub. I currently have nine devices connected to the Vizio on it's one HDMi input. By using two cascaded 5x1 HDMI switches. And then I have two devices connected directly to the TV which uses the ARC to the Vizio speaker Bar.

So far everything has been working great with the Harmony remote and the Vizio since I set it up last week
a61688 likes this.

53TB unRAID2--45TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #700 of 912 Old 12-26-2018, 04:19 PM
Senior Member
 
F34R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chingu808 View Post
WTH! I checked and checked before buying the Nakamichi!! Well, now that it's there, it needs to drop in price. I paid $649 and I'm pretty pleased with it out of the box.

Quote:
Originally Posted by a61688 View Post
This is what I've been waiting for. Now I just need a reasonable price drop and that bitch is mine!
Same. It will have to come down a decent bit at this point. I might grab it to compare it to my Naka..
F34R is offline  
post #701 of 912 Old 12-27-2018, 07:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
ToonMasterTim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 100
As an owner of the 2013 Vizio 42" 5.1 sound bar, is the 5.1.2 sound bar worth the upgrade? The system is on sale for $100 off the normal retail price through the end of the year. I'm debating about pulling the trigger, but it seems like the upward-firing speakers aren't that stellar. I am wondering if I should hold out for the 5.1.4 to get the rear upward-firing speakers instead? The only issue is that the 5.1.4 version is over twice the price.
ToonMasterTim is offline  
post #702 of 912 Old 12-27-2018, 08:58 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,289
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8896 Post(s)
Liked: 5686
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToonMasterTim View Post
As an owner of the 2013 Vizio 42" 5.1 sound bar, is the 5.1.2 sound bar worth the upgrade? The system is on sale for $100 off the normal retail price through the end of the year. I'm debating about pulling the trigger, but it seems like the upward-firing speakers aren't that stellar. I am wondering if I should hold out for the 5.1.4 to get the rear upward-firing speakers instead? The only issue is that the 5.1.4 version is over twice the price.
Yes that is the issue. The 5.1.4 system is easily a better system. Plus it has a beefier sub-woofer.
But for me, the 5.1.2 sound bar was under $275. And did a better job with the height effects than what SOny did with their simulated height effects with their 9000F bar.

I would have preferred to get the 5.1.4 bar, but not at over three times the price I paid for the 5.1.2 bar. Plus this is for my secondary UHD setup, so I wanted something that could handle multiple HDR devices(with an HDMI switch), have rear speakers, and not cost a lot.

53TB unRAID2--45TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #703 of 912 Old 12-27-2018, 10:49 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Howdy, I have Atmos questions that involves the Vizio 5.1.4 vs. the Nakamichi 7.1 Pro. Are up-firing speakers absolutely necessary if ceiling mounted speakers are not possible for now? The Nakamichi 7.1 Pro is slated to get a Dolby Vision and Atmos firmware upgrade in 2019, along with its current DTS:X, but no changes in hardware planned. It does not have up-firing speakers but their website mentions elevation effects via their SSE feature. So, will the Atmos be a synthesized surround effect in the 7.1? The Nakamichi touts its discreet speaker system, so perhaps the regular front and surround audio comes from a local speaker source and the Atmos will present via software manipulation?
I am on the fence between the two soundbars. The Vizio is more expensive, has not DTS:X, only one HDMI input and does anyone know if their HDMI ARC is 1.4 or 2.0? The Nakamichi is less expensive (unless I go with the 9.2 which is competitive), will have Dolby and DTS:X, and more HDMI inputs. If Atmos MUST utilize the dedicated up-firing speakers and will thus sound better than a synthesized Atmos, then I will go Vizio.


(p.s. I had the early Vizio 5.1.2 from Costco and returned it due to software issues and imo underwhelming height effects, perhaps 5.1.4 would be better)
Mud scientist is offline  
post #704 of 912 Old 12-27-2018, 11:06 AM
Senior Member
 
a61688's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mud scientist View Post
Howdy, I have Atmos questions that involves the Vizio 5.1.4 vs. the Nakamichi 7.1 Pro. Are up-firing speakers absolutely necessary if ceiling mounted speakers are not possible for now? The Nakamichi 7.1 Pro is slated to get a Dolby Vision and Atmos firmware upgrade in 2019, along with its current DTS:X, but no changes in hardware planned. It does not have up-firing speakers but their website mentions elevation effects via their SSE feature. So, will the Atmos be a synthesized surround effect in the 7.1? The Nakamichi touts its discreet speaker system, so perhaps the regular front and surround audio comes from a local speaker source and the Atmos will present via software manipulation?
I am on the fence between the two soundbars. The Vizio is more expensive, has not DTS:X, only one HDMI input and does anyone know if their HDMI ARC is 1.4 or 2.0? The Nakamichi is less expensive (unless I go with the 9.2 which is competitive), will have Dolby and DTS:X, and more HDMI inputs. If Atmos MUST utilize the dedicated up-firing speakers and will thus sound better than a synthesized Atmos, then I will go Vizio.


(p.s. I had the early Vizio 5.1.2 from Costco and returned it due to software issues and imo underwhelming height effects, perhaps 5.1.4 would be better)
Atmos is intended to be used with speakers dedicated to the effect aka height channel speakers. The more height channel speakers (assuming spread out), the better the effect. Direct firing is best but reflecting is the best alternative, especially for financial reasons. Piping those effects into traditional ear level speakers (non height channel) won't have a good overhead effect.
a61688 is offline  
post #705 of 912 Old 12-27-2018, 11:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
ToonMasterTim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Yes that is the issue. The 5.1.4 system is easily a better system. Plus it has a beefier sub-woofer.
But for me, the 5.1.2 sound bar was under $275. And did a better job with the height effects than what SOny did with their simulated height effects with their 9000F bar.

I would have preferred to get the 5.1.4 bar, but not at over three times the price I paid for the 5.1.2 bar. Plus this is for my secondary UHD setup, so I wanted something that could handle multiple HDR devices(with an HDMI switch), have rear speakers, and not cost a lot.

Did you previously have a Vizio 5.1 sound bar or other 5.1 system? I am wondering if it's worth the upgrade. If so, I'll jump on that deal before the end of the month. Or, I may just do it anyway since I can always return it later. That's a hassle I am trying to avoid though.
ToonMasterTim is offline  
post #706 of 912 Old 12-27-2018, 11:24 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by a61688 View Post
Atmos is intended to be used with speakers dedicated to the effect aka height channel speakers. The more height channel speakers (assuming spread out), the better the effect. Direct firing is best but reflecting is the best alternative, especially for financial reasons. Piping those effects into traditional ear level speakers (non height channel) won't have a good overhead effect.
Thank you, I was thinking similarly, it's just Nakamichi seems so excited about their upcoming firmware upgrade


When I was at Costco and turned the Atmos effect on and off on a 55" LG oled with only its stereo speakers, it did make for a noticeably larger soundstage. I guess part of Atmos is the bigger ambient effect and the other part is the directional object effect which might be less noticeable without dedicated height speakers.
Mud scientist is offline  
post #707 of 912 Old 12-27-2018, 11:28 AM
Senior Member
 
a61688's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mud scientist View Post
Thank you, I was thinking similarly, it's just Nakamichi seems so excited about their upcoming firmware upgrade


When I was at Costco and turned the Atmos effect on and off on a 55" LG oled with only its stereo speakers, it did make for a noticeably larger soundstage. I guess part of Atmos is the bigger ambient effect and the other part is the directional object effect which might be less noticeable without dedicated height speakers.
Ambience and object based expansion of the sound stage, yep. You probably already know but keep in mind that store demos with reflecting types won't be accurate since most stores have high ass ceilings. At home, your ceiling is most likely not as tall and thus the effect will be better and more noticeable.
a61688 is offline  
post #708 of 912 Old 12-27-2018, 12:46 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I just got the 36.5.1.2 and it has really bad colour banding when the UHD player is connected to it and it’s using HDR10. The sky in Star Trek looks atrocious. The TV still says it’s HDR 10.
JackSawyer is offline  
post #709 of 912 Old 12-27-2018, 12:59 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,289
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8896 Post(s)
Liked: 5686
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToonMasterTim View Post
Did you previously have a Vizio 5.1 sound bar or other 5.1 system? I am wondering if it's worth the upgrade. If so, I'll jump on that deal before the end of the month. Or, I may just do it anyway since I can always return it later. That's a hassle I am trying to avoid though.
I had a SOny HT-NT3 from 2015 in there. But it did not handle HDR. So I recently got the SOny 9000F 36" speaker bar. But was not happy with the height effect or the sound output. The HT-NT3 had much more power and it sounds like the Vizio does as well.

Am am much more pleased with the Vizio 5.1.2 sound bar since it has actual speakers pointed toward the ceiling. Plus it has two surround speakers which the SOny Bar I tried did not. And the Vizio has better bass response. The rear speakers make the biggest difference between the Sony and the Vizio. The SOny 9000F and Vizio 5.1.2 have the same retail price so they seem to be direct competitors.

53TB unRAID2--45TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #710 of 912 Old 12-27-2018, 01:01 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,289
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8896 Post(s)
Liked: 5686
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackSawyer View Post
I just got the 36.5.1.2 and it has really bad colour banding when the UHD player is connected to it and it’s using HDR10. The sky in Star Trek looks atrocious. The TV still says it’s HDR 10.
Try changing it to a different color space output. Some TVs have issues with certain color spaces.
Not sure about the bar but I've not seen any major banding issues with UHD from the 444 , 422, or 420 colorspace with my Vizio.

53TB unRAID2--45TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #711 of 912 Old 12-27-2018, 01:14 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Try changing it to a different color space output. Some TVs have issues with certain color spaces.
Not sure about the bar but I've not seen any major banding issues with UHD from the 444 , 422, or 420 colorspace with my Vizio.
I’m not sure there’s an option to on my LG player but I’ll check when I get home. It’s the UP970.

The TV is a Vizio M65-E0, it looks perfectly fine connected directly to the TV.
JackSawyer is offline  
post #712 of 912 Old 12-27-2018, 01:20 PM
Senior Member
 
a61688's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackSawyer View Post
I just got the 36.5.1.2 and it has really bad colour banding when the UHD player is connected to it and it’s using HDR10. The sky in Star Trek looks atrocious. The TV still says it’s HDR 10.
Make sure you have the full uhd color setting turned on for that hdmi in.
a61688 is offline  
post #713 of 912 Old 12-27-2018, 02:41 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by a61688 View Post
Make sure you have the full uhd color setting turned on for that hdmi in.
It is, it looks way better plugged directly in to the same HDMI port.
JackSawyer is offline  
post #714 of 912 Old 12-27-2018, 02:47 PM
Senior Member
 
a61688's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackSawyer View Post
It is, it looks way better plugged directly in to the same HDMI port.
Make sure the HDMI cable between the bar and TV and/or player and bar are capable and that they are under 6 feet long. Also, make sure firmware is updated on the bar.
a61688 is offline  
post #715 of 912 Old 12-27-2018, 02:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Vizio Announces Three Dolby Atmos Soundbar Systems Including 5.1.4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mud scientist View Post
Howdy, I have Atmos questions that involves the Vizio 5.1.4 vs. the Nakamichi 7.1 Pro. Are up-firing speakers absolutely necessary if ceiling mounted speakers are not possible for now? The Nakamichi 7.1 Pro is slated to get a Dolby Vision and Atmos firmware upgrade in 2019, along with its current DTS:X, but no changes in hardware planned. It does not have up-firing speakers but their website mentions elevation effects via their SSE feature. So, will the Atmos be a synthesized surround effect in the 7.1? The Nakamichi touts its discreet speaker system, so perhaps the regular front and surround audio comes from a local speaker source and the Atmos will present via software manipulation?
I am on the fence between the two soundbars. The Vizio is more expensive, has not DTS:X, only one HDMI input and does anyone know if their HDMI ARC is 1.4 or 2.0? The Nakamichi is less expensive (unless I go with the 9.2 which is competitive), will have Dolby and DTS:X, and more HDMI inputs. If Atmos MUST utilize the dedicated up-firing speakers and will thus sound better than a synthesized Atmos, then I will go Vizio.


(p.s. I had the early Vizio 5.1.2 from Costco and returned it due to software issues and imo underwhelming height effects, perhaps 5.1.4 would be better)


At the outset I m a naka 9.2 owner so I don’t want to comment on the vizio as you will find better advice here from the vizio 5.1.4 owner nor do I wanna make this naka vs vizio:

1st)So since vizio has one hdmi, you might wanna ensure your tv pass through atmos through arc from an external device not just in built tv apps. Else you won’t get atmos. I hv 9.2 so can’t comment on 7.1 but extra hdmi input will be extremely helpful to connect multiple external devices directly to the speaker( the ideal way of getting best sound)

2)The naka has dts:x and is awesome with dts:x movies( at least with 9.2 and 7.2). I am not aware of 7.1 but reviews suggest same

3)Naka’s current pcm upmixing is not great but with the firmware upgrade it’s promised to have a better Dolby upmixing

4)Atmos is always going to be better with discrete upward firing speaker as in vizio but make sure you have no vaulted ceiling and the speaker placement is extremely important.
Dolby has come up with simulated height effects as will be present in naka for the atmos.

5) (probably helpfull to you )I was contemplating between naka 9.2 and vizio 5.1.4 and chose naka because I personally felt the two 10” subs and the regular 9.2 sound was better with excellent front and back stage sound isolation and 3 crossover frequencies being available with naka. Naka’s current weakness is not able to process DD+|Doly true hd , but with expected firmware that’s gonna resolve.

I am sure owners of vizio will have great inputs for you on the 5.1.4 , hope the above points help you to decide.

Sorry if this looks like a vizio vs naka , I wish there was a separate thread for probable owners of either systems trying to get the pros and cons of similar products


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited by ari821; 12-27-2018 at 03:02 PM.
ari821 is offline  
post #716 of 912 Old 12-27-2018, 04:39 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,289
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8896 Post(s)
Liked: 5686
All you need is an HDMI switch. I use a 5x1 18Gbps HDMI switch. Whick can handle any UHD/HDR10/DV device. So I have four UHD Devices connected to the switch. And with the fifth Input I have another 5x1 HDMI switch connected to it. Giving me nine HDMI devices connected to the speaker bar. Then I have a couple of UHD devices connected directly to the TV HDMI inputs. Which use the ARC to get audio to the speaker bar.

Sent from my Nexus 7(16GB) using Tapatalk
calfcramp and a61688 like this.

53TB unRAID2--45TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #717 of 912 Old 12-27-2018, 05:08 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Thanks to all for the valuable insights and info. I had no intention of a Vizio vs Nakamichi shoot out; mainly just trying to grasp what a soundbar and my wallet will offer by way of superior audio. There is sooo much info and opinion out there both technically and subjectively about Atmos all wrapped in marketing jargon and buzz words.
I am thinking it wise to sit out this purchase until after the CES. There’s this fine line that Nakamichi seems to be walking between home theater and audiophilia. There may be better, more logical choices available later next month.
Thanks again, HNY!
ari821 likes this.
Mud scientist is offline  
post #718 of 912 Old 12-27-2018, 07:19 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by a61688 View Post
Make sure the HDMI cable between the bar and TV and/or player and bar are capable and that they are under 6 feet long. Also, make sure firmware is updated on the bar.
I updated the firmware and it’s not different. The HDMI cable is over 6 ft 8 I think though, I didn’t know they would make a difference? I tested connecting the soundbar with the same HDMI cable I’m using for the player, which apparently does 18 gbps and HDR. Didn’t make a difference.

It’s really noticeable in the scene in Star Trek when young Kirk has the car.
JackSawyer is offline  
post #719 of 912 Old 12-27-2018, 07:23 PM
Senior Member
 
a61688's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackSawyer View Post
I updated the firmware and it’s not different. The HDMI cable is over 6 ft 8 I think though, I didn’t know they would make a difference? I tested connecting the soundbar with the same HDMI cable I’m using for the player, which apparently does 18 gbps and HDR. Didn’t make a difference.



It’s really noticeable in the scene in Star Trek when young Kirk has the car.
Hmm. That's a head scratcher. High bandwidth signals tend to degrade after 6 feet (without powered amplification). Perhaps other members can give you some ideas.
a61688 is offline  
post #720 of 912 Old 12-27-2018, 07:41 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I saw that the update 1.2.3.1 rolling out supposedly fixed “Color banding occurring when being pass thru the sound bar”. Not sure if that would fix the issue for me. They seemed to have halted the update rolling out, I’m at 1.2.0.1.
JackSawyer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Soundbars

Tags
atmos , soundbar , Vizio

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off