Vizio Announces Three Dolby Atmos Soundbar Systems Including 5.1.4 - Page 25 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 328Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 915 Old 12-27-2018, 08:24 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I'm happy to say I've fixed the colour banding issue! I manually updated to 1.2.3.1 through USB which wasn't available through the soundbar, no more banding, looks perfectly clean.

Really happy with this soundbar, far better than my 5.1 system. The sound is so much more enveloping with the height channels.
aaronwt and a61688 like this.
JackSawyer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 915 Old 12-28-2018, 12:40 AM
Member
 
Mauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Anyone here with the 5.1.2 system and an Xbox One X? Is there any input or audio lag when the Xbox is connected directly to the soundbar via HDMI?
Mauer is offline  
post #723 of 915 Old 12-28-2018, 05:34 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,384
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8952 Post(s)
Liked: 5728
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mauer View Post
Anyone here with the 5.1.2 system and an Xbox One X? Is there any input or audio lag when the Xbox is connected directly to the soundbar via HDMI?
I'm using an XB1S with mine. I haven't noticed any lag issues when playing a game. Or with the Dolby Atmos test videos on the Xbox.

Sent from my Nexus 7(16GB) using Tapatalk
Mauer likes this.

49TB unRAID1a--53TB unRAID2--70TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #724 of 915 Old 12-28-2018, 10:12 AM
Senior Member
 
guacamoleparty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Another question for an Xbox owner. I have the prior 5.1 Soundbar and in 'direct' mode the subwoofer is INCREDIBLY loud. I had to turn it down a lot, is this system better balanced? Im using it in Dolby Digital. Thoughts? Thank you!
guacamoleparty is offline  
post #725 of 915 Old 12-28-2018, 11:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
taichi4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3,108
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 533 Post(s)
Liked: 312
Are there any detailed owner reviews of the 5.1.2? Professional reviews seem mostly positive, but with some criticism of ultimate sound quality. Because of the low prices on this unit at Costco, I'm tempted.
taichi4 is offline  
post #726 of 915 Old 12-28-2018, 11:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Bacon_67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 52
From time to time I’ll get a loud distorted sound from a number of different devices over ARC on the 5.1.4 system and nothing else, which will usually go away when I try replaying a video. Anyone else experiencing this?
Bacon_67 is offline  
post #727 of 915 Old 12-28-2018, 02:34 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I don't have an Xbox but on PS4 when I set my audio output to Linear PCM I can't hear any dialogue audio. I have to set it to Dolby or DTS to hear it.
JackSawyer is offline  
post #728 of 915 Old 12-28-2018, 02:39 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,384
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8952 Post(s)
Liked: 5728
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackSawyer View Post
I don't have an Xbox but on PS4 when I set my audio output to Linear PCM I can't hear any dialogue audio. I have to set it to Dolby or DTS to hear it.
I haven't tried 7.1 pcm output from my XB1S with the Vizio. Only Atmos. I'll need to switch it to 7.1 pcm output to see if there are issues.

Sent from my Galaxy S8 using Tapatalk

49TB unRAID1a--53TB unRAID2--70TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #729 of 915 Old 12-28-2018, 02:54 PM
Senior Member
 
a61688's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 114
You won't get 5.1 or 7.1 pcm using optical/HDMI arc. Only stereo. Not sure what plugging it directly to the soundbar would result in though. It SHOULD work but I don't own the bar yet so I won't say I'm certain.
a61688 is offline  
post #730 of 915 Old 12-29-2018, 07:17 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,384
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8952 Post(s)
Liked: 5728
Quote:
Originally Posted by a61688 View Post
You won't get 5.1 or 7.1 pcm using optical/HDMI arc. Only stereo. Not sure what plugging it directly to the soundbar would result in though. It SHOULD work but I don't own the bar yet so I won't say I'm certain.
If the XB1 is set to PCM and going to a TV with regular ARc, it should only be outputting stereo PCM, since that is all it can handle. You need eARC to handle multichannel PCM audio.

I know the Vizio can at least handle 5.1PCM. because that is what I needed to send from my SACDs, since the Vizio couldn't handle DSD audio, like the Sony sound bar I had tried.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

49TB unRAID1a--53TB unRAID2--70TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #731 of 915 Old 12-29-2018, 09:47 AM
Newbie
 
asc72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I am debating whether to pick up the 5.1.2 or go for the .4. Some of the early reviews I read on the .2 were that the Atmos effects were a bit weak. Is that the experience of others here or has it been improved with firmware updates?
asc72 is offline  
post #732 of 915 Old 12-29-2018, 10:32 AM
Senior Member
 
a61688's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by asc72 View Post
I am debating whether to pick up the 5.1.2 or go for the .4. Some of the early reviews I read on the .2 were that the Atmos effects were a bit weak. Is that the experience of others here or has it been improved with firmware updates?
It will be weaker than the .4 because it has half the height channel speakers. Think of it this way: price vs performance. Which do you value more than the other? Your answer is the one should probably get.
aaronwt and calfcramp like this.
a61688 is offline  
post #733 of 915 Old 12-29-2018, 05:23 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,384
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8952 Post(s)
Liked: 5728
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackSawyer View Post
I don't have an Xbox but on PS4 when I set my audio output to Linear PCM I can't hear any dialogue audio. I have to set it to Dolby or DTS to hear it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I haven't tried 7.1 pcm output from my XB1S with the Vizio. Only Atmos. I'll need to switch it to 7.1 pcm output to see if there are issues.

Sent from my Galaxy S8 using Tapatalk
I just tried 7.1 pcm output from my XB1S with the Vizio 5.1.2 sound bar. I had no audio issues when playing Black OPs 4. And when using the netflix surround test, the 5.1 channels all showed up when the xbox was set for 7.1 pcm output.( I put it back to Atmos audio when I was finished though)

I still need to pick up a PS4 for that setup. I should have picked one up in November when they were $200. I guess I could move my PS4 Pro/XB1X from another room into the room with the Vizio. But I have no desire to be moving my XB1X or PS4 Pro around.

The Vizio bar has worked great so far with most of the audio formats I've tried. Even with DOlby True HD at 192khz and 96Khz sampling rates. The only thing I've tried so far that didn't work was DSD audio from an SACD.

49TB unRAID1a--53TB unRAID2--70TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #734 of 915 Old 12-30-2018, 08:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
taichi4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3,108
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 533 Post(s)
Liked: 312
Quote:
Originally Posted by a61688 View Post
It will be weaker than the .4 because it has half the height channel speakers. Think of it this way: price vs performance. Which do you value more than the other? Your answer is the one should probably get.

But how does the 5.1.2 sound overall?
taichi4 is offline  
post #735 of 915 Old 12-30-2018, 08:27 AM
Senior Member
 
a61688's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by taichi4 View Post
But how does the 5.1.2 sound overall?
I can only tell you what I see 'on paper' as I do not own any of these yet. The .2 has smaller speakers, a smaller sub and only 2 height channel speakers.
a61688 is offline  
post #736 of 915 Old 12-31-2018, 02:42 PM
Newbie
 
Nu11u5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How well do the upwards facing speakers work for Atmos in a two story room? I suspect that it won’t be ideal but I am considering these sound bars as a replacement for my aging 250W Sony soundbar.
Nu11u5 is offline  
post #737 of 915 Old 12-31-2018, 03:05 PM
Senior Member
 
a61688's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nu11u5 View Post
How well do the upwards facing speakers work for Atmos in a two story room? I suspect that it won’t be ideal but I am considering these sound bars as a replacement for my aging 250W Sony soundbar.
Vaulted ceiling? I could see that being a problem. Probably very 'echo-y' for any sound system. You'd have to play with changing the positions of the rears to get the most of it.
a61688 is offline  
post #738 of 915 Old 12-31-2018, 04:11 PM
Newbie
 
Nu11u5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Vizio Announces Three Dolby Atmos Soundbar Systems Including 5.1.4

Quote:
Originally Posted by a61688 View Post
Vaulted ceiling? I could see that being a problem. Probably very 'echo-y' for any sound system. You'd have to play with changing the positions of the rears to get the most of it.


Not vaulted - it’s flat but 20ft up. The room is actually taller than it is wide.

Looked at Vizio’s manual and they advise no higher than 12ft ceilings. Guess that answers that.

Last edited by Nu11u5; 12-31-2018 at 04:15 PM.
Nu11u5 is offline  
post #739 of 915 Old 12-31-2018, 06:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
taichi4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3,108
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 533 Post(s)
Liked: 312
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nu11u5 View Post
Not vaulted - it’s flat but 20ft up. The room is actually taller than it is wide.

Looked at Vizio’s manual and they advise no higher than 12ft ceilings. Guess that answers that.

With 20 foot ceilings you need ceiling speakers, as no Atmos enabled soundbar, and few if any Atmos enabled towers could muster up the energy to sustain coherent reflected sound with that high a ceiling.


But the new Vizio soundbars have DTS Virtual X, which I have every reason to believe will work pretty well with any of the true Surround models. Virtual X works essentially independently of room acoustics, including ceilings. The 5.1.2 model might work very well in this regard, as Virtual X will be more anchored with the rear speakers even if they're not height enabled.
taichi4 is offline  
post #740 of 915 Old 01-02-2019, 08:48 AM
Newbie
 
Nu11u5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by taichi4 View Post
With 20 foot ceilings you need ceiling speakers, as no Atmos enabled soundbar, and few if any Atmos enabled towers could muster up the energy to sustain coherent reflected sound with that high a ceiling.


But the new Vizio soundbars have DTS Virtual X, which I have every reason to believe will work pretty well with any of the true Surround models. Virtual X works essentially independently of room acoustics, including ceilings. The 5.1.2 model might work very well in this regard, as Virtual X will be more anchored with the rear speakers even if they're not height enabled.


This will only work with content mastered in DTS-X, though - right?
Nu11u5 is offline  
post #741 of 915 Old 01-02-2019, 01:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
taichi4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3,108
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 533 Post(s)
Liked: 312
I don't specifically know the answer to that, but I know that Virtual X will up mix standard multichannel sound (7.1.4), and of course you can probably opt to listen to multichannel rather than Atmos from most sources and enjoyed height.


And it may do something with Atmos… I'm just not sure. But Virtual X seems a good option if you can't put speakers in your vaulted ceiling, and I have the sneaky suspicion that Virtual X will work better with any number of surround speakers then it will from something like the Yamaha YAS 207. And possibly the newer soundbars will add in a little additional processing to the mix, more fully exploiting the potential of Virtual X.


Remember, the forebears of DTS demonstrated a complete 360°sound field using only two speakers in their laboratory, and so psychoacoustics is a very interesting thing.
taichi4 is offline  
post #742 of 915 Old 01-02-2019, 06:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
taichi4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3,108
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 533 Post(s)
Liked: 312
Well how about that. I had some gift cards for Costco, and was thinking of picking up the Vizio 5.1.2 for $349.99 (the price last night, and I think this morning), and as of this evening the price shot up $100, making it more expensive than Amazon!


Now I have two complaints against Cosco, the other being dress socks that tear when you pull them off your feet.
taichi4 is offline  
post #743 of 915 Old 01-02-2019, 07:36 PM
Member
 
x3angel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What happens when you play DTS-X content through this device? Does it use the DTS X VIRTUAL affect?

Sent from my SM-G955W using Tapatalk
x3angel is offline  
post #744 of 915 Old 01-02-2019, 07:45 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,384
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8952 Post(s)
Liked: 5728
Quote:
Originally Posted by x3angel View Post
What happens when you play DTS-X content through this device? Does it use the DTS X VIRTUAL affect?

Sent from my SM-G955W using Tapatalk
Yes. The bar gets the DTS-HD MA audio and uses the virtual DTS effect.

49TB unRAID1a--53TB unRAID2--70TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #745 of 915 Old 01-03-2019, 07:39 AM
Member
 
snoopysony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: The Centre of the Universe. Toronto, Canada
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mauer View Post
Anyone here with the 5.1.2 system and an Xbox One X? Is there any input or audio lag when the Xbox is connected directly to the soundbar via HDMI?
I have the 5.1.2 and an Xbox 1X that's plugged into the soundbar via HDMI and I notice no input or audio lag.
Mauer likes this.
snoopysony is offline  
post #746 of 915 Old 01-03-2019, 07:41 AM
Member
 
snoopysony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: The Centre of the Universe. Toronto, Canada
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by taichi4 View Post
Are there any detailed owner reviews of the 5.1.2? Professional reviews seem mostly positive, but with some criticism of ultimate sound quality. Because of the low prices on this unit at Costco, I'm tempted.
I haven't done a detailed review yet, but the sound can get very loud with little to no distortion, of course it depends on what you're listening to. Also, the sound is crisp and clean (at least to my ears).
snoopysony is offline  
post #747 of 915 Old 01-04-2019, 02:00 PM
Member
 
Millicurie999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wireless Rear Speakers connection

I brought the 5.1.4 but haven't set it up due to ongoing home renovation. My question is therefore theoretical at this stage....I know that the rear speakers are connected to the wireless subwoofer. However, if for WAF reason, I don't want to have wires connecting the rear speakers to the sub, can I add a wireless hub (RCAs) to beam the output from the sub to the rear speakers?



I guess I would need something like this. (x 2; one for the each side).

The sound quality isn't that important, they are surround channels after all; more important is feasibility. Thoughts?
Millicurie999 is offline  
post #748 of 915 Old 01-04-2019, 02:40 PM
Newbie
 
Nu11u5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Vizio Announces Three Dolby Atmos Soundbar Systems Including 5.1.4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Millicurie999 View Post
I know that the rear speakers are connected to the wireless subwoofer.



..!

Why has none of the information I’ve read on this system mentioned this. Everything made it sound like the wired rear speakers must hook up to the soundbar/receiver and that only the sub used wireless.

This fact is a huge game changer since my room layout would be very difficult to accommodate wires.
Nu11u5 is offline  
post #749 of 915 Old 01-04-2019, 03:55 PM
Senior Member
 
a61688's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Wires from surrounds go to sub, sub is installed to power behind your couch somewhere. It wirelessly communicates with the sound bar up front. The wires you are worried about....... are hidden behind your couch.
Anago likes this.

Last edited by a61688; 01-04-2019 at 04:14 PM.
a61688 is offline  
post #750 of 915 Old 01-04-2019, 04:31 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,384
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8952 Post(s)
Liked: 5728
Quote:
Originally Posted by Millicurie999 View Post
I brought the 5.1.4 but haven't set it up due to ongoing home renovation. My question is therefore theoretical at this stage....I know that the rear speakers are connected to the wireless subwoofer. However, if for WAF reason, I don't want to have wires connecting the rear speakers to the sub, can I add a wireless hub (RCAs) to beam the output from the sub to the rear speakers?



I guess I would need something like this. (x 2; one for the each side).

The sound quality isn't that important, they are surround channels after all; more important is feasibility. Thoughts?
That looks like even more wires to deal with.
a61688 and guacamoleparty like this.

49TB unRAID1a--53TB unRAID2--70TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Soundbars

Tags
atmos , soundbar , Vizio

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off