Sl10yg Owner's Thread - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 148 Old 05-05-2019, 03:33 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Sl10yg Owner's Thread

Hi Peeps, I have bought myself the LG SL10YG the other day and I have connected it into my LG B8 via the TV (ARC). I have a few questions to the people who had the 2108 version, as I am gathering there would not be a heap that is different apart from the dtsx. What setup do you usually look for as in the speaker levels? What Sound effect do you prefer - Standard, Movie, Music or ASC (Adaptive Sound COntrol)? When watching Netflix the bar its self does not indicate Atmos so I am not too sure on that part.

Cheers all and ask me any questions if you need, even though I am not super knowledgeable.
ryekar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 148 Old 05-05-2019, 03:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Hi, how much distance is between the bottom of the B8's screen and the bottom of the stand? The SL10YG seems to be a bit taller than last year's SK10Y. Does it block the bottom of B8's screen at all?
bobohobo2kx is offline  
post #3 of 148 Old 05-05-2019, 04:08 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi Bob, to be honest, it is borderline too high. But I can turn my TV on without having to stand up. I was surprised at how big this soundbar is. I am not sure which 2018 model I tried first but size wise, the 2019 model blows it out of the water.

Hope that helps mate.
ryekar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 148 Old 05-07-2019, 11:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1,021
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 656 Post(s)
Liked: 232
Does the SL10 supports eArc?

Sony 65 A9F, LG 65 E9
New_to_4K is offline  
post #5 of 148 Old 05-07-2019, 08:17 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi New, I do believe the LG SL10YG does not support eArc which is a strange omission considering their 2019 TVs come with eArc. Hope that helps.
ryekar is offline  
post #6 of 148 Old 05-30-2019, 04:49 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
SL10YG stopped playing Atmos

Hi Peeps. My SL10YG has stopped playing Atmos overnight. I have it connected to an LG B8 via the ARC. When I put on Netflix and play a title that has Atmos, my soundbar screen will flick Movie/ARC with no sound, instead of Dolby Atmos/ARC which it was doing. Any ideas?

Cheers
ryekar is offline  
post #7 of 148 Old 05-30-2019, 05:03 PM
Member
 
Steve Sleeve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Do you have an atmos blu ray or 4K disc to test? Don't think I would trust any streaming to determine a fault.
Zoland2020 likes this.

Denon AVR-X6500h Klipsch RP-8000f RP-440C (4) RP-150MS sides in parallel RB-51 rears, 4 JBL C67P pendants for atmos, 2 monolith 12" subs
Epson 5040UB, Sony Ubp-X700, AC infintiy T9, Nvidia Shield, 142" 2.35 silver ticket screen
Steve Sleeve is offline  
post #8 of 148 Old 05-30-2019, 05:51 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Dohring View Post
Do you have an atmos blu ray or 4K disc to test? Don't think I would trust any streaming to determine a fault.
My blu ray player should turn up sometime today and I will test it out.

Cheers
ryekar is offline  
post #9 of 148 Old 05-31-2019, 06:18 AM
Member
 
pooloddity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Somerville, Ma
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I encountered the same problem. Not at home to verify but I believe I had eARC enabled and once disabled I have not encountered that problem since.

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
pooloddity is offline  
post #10 of 148 Old 05-31-2019, 08:53 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Dolby Atmos over ARC is compressed. I recommend using an Apple 4K TV or something similar and using HDMI 1 or 2 on the sound bar.
marv710 is offline  
post #11 of 148 Old 05-31-2019, 05:52 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Ok so here is an update. If I am in the movie setting on the soundbar, it refuses to change to atmos. So, on the speaker app, I hit the standard option and it worked. I then tried being on standard and playing an atmos title and it worked. My UBK90 arrived and I used Netflix through that. I tried the movie setting and then playing an atmos title and it automatically switched to atmos. I am wondering now if it is the tv app of Netflix.


Cheers
ryekar is offline  
post #12 of 148 Old 07-10-2019, 10:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Soccerdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: South of NJ Turnpike
Posts: 1,303
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 398 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Sl10yg Owner's Thread

I connected my Samsung 4k DVD player to the LG SL 10YG soundbar dropped in a 4k disc with Dolby Atmos the pic is on but no sound & the soundbar keeps flushing but no sound coming out , switched the sound to regular Dolby I get the sound. The soundbar plays Dolby Atmos from Apple TV with no issues

. HT: JVC RS2000, S Studio Tek 130 1.3 Gain screen, , Panasonic UB820 .
Soccerdude is offline  
post #13 of 148 Old 07-11-2019, 05:22 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Make sure you’re 4K player is outputting Bitstream.

But more importantly reset you’re SL10YG.
This happens to me occasionally reset normally sorts it out.
Goonerdude70 is offline  
post #14 of 148 Old 07-20-2019, 01:32 AM
Newbie
 
flexNraptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Just installed the spk8-s I’m not sure to turn surround on or off.
flexNraptor is offline  
post #15 of 148 Old 07-24-2019, 03:35 PM
Member
 
rebirth24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there any other way to control this device other than IR? I mean it is on the network so can we use any kind of web commands to call direct Functions rather than having to scroll through functions? Discreet commands or anything? LG did a terrible job of control functionality with this device.

Last edited by rebirth24; 07-24-2019 at 03:57 PM.
rebirth24 is offline  
post #16 of 148 Old 07-29-2019, 09:16 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
HI ,

Need technical support .

i have SL10YG soundbar , Apple tv 4K & Samsung QLED TV . Samsung dont support for dolby atmos for Netflix so i bought apple tv .
I connected Apple TV to soundbar by Pass through , when i play Nextflix dolby atmos titles it works fine . Sound bar shows Dolby Atmos on display .
When i play 5.1 audio content on netflix & amazon, sound bar display PCM . I tried many setting but no success.

kindly guide
sushant yerunkar is offline  
post #17 of 148 Old 07-29-2019, 10:05 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by flexNraptor View Post
Just installed the spk8-s I’m not sure to turn surround on or off.
press & hold 5 sec button above night mode .
Surrond ON - OFF will displayed on soundbar
sushant yerunkar is offline  
post #18 of 148 Old 07-29-2019, 11:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
cydeweyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 719
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 456 Post(s)
Liked: 442
Quote:
Originally Posted by sushant yerunkar View Post
HI ,



Need technical support .



i have SL10YG soundbar , Apple tv 4K & Samsung QLED TV . Samsung dont support for dolby atmos for Netflix so i bought apple tv .

I connected Apple TV to soundbar by Pass through , when i play Nextflix dolby atmos titles it works fine . Sound bar shows Dolby Atmos on display .

When i play 5.1 audio content on netflix & amazon, sound bar display PCM . I tried many setting but no success.



kindly guide


AppleTV outputs audio as PCM
cydeweyz is online now  
post #19 of 148 Old 09-23-2019, 06:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I just got my sl10yg hooked to a Sony 800xm2 bluray player and LG C9. When I press the display button on my bluray remote it reads Dolby TrueHD 7.1ch 48kHz 5Mbps. HDMI OUTPUT Dolby TrueHD 2.0ch 48kHz. When I put a dts HD ma bluray in it outputs 7.1ch.

The soundbar says atmos but it sounds like all Dolby audio is down mixing to 2 channel. DTS sounds ok but not really getting good surround because the surround speakers are on the sides of the bar.

The SPK-8s don't add much because most movies just don't have much for rear speakers. It would be better if the SPK-8s were surrounds rather than rears.

Very disappointed so far. I have a flat 8' smooth ceiling and getting zero height from the up firing speakers. If I can't figure out how to get multichannel with Dolby I'm sending it back.
sgilmore62 is offline  
post #20 of 148 Old 09-23-2019, 06:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
What is strange is when I toggle through other audio tracks on the disk like foreign languages and even English audio description outputs 5.1. Only Dolby 7.1 down mixes to 2.0.
sgilmore62 is offline  
post #21 of 148 Old 09-26-2019, 03:32 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Does anyone know why my ubp-x800m2 is only outputting Dolby TrueHD 2.0? Have Lg C9 and SL10YG soundbar.

All other bluray audio formats output as they should.
sgilmore62 is offline  
post #22 of 148 Old 09-28-2019, 06:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 20
So I've been loving this soundbar but there is one issue that is annoying me. Sometimes there is a faint high pitched frequency sound coming from the soundbar, primarily during dialogue. I've noticed this so far with 2 shows, one is a DTS track via Plex and the other is DD+ via Netflix. Anyone know what could be causing this?
Reckoner89 is offline  
post #23 of 148 Old 09-29-2019, 11:54 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Meh

So I bought the SL10YG sound bar as well as the SPK8-S wireless rear speakers to go with my new LG E9 OLED and....honestly just haven't been too impressed. I feel like most of the sound just comes from the sound bar and there's no real perception of surround sound at all. During action scenes I have trouble making out any dialogue since the booms and bangs just drown it out. Could it be that my speakers are at sub-optimal settings or perhaps I need a better HDMI capable that is "ARC-certified"? Spent a good chunk of change on this system and would appreciate any recommendations!


-
minwoo1983 is offline  
post #24 of 148 Old 09-29-2019, 01:16 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hey guys,

I got a sl10yg and a C9 about 3 weeks ago. It’s been awesome, but yesterday an annoyance appeared. My soundbar will lose all audio. I played with various settings and the sound EVENTUALLY comes back on. Today, it happened again and it took about 30 minutes of playing with it before the audio returned.

I’m using the HDMI passthrough and the video remains, so it doesn’t appear to be a connection issue. Any ideas?
Defenestrator19 is offline  
post #25 of 148 Old 09-30-2019, 03:29 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Defenestrator19 View Post
Hey guys,

I got a sl10yg and a C9 about 3 weeks ago. It’s been awesome, but yesterday an annoyance appeared. My soundbar will lose all audio. I played with various settings and the sound EVENTUALLY comes back on. Today, it happened again and it took about 30 minutes of playing with it before the audio returned.

I’m using the HDMI passthrough and the video remains, so it doesn’t appear to be a connection issue. Any ideas?
Had the exact same problem for over a week now, was pretty much ready to return it today but one thing that worked is unplugging the sound bar from the outlet and then re-plugging and trying it again. Would appreciate it if someone had a better solution.
minwoo1983 is offline  
post #26 of 148 Old 09-30-2019, 05:42 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by minwoo1983 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Defenestrator19 View Post
Hey guys,

I got a sl10yg and a C9 about 3 weeks ago. It’️s been awesome, but yesterday an annoyance appeared. My soundbar will lose all audio. I played with various settings and the sound EVENTUALLY comes back on. Today, it happened again and it took about 30 minutes of playing with it before the audio returned.

I’️m using the HDMI passthrough and the video remains, so it doesn’️t appear to be a connection issue. Any ideas?
Had the exact same problem for over a week now, was pretty much ready to return it today but one thing that worked is unplugging the sound bar from the outlet and then re-plugging and trying it again. Would appreciate it if someone had a better solution.
I just ordered a couple of high end HDMI cables to see if that clears up the issue. Though the ones I have are hi speed, they were only $10 so they could just not be quite up to the task. I will post an update if the new cables fix it.
Defenestrator19 is offline  
post #27 of 148 Old 10-01-2019, 04:42 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Defenestrator19 View Post
I just ordered a couple of high end HDMI cables to see if that clears up the issue. Though the ones I have are hi speed, they were only $10 so they could just not be quite up to the task. I will post an update if the new cables fix it.
Just got new high-speed/ethernet cables myself today and still the same problem...sound bar plays no audio on HDMI ARC or through any output for that matter. The only fix seems to be unplugging the power source and plugging back in. Super annoying. Anyone know of a fix?
minwoo1983 is offline  
post #28 of 148 Old 10-04-2019, 08:52 AM
Member
 
zulu934's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Mount Dora, Florida
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Easy fix. Just unplug and than plug back in. It's worked for me several times.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Defenestrator19 View Post
Hey guys,

I got a sl10yg and a C9 about 3 weeks ago. It’s been awesome, but yesterday an annoyance appeared. My soundbar will lose all audio. I played with various settings and the sound EVENTUALLY comes back on. Today, it happened again and it took about 30 minutes of playing with it before the audio returned.

I’m using the HDMI passthrough and the video remains, so it doesn’t appear to be a connection issue. Any ideas?
zulu934 is offline  
post #29 of 148 Old 10-04-2019, 08:54 AM
Member
 
zulu934's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Mount Dora, Florida
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Easy fix for no sound

[QUOTE=Defenestrator19;58622612]Hey guys,

I got a sl10yg and a C9 about 3 weeks ago. It’s been awesome, but yesterday an annoyance appeared. My soundbar will lose all audio. I played with various settings and the sound EVENTUALLY comes back on. Today, it happened again and it took about 30 minutes of playing with it before the audio returned.

I’m using the HDMI passthrough and the video remains, so it doesn’t appear to be a connection issue. Any ideas?[/QUOT


I have the same setup. Just unplug the soundbar and then plug it back in. That's worked for me several times.
zulu934 is offline  
post #30 of 148 Old 10-05-2019, 07:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: WI
Posts: 3,139
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2544 Post(s)
Liked: 1249
Can anyone comment on the soundbar's music sound quality...?

And it's 24-bit upsampling of CDs, etc.?

Shopping List:
TV: LG CX/GX; Samsung...?
Blu-ray: Panasonic UB820
AVR/Pre-pro: Marantz 8805/7705 or 8012, or Yamaha 5200 or 3080
Speakers: GE Triton One.R, or ML ElectroMotion ESL X
New24K is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Soundbars

Tags
lgsl10yg , sound lgc9

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off