Samsung Q90R Soundbar - such good sound - SO many bugs - Page 25 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 152Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 768 Old 05-11-2020, 03:49 PM
Member
 
jwpatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I updated to the latest firmware version 1010.5 via the SmartThings app and have e-Arc working with my LG C9. However my rears and sub are still at 0133 instead of the 0136. How do I force them to update? Is there a procedure for that which someone can help me with?

EDIT: I got it to work by re-updating via USB. Follow the procedure listed online of unplugging and replugging in the sub and then the rears. Press the vol button on the remote for a second, and then hold the down button (on the circle) for about 5 seconds until the display says updating. Takes about 10 minutes.
Sina Moghbel likes this.

Last edited by jwpatt; 05-11-2020 at 05:23 PM.
jwpatt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 768 Old 05-11-2020, 05:00 PM
Newbie
 
illa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwpatt View Post
I updated to the latest firmware version 1010.5 via the SmartThings app and have e-Arc working with my LG C9. However my rears and sub are still at 0133 instead of the 0136. How do I force them to update? Is there a procedure for that which someone can help me with?

Can you also advise where to find sub and rears firmware info
Thanks


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
illa is offline  
post #723 of 768 Old 05-11-2020, 05:19 PM
Member
 
jwpatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by illa View Post
Can you also advise where to find sub and rears firmware info
Thanks


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Hold down the settings button on the remote for 5 seconds while the soundbar is off. The display will scroll with the firmware info.
jwpatt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #724 of 768 Old 05-11-2020, 05:26 PM
Newbie
 
illa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwpatt View Post
Hold down the settings button on the remote for 5 seconds while the soundbar is off. The display will scroll with the firmware info.
very helpful
thx
all mine are 0.133, it was some other info running on digital display, not sure how to use it.
would be interesting to learn how to force it to 0.136
illa is offline  
post #725 of 768 Old 05-11-2020, 06:23 PM
Member
 
jwpatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by illa View Post
very helpful
thx
all mine are 0.133, it was some other info running on digital display, not sure how to use it.
would be interesting to learn how to force it to 0.136
See my edited post #721 above. I was able to get it to update the rears and sub
jwpatt is offline  
post #726 of 768 Old 05-12-2020, 02:02 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Had this Set for a few days, but had trouble with the Sub. Almost no bass no matter what I tried (except on Atmos Tracks - there was bass. Every other Source, DD, DTS ... almost nothing).
And the Woofer made some strange noises, even on low volume (clicking, popping, something like that). Maybe had a defect, who knows.
Anyway, after our problems with a MusicCast System I am still looking for a good solution and wonder if I should give the Q90R another chance.
Mostly Movies and TV-Series, sometimes a little bit of Music streaming via BT from a Smartphone. Players are an ATV 4k and a Xbox One X. Netflix, Disney+, a NAS with some movies.

The Bar itself was good, the rears were ... okay. But the Subwoofer, well, like I said, on Atmos good but with all other like DD the Sub 100 from the MusicCast or the Sub from a JBL 5.1 Surround was way, way better. Have to choose today so, don´t know which to choose. Local Dealer has Sonos Beam (+Sub and One), Bose 500/700, JBL 5.1, Q90R, Sony ZF9 ... and some more expensive ones.
jackb71 is offline  
post #727 of 768 Old 05-13-2020, 09:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,342
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 931 Post(s)
Liked: 518
Does anyone have a preference with using a cable box Comcast etc, connecting it into tv/tvarc/ into soundbar, or reverse box into soundbar and through arc into tv. Especially with consistancy and quality of audio.

Lg oled65G7P
Panasonic UB9000 . pioneer lx500 uhd blu ray players
atv4k 2nd gen cube, roku ultra 2019
Toshiba Xa2 HD-DVD
Samsung HW-Q90R ZA soundbar
william06 is offline  
post #728 of 768 Old 05-13-2020, 03:35 PM
Member
 
StevieG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post
Does anyone have a preference with using a cable box Comcast etc, connecting it into tv/tvarc/ into soundbar, or reverse box into soundbar and through arc into tv. Especially with consistancy and quality of audio.
If everything is working correctly, there should not be an audio quality difference between the 2 approaches in your case. If you had a source that used lossless audio like Dolby TrueHD (e.g. a bluray player), and your TV did not do EARC so cannot pass lossless audio, then that would be a reason to go to the soundbar first and then to the TV over the ARC connection. But your cable box is going to be outputting compressed audio, so in terms of audio quality it won't make a difference either way.

Another consideration is ease of source switching. In my case, my preference would be to run the cable box into the TV, then ARC to soundbar. That way I could switch between TV apps (Netflix, Prime) and the cable input seamlessly using the TV's UI, and audio would always flow the same way - TV to soundbar over ARC. In my case I cannot do that, because my Samsung Q90R TV is introducing a horrible audio delay (for the audio sent to the soundbar over ARC) for HDMI inputs. So instead I run the cable box into the soundbar, which passes through the video to the TV over HDMI ARC. So to watch cable, I have to switch to the soundbar as a source on the TV, and the soundbar has to switch from ARC input to HMDI1 input, which frankly just doesn't always work well - TV input assignment has limitations when the input is over the ARC connection, CEC does not work right, sometimes need to turn the cable box off and on, or turn the soundbar off and on, for the soundbar to recognize there is a signal on the HDMI1 input, etc. It's just kinda flaky. Shouldn't be with a Samsung TV and Samsung soundbar, but it is.

Hoping Samsung fixes the HDMI audio delay issue on the 2019 Q series TVs so I can run the cable box directly to the TV and make it all work more cleanly.

Last edited by StevieG; 05-13-2020 at 03:57 PM.
StevieG is offline  
post #729 of 768 Old 05-13-2020, 03:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,342
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 931 Post(s)
Liked: 518
Thanks for the feed back. I am currently using my x1box into my lgg7p tv and all other devises into my q90r soundbar. The reason I approached the subject is there is sometimes a big variation in sound quality in some broadcast stations. And I am guessing it’s because of the stations themselves.

Last edited by william06; 05-14-2020 at 05:20 AM.
william06 is offline  
post #730 of 768 Old 05-13-2020, 06:48 PM
Member
 
redflamingolingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I'm running my Ps4, shield TV, and 4k blu ray player to soundbar and then to my LG C9. Is there any benefit to running the source to the TV directly and then running EArc to the soundbar? Is Earc only useful for watching apps on the TV or passing audio through the TV and into the soundbar? It doesn't matter if I'm just running everything from soundbar to tV, rifhr?
redflamingolingo is offline  
post #731 of 768 Old 05-13-2020, 08:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 0
so no one else found that the center speaker lost emersion and dynamic after the firmware update? its getting annoying after the update I have to turn the volume up till 19/20 for non Atmos movies when before was on 15/16.. same settings just different firmware... I looks like the update just killed the soundbar immersion
Daniel Barroqueiro is offline  
post #732 of 768 Old 05-14-2020, 06:11 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Guys, by random disconecting, did you mean random silent/no sound although soundbar is on?
As I do experience this randomly. Silence for a couple seconds, changing sound mode or volume automatically get the sounds back.
I'm confused, is this what other people also complaining about?

My F/W is as follow

M-0128.0
B-1010.5
H-0051.0
FD-0040.0
W-0240.0 (instead of 0241.0 that other people have)
S-0136.0
RR-0136.0
L-0136.0
Paul Lie is offline  
post #733 of 768 Old 05-14-2020, 01:49 PM
Member
 
effadj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terencewong85 View Post
I have a Chromecast ultra that I plugged into the Soundbar, but playing any media through it would result in intermittent drops of sound. Just for a second or two and then the sound restores again.
I also see that exact problem (1-2 secs drop, then up to 30 secs with audio, then repeats) but in my case, it's a ROKU or a UHD player. The dropouts only start after a couple days of use which is weird. To stop it I have to remove the input then attach it back. The 1010.5 firmware is installed.
effadj is offline  
post #734 of 768 Old 05-14-2020, 03:21 PM
Member
 
redflamingolingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Lie View Post
Guys, by random disconecting, did you mean random silent/no sound although soundbar is on?
As I do experience this randomly. Silence for a couple seconds, changing sound mode or volume automatically get the sounds back.
I'm confused, is this what other people also complaining about?

My F/W is as follow

M-0128.0
B-1010.5
H-0051.0
FD-0040.0
W-0240.0 (instead of 0241.0 that other people have)
S-0136.0
RR-0136.0
L-0136.0
I also have the W at 0240.0. And during the test sound the TW L and TW R sounds are weak.

What is the W speaker? Should it sound kinda weak in the test mode?
redflamingolingo is offline  
post #735 of 768 Old 05-15-2020, 12:44 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 5
From a thread in the Samsung Forums

M = Main Processor

B = Backend Processor

H = HDMI

FD = DSP

W = Wireless TX

S = Sub Woofer RX

(Q90R Only)

RR = Rear Right RX

Rl = Rear Left RX



As far anyone can ascertain the W is region related. 240 seems to be euro based and appears to be the version obtained when updating from version 1007.9.
241 seems to be obtained when updating from 1008. Certainly this holds true for many of us UK owners who installed 1008 and now have 241. It is possibly related to regional requirements for power saving or some such?
This is all conjecture as such. and theorised from various contributors over on the Samsung site.

Last edited by steveex2003; 05-15-2020 at 12:58 AM.
steveex2003 is offline  
post #736 of 768 Old 05-15-2020, 01:17 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi,

What settings do people general use for there individual speakers? Do you tend leave them all at 0 or worth raising any go them? Also what is virtual surround? does that work with all content? thanks
Mitchellsx is offline  
post #737 of 768 Old 05-15-2020, 04:14 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
What settings do people tend to use with your speaker levels? I have a high ceiling not sure if too raise the front and rear top speaker levels. thanks
Mitchellsx is offline  
post #738 of 768 Old 05-16-2020, 10:11 AM
Member
 
Phades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Does anyone have this soundbad paired with a Q80T QLED? The TV turns off the bar just fine, but they don't power on together. It reverts to TV speakers and I have to change the speaker settings back to sound bar (which will turn it on) or grab the remote for the soundboard and turn it on separately. Kind of odd.
Phades is offline  
post #739 of 768 Old 05-16-2020, 07:32 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Connected to my LG B9, i’m playing atmos content using the Netflix app built in the LG tv and its showing eArc, atmos on the soundbar display.

However, the sound from the rears is very low and only noticeable when you put your ear right next to them. I have them turned up to +4 as well. So sound is coming out but at very low volumes (for Atmos content).

I was also playing another movie that was 5.1 audio on Netflix and the rear speakers were noticeably loud. Playing Forza Horizon 4 on Xbox one also produced loud noticeable sound coming from the rears.

Any reason why the Dolby atmos shows and movies have quiet audio coming from the rears?
Uhdimzy is offline  
post #740 of 768 Old 05-16-2020, 07:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 532
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 374 Post(s)
Liked: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uhdimzy View Post
Connected to my LG B9, i’m playing atmos content using the Netflix app built in the LG tv and its showing eArc, atmos on the soundbar display.



However, the sound from the rears is very low and only noticeable when you put your ear right next to them. I have them turned up to +4 as well. So sound is coming out but at very low volumes (for Atmos content).



I was also playing another movie that was 5.1 audio on Netflix and the rear speakers were noticeably loud. Playing Forza Horizon 4 on Xbox one also produced loud noticeable sound coming from the rears.



Any reason why the Dolby atmos shows and movies have quiet audio coming from the rears?
It might just be the stream. Have you tried an atmos movie on disc? That way it's uncompressed and lossless

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk
Damar1979 is offline  
post #741 of 768 Old 05-16-2020, 07:38 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damar1979 View Post
It might just be the stream. Have you tried an atmos movie on disc? That way it's uncompressed and lossless

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk
Nope, I only have an Xbox One S that I can play disks from and not sure if that will allow me to get the best atoms experience. Is everyone here who is saying they are getting amazing sound from Atmos content using a bluray player? I’m new to this so wondering if the Netflix app is the problem
Uhdimzy is offline  
post #742 of 768 Old 05-16-2020, 07:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 532
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 374 Post(s)
Liked: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uhdimzy View Post
Nope, I only have an Xbox One S that I can play disks from and not sure if that will allow me to get the best atoms experience. Is everyone here who is saying they are getting amazing sound from Atmos content using a bluray player? I’m new to this so wondering if the Netflix app is the problem
Definitely. While streaming atmos is all good, it's also "lossy" since it's based on Dolby Digital +. It will do the job, but it's also kind of watered down since it has a limited bandwidth to work with from the internet/cable provider. Now if you were using a 4k blu ray player, the disc would be lossless... meaning the Atmos you would hear would be based on Dolby True HD. It's a lot more concentrated and rich sound wise. Like take a movie that has Atmos that you can stream, and then play the same movie with Atmos on disc..... you will definitely notice the difference.

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk

Last edited by Damar1979; 05-16-2020 at 07:47 PM.
Damar1979 is offline  
post #743 of 768 Old 05-18-2020, 09:24 AM
Senior Member
 
SlackerX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Have any of you hooked up a 4K Blu Ray player to your LG B9/C9 or 2020 Samsung TV and tried to push the full bandwidth Atmos sound over eARC to the Q90R sound bar after confirming the update on all pieces/speakers?
rpden522 likes this.
SlackerX is offline  
post #744 of 768 Old 05-20-2020, 10:51 AM
Member
 
Phades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 25
With the latest update has anyone else had issues with occasional crackling/popping while playing via eARC? It's only occasional, but I'm finding it very annoying. If I turn off eARC and just do regular ARC, it goes away. I can't be sure if it's the TV (Samsung Q80T) or the Soundbar that is causing the issue.
Phades is offline  
post #745 of 768 Old 05-22-2020, 09:56 AM
Senior Member
 
wgerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Do not if this has been posted but there are some frequency specs.

https://www.rtings.com/soundbar/reviews/samsung/hw-q90r

Low-Frequency Extension
28.3 Hz
High-Frequency Extension
16.7 kHz
StevieG likes this.
wgerman is offline  
post #746 of 768 Old 05-24-2020, 02:25 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: US
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phades View Post
With the latest update has anyone else had issues with occasional crackling/popping while playing via eARC? It's only occasional, but I'm finding it very annoying. If I turn off eARC and just do regular ARC, it goes away. I can't be sure if it's the TV (Samsung Q80T) or the Soundbar that is causing the issue.
I have an LG CX hooked up to q90r via eARC and I just noticed a slight pop/tick every so often when I was stream a movie over Vudu that had 5.1. I have not noticed it yet while watching 4k disc with Atmos, bit will be on the look out.
jbdred is offline  
post #747 of 768 Old 05-24-2020, 02:30 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: US
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlackerX View Post
Have any of you hooked up a 4K Blu Ray player to your LG B9/C9 or 2020 Samsung TV and tried to push the full bandwidth Atmos sound over eARC to the Q90R sound bar after confirming the update on all pieces/speakers?
I have an LG CX TV and a ln LG UBK90 4k player hooked up to TV inputs and am using eARC and it seems fine. I did have a few issues on set up getting eARC to be detected had to do a hdmi handshake reset and it to show up. Its been fine since.
SlackerX likes this.
jbdred is offline  
post #748 of 768 Old 05-25-2020, 04:49 AM
Senior Member
 
SlackerX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbdred View Post
I have an LG CX TV and a ln LG UBK90 4k player hooked up to TV inputs and am using eARC and it seems fine. I did have a few issues on set up getting eARC to be detected had to do a hdmi handshake reset and it to show up. Its been fine since.
Have you been able to confirm that blu-ray player is able to pass full fat Dolby TrueHD or DTS-HD Master Audio through the eARC connection to the soundbar?

Last edited by SlackerX; 05-25-2020 at 04:53 AM.
SlackerX is offline  
post #749 of 768 Old 05-26-2020, 12:48 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Just wondering if anyone has the same setup and issue I have or could test it.

I currently have my Sky Q 2tb box and my Apple TV 4K box plugged directly into the soundbar and then soundbar out to TV. Reason for this setup is my tv does not pass atmos so have it linked this way.
The issue I am having is the Apple TV 4K keeps auto switching back to its HDMI port. So I can be watching Apple TV then switch to sky, it then switches me back to Apple TV. It will keep doing this unless I turn Apple TV off via the plug. Is this the Apple TV or is that the soundbar that has the issue? Thanks all
Mitchellsx is offline  
post #750 of 768 Old 05-26-2020, 06:03 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: US
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlackerX View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbdred View Post
I have an LG CX TV and a ln LG UBK90 4k player hooked up to TV inputs and am using eARC and it seems fine. I did have a few issues on set up getting eARC to be detected had to do a hdmi handshake reset and it to show up. Its been fine since.
Have you been able to confirm that blu-ray player is able to pass full fat Dolby TrueHD or DTS-HD Master Audio through the eARC connection to the soundbar?
I am not sure how one would tell this. The sound bar screen just says eARC and the says Dolby Atmos.
jbdred is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Soundbars

Tags
Q900 , q90r , Samsung , soundbar

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off