Soundbars and hdmi switchers - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 12-03-2019, 07:24 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 1
JBL Bar 3.1 upgrade to JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

I connect my DIRECTV into one HDMI port and then I connect the other HDMI port into my Apple TV. If I upgrade to the 5.1 set up it only has one HDMI port, what would be a logical work around?

The 3.1 has three HDMI ports where as the 5.1 only has one.I would really like to upgrade especially because of the surround sound but I also don’t want to not be able to use my Apple TV at the same time.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Budala007 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 12-03-2019, 01:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
altpensacola's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by Budala007 View Post
I connect my DIRECTV into one HDMI port and then I connect the other HDMI port into my Apple TV. If I upgrade to the 5.1 set up it only has one HDMI port, what would be a logical work around?

The 3.1 has three HDMI ports where as the 5.1 only has one.I would really like to upgrade especially because of the surround sound but I also don’t want to not be able to use my Apple TV at the same time.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
https://www.jbl.com/bar-series/JBL+Bar+5.1.html

Reading the specs on above page says the 5.1 does have 3 HDMI inputs.

Music, more music.
altpensacola is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 12-03-2019, 02:26 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Wrong one. Look up JBL Bar 5.1 Surround


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Budala007 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 Old 12-05-2019, 06:23 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Soundbars and hdmi switchers

I have a BenQ HT2050A projector, DirecTv box along with an Apple TV box. I plan on getting the JBL Bar 5.1 Surround soundbar that only has 1 hdmi input and an hdmi arc.

I was thinking of going with a hdmi switcher like this one. HDMI Switch 4K HDMI Splitter-Techole Aluminum Bi-Directional HDMI Switcher 2 Input 1 Output, HDMI Switch Splitter 2 x 1/1 x 2.

Would I ever run into any issues while using an hdmi switcher over time? As far as lag time goes? Or would it be better to use a soundbar that has multiple hdmi inputs?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Budala007 is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 12-05-2019, 11:14 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I have a 5-input, 1-output switcher connected to my soundbar for various game consoles. While I can't speak for your specific soundbar/switcher, mine has worked pretty much flawlessly for me so far. The only issues I've experienced are temporary communication issues between the TV and soundbar where if I switch the source back and forth on the switcher, the soundbar doesn't always output the signal immediately. But if you're only using two devices and not switching between them too frequently, that should work quite well. No lag or anything.
bowling16 is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 12-05-2019, 05:11 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by bowling16 View Post
I have a 5-input, 1-output switcher connected to my soundbar for various game consoles. While I can't speak for your specific soundbar/switcher, mine has worked pretty much flawlessly for me so far. The only issues I've experienced are temporary communication issues between the TV and soundbar where if I switch the source back and forth on the switcher, the soundbar doesn't always output the signal immediately. But if you're only using two devices and not switching between them too frequently, that should work quite well. No lag or anything.

My question is how I plug everything in correctly? Since my soundbar has hdmi ARC, do I use that or do I have to get an hdmi switcher that has an hdmi ARC since I’m also using the linked hdmi extender?

Here’s what I have now:

-OREI 164-Feet HDMI Extender Over Single CAT5/CAT6 upto 1080p, Full HD, Loop Out Option, with IR (EX-165C

-HDMI Switch 4K HDMI Splitter-Techole Aluminum Bi-Directional HDMI Switcher 2 Input 1 Output, HDMI Switch Splitter 2 x 1/1 x 2. No External Power Required, Supports 4K 3D HD 1080P for Xbox PS4 Roku HDTV

-JBL Bar 5.1 Surround, 1 hdmi input, 1 hdmi ARC
-DirecTV
-Apple TV



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Budala007 is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 12-05-2019, 05:40 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Budala007 View Post
My question is how I plug everything in correctly? Since my soundbar has hdmi ARC, do I use that or do I have to get an hdmi switcher that has an hdmi ARC since I’m also using the linked hdmi extender?

Here’s what I have now:

-OREI 164-Feet HDMI Extender Over Single CAT5/CAT6 upto 1080p, Full HD, Loop Out Option, with IR (EX-165C

-HDMI Switch 4K HDMI Splitter-Techole Aluminum Bi-Directional HDMI Switcher 2 Input 1 Output, HDMI Switch Splitter 2 x 1/1 x 2. No External Power Required, Supports 4K 3D HD 1080P for Xbox PS4 Roku HDTV

-JBL Bar 5.1 Surround, 1 hdmi input, 1 hdmi ARC
-DirecTV
-Apple TV



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Ideally, you want to connect all external devices to the soundbar, and then connect your soundbar to your TV using the HDMI ARC connection. So I think with the extender, you need to connect your DirecTV into one of the two HDMI ports on the HDMI Switch, and you need to connect the Apple TV into the other HDMI port on the HDMI Switch. Then you output the HDMI Switch into the HDMI Extender. From there, the HDMI extender would get output into the soundbar. The soundbar would then connect to the TV with the HDMI ARC port.

I've never used an extender before but I think that's how the chain would work!
bowling16 is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 12-05-2019, 05:41 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by bowling16 View Post
Ideally, you want to connect all external devices to the soundbar, and then connect your soundbar to your TV using the HDMI ARC connection. So I think with the extender, you need to connect your DirecTV into one of the two HDMI ports on the HDMI Switch, and you need to connect the Apple TV into the other HDMI port on the HDMI Switch. Then you output the HDMI Switch into the HDMI Extender. From there, the HDMI extender would get output into the soundbar. The soundbar would then connect to the TV with the HDMI ARC port.



I've never used an extender before but I think that's how the chain would work!


Keep in mind I have a BenQ HT2050A projector.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Budala007 is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 12-05-2019, 06:05 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by bowling16 View Post
Ideally, you want to connect all external devices to the soundbar, and then connect your soundbar to your TV using the HDMI ARC connection. So I think with the extender, you need to connect your DirecTV into one of the two HDMI ports on the HDMI Switch, and you need to connect the Apple TV into the other HDMI port on the HDMI Switch. Then you output the HDMI Switch into the HDMI Extender. From there, the HDMI extender would get output into the soundbar. The soundbar would then connect to the TV with the HDMI ARC port.



I've never used an extender before but I think that's how the chain would work!


What if I were to plug the Apple TV box directly into the projector?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Budala007 is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 12-05-2019, 06:37 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Budala007 View Post
What if I were to plug the Apple TV box directly into the projector?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Sorry, I missed the projector part. If you plug the Apple TV box into the projector, you'd need to output the audio in some form. How do you currently get audio out of your setup? I think it might be useful to use optical cables to get the audio to the soundbar and HDMI to get the video to the projector, but this problem might be beyond my limited expertise.
bowling16 is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 12-06-2019, 04:55 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by bowling16 View Post
Sorry, I missed the projector part. If you plug the Apple TV box into the projector, you'd need to output the audio in some form. How do you currently get audio out of your setup? I think it might be useful to use optical cables to get the audio to the soundbar and HDMI to get the video to the projector, but this problem might be beyond my limited expertise.


I like that idea, but how? The HT2050A doesn’t have Toslink (Optical).


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Budala007 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Soundbars

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off