Moving from Reciever+ hardwired 5.1 to soundbar and rear speakers? possible? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 4 Old 01-07-2020, 09:41 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Moving from Reciever+ hardwired 5.1 to soundbar and rear speakers? possible?

Hey guys

I am a soundbar noob and I am a bit overwhelmed and confused with the options and propriterty nature of soundbars.

I currently have a standard denon reciever and 5.1 setup that is your typical old school setup. each speaker has its own speaker cable to the reciever.

I want to get a soundbar for the front 3 channels and have the ability to use the rear in wall speakers for surround if possible. What are my options?

Thanks in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 01-07-2020, 01:00 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 1
You'd have to ensure whatever system you got has speaker wire going to the rear speakers from the sub or wireless receiver (such as the rear speakers on my system have a separate wireless receiver that plugs into the power outlet, and has wires running from it to the rear speakers) and not just a power cable. But you also have to look into power ratings to see if it could handle whatever speakers you have.
post #3 of 4 Old 01-07-2020, 01:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Corcoran View Post
Hey guys

I am a soundbar noob and I am a bit overwhelmed and confused with the options and propriterty nature of soundbars.

I currently have a standard denon reciever and 5.1 setup that is your typical old school setup. each speaker has its own speaker cable to the reciever.

I want to get a soundbar for the front 3 channels and have the ability to use the rear in wall speakers for surround if possible. What are my options?

Thanks in advance.