Samsung Q70R Soundbar question please - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 02-01-2020, 11:20 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Lend27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Georgia
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 275 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Samsung Q70R Soundbar question please

Does the Q70R soundbar do Dolby Vision passthrough?
I'm finding conflicting info online.

Thanks!
Lend27 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 02-01-2020, 02:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lend27 View Post
Does the Q70R soundbar do Dolby Vision passthrough?
I'm finding conflicting info online.

Thanks!

It does not unfortunately that's why I returned it. Samsung went all in on HDR10+ and not DV.

Family Room: Sony XBR-65Z9D, Samsung HW-Q80R soundbar/Bedroom: Sony XBR-55HX929, Sony Ht-CT800 soundbar/Weight Room: Sony XBR-46XBR8
JG526 is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 02-02-2020, 07:28 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Lend27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Georgia
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 275 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by JG526 View Post
It does not unfortunately that's why I returned it. Samsung went all in on HDR10+ and not DV.
Thank you for the reply.
I guess I will look at the LG SL8YG. They claim to do Atmos and DV passthrough. We shall see :-).
Lend27 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 Old 02-02-2020, 12:51 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Lend27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Georgia
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 275 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Samsung Q70R setup question Please

I just bought a Samsung Q70R soundbar.
I connected my Nvidia Shield in to the 1 HDMI in on the soundbar, then out of the soundbar to my ARC (HDMI3) input on my Sony XBR65X930E tv. Everything works fine, including Dolby Vision passthrough.

Now for my dilemma:
I have 2 other devices connected to my tv.
HDMI2 is a Firetv 4K stick
HDMI4 is my Apple TV 4K.

When I change the input on the tv to 2 or 4, I see the correct video, but no sound from the soundbar.
I thought that since I was using ARC on both the soundbar and tv, the soundbar would automatically feed the appropriate sound to the tv.
Am I missing something? Do I have a connection wrong?

Thanks for any help you can provide.
Len
Lend27 is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 02-02-2020, 01:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
RKSKYDANCER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 736
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 402 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lend27 View Post
I just bought a Samsung Q70R soundbar.
I connected my Nvidia Shield in to the 1 HDMI in on the soundbar, then out of the soundbar to my ARC (HDMI3) input on my Sony XBR65X930E tv. Everything works fine, including Dolby Vision passthrough.

Now for my dilemma:
I have 2 other devices connected to my tv.
HDMI2 is a Firetv 4K stick
HDMI4 is my Apple TV 4K.

When I change the input on the tv to 2 or 4, I see the correct video, but no sound from the soundbar.
I thought that since I was using ARC on both the soundbar and tv, the soundbar would automatically feed the appropriate sound to the tv.
Am I missing something? Do I have a connection wrong?

Thanks for any help you can provide.
Len
Why not just buy a good HDMI switch box (3 ports) that supports HDR & 4K and connect all your devices to it, then have the 1 HDMI cable to the Q70R soundbar input? Keep the arc HDMI connected to the TV as you have it now.

(Living Room) Sony XBR65X950G 4K TV, Harman Kardon Enchant 1300 & HK Enchant subwoofer, Sony UHP-H1 SACD & Panasonic DP-UB420 4K BD players.

(Garage) Sherwood RX-4105 Receiver, Samsung DVD/CD player, Klipsch 2.5 med oak speakers
RKSKYDANCER is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 02-03-2020, 09:45 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Lend27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Georgia
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 275 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKSKYDANCER View Post
Why not just buy a good HDMI switch box (3 ports) that supports HDR & 4K and connect all your devices to it, then have the 1 HDMI cable to the Q70R soundbar input? Keep the arc HDMI connected to the TV as you have it now.
Great idea! That will work for me!
Thanks!
Len
Lend27 is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 03-21-2020, 02:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
danbfree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,540
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 836 Post(s)
Liked: 377
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lend27 View Post
Does the Q70R soundbar do Dolby Vision passthrough?
I'm finding conflicting info online.

Thanks!
Quote:
Originally Posted by JG526 View Post
It does not unfortunately that's why I returned it. Samsung went all in on HDR10+ and not DV.
It 100% absolutely does, it's that Samsung doesn't do DV on their TV's so they don't mention it on their soundbars much, but if it didn't support it at launch then it does now... but like the rear channels not muxed in thing, it definitely does now... I got mine for an insane deal at BF because people tend to believe only what comes out initially and even months after issues are fixed you still see people spreading the wrong info.

Edit: I now see OP bought one anyway and found that DV works great.

Last edited by danbfree; 03-21-2020 at 02:45 PM.
danbfree is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 03-21-2020, 02:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
danbfree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,540
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 836 Post(s)
Liked: 377
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lend27 View Post
I just bought a Samsung Q70R soundbar.
I connected my Nvidia Shield in to the 1 HDMI in on the soundbar, then out of the soundbar to my ARC (HDMI3) input on my Sony XBR65X930E tv. Everything works fine, including Dolby Vision passthrough.

Now for my dilemma:
I have 2 other devices connected to my tv.
HDMI2 is a Firetv 4K stick
HDMI4 is my Apple TV 4K.

When I change the input on the tv to 2 or 4, I see the correct video, but no sound from the soundbar.
I thought that since I was using ARC on both the soundbar and tv, the soundbar would automatically feed the appropriate sound to the tv.
Am I missing something? Do I have a connection wrong?

Thanks for any help you can provide.
Len
Of those 3 devices I only have the Shield and I run mine through the soundbar too, I have a XBR75X900F, so a year newer, so when I tried moving the Shield off soundbar ARC over to HDMI 3 I just had to restart the Shield before audio kicked in since it's different formats supported... Then DV and Atmos totally still worked through Netflix too.
danbfree is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Soundbars

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off