Vizio sound bar EQ Direct issue - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 03-06-2020, 04:40 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Florida
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Vizio sound bar EQ Direct issue

Greetings,
I have a Vizio SB3651-E6 sound bar and for some reason, my surround sound speakers don't seem to work when I use EQ Direct. I'm using the optical cable, but I also tried using the HDMI ARC set up. It does work on Movie or Musiz setting with either set up.
gpolly1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 03-06-2020, 06:26 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Florida
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Could this be because EQ Direct will only produce 2.1 from a 2.0 source, but EQ Movie/Music will change sound to 5.1 (or close to it) from a 2.0 source.

Could surround speakers in EQ Direct only produce 5.1 from a 5.1 source?
gpolly1 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 03-17-2020, 11:08 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by gpolly1 View Post
Could this be because EQ Direct will only produce 2.1 from a 2.0 source, but EQ Movie/Music will change sound to 5.1 (or close to it) from a 2.0 source.

Could surround speakers in EQ Direct only produce 5.1 from a 5.1 source?
movie and music add additional frequencies not intended by the director but yea cable tv your not going to get anything out of the satelites in direct mode which sounds better even with sat's disabled i know with kodi u have to have audio set to 2.0 yea dont as me to explain that and audio pass through with evrything enabled to get 5.1 and direct sounds 1000 times better than music and movie in kodi oh and make sure surround is enabled
Kid Poker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 Old 03-17-2020, 08:48 PM
Member
 
semi-noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have had it work using HDMI ARC and Direct EQ. It is my preferred setting for movies. For some reason tonight it is not working! I’m going nuts trying to figure it out. Just tried 2 different BluRays discs, one contains “7.1” and the other “6.1”. Neither have output to the surrounds. I let it ruin my night. Trying to watch Solo.
semi-noob is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Soundbars

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off