Sonos Introduces Arc Soundbar with Dolby Atmos - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 31Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 151 Old 05-06-2020, 03:30 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
GregF2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Sonos Introduces Arc Soundbar with Dolby Atmos

Sonos new Atmos Soundbar, the Sonos Arc was released today. They also released a Gen 3 sub. I ordered both and they are expected to arrive on June 10th. Can’t wait!

https://www.sonos.com/en-us/shop/arc.html

Sony A9G 77
GregF2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 151 Old 05-06-2020, 03:43 PM
Member
 
icespide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 103
I ordered the Arc as well. I sure hope Atmos from my apple tv is able to pass through my TV correctly~
icespide is online now  
post #3 of 151 Old 05-06-2020, 03:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I really wanted to buy this, but in the past have had really awful experience with Sonos, Xbox and lip-synching issues (even with the Beam). I have a projector that features HDMI 2.0 (but not eARC yet), so I think I'm going to go with a different soundbar that features multiple HDMI inputs, with rears and a sub (perhaps the Samsung Q90R or the LG SN11RG when it comes out). If this thing had come with 2 HDMI inputs, I would have pulled the trigger. Someone, please convince me otherwise!
surforia is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 151 Old 05-06-2020, 03:58 PM
Member
 
blackbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 19
What doe the Arc do with DTS?

Hopefully Sonos can deliver a less buggy product than everyone else.
blackbr is offline  
post #5 of 151 Old 05-06-2020, 04:09 PM
Member
 
icespide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 103
did a bit of research. you can get Dolby Atmos over regular arc with this new sonos sound bar if your source supports the lossy DD+ form of atmos HOWEVER, apparently Apple TV uses a higher bandwidth version of Atmos even though its still lossy, Apple TV atmos will not work over regular arc. the only way to get atmos from Apple TV using this new sonos soundbar would be through eArc
icespide is online now  
post #6 of 151 Old 05-06-2020, 04:19 PM
Mark Henninger
 
imagic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 16,597
Mentioned: 468 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9481 Post(s)
Liked: 16837
Sonos Introduces Arc Soundbar with Dolby Atmos

Sonos Gets into the Dolby Atmos game with its first 3D immersive offering, the Arc soundbar. It works on its own or you can add a subwoofer and surrounds.

Sonos joins the 3D immersive audio club the new Arc soundbar featuring Dolby Atmos. Designed to be compatible with the Sonos ecosystem including the new version 3 of the Sonos Sub, the $799 Arc is the pricier but more premium cousin of the Beam.

The Sonos Arc relies on an array of 11 drivers to create a fully immersive home theater-like listening experience from a single device. It supports HDMI eARC, which allows it to receive an Atmos signal from a TV. If your TV does not support eARC you can also use an ARC connection or an optical digital cable.

If you buy the Sonos Arc in conjunction with the Sonos Sub, the system runs $1498. Adding Sonos One SL surround speakers on top of the sub (for the best and most immersive experience) brings the total system cost to $1856. So while the Soundbar itself is not that pricey, a complete system will run a you a fair chunk of change.

Each of the Arc's 11 drivers gets a class D amplifier. Eight of the drivers are elliptical woofers that handle the crucial midrange including vocal frequencies, and also give the Arc soundbar the ability to reproduce bass without necessarily needing the subwoofer. Three silk dome tweeters handle the highs.

Sonos specifically states that you will get an Atmos experience even if you just use the Arc on its own, but adding the subwoofer and surrounds does enhance the performance.

This Soundbar features the far field microphone array, allowing it to work with voice assistance. Trueplay room correction ensures that you get the right tonal balance regardless of where you install the Arc. Additionally, this Soundbar works with Apple AirPlay 2.

The Sonos Arc Dolby Atmos compatible soundbar will ship starting June 10.

PREORDER NOW


-----------

We are committed to finding, researching, and recommending the best products. We earn commissions from purchases you make using the retail links in our product reviews. Learn more about how this works here.

Mark Henninger
Editor, AVS Forum

Last edited by imagic; 05-07-2020 at 05:04 PM.
imagic is offline  
post #7 of 151 Old 05-06-2020, 04:38 PM
Member
 
denslayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 38
I'll eventually get this. I love my playbar with 2 play 1's . With the trueplay it's really enjoyable

Sony 65inch 900F, Apple TV4k, Xbox one S, sonos 5.1,Marantz pm7000n, kEFLS50
denslayer is offline  
post #8 of 151 Old 05-06-2020, 04:39 PM
Member
 
icespide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 103
had 2 of these preordered but ended up canceling both

1) living room TV doesn't have eArc so atmos with apple tv is a no go

2) my office tv sits so low that the arc is too tall for it

bummer
m_snow likes this.
icespide is online now  
post #9 of 151 Old 05-06-2020, 06:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackbr View Post
What doe the Arc do with DTS?

Hopefully Sonos can deliver a less buggy product than everyone else.
It doesn't support DTS according to https://www.theverge.com/2020/5/6/21...res-price-date

No go for me either. I don't have a TV with eARC and no HDMI pass-through means I have to pass.
Eric2203 is offline  
post #10 of 151 Old 05-06-2020, 07:07 PM
Member
 
blackbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric2203 View Post
It doesn't support DTS according to https://www.theverge.com/2020/5/6/21...res-price-date

No go for me either. I don't have a TV with eARC and no HDMI pass-through means I have to pass.
If it doesn’t support DTS, what does it do with all of my DTS DVDs and Blu-ray’s? It must convert to some other format. I’ve got a lot of them so this is something I’d like to see addressed in reviews.
blackbr is offline  
post #11 of 151 Old 05-06-2020, 07:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 9,707
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2956 Post(s)
Liked: 2081
i'll bet it tells you to select the DD or PCM track.


My current setup.
Recommended podcasts: The Next Picture Show, the /filmcast, AV Rant.
nathan_h is offline  
post #12 of 151 Old 05-06-2020, 07:24 PM
Senior Member
 
ScottFern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 30
So does this bar have a single HDMI port for the TV to pass atmos only? Thats why everyone is hung up on having eARC?
ScottFern is online now  
post #13 of 151 Old 05-06-2020, 07:44 PM
Member
 
icespide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackbr View Post
If it doesn’t support DTS, what does it do with all of my DTS DVDs and Blu-ray’s? It must convert to some other format. I’ve got a lot of them so this is something I’d like to see addressed in reviews.
it does stereo, no other option

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottFern View Post
So does this bar have a single HDMI port for the TV to pass atmos only? Thats why everyone is hung up on having eARC?
correct
icespide is online now  
post #14 of 151 Old 05-07-2020, 03:30 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 31
I was looking to maybe get into Sonos with this but my primary streaming is with AppleTV so that is disappoint to hear. Also, is it that hard to let it do DTS-X as well? I don't get why they wouldn't.
suitechicguy is offline  
post #15 of 151 Old 05-07-2020, 04:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Zoland2020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Clarksville, TN
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Looks fine but definitely not for everyone due to no HDMI inputs nor DTS (DTS Digital Surround, DTS-HD Master Audio, DTS:X, etc.) support at all. This looks more like something for the streaming crowd.

America elevates you to another level.
Zoland2020 is offline  
post #16 of 151 Old 05-07-2020, 06:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
eaayoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,000
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 350 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Website states it has HDMI, Optical and Ethernet connections. Wondering if it will work with the Playbar sub?
eaayoung is online now  
post #17 of 151 Old 05-07-2020, 07:24 AM
Member
 
icespide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 103
apparently Atmos on Apple TV is always putout as LPCM so it will literally be impossible to get Atmos from Apple TV on this new Sonos Arc, even with eArc
icespide is online now  
post #18 of 151 Old 05-07-2020, 07:54 AM
GC3
Advanced Member
 
GC3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Georgia in the rear view mirror
Posts: 759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 70
One HDMI input, eARC capable

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoland2020 View Post
Looks fine but definitely not for everyone due to no HDMI inputs nor DTS (DTS Digital Surround, DTS-HD Master Audio, DTS:X, etc.) support at all. This looks more like something for the streaming crowd.

Last edited by GC3; 05-07-2020 at 08:08 AM.
GC3 is offline  
post #19 of 151 Old 05-07-2020, 08:09 AM
GC3
Advanced Member
 
GC3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Georgia in the rear view mirror
Posts: 759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Ordered. Replacing a Beam. Using with LG C9.
GC3 is offline  
post #20 of 151 Old 05-07-2020, 08:20 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
How are the Sonos Ones for rear surrounds?
Ruckdogg7 is offline  
post #21 of 151 Old 05-07-2020, 08:53 AM
Member
 
garetjaxor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mass
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruckdogg7 View Post
How are the Sonos Ones for rear surrounds?
I have a Playbar, sub, and ones as rears to go along with my lg Oled and have been using that for a few years - ones are more than enough especially if they are right behind your couch.

Just upgraded to the C9 OLED, I really hope it will work with appletv for atmos.
garetjaxor is offline  
post #22 of 151 Old 05-07-2020, 09:20 AM
Member
 
RedCamaroZSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Makes me want to upgrade from my Nakamichi based on looks alone.
RedCamaroZSS is offline  
post #23 of 151 Old 05-07-2020, 09:23 AM
Member
 
icespide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by garetjaxor View Post
I have a Playbar, sub, and ones as rears to go along with my lg Oled and have been using that for a few years - ones are more than enough especially if they are right behind your couch.

Just upgraded to the C9 OLED, I really hope it will work with appletv for atmos.
we'll find out for sure in June but all the research I could find is that Atmos on Apple TV is always output as LPCM and there is no way to bitstream it. Sonos Arc doesn't support multi channel PCM so I'm afraid you won't get Atmos from Apple TV with it even if you have eArc
icespide is online now  
post #24 of 151 Old 05-07-2020, 09:43 AM
Member
 
mud sloth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Ugh, when I first read the news on this I got really excited. Sonos is quality and I'd guess that their Atmos solution is going to be decent. Looks amazing and can be expanded with their other speakers pretty easily. But why can't they just put in a separate HDMI input? I don't have a TV with eARC and probably won't be buying one in the next ~5 years either. So frustrating, but guess I'm not their target market.
mud sloth is offline  
post #25 of 151 Old 05-07-2020, 10:30 AM
GC3
Advanced Member
 
GC3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Georgia in the rear view mirror
Posts: 759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Work well for me in the past with the Beam

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruckdogg7 View Post
How are the Sonos Ones for rear surrounds?
GC3 is offline  
post #26 of 151 Old 05-07-2020, 12:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Zoland2020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Clarksville, TN
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by GC3 View Post
One HDMI input, eARC capable
*Output
I'm taking about HDMI inputs where you plug in your Blu-ray player or game console into the soundbar. And this Sonos just has a HDMI output for the TV audio only.
sdg4vfx likes this.

America elevates you to another level.
Zoland2020 is offline  
post #27 of 151 Old 05-07-2020, 12:25 PM
Member
 
mud sloth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoland2020 View Post
*Output
I'm taking about HDMI inputs where you plug in your Blu-ray player or game console into the soundbar. And this Sonos just has a HDMI output for the TV audio only.
Technically it is an input since it's never outputting anything to the TV. The problem is that the input relies entirely on what is passed through the TV if you have more than just the TV as your content device and most of us don't own a TV with eARC so we're **** outta luck.
Zoland2020 likes this.
mud sloth is offline  
post #28 of 151 Old 05-07-2020, 01:47 PM
Senior Member
 
shoeboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Safety Harbor, FL
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by imagic View Post
If your TV does not support eARC you can also use an ARC connection or an optical digital cable. However, eARC is needed if you want Dolby Atmos sound.

This appears to be incorrect regarding ARC and dolby atmos based on FAQ on their website. Says it can still support Atmos through ARC, many recent TVs will send Atmos via DD+ over normal audio return channel.

JVC RS-440 | SI Slate 1.2 120" Zero Edge 16x9 screen | Fusion Lagoon Seating
Denon x4300H | Revel 5.1.4 F206/C205/W893/C763 | Dayton
Sealed 18-HO | Behringer EP4000
Tivo Bolt | Oppo 203 | Apple TV 4K | PS4 Pro | Nvidia Shield TV
shoeboo is online now  
post #29 of 151 Old 05-07-2020, 04:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoeboo View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by imagic View Post
If your TV does not support eARC you can also use an ARC connection or an optical digital cable. However, eARC is needed if you want Dolby Atmos sound.

This appears to be incorrect regarding ARC and dolby atmos based on FAQ on their website. Says it can still support Atmos through ARC, many recent TVs will send Atmos via DD+ over normal audio return channel.
Yea I’m confused. Will it still do Dolby Atmos for AppleTV but just lossy if you don’t have eARC? I keep seeing people say it won’t do Atmos at all for the AppleTV without eARC.
suitechicguy is offline  
post #30 of 151 Old 05-07-2020, 05:06 PM
Mark Henninger
 
imagic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 16,597
Mentioned: 468 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9481 Post(s)
Liked: 16837
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoeboo View Post
This appears to be incorrect regarding ARC and dolby atmos based on FAQ on their website. Says it can still support Atmos through ARC, many recent TVs will send Atmos via DD+ over normal audio return channel.
Quote:
Originally Posted by suitechicguy View Post
Yea I’m confused. Will it still do Dolby Atmos for AppleTV but just lossy if you don’t have eARC? I keep seeing people say it won’t do Atmos at all for the AppleTV without eARC.
You are right, eARC is mostly just needed for uncompressed Atmos but as usual there are device-specific nuances and idiosyncrasies.
Howard Lin likes this.

Mark Henninger
Editor, AVS Forum
imagic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Soundbars

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off