2Likes
  • 1 Post By noah katz

post #1 of 25 Old 11-27-2018, 09:33 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Dark Energy Screens review

Hey all, I felt compelled to give my thoughts about my newly acquired pulsar 1.4 screen from DES. A little background first--I am brand new to the projector/screen world so I can't really give you a technical review of this screen. I have nothing to compare it against, so take my words for what their worth.
I recently just finished my basement in and it is a pretty large space. I did not want to create a dedicated theater room, more of an all purpose family room that will be used for watching sports, movies, TV etc. After tons of research and speaking with Stephen at DES, I decided on the pulsar 1.4 120" in solid surface. Stephen was easy to work with, and ordering was a snap. I placed my order and began the wait. Fortunately, I timed the completion of the basement and delivery of the screen about right. I received the call from the freight company that the screen had arrived so I went with a trailer to pick it up that afternoon.
Much to my dismay, when I arrived I was told the box had some exterior damage and I was asked to inspect it before taking delivery. There were some rips in the middle of this monstrous box, but it didn't appear to have penetrated enough to cause damage, so I took the screen home. I unboxed it that evening, and my heart sunk. There was a palm-sized dent in the middle of the screen, with about a quarter sized spot in that dent that was sharply indented. I took lots of pictures of the unboxing, and also pictures of the box at the warehouse and pictures of the damage itself. I immediately put all of this in an email and sent it off to Stephen that night.