The official SeymourAV center stage screen thread! - Page 130 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 491Likes

post #3871 of 3925 Old 02-01-2020, 10:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 669 Post(s)
Liked: 693
Quote:
Originally Posted by puntloos View Post
OK newbie here, and it's such a large topic I couldn't easily find answers:

Since I'm in a 'combined home cinema and livingroom' situation

1/ Do seymour provide electric retractable screens?

2/ And is it just 'better' to have a black background behind the screen, or is it ok to have 'random stuff' behind the screen? (in particular, I will probably have a 55" flat panel TV and probably a white-ish storage cupboard type thing. Bad idea?

1) yes, they have great electric retractable.

2) if you have a TV and/or anything else that could reflect light, you want the black backing. The horns on my old speakers behind the screen were black, yet still reflective enough to reflect shiny bright spots back through the screen. The black layer solves this problem. (I believe all their retractable screens may come with the black layer, but I could be wrong)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I love my iPhone, but it will never replace my turntable. I've never seen Titanic OR XXXXXXXXX. Alexa is a stripper name.

The Cinema 1858 Remodel Thread
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #3872 of 3925 Old 02-01-2020, 10:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Quoted: 633 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Quote:
OK newbie here, and it's such a large topic I couldn't easily find answers:

Since I'm in a 'combined home cinema and livingroom' situation

1/ Do seymour provide electric retractable screens?
2/ And is it just 'better' to have a black background behind the screen, or is it ok to have 'random stuff' behind the screen? (in particular, I will probably have a 55" flat panel TV and probably a white-ish storage cupboard type thing. Bad idea?