Official Owners' Thread, Panasonic PT-AE8000U (US version) PT-AT6000E (European version) - Page 135 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1044Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4021 of 5954 Old 01-27-2015, 10:51 PM
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 3,470
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 993 Post(s)
Liked: 417
Quote:
Originally Posted by asoofi1 View Post
Yes.

Even if you have lights on in the room, over your seats and but not near the screen, it's watchable, but not optimal.

I project a 176 2.35 image from 19' feet in ECO mode.
How many hours you have on your bulb? I am at about 2500 hours now on mine (all ECO mode). I am curious as to how much light loss we have, and how long the bulb should last.
ellisr63 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4022 of 5954 Old 01-28-2015, 04:28 AM
 
Brian Fineberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 8,184
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3543 Post(s)
Liked: 3527
IF this model is discontinued. Will they still make bulbs? Should I buy an extra now?
Brian Fineberg is offline  
post #4023 of 5954 Old 01-28-2015, 05:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cw5billwade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GA
Posts: 1,780
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 185
cw5billwade is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4024 of 5954 Old 01-28-2015, 05:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
asoofi1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NoVA
Posts: 1,722
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 939 Post(s)
Liked: 444
Quote:
Originally Posted by ellisr63 View Post
How many hours you have on your bulb? I am at about 2500 hours now on mine (all ECO mode). I am curious as to how much light loss we have, and how long the bulb should last.
I got mine only two months ago, and it has under 200 hrs I'm sure...I'll have to check later...I'm far from light loss for now. Do you think yours has lost light at this point?
ellisr63 likes this.
asoofi1 is offline  
post #4025 of 5954 Old 01-28-2015, 06:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
asoofi1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NoVA
Posts: 1,722
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 939 Post(s)
Liked: 444
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Fineberg View Post
IF this model is discontinued. Will they still make bulbs? Should I buy an extra now?
Yes...enough demand for now....3 years of selling the same model equals lots of owners. I wouldn't buy one unless you'd like to keep spare in case of fluke accidents right before the big game or something...like breakers tripping and pj shuts down, and that blows the lamp prematurely.

I've gone through 2 pjs before my panny and never had to change out the lamp...knock on wood....of course, it's all about how much your usage is and any negligent use.

If panasonic stops making the lamp, after market will be still be there... and ebay where ppl sell their spare oem lamps because they never ended up using then...But I see myself buying a laser 4k pj by then... which should be right around 3000 hours perhaps...
asoofi1 is offline  
post #4026 of 5954 Old 01-28-2015, 07:29 AM
 
Brian Fineberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 8,184
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3543 Post(s)
Liked: 3527
Cool. Yeah I'm at 330 hrs since setting it up in September. So I think by the time the bulb does go, it will be time to upgrade
Brian Fineberg is offline  
post #4027 of 5954 Old 01-28-2015, 10:43 AM
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 3,470
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 993 Post(s)
Liked: 417
Quote:
Originally Posted by asoofi1 View Post
I got mine only two months ago, and it has under 200 hrs I'm sure...I'll have to check later...I'm far from light loss for now. Do you think yours has lost light at this point?
I am thinking I might have some light loss... Not sure as i never put the meter on it when I set it up new in July last year.
ellisr63 is offline  
post #4028 of 5954 Old 01-28-2015, 11:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
asoofi1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NoVA
Posts: 1,722
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 939 Post(s)
Liked: 444
Quote:
Originally Posted by ellisr63 View Post
I am thinking I might have some light loss... Not sure as i never put the meter on it when I set it up new in July last year.
Just checked...I've got 196 hrs now...at this rate...I should be good at 1200 hrs a year...

If it's not noticeable to your eyes, it may not be an issue...Or if noticeable, perhaps do some basic calibration with a WOW disc to kick up the brightness if needed...
ellisr63 likes this.
asoofi1 is offline  
post #4029 of 5954 Old 01-28-2015, 02:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cr136124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,619
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 711
Quote:
Originally Posted by neo_ny View Post
Thanks for your input, appreciate it! I had another question - I understand that mounting the projector is ideal but would this projector work and/or work well using it on a shelf instead? thanks!
It is working just fine for me - see pics below:


Spoiler!
brwsaw likes this.
cr136124 is offline  
post #4030 of 5954 Old 01-28-2015, 04:59 PM
Member
 
neo_ny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by asoofi1 View Post
Funny you ask that. I just placed mine on a shelf 7' up just last night. Cost me under $11. $4 for two "L" shelf brackets for 200lb per pair capacity...and a rubbermaid precut painted shelf from closet section in HD for about $6.

I was limited by the rear wall, as I needed to move the pj back a foot in order to fill the entire screen. So I cut a 7"x20" in the wall...it's a bit rough and temporary right now, but I'll make it clean later.

I was worried about how much vertical lens shift would be needed at that height since the pj would remain right side up, but I've got 2-3 feet to adjust the image down if my screen was even lower. It's this great amount of flexibilty that make me love this pj even more. Was tired after putting it up...so really appreciated being able to zoom/focus from the remote when I was finished.
Quote:
Originally Posted by cr136124 View Post
It is working just fine for me - see pics below:


Spoiler!
Thank you both! I am getting closer to pulling the trigger!

@cr136124 - which shelf/stand are you using? you have a link? Your setup is awesome, btw!
neo_ny is offline  
post #4031 of 5954 Old 01-28-2015, 05:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
73shark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: KC, MO area
Posts: 3,189
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 557 Post(s)
Liked: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by cr136124 View Post
It is working just fine for me - see pics below:


Spoiler!
Very nice setup.

In space, no one can hear you scream . . .
73shark is offline  
post #4032 of 5954 Old 01-28-2015, 07:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cr136124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,619
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 711
Quote:
Originally Posted by neo_ny View Post
Thank you both! I am getting closer to pulling the trigger!

@cr136124 - which shelf/stand are you using? you have a link? Your setup is awesome, btw!
Thanks! Here is the link to Amazon:

OmniMount Shelf
cr136124 is offline  
post #4033 of 5954 Old 01-28-2015, 07:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cr136124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,619
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 711
Quote:
Originally Posted by 73shark View Post
Very nice setup.
Thanks shark!
cr136124 is offline  
post #4034 of 5954 Old 01-29-2015, 05:02 AM
Member
 
drewconner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 35
I received my 8000U yesterday from B&H. I'm upgrading from an Epson 3020. The model I received has severe panel misalignment (photos below). It was so bad, I was having trouble even attaining proper focus. I've seen other cases of the same issue, but I don't know how common it is. Do you guys think it's worth rolling the dice with another 8000U, or returning and buying the Sony HW40ES for $500 more?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1984.jpg
Views:	212
Size:	191.2 KB
ID:	509594   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1983.jpg
Views:	210
Size:	170.6 KB
ID:	509602  
drewconner is offline  
post #4035 of 5954 Old 01-29-2015, 06:03 AM
Senior Member
 
seanb61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by drewconner View Post
I received my 8000U yesterday from B&H. I'm upgrading from an Epson 3020. The model I received has severe panel misalignment (photos below). It was so bad, I was having trouble even attaining proper focus. I've seen other cases of the same issue, but I don't know how common it is. Do you guys think it's worth rolling the dice with another 8000U, or returning and buying the Sony HW40ES for $500 more?
Purchased mine from PP in November (BF sale) and it arrived with the same issue. Contacted PP and they shipped a new one which is perfect. I'd suggest reaching out to B&H, send pics and see if they would replace it as DOA as PP did with mine.
seanb61 is offline  
post #4036 of 5954 Old 01-29-2015, 06:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Michael Sargent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,246
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Liked: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by cr136124 View Post
It is working just fine for me - see pics below:
You may be too close to the wall. The 8000 is supposed to have at least 4" of clearance around it. See page 15 of the manual for a diagram.

Mike
Michael Sargent is offline  
post #4037 of 5954 Old 01-29-2015, 08:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
asoofi1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NoVA
Posts: 1,722
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 939 Post(s)
Liked: 444
Quote:
Originally Posted by drewconner View Post
I received my 8000U yesterday from B&H. I'm upgrading from an Epson 3020. The model I received has severe panel misalignment (photos below). It was so bad, I was having trouble even attaining proper focus. I've seen other cases of the same issue, but I don't know how common it is. Do you guys think it's worth rolling the dice with another 8000U, or returning and buying the Sony HW40ES for $500 more?
Have BH replace...this pj is worth the trouble...heck, I'd keep replacing until I get the perfect one. I was fortunate my first delivered had no issues, after going through and eliminating every user based setup errors of course.
asoofi1 is offline  
post #4038 of 5954 Old 01-29-2015, 08:50 AM
 
Brian Fineberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 8,184
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3543 Post(s)
Liked: 3527
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Sargent View Post
You may be too close to the wall. The 8000 is supposed to have at least 4" of clearance around it. See page 15 of the manual for a diagram.

Mike
i think this is if the PJ is mounted in a cabinet or a wall.

every other side is Wide open in Carlo's setup...so he has no chance of overheating the PJ
Brian Fineberg is offline  
post #4039 of 5954 Old 01-29-2015, 10:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Michael Sargent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,246
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Liked: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Fineberg View Post
so he has no chance of overheating the PJ

I'm just quoting what Panasonic says. So if there is a problem, and Panasonic sees the pictures he posted above, they could deny a warrantee claim.


Do what you want, but mine is about 30 inches from any wall.


Mike
Michael Sargent is offline  
post #4040 of 5954 Old 01-29-2015, 10:22 AM
 
Brian Fineberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 8,184
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3543 Post(s)
Liked: 3527
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Sargent View Post
I'm just quoting what Panasonic says. So if there is a problem, and Panasonic sees the pictures he posted above, they could deny a warrantee claim.


Do what you want, but mine is about 30 inches from any wall.


Mike
thats a valid point...panny is reknown for being sticklers with stuff like that...good thoughts
Brian Fineberg is offline  
post #4041 of 5954 Old 01-29-2015, 12:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cw5billwade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GA
Posts: 1,780
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by drewconner View Post
I received my 8000U yesterday from B&H. I'm upgrading from an Epson 3020. The model I received has severe panel misalignment (photos below). It was so bad, I was having trouble even attaining proper focus. I've seen other cases of the same issue, but I don't know how common it is. Do you guys think it's worth rolling the dice with another 8000U, or returning and buying the Sony HW40ES for $500 more?
Check with the focus and other menu screens as well also blue ray materiel I do not use PC on my PJ yet but remember others having issues with certain fonts it was how the PC was producing the image or something.
cw5billwade is offline  
post #4042 of 5954 Old 01-29-2015, 02:04 PM
Member
 
drewconner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by cw5billwade View Post
Check with the focus and other menu screens as well also blue ray materiel I do not use PC on my PJ yet but remember others having issues with certain fonts it was how the PC was producing the image or something.
Quote:
Originally Posted by asoofi1 View Post
Have BH replace...this pj is worth the trouble...heck, I'd keep replacing until I get the perfect one. I was fortunate my first delivered had no issues, after going through and eliminating every user based setup errors of course.
Quote:
Originally Posted by seanb61 View Post
Purchased mine from PP in November (BF sale) and it arrived with the same issue. Contacted PP and they shipped a new one which is perfect. I'd suggest reaching out to B&H, send pics and see if they would replace it as DOA as PP did with mine.
Thanks for all the responses and suggestions. The second pic is actually with a calibration blu-ray through an Oppo BDP-103. The alignment issue was very noticeable, even on the menu screens.

I have sent the defective projector back to B&H for a full refund and placed another order for a new 8000U today. It should be here on Monday.
brwsaw likes this.
drewconner is offline  
post #4043 of 5954 Old 01-29-2015, 04:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Reefdvr27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cape May, NJ (South Jersey)
Posts: 4,368
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1596 Post(s)
Liked: 1086
Quote:
Originally Posted by cr136124 View Post
It is working just fine for me - see pics below:


Spoiler!
I bought that same shelf and I don't really like it as I cannot get it tight. It tends to have a little sway side to side with big bass. I tried to tighten it up with bushings, but still just a little loose. I bought a ceiling mount, but have not installed it yet. Another thing to do on the list.

You room looks great though. Where did you get the white conduit? I winded up using sump pump hose from Home Depot. I could not find any 2" conduit and what I could find I had to buy 75 or 100" when I needed about 20'. Somebody on another forum tipped me off to the sump pump hose. It was like $9.99 and does the same thing.
Reefdvr27 is offline  
post #4044 of 5954 Old 01-29-2015, 06:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cr136124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,619
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 711
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Sargent View Post
You may be too close to the wall. The 8000 is supposed to have at least 4" of clearance around it. See page 15 of the manual for a diagram.

Mike
All is good Mike, 7" of clearance, 1,236 hours and still going strong!

cr136124 is offline  
post #4045 of 5954 Old 01-29-2015, 07:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cr136124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,619
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 711
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Fineberg View Post
i think this is if the PJ is mounted in a cabinet or a wall.

every other side is Wide open in Carlo's setup...so he has no chance of overheating the PJ
What's up Brian? Are you adding new toys at your room? Man, you need another pair of subs in there..............

Yep, perhaps is the angle in which I took that pic, but there is a 7" gap from the back of the Panny to the wall. I might have to take another picture with my tape measure as evidence...........you never know!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Sargent View Post
I'm just quoting what Panasonic says. So if there is a problem, and Panasonic sees the pictures he posted above, they could deny a warrantee claim.


Do what you want, but mine is about 30 inches from any wall.


Mike
I hear you, better safe than sorry. Thanks for bringing this item for folks that are planning to install the unit in a very confined space.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Fineberg View Post
thats a valid point...panny is reknown for being sticklers with stuff like that...good thoughts
Hopefully, we will never have to deal with that.........knocking on wood.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reefdvr27 View Post
I bought that same shelf and I don't really like it as I cannot get it tight. It tends to have a little sway side to side with big bass. I tried to tighten it up with bushings, but still just a little loose. I bought a ceiling mount, but have not installed it yet. Another thing to do on the list.

You room looks great though. Where did you get the white conduit? I winded up using sump pump hose from Home Depot. I could not find any 2" conduit and what I could find I had to buy 75 or 100" when I needed about 20'. Somebody on another forum tipped me off to the sump pump hose. It was like $9.99 and does the same thing.
That is interesting, I don't have that issue at all. Yes, when I did installed it wasn't tight enough, but it was a simple process to tighten up and it has been there solid like a rock for more than.....man.....almost two years already.

About the tubing................look at the link below:

Flixible Tubing
cr136124 is offline  
post #4046 of 5954 Old 01-29-2015, 08:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
old corps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mid-Michigan
Posts: 1,787
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by cr136124 View Post
What's up Brian? Are you adding new toys at your room? Man, you need another pair of subs in there..............

Yep, perhaps is the angle in which I took that pic, but there is a 7" gap from the back of the Panny to the wall. I might have to take another picture with my tape measure as evidence...........you never know!



I hear you, better safe than sorry. Thanks for bringing this item for folks that are planning to install the unit in a very confined space.







Hopefully, we will never have to deal with that.........knocking on wood.



That is interesting, I don't have that issue at all. Yes, when I did installed it wasn't tight enough, but it was a simple process to tighten up and it has been there solid like a rock for more than.....man.....almost two years already.

About the tubing................look at the link below:

Flixible Tubing

I'm using the same shelf for my Epson 5030. When I 1st installed it (5 years ago) I wasn't able to tighten it up enough to keep it from moving too easily. I solved the problem by loosening it back up & wrapping a straightened paper clip around the area where it moves. Tightened it back up and it's never moved in all the time I've had it. Had a Viewsonic Pro8100 which is a huge pj on it too.


Ed
old corps is offline  
post #4047 of 5954 Old 01-30-2015, 04:40 AM
 
Brian Fineberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 8,184
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3543 Post(s)
Liked: 3527
Hey Carlos!!

I have tons of new additions...Ill pm you
Brian Fineberg is offline  
post #4048 of 5954 Old 01-30-2015, 06:41 AM
Senior Member
 
drunkonjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: not an expert
Posts: 493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello everyone ....I just purchased the 8000 for my HT build and am ready to purchase cables. My question is what cables should I run to my projector other than the HDMI ?

Also what type HDMI should I run I see them capable for 1080p and remere tech. not sure what redmere is

Thanks in advance
drunkonjack is offline  
post #4049 of 5954 Old 01-30-2015, 12:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cw5billwade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GA
Posts: 1,780
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 185
redmere from Monoprice has signal aplification in the HDMI conector this makes them one way so source end with the amp and then PJ end. They are used for anything over 20 ft in length. Other wise a 24AWG will be plently. I ran 4 CAT 6 just in case I want to do something like control or my HDMI went bad than I could use 2 to run HDMI. If all your sources are to the AVR then one HDMI from AVR is all you need. If you have older non 3D AVR and a 3D player then you may want to run 2 if your player has 2 HDMI out or you get a spliter (cheaper than amp).
cw5billwade is offline  
post #4050 of 5954 Old 01-30-2015, 12:30 PM
Senior Member
 
drunkonjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: not an expert
Posts: 493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks ! I have an Oppo BDP-83 blue ray player and I'm using a Onkyo TX-SR805 for amplification and all switching needs.
drunkonjack is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
contrast , Darbeevision Darblet Hdmi Video Processor , Epson 5020ub Powerlite Home Cinema 3d Front Projector , green , green blob , issue , Jvc Dla X35 3d Hd Front Projector , lcd , Panasonic Pt Ae4000u 1600 Lumen Lcd Home Theater Projector , Panasonic Pt Ae7000u 1080p Full Hd Projector , Panasonic Ptae8000u Hd Projector , polarizer , PT-AE8000 , PT-AT6000 , PT-AT6000E , Sony Vpl Hw50es 3d Projector

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off