Projector Mini-Shootout Thread - Page 642 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4925Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #19231 of 19443 Old 08-22-2018, 03:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,129
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1402 Post(s)
Liked: 739
Dreamliner is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19232 of 19443 Old 08-22-2018, 03:12 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 12,794
Mentioned: 162 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5299 Post(s)
Liked: 5593
There is no real difference besides chassis (plastic vs metal, 1 wifi antenna vs 2, etc). I have both, the X9S is easier to get now.
zombie10k is offline  
post #19233 of 19443 Old 08-22-2018, 03:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
farsider3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,802
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1466 Post(s)
Liked: 858
Quote:
Originally Posted by zombie10k View Post
Thanks. Just placed my order.
Javs likes this.

7.4.6 system: Processors:Marantz 8805 || Xilica XP4080 Amps: Parasound A31 and ATI AT528NC & AT526NC n-core ||Speakers: Procella P8 LCR, Procella P5 for surround & ceiling
Subs: JTR Captivator subs: One S2, Two RS2, One S1, 2 Seaton Submersive (FOR SALE)
Screen: 2.40:1 Seymour XD Acoustically Transparent, 128" diagonal / 118" wide || Projector: JVC X570/RS420
farsider3000 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19234 of 19443 Old 08-22-2018, 06:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WereWolf84's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,141
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 407 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by farsider3000 View Post
Thanks. Just placed my order.
You could have been get it at much lower price

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/39-ne...ess-money.html
WereWolf84 is offline  
post #19235 of 19443 Old 08-22-2018, 06:41 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 12,794
Mentioned: 162 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5299 Post(s)
Liked: 5593
Quote:
Originally Posted by WereWolf84 View Post
You could have been get it at much lower price

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/39-ne...ess-money.html

I saw that but seems like a potential concern getting it 'activated' by Zidoo. that ebay auction blew up with 100+ sold. I thought some folks were having trouble with them.
zombie10k is offline  
post #19236 of 19443 Old 08-23-2018, 03:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
farsider3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,802
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1466 Post(s)
Liked: 858
Media Player Overload

Okay boys and girls I currently have a glitchy Dune Pro 4K at the house that I am still troubleshooting so I decided to order:
EDIT: Believe it or not the glitchy Dune was due to a weird issue with the eneloop batteries I was using for the remote.

The Dune has been perfect at playing ripped 4K HDR mkv files since I put regular batteries in the remote.
The only issue that needs to be addressed is the lack of ability to play forced subtitles.


1.) the Zidoo X9s (thanks for the recommendations from the forum)
2.) the Zappiti One SE 4K HDR (I have always wanted to try out the Zappiti since the way it presents movie art looks pretty professional.

I am trying to approximate the Kaleidescape experience without having to download 4k programs and potentially not have the best audio format from the Kaleidescape store. (I believe Kaleidescape has a good chance of going out of business, again.)

I also purchased a Synology DS1817+ along with five 10TB Western Digital Red drives. It will be interesting to compare different programs on these players vs. the Plex app on my Nvidia Shield.

Any other reliable players out there that I have missed?

7.4.6 system: Processors:Marantz 8805 || Xilica XP4080 Amps: Parasound A31 and ATI AT528NC & AT526NC n-core ||Speakers: Procella P8 LCR, Procella P5 for surround & ceiling
Subs: JTR Captivator subs: One S2, Two RS2, One S1, 2 Seaton Submersive (FOR SALE)
Screen: 2.40:1 Seymour XD Acoustically Transparent, 128" diagonal / 118" wide || Projector: JVC X570/RS420

Last edited by farsider3000; 08-26-2018 at 07:00 PM.
farsider3000 is offline  
post #19237 of 19443 Old 08-26-2018, 05:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,643
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 571 Post(s)
Liked: 572
Quote:
Originally Posted by farsider3000 View Post
I bought my Dune 4K Pro from duneplayer.com. I had to hook the Dune to a regular LED TV vs. my projector to get it started. Then it was glitch city. Tons of freezes. This thing is going back.



Now will try the Zidoo. I am willing to drop $2-$3k on a PC if I need to in order to get this to work right but I worry about integration with my Control4 system. Can the Zidoo X8 do 90% of what the PC can regarding playing ripped UHD, HDR movies?



I love gaming on my Xbox One X and PS4 Pro but how do you game in a theater room ? Do you use an Xbox remote with the PC or do you guys have desks in your theater so you can game with a mouse?... so many questions.



Lind Family HT
HT - RS2000 - ST130 - Emotiva RMC-1 - XPA-7 - XPA-5 - GE Triton 2 - GE Supercenter XXL - GE Invisa 650 x 8 - Xbox One X - PS4 Pro - Oppo BDP-203 - Kalediscape Strato - HTPC 1008ti- Dual SVS PB16-Ultra's - Lumagen Radiance Pro
kaotikr1 is online now  
post #19238 of 19443 Old 08-26-2018, 06:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
farsider3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,802
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1466 Post(s)
Liked: 858
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaotikr1 View Post
Very cool!

7.4.6 system: Processors:Marantz 8805 || Xilica XP4080 Amps: Parasound A31 and ATI AT528NC & AT526NC n-core ||Speakers: Procella P8 LCR, Procella P5 for surround & ceiling
Subs: JTR Captivator subs: One S2, Two RS2, One S1, 2 Seaton Submersive (FOR SALE)
Screen: 2.40:1 Seymour XD Acoustically Transparent, 128" diagonal / 118" wide || Projector: JVC X570/RS420
farsider3000 is offline  
post #19239 of 19443 Old 08-29-2018, 01:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Drexler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 1,116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 111
I know a lot of you guys use the panasonic Blu-ray players with the jvcs. Have you ever used them for Netflix streaming?? I have the ub900 and the problem is it's outputting all Netflix content at 60 hz refresh rate which causes problems with stuttering and bandwidth glitches. No problems with discs at all. Have any of you encountered this and perhaps have a solution?

Setup: ub900, AV7702mkii, linker, rs500.

Thanks!!!
Drexler is offline  
post #19240 of 19443 Old 08-29-2018, 03:28 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 12,794
Mentioned: 162 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5299 Post(s)
Liked: 5593
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drexler View Post
I know a lot of you guys use the panasonic Blu-ray players with the jvcs. Have you ever used them for Netflix streaming?? I have the ub900 and the problem is it's outputting all Netflix content at 60 hz refresh rate which causes problems with stuttering and bandwidth glitches. No problems with discs at all. Have any of you encountered this and perhaps have a solution?

Setup: ub900, AV7702mkii, linker, rs500.

Thanks!!!
There was a discussion on BR forum on this topic. Panasonic stated that Netflix is responsible for the 60hz refresh request in their app. The Roku is also stuck @ 60hz as well.

I was watching Lost in Space HDR last night and it looked great. I didn't see any issues with stuttering or glitches, it was quite smooth. I do have high speed Verizon FIOS fiber though. Which ISP do you have?
zombie10k is offline  
post #19241 of 19443 Old 08-29-2018, 03:32 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
coderguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14,067
Mentioned: 63 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2443 Post(s)
Liked: 1321
Isn't lost in Space native 30/60hz, I think he is talking about movies coming in at 60hz when he prefers 24p.
I think someone said only the Roku Ultra and the Apple device can do Netflix movies @ 24p?

I own an old school Roku, was thinking of getting something else to get 24p myself.
I personally think native 30/60hz (or whatever Lost in Space used) looks better than 24p anyhow.

**Updated Projector Calculator Released NOV 2017**
-- www.webprojectorcalculator.com --

Last edited by coderguy; 08-29-2018 at 03:41 PM.
coderguy is offline  
post #19242 of 19443 Old 08-29-2018, 03:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
farsider3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,802
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1466 Post(s)
Liked: 858
Quote:
Originally Posted by zombie10k View Post
There was a discussion on BR forum on this topic. Panasonic stated that Netflix is responsible for the 60hz refresh request in their app. The Roku is also stuck @ 60hz as well.

I was watching Lost in Space HDR last night and it looked great. I didn't see any issues with stuttering or glitches, it was quite smooth. I do have high speed Verizon FIOS fiber though. Which ISP do you have?

Doesn’t Netflix at 60Hz have too much soap opera effect ?

I can watch 60Hz fine but I have gigabit internet and hard wire to all devices.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

7.4.6 system: Processors:Marantz 8805 || Xilica XP4080 Amps: Parasound A31 and ATI AT528NC & AT526NC n-core ||Speakers: Procella P8 LCR, Procella P5 for surround & ceiling
Subs: JTR Captivator subs: One S2, Two RS2, One S1, 2 Seaton Submersive (FOR SALE)
Screen: 2.40:1 Seymour XD Acoustically Transparent, 128" diagonal / 118" wide || Projector: JVC X570/RS420
farsider3000 is offline  
post #19243 of 19443 Old 08-29-2018, 03:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Javs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 7,979
Mentioned: 479 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6886 Post(s)
Liked: 6562
Quote:
Originally Posted by coderguy View Post
Isn't lost in Space native 30/60hz, I think he is talking about movies coming in at 60hz when he prefers 24p.
I think someone said only the Roku Ultra and the Apple device can do Netflix movies @ 24p?

I own an old school Roku, was thinking of getting something else to get 24p myself.
I personally think native 30/60hz (or whatever Lost in Space used) looks better than 24p anyhow.
All netflix content is shot at 24p. Unless its a boring doco, even then I believe they are 24p.

JVC X9500 (RS620) | 120" 16:9 | Marantz AV7702 MkII | Emotiva XPA-7 | DIY Modular Towers | DIY TPL-150 Surrounds | DIY Atmos | DIY 18" Subs
-
MadVR Settings | UHD Waveform Analysis | Arve Tool Instructions + V3 Javs Curves
Javs is online now  
post #19244 of 19443 Old 08-29-2018, 03:45 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
coderguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14,067
Mentioned: 63 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2443 Post(s)
Liked: 1321
Quote:
Originally Posted by farsider3000 View Post
Doesn’t Netflix at 60Hz have too much soap opera effect ?

I can watch 60Hz fine but I have gigabit internet and hard wire to all devices.
I wouldn't call it Soap Opera effect, looks different than that.
I got used to it, but it depends on the source content.
Still, stuff that was filmed at 30p will look better coming off Netflix than the converted stuff IMO.

Some TV shows will come out better @ 60hz since it was filmed at 30p instead of movies that are usually filmed at 24p.

**Updated Projector Calculator Released NOV 2017**
-- www.webprojectorcalculator.com --
coderguy is offline  
post #19245 of 19443 Old 08-29-2018, 03:48 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 12,794
Mentioned: 162 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5299 Post(s)
Liked: 5593
regardless of the source framerate, it appears all the content is locked @ 60hz. the Roku ultra has the same scenario. Xbox one as well.

4K/60 HDR content nearly pegs the 600Mhz 18GB cables

zombie10k is offline  
post #19246 of 19443 Old 08-29-2018, 03:48 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
coderguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14,067
Mentioned: 63 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2443 Post(s)
Liked: 1321
Found the below tip online, never tried though...

You can check the Netflix source frame rate of an individual title by playing it from the web site. Don't maximize the player window when the title is playing, but click to make it the active window and then press Ctrl Shift Alt D. This will display the frame rate of the title playing.

**Updated Projector Calculator Released NOV 2017**
-- www.webprojectorcalculator.com --
coderguy is offline  
post #19247 of 19443 Old 08-29-2018, 03:52 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
coderguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14,067
Mentioned: 63 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2443 Post(s)
Liked: 1321
I tried from a PC, it gives me EVERYTHING but the frame rate.

Lost in Space

Version: 6.0010.295.011
Esn: NFCDCH-02-EDXZ9R30CGT3ADJ3217CQARV4453AL
PBCID: 6.OWYkJqnNJxaAjY3jN7kgUwcvDNNNvGdI1xLDl-szyUc
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/68.0.3440.106 Safari/537.36

MovieId: 80117488
TrackingId: 13752289
Xid: 15355830510120 (15355830510120)
Position: 39.444
Duration: 3816.000
Volume: 100%

Player state: Normal
Buffering state: Normal
Rendering state: Playing

Playing bitrate (a/v): 96 / 1960 (1280x720)
Playing/Buffering vmaf: 91/91
Buffering bitrate (a/v): 96 / 1960
Buffer size in Bytes (a/v): 3167671 / 57571065
Buffer size in Bytes: 60738736
Buffer size in Seconds (a/v): 248.854 / 228.824
Current CDN (a/v): c110.dfw003.ix.nflxvideo.net, Id: 44204 / c102.dfw003.ix.nflxvideo.net, Id: 44196

Audio Track: en, Id: A:1:1;2;en;1;, Channels: 2.0, Codec: audio/mp4;codecs=mp4a.40.2
Video Track: Codec: video/mp4;codecs=avc1.640028 (avc)
Timed Text Track: none

Framerate: NaN
Current Dropped Frames: 0
Total Frames: 823
Total Dropped Frames: 2
Total Corrupted Frames: undefined
Total Frame Delay: undefined
Main Thread stall/sec: DISABLED
VideoDiag: readyState=4,currentTime=39.668181,pbRate=1,audioB uffered=48.043,audioRanges=16.042666-64.085332,videoBuffered=24.024,videoRanges=32.032-56.055999,duration=3816.1874,exp=1535626260000,key Status=output-restricted

Throughput: 19530 kbps

DFR: {"720":[0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,1,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0, 0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,1,0,0,0,0]}

**Updated Projector Calculator Released NOV 2017**
-- www.webprojectorcalculator.com --
coderguy is offline  
post #19248 of 19443 Old 08-29-2018, 04:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Javs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 7,979
Mentioned: 479 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6886 Post(s)
Liked: 6562
Quote:
Originally Posted by coderguy View Post
I tried from a PC, it gives me EVERYTHING but the frame rate.

Lost in Space

Version: 6.0010.295.011
Esn: NFCDCH-02-EDXZ9R30CGT3ADJ3217CQARV4453AL
PBCID: 6.OWYkJqnNJxaAjY3jN7kgUwcvDNNNvGdI1xLDl-szyUc
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/68.0.3440.106 Safari/537.36

MovieId: 80117488
TrackingId: 13752289
Xid: 15355830510120 (15355830510120)
Position: 39.444
Duration: 3816.000
Volume: 100%

Player state: Normal
Buffering state: Normal
Rendering state: Playing

Playing bitrate (a/v): 96 / 1960 (1280x720)
Playing/Buffering vmaf: 91/91
Buffering bitrate (a/v): 96 / 1960
Buffer size in Bytes (a/v): 3167671 / 57571065
Buffer size in Bytes: 60738736
Buffer size in Seconds (a/v): 248.854 / 228.824
Current CDN (a/v): c110.dfw003.ix.nflxvideo.net, Id: 44204 / c102.dfw003.ix.nflxvideo.net, Id: 44196

Audio Track: en, Id: A:1:1;2;en;1;, Channels: 2.0, Codec: audio/mp4;codecs=mp4a.40.2
Video Track: Codec: video/mp4;codecs=avc1.640028 (avc)
Timed Text Track: none

Framerate: NaN
Current Dropped Frames: 0
Total Frames: 823
Total Dropped Frames: 2
Total Corrupted Frames: undefined
Total Frame Delay: undefined
Main Thread stall/sec: DISABLED
VideoDiag: readyState=4,currentTime=39.668181,pbRate=1,audioB uffered=48.043,audioRanges=16.042666-64.085332,videoBuffered=24.024,videoRanges=32.032-56.055999,duration=3816.1874,exp=1535626260000,key Status=output-restricted

Throughput: 19530 kbps

DFR: {"720":[0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,1,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0, 0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,1,0,0,0,0]}
Like I said, its 24p. Dont ask where I got that info from, just trust that it is correct.


Duration : 01:03:36
Release Size : 5.44 GB
Video Bitrate : 12.3 Mbps
Frame Rate : 23.976 Fps
Audio : 128 kbps
Video Resolution : 1920x960 (2.000)


Channel Layout : 5.1(side)
Codec Name : eac3
Codec Type : audio
Sample Fmt : fltp
Sample Rate : 48000

JVC X9500 (RS620) | 120" 16:9 | Marantz AV7702 MkII | Emotiva XPA-7 | DIY Modular Towers | DIY TPL-150 Surrounds | DIY Atmos | DIY 18" Subs
-
MadVR Settings | UHD Waveform Analysis | Arve Tool Instructions + V3 Javs Curves
Javs is online now  
post #19249 of 19443 Old 08-29-2018, 04:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
farsider3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,802
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1466 Post(s)
Liked: 858
Javs or Zombie,

Have you tested the Zidoo vs the Dune Pro 4K. My Dune is looking good but have opened the Zidoo yet. The Zappiti is crap due to sluggish GUI and subtitles that keep automatically coming on.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

7.4.6 system: Processors:Marantz 8805 || Xilica XP4080 Amps: Parasound A31 and ATI AT528NC & AT526NC n-core ||Speakers: Procella P8 LCR, Procella P5 for surround & ceiling
Subs: JTR Captivator subs: One S2, Two RS2, One S1, 2 Seaton Submersive (FOR SALE)
Screen: 2.40:1 Seymour XD Acoustically Transparent, 128" diagonal / 118" wide || Projector: JVC X570/RS420
farsider3000 is offline  
post #19250 of 19443 Old 08-29-2018, 04:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Javs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 7,979
Mentioned: 479 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6886 Post(s)
Liked: 6562
Quote:
Originally Posted by farsider3000 View Post
Javs or Zombie,

Have you tested the Zidoo vs the Dune Pro 4K. My Dune is looking good but have opened the Zidoo yet. The Zappiti is crap due to sluggish GUI and subtitles that keep automatically coming on.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
I have no interest, Zombie has both though so he can comment.

I have zero reason to replace my zidoo, it plays everyuthing I throw at it bit perfect and it even has surprisingly decent upscaling built in.

JVC X9500 (RS620) | 120" 16:9 | Marantz AV7702 MkII | Emotiva XPA-7 | DIY Modular Towers | DIY TPL-150 Surrounds | DIY Atmos | DIY 18" Subs
-
MadVR Settings | UHD Waveform Analysis | Arve Tool Instructions + V3 Javs Curves
Javs is online now  
post #19251 of 19443 Old 08-29-2018, 05:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,129
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1402 Post(s)
Liked: 739
If you boys haven’t seen it, I recommend picking up American Animals on Blu-ray. It’s a heist type movie with Evan Peters (the Quicksilver dude). Between this and Pirates of Somalia, Peters is shaping up to be a great actor. Target has it for only $15 minus 15% on Cartwheel bringing it to only $12.75 (plus tax)!

Last edited by Dreamliner; 08-29-2018 at 09:24 PM.
Dreamliner is online now  
post #19252 of 19443 Old 08-29-2018, 07:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 12,794
Mentioned: 162 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5299 Post(s)
Liked: 5593
Quote:
Originally Posted by farsider3000 View Post
Javs or Zombie,

Have you tested the Zidoo vs the Dune Pro 4K. My Dune is looking good but have opened the Zidoo yet. The Zappiti is crap due to sluggish GUI and subtitles that keep automatically coming on.

I think the Dune needs the next firmware update to be at parity with the Zidoo. it currently has no BD menu support. overall playback though appears fine in comparison. I still use my Dune Solo for 3D BD ISO since it has excellent BD menu support, better than the Zidoo currently.

I also have the Synology 1817+, it's been running non-stop for over a year with no problems. it's packed with UHD HDR + 3D BD ISO content and still have tons of room. great product!
zombie10k is offline  
post #19253 of 19443 Old 08-29-2018, 09:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,129
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1402 Post(s)
Liked: 739
Quote:
Originally Posted by zombie10k View Post
I also have the Synology 1817+, it's been running non-stop for over a year with no problems. it's packed with UHD HDR + 3D BD ISO content and still have tons of room. great product!
What are you doing for backup?
Dreamliner is online now  
post #19254 of 19443 Old 08-29-2018, 09:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Javs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 7,979
Mentioned: 479 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6886 Post(s)
Liked: 6562
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamliner View Post
What are you doing for backup?
Usually they are redundant parity setups.

I probably wouldn't bother backing up my films. I already haver 24TB and there is no cheap way at all to back that up.

Parity raid is about as good as its going to get there.

Right now my films are all just JBOD which is a ticking time bomb. I need to get myself a RAID setup asap, but the outlay initially is pretty big for me at the moment.

Although I should be able to get away with an 8bay synology and just 3 6TB drives then copy one of my 6TB JBOD disks over, then initialize it into the raid, then rinse repeat until all 8 drives are in there. I'm betting that will take a week.

JVC X9500 (RS620) | 120" 16:9 | Marantz AV7702 MkII | Emotiva XPA-7 | DIY Modular Towers | DIY TPL-150 Surrounds | DIY Atmos | DIY 18" Subs
-
MadVR Settings | UHD Waveform Analysis | Arve Tool Instructions + V3 Javs Curves
Javs is online now  
post #19255 of 19443 Old 08-29-2018, 09:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Apgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hong Kong / Australia
Posts: 431
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Javs View Post
Usually they are redundant parity setups.

I probably wouldn't bother backing up my films. I already haver 24TB and there is no cheap way at all to back that up.

Parity raid is about as good as its going to get there.

Right now my films are all just JBOD which is a ticking time bomb. I need to get myself a RAID setup asap, but the outlay initially is pretty big for me at the moment.

Although I should be able to get away with an 8bay synology and just 3 6TB drives then copy one of my 6TB JBOD disks over, then initialize it into the raid, then rinse repeat until all 8 drives are in there. I'm betting that will take a week.
Why not use something like unraid? Means you can use different sized disks in array. Parity(s) just need to be same size or larger than largest parity disk.

Lots of flexibility, basically jbod with parity
mikela likes this.
Apgood is offline  
post #19256 of 19443 Old 08-29-2018, 10:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Javs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 7,979
Mentioned: 479 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6886 Post(s)
Liked: 6562
Quote:
Originally Posted by Apgood View Post
Why not use something like unraid? Means you can use different sized disks in array. Parity(s) just need to be same size or larger than largest parity disk.

Lots of flexibility, basically jbod with parity
Sounds pretty good, do you need to start with blank discs?

My problem is this:



If I could somehow assimilate all this right into a raid by adding only a couple drives rather than starting over with a bunch of empty drives I would so do this asap and just build a cheap box to run it all.

JVC X9500 (RS620) | 120" 16:9 | Marantz AV7702 MkII | Emotiva XPA-7 | DIY Modular Towers | DIY TPL-150 Surrounds | DIY Atmos | DIY 18" Subs
-
MadVR Settings | UHD Waveform Analysis | Arve Tool Instructions + V3 Javs Curves
Javs is online now  
post #19257 of 19443 Old 08-29-2018, 10:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Apgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hong Kong / Australia
Posts: 431
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Javs View Post
Sounds pretty good, do you need to start with blank discs?

My problem is this:



If I could somehow assimilate all this right into a raid by adding only a couple drives rather than starting over with a bunch of empty drives I would so do this asap and just build a cheap box to run it all.
You can't add full drives to the array unfortunately. You could check if FreeNAS or one of the Linux based NAS OS's allows that.

For Unraid you only need one drive that you can copy over to with unraid and then you can reuse the rest.


1. Just buy a 6TB or greater drive
2 Put the in an old PC with enough sata connections stick in at least one of the empty drives and any disk's you want to copy the data off of.
3 Start up unraid.
4. Assign the empty data drive to array (don't worry about parity drive yet).
5. Format it as xfs.
6. Once formatting completed create user shares (unless
7. Copy stuff from attached full drive using an unraid plug-in/docker like dolphin to array drive. The full drive should be visible in the unassigned devices section
8. After all data has been copied off clear the old drive and add to array and repeat steps.
9. Once finished assign the Parity drive and build parity. Just make sure you have a drive of 6TB or great. Can be one of the old 6TB drives.

Size of the drives doesn't really matter you can all different sized drives in the array. For example. My parity drive is 10TB and I have 3x8TB, 3x6TB and 3TB all in the same array.
mikela and Javs like this.
Apgood is offline  
post #19258 of 19443 Old 08-29-2018, 10:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 12,794
Mentioned: 162 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5299 Post(s)
Liked: 5593
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamliner View Post
What are you doing for backup?

The primary storage is a RAID 6 + hot spare setup and have backups to several 10TB drives which are hosted in a PC.





Back in the 80's a 40MB hard drive was thousands of dollars, now 50TB is no big deal. I think we're ready for petabyte drives
Dave Vaughn likes this.
zombie10k is offline  
post #19259 of 19443 Old 08-29-2018, 11:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,129
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1402 Post(s)
Liked: 739
The scary thing about most RAID is if one drive goes down and another drive hiccups with something as simple as a bad sector during rebuild it can take down the whole array.

I looked into unraid but realized real quickly the only reasonable back up would be a second identical unraid server and have them mirror.

I went from RAID10 to RAID5 back to a bunch of single disks with backups. None of it is elegant, and what is elegant is expensive.
Dreamliner is online now  
post #19260 of 19443 Old 08-29-2018, 11:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,614
Mentioned: 478 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2427 Post(s)
Liked: 3186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamliner View Post
The scary thing about most RAID is if one drive goes down and another drive hiccups with something as simple as a bad sector during rebuild it can take down the whole array.
That's why I use 2 redundant parity drives in my unRAID tower. So 3 drives have to fail at the same time to bring the array down. And in the unlikely event that 3 disks fail at the same time, at least the healthy disks still have their content intact.
mikela and Javs like this.
madshi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Benq W7000 Home Projection System , Jvc Dla Rs55 Bundle , Jvc Dla Rs45 Home Theater Projector 1080p Hdmi , Epson V11h502020 Powerlite Home Cinema 3020e 2d And 3d 1080p Wireless Home Theater Projector , Sony Vpl Hw50es 3d Projector , Epson 5010 Powerlite Home Cinema 3d Front Projector , Epson Powerlite Home Cinema 3010 2d And 3d Projector V11h421020 , Panasonic Ptae8000u Hd Projector , Mitsubishi Hc7900dw Home Theater 3d Projector , Mitsubishi Hc8000dbl Dlp 3d Home Theater Projector With Spare Lamp 1300 Ansi 12 6 Lbs , Darbeevision Darblet Hdmi Video Processor , Epson 5020ub Powerlite Home Cinema 3d Front Projector

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off