Official Sony VPL-VW500ES / VW600ES 4K Projector Thread - Page 161 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1026Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4801 of 6346 Old 03-31-2015, 12:03 PM
Senior Member
 
wagnerc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by anmg View Post
Can you get the 1.20a update somewhere else?
I am interested in this too.
wagnerc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4802 of 6346 Old 03-31-2015, 01:19 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
lovingdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 13,025
Mentioned: 97 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3748 Post(s)
Liked: 958
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Jones View Post
I believe the CA813 became popular a decade ago, or more, when there were very few choices for reasonably priced lux meters. Today there are some much less expensive alternatives. I have both a Minolta meter (higher end than the CA813) but I also have a very inexpensive LX1330B (sold under several brand names - Amazon link below). While there very well may be more unit-to-unit variations in the accuracy for the LX1330B (I checked one a friend had purchased and it measured about 10% higher than mine) than for the CA813, but my unit measures within about 1% of what the Minolta reads for light at or near 6500K. One of the problems with any of these meters is the maximum accuracy is for lower color temperatures and in fact AEMC rates the CA813 accuracy at +/- 5% for a 2856K light source (incandescent light) but only +/- 11% for other light sources (see the 2nd link below for the spec. sheet).


http://www.amazon.com/Dr-Meter-Digit...ords=lux+meter


http://www.aemc.com/products/pdf/2121.21.pdf
I'd rather pay more for a meter that's more consistent and accurate, but that's a personal choice. My the cd/m2 measures from my i1D3 very closely matches the CA813 lux reading (once factoring in the gain) so I have decent confidence in its accuracy, unless both meters happen to be off by the same amount.
Craig Peer likes this.
lovingdvd is offline  
post #4803 of 6346 Old 03-31-2015, 06:08 PM
Senior Member
 
cischico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Japan/USA
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by wagnerc View Post
I am interested in this too.
It seems that projectors with 1.20A are associated with a revised optical block that came out around the same time the 350ES did. A tear down of 1.20A firmware loaded projectors from December to as of last week are showing an optical block of November 2014 revision. It's unclear if any other changes have been made.

Pure speculation on my part, but I would guess the software was probably tweaked since the panels all seem to have better native contrast since launch. Again just speculating. The firmware has been silently out for 3 months. I have reached out to Sony Japan and I have not received a clear answer to what the changes are other than the update addresses a function. I imagine all 500ES/600ES would have the same firmware for stock after Nov/December.
Skrill likes this.
cischico is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4804 of 6346 Old 03-31-2015, 06:21 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
lovingdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 13,025
Mentioned: 97 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3748 Post(s)
Liked: 958
Quote:
Originally Posted by cischico View Post
It seems that projectors with 1.20A are associated with a revised optical block that came out around the same time the 350ES did. A tear down of 1.20A firmware loaded projectors from December to as of last week are showing an optical block of November 2014 revision. It's unclear if any other changes have been made.

Pure speculation on my part, but I would guess the software was probably tweaked since the panels all seem to have better native contrast since launch. Again just speculating. The firmware has been silently out for 3 months. I have reached out to Sony Japan and I have not received a clear answer to what the changes are other than the update addresses a function. I imagine all 500ES/600ES would have the same firmware for stock after Nov/December.
Any idea what was changed with the optical block?
lovingdvd is offline  
post #4805 of 6346 Old 03-31-2015, 10:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Michael9009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 1,095
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 343 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by George Kouzev View Post
I had to lower the Contrast on my VW300ES to 89 avoid clipping the whites, only to realize I should not be doing that. Different pj I know, so number is likely a coincidence but in case. If you are talking Spears & Munsil Bluray, you are supposed to make levels above 235 clip on purpose.
You are right, George. Given the 16-235 video range. However, with the contrast at Max and DI on Auto Full, no white level is clipped in the S&M test pattern. Go figure!
Michael9009 is offline  
post #4806 of 6346 Old 04-01-2015, 07:13 AM
Member
 
anmg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Orange County California
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovingdvd View Post
Any idea what was changed with the optical block?
I would also like to know about the new optical block. If the new block provides superior contrast, would it be a replaceable part?
anmg is offline  
post #4807 of 6346 Old 04-01-2015, 10:23 AM
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 10,827
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5167 Post(s)
Liked: 2595
So we can expect 350ES like native contrast on all "new stock" 500ES/600ES units?
Seegs108 is offline  
post #4808 of 6346 Old 04-01-2015, 10:51 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 27,901
Mentioned: 279 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13516 Post(s)
Liked: 11138
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by anmg View Post
I would also like to know about the new optical block. If the new block provides superior contrast, would it be a replaceable part?
We would be talking slight improvement and this would have just been a running change. This is not going to be something that you can send your projector in for a replacement part. Even side by side, I bet you would not be able to tell the difference, using your eyes. I have a 1.25 year old VW600 and I would not send my projector in, even if this was offered for free. Just not enough to mess with it.
Mike Garrett is online now  
post #4809 of 6346 Old 04-01-2015, 10:53 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 17,623
Mentioned: 144 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7803 Post(s)
Liked: 9884
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seegs108 View Post
So we can expect 350ES like native contrast on all "new stock" 500ES/600ES units?

Interesting, although my older VW600 has good enough contrast to nearly cause some wine pouring spills last night watching " The Equalizer ". When those happen during SciFi movies I say " we're entering a black hole - stop pouring wine " !
Craig Peer is online now  
post #4810 of 6346 Old 04-01-2015, 08:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
chrisreeves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,395
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 408 Post(s)
Liked: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisreeves View Post
I read in a review of the 600ES from last year that it is not possible to completely bypass the projector's noise reduction - that some small level of temporal noise reduction is always active.

Is this true, and is it still the case? I was hoping perhaps Sony had released a firmware update which addressed this.
Anybody have an answer on this? Is it true you cannot completely disable Sony's noise reduction algorithms?

"Don't forget that a significant contribution made by the use of high-end cabling is emotional. Knowing that you have the best available causes the listening and viewing to be that much more enjoyable. Observable improvements make it even better."

-From a post on the audio video improvements forum
chrisreeves is offline  
post #4811 of 6346 Old 04-02-2015, 12:46 AM
Senior Member
 
cischico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Japan/USA
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovingdvd View Post
Any idea what was changed with the optical block?
I don't know what was changed specifically. I attached some photos of a 500ES without the shell on.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2653.jpg
Views:	266
Size:	117.4 KB
ID:	641809   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2652.jpg
Views:	235
Size:	120.2 KB
ID:	641817   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2651.jpg
Views:	256
Size:	131.0 KB
ID:	641825  
Skrill likes this.
cischico is offline  
post #4812 of 6346 Old 04-02-2015, 10:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bweissman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: East SF Bay Area, CA, USA
Posts: 1,123
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by cischico View Post
I don't know what was changed specifically. I attached some photos of a 500ES without the shell on.
Thanks for the photo. I don't like the looks of those plastic gears. I bet those will be the first parts to fail.
bweissman is offline  
post #4813 of 6346 Old 04-02-2015, 10:38 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 27,901
Mentioned: 279 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13516 Post(s)
Liked: 11138
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by bweissman View Post
Thanks for the photo. I don't like the looks of those plastic gears. I bet those will be the first parts to fail.
I bet you also don't like the 40/50K cost that projectors used to have either. Cost savings have to come from somewhere. Granted, I would like metal gears also, but if the projector had everything I would want, then I could not afford it.
Mike Garrett is online now  
post #4814 of 6346 Old 04-02-2015, 11:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bweissman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: East SF Bay Area, CA, USA
Posts: 1,123
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 5 View Post
Cost savings have to come from somewhere.
But why, why, why from MOVING PARTS?!
bweissman is offline  
post #4815 of 6346 Old 04-02-2015, 12:13 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 23,130
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4156 Post(s)
Liked: 2389
My garage door opener uses plastic gears, moves something much, much heavier with more mass/inertia, and those gears last years getting used every day, multiple times per day, and it all sorts of weather including below zero temperatures.

Plastic does not necessarily equal bad.
stanger89 is offline  
post #4816 of 6346 Old 04-02-2015, 01:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
Skrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Virginia
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Is 1.20a firmware (and the potentially updated block) currently available in new 500/600ES units in all markets? Or only Japan-spec units?
Skrill is offline  
post #4817 of 6346 Old 04-02-2015, 02:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
George Kouzev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Canada
Posts: 864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
My garage door opener uses plastic gears, moves something much, much heavier with more mass/inertia, and those gears last years getting used every day, multiple times per day, and it all sorts of weather including below zero temperatures.

Plastic does not necessarily equal bad.
Agree. Another explanation for using plastic gear is that if something blocks the movement, plastic would give as opposed to having a very expensive body crack or break.

The plastic wheel on my garage door opener lasted about 15 years, 15 Canadian winters
George Kouzev is offline  
post #4818 of 6346 Old 04-02-2015, 02:11 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 27,901
Mentioned: 279 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13516 Post(s)
Liked: 11138
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by George Kouzev View Post
Agree. Another explanation for using plastic gear is that if something blocks the movement, plastic would give as opposed to having a very expensive body crack or break.

The plastic wheel on my garage door opener lasted about 15 years, 15 Canadian winters
15 mild Canadian winters with temps down around -35 degrees Fahrenheit?
Mike Garrett is online now  
post #4819 of 6346 Old 04-02-2015, 04:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Michael9009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 1,095
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 343 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by bweissman View Post
Thanks for the photo. I don't like the looks of those plastic gears. I bet those will be the first parts to fail.
They will not fail. These are the lens shift, focus and zoom gears. The mechanical stress in them is very small. Nothing to worry about.
Michael9009 is offline  
post #4820 of 6346 Old 04-03-2015, 09:59 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
LeBon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pebble Beach, CA
Posts: 1,002
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Has anyone figured out how to get iRule to communicate with the VW600 via IP? I am set up with a Network gateway on iRule, Port 53484, and Wake-On-LAN enabled, with the MAC address of the projector entered. So far, No Joy...
LeBon is offline  
post #4821 of 6346 Old 04-03-2015, 10:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
magicj1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lake district, UK
Posts: 892
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeBon View Post
Has anyone figured out how to get iRule to communicate with the VW600 via IP? I am set up with a Network gateway on iRule, Port 53484, and Wake-On-LAN enabled, with the MAC address of the projector entered. So far, No Joy...

Yep, running iRule with the VW500. Same as above except I do not have 'Wake-on-line' enabled. Ethernet cable connected to router.
magicj1 is offline  
post #4822 of 6346 Old 04-03-2015, 11:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Wendell R. Breland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 5,120
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 594 Post(s)
Liked: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeBon View Post
Has anyone figured out how to get iRule to communicate with the VW600 via IP? I am set up with a Network gateway on iRule, Port 53484, and Wake-On-LAN enabled, with the MAC address of the projector entered. So far, No Joy...
Have you tried to use a browser to access your unit just to make sure it is connected and working (IIRC, the unit has to be on)?
Wendell R. Breland is offline  
post #4823 of 6346 Old 04-03-2015, 12:24 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
LeBon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pebble Beach, CA
Posts: 1,002
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wendell R. Breland View Post
Have you tried to use a browser to access your unit just to make sure it is connected and working (IIRC, the unit has to be on)?
I have not tried a browser, but I know it is connected from the Network Setup. It acquired a DHCP address (before I changed it to a fixed address).

Does the VW600 even have an HTTP web server?
LeBon is offline  
post #4824 of 6346 Old 04-03-2015, 12:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Wendell R. Breland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 5,120
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 594 Post(s)
Liked: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeBon View Post
I have not tried a browser, but I know it is connected from the Network Setup. It acquired a DHCP address (before I changed it to a fixed address).

Does the VW600 even have an HTTP web server?
Type in http://the address you assigned and see what happens. Mine is: http://192.168.1.128/index_E.htm
Wendell R. Breland is offline  
post #4825 of 6346 Old 04-03-2015, 08:53 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
LeBon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pebble Beach, CA
Posts: 1,002
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeBon View Post
Has anyone figured out how to get iRule to communicate with the VW600 via IP? I am set up with a Network gateway on iRule, Port 53484, and Wake-On-LAN enabled, with the MAC address of the projector entered. So far, No Joy...
OK, it turns out that I needed to have Remote Start enabled in the Setup menu of the VW600. Seems to work now -- at least I was able to turn it on and off and on again, and switch Picture Position from 2.35 to 1.85 and back.
LeBon is offline  
post #4826 of 6346 Old 04-04-2015, 07:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
desray2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,195
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 513 Post(s)
Liked: 252
Ok guys, I have just received news from the rep in SONY Singapore that the engineer in Japan told him that the so-called firmware 1.2a is actually just a language update for the Turkish market. He will need to confirm on this again one more time...any latest news, I will update here.

Meanwhile, I have feedback to SONY Singapore about some of the dealers/resellers in eBay and other online websites have published different things on version 1.2a...he will check.
desray2k is offline  
post #4827 of 6346 Old 04-07-2015, 02:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 549
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 432 Post(s)
Liked: 208
My projector was replaced by Sony and my new box says VPL-VW500ES3 (like Mark III) and the picture has improved a lot compared to my old 500ES.It is brighter and seems to have more contrast. The connectors look different too and I am wondering if the revised model has new HDMI ports. Anyone with detailed information on this?
Eventidal is offline  
post #4828 of 6346 Old 04-07-2015, 03:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 549
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 432 Post(s)
Liked: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by desray2k View Post
Ok guys, I have just received news from the rep in SONY Singapore that the engineer in Japan told him that the so-called firmware 1.2a is actually just a language update for the Turkish market. He will need to confirm on this again one more time...any latest news, I will update here.

Meanwhile, I have feedback to SONY Singapore about some of the dealers/resellers in eBay and other online websites have published different things on version 1.2a...he will check.
I heard about this too but I really doubt it. We had 1.05, then 1.06 and 1.10 (some were serious updates regarding 3d and input lag) and now 1.20 just for Turkish language?!
Eventidal is offline  
post #4829 of 6346 Old 04-07-2015, 04:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
magicj1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lake district, UK
Posts: 892
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eventidal View Post
My projector was replaced by Sony and my new box says VPL-VW500ES3 (like Mark III) and the picture has improved a lot compared to my old 500ES.It is brighter and seems to have more contrast. The connectors look different too and I am wondering if the revised model has new HDMI ports. Anyone with detailed information on this?

why was it replaced?
magicj1 is offline  
post #4830 of 6346 Old 04-07-2015, 04:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
desray2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,195
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 513 Post(s)
Liked: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eventidal View Post
I heard about this too but I really doubt it. We had 1.05, then 1.06 and 1.10 (some were serious updates regarding 3d and input lag) and now 1.20 just for Turkish language?!
I am as equally sceptical as you on this...BUT if SONY wants to deny it, we can't say nothing about it. But I agree there's more to it. Only time will tell...I am still waiting for any "further" update (if any) from the SONY rep here.
desray2k is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Sony Fmp X1 4k Ultra Hd Media Player , Sony Vpl Vw1000es Projector , Sony Vpl Vw500es

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off