Official Sony VPL-VW500ES / VW600ES 4K Projector Thread - Page 204 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1025Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6091 of 6332 Old 07-24-2016, 05:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Javs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 8,029
Mentioned: 490 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6917 Post(s)
Liked: 6620
Quote:
Originally Posted by clausdk View Post
Kinda glad to hear that, I haven't been able to find a lot of 500/600ES impressions with UHD, or atleast they are hard to find.

The Jriver MadVr + darbee combo is really good though. Atleast with the Sony 500ES, seems like a very good match.

I guess I'll enjoy what I have until I build my next theater and by then I can pick up a laser light cannon with HDR/WCG!
I made this thread a while back for my 300ES when I got my Sammy UHD player, I took some screenshots comparing how GOOD the Sony was at using RC and upscaling 1080p Bluray content from my HTPC running Kodi (No MadVR or any special upscaling, just 1080p native Bluray 1:1 rips) vs the UHD disc from the Samsung.

Just if you are interested...

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-dig...omparison.html

Scroll down to this post #14 where I took some shots again, trying to make sure the exposure was closer to real life and both images matched far better:

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-dig...l#post44035162

If you right click and hit view image in a new tab you will see each image is actually very large, so that should be a fairly good indication.

Summary... Sony's reality creation processing is VERY hard to beat if you are just looking at resolution. I found the 1080p images to be better in a lot of cases... Certainly was surprising to me.

JVC X9500 (RS620) | 120" 16:9 | Marantz AV7702 MkII | Emotiva XPA-7 | DIY Modular Towers | DIY TPL-150 Surrounds | DIY Atmos | DIY 18" Subs
-
MadVR Settings | UHD Waveform Analysis | Arve Tool Instructions + V3 Javs Curves
Javs is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6092 of 6332 Old 07-24-2016, 06:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
clausdk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 753
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 253 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by Javs View Post
I made this thread a while back for my 300ES when I got my Sammy UHD player, I took some screenshots comparing how GOOD the Sony was at using RC and upscaling 1080p Bluray content from my HTPC running Kodi (No MadVR or any special upscaling, just 1080p native Bluray 1:1 rips) vs the UHD disc from the Samsung.

Just if you are interested...

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-dig...omparison.html

Scroll down to this post #14 where I took some shots again, trying to make sure the exposure was closer to real life and both images matched far better:

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-dig...l#post44035162

If you right click and hit view image in a new tab you will see each image is actually very large, so that should be a fairly good indication.

Summary... Sony's reality creation processing is VERY hard to beat if you are just looking at resolution. I found the 1080p images to be better in a lot of cases... Certainly was surprising to me.
I remember your thread now actually. Your findings resemble mine. I have a few more UHD discs incomming tuesday so I can give it a go with some more comparisons. I too am surprised how good the madvr + sony RC/upscale is.
clausdk is offline  
post #6093 of 6332 Old 07-29-2016, 09:05 AM
Newbie
 
Big John's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Regina, Saskatchewan
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hooked up my new Panny UHD player to my 500ES last night. I was unable to do an a/b comparison to the Oppo 103D that I had been using. First glance I didn't think that it made much difference. I watched Allegiant as a first flick. I spent much of the movie tweaking. As time went on the picture got better. First, the Panny has secondary audio ON as a default. had to work my way in and turn that off in order to get TruHD working.
Ssounds good as one would expect from a digital bitstream transfer allowing my Arcam AVR700 to do the decoding. I realized after about 20 minutes that I had to turn the reality creation off to allow the 500 to show the pic that it was being fed from the Panny. The Panny has a setting that allows you to change increase/decrease the contrast to more accurately reflect HDR. Of course the HDR will not pass as the 500ES is not capable of accepting that feed. increasing the contrast through this slider will allow the SDR feed to more accurately reflect the way it would look if the display was showing HDR. The cost is an overall darker picture. I ended up with a picture that was pleasant but I couldn't say that it was significantly better than allowing the 500ES to upscale 1080p from the Oppo. That may change over time as I watch more movies and tweak a bit more. I may have to run a calibration disc through the Panny to make sure settings are correct for that player. I did find that it help if I switched the 500ES off of low lamp mode and back onto high lamp mode. I have not had a chance to try the new Panny with 3D Blu-ray discs but that will be for another weekend.

I would appreciate any tips from anyone else who has the Panny with a 500/600ES.

John
Big John is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6094 of 6332 Old 07-29-2016, 10:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cdnscg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,708
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 602 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big John View Post
I hooked up my new Panny UHD player to my 500ES last night. I was unable to do an a/b comparison to the Oppo 103D that I had been using. First glance I didn't think that it made much difference. I watched Allegiant as a first flick. I spent much of the movie tweaking. As time went on the picture got better. First, the Panny has secondary audio ON as a default. had to work my way in and turn that off in order to get TruHD working.
Ssounds good as one would expect from a digital bitstream transfer allowing my Arcam AVR700 to do the decoding. I realized after about 20 minutes that I had to turn the reality creation off to allow the 500 to show the pic that it was being fed from the Panny. The Panny has a setting that allows you to change increase/decrease the contrast to more accurately reflect HDR. Of course the HDR will not pass as the 500ES is not capable of accepting that feed. increasing the contrast through this slider will allow the SDR feed to more accurately reflect the way it would look if the display was showing HDR. The cost is an overall darker picture. I ended up with a picture that was pleasant but I couldn't say that it was significantly better than allowing the 500ES to upscale 1080p from the Oppo. That may change over time as I watch more movies and tweak a bit more. I may have to run a calibration disc through the Panny to make sure settings are correct for that player. I did find that it help if I switched the 500ES off of low lamp mode and back onto high lamp mode. I have not had a chance to try the new Panny with 3D Blu-ray discs but that will be for another weekend.

I would appreciate any tips from anyone else who has the Panny with a 500/600ES.

John

Hi John, did you buy this in Canada or ordered on-line from EU?
cdnscg is offline  
post #6095 of 6332 Old 07-29-2016, 12:34 PM
Newbie
 
Big John's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Regina, Saskatchewan
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdnscg View Post
Hi John, did you buy this in Canada or ordered on-line from EU?
Got it right here in Regina, SK from my dealer.

J
Big John is offline  
post #6096 of 6332 Old 07-29-2016, 03:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Michael9009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 1,095
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 87
I did not know that the Panasonic UHD Blu-ray player was available in Canada.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big John View Post
Got it right here in Regina, SK from my dealer.

J
Michael9009 is offline  
post #6097 of 6332 Old 07-29-2016, 03:58 PM
Newbie
 
Big John's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Regina, Saskatchewan
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael9009 View Post
I did not know that the Panasonic UHD Blu-ray player was available in Canada.
Then you heard it here first. It's up on their Canadian website now too. It wasn't the last time I looked a little over a week ago.

J
Big John is offline  
post #6098 of 6332 Old 07-29-2016, 04:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Michael9009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 1,095
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Wow, yes!

http://www.panasonic.com/ca/consumer...dmp-ub900.html

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big John View Post
Then you heard it here first. It's up on their Canadian website now too. It wasn't the last time I looked a little over a week ago.

J
Michael9009 is offline  
post #6099 of 6332 Old 07-29-2016, 04:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Michael9009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 1,095
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Michael9009 is offline  
post #6100 of 6332 Old 07-29-2016, 04:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cdnscg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,708
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 602 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael9009 View Post
Neat. I haven't seen any reviews for the Philips. Wonder how it compares to the Panasonic.
cdnscg is offline  
post #6101 of 6332 Old 07-29-2016, 06:02 PM
Newbie
 
Big John's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Regina, Saskatchewan
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I saw the Phillips at my Best Buy yesterday when I picked up some movies
Big John is offline  
post #6102 of 6332 Old 07-29-2016, 10:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cdnscg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,708
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 602 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big John View Post
I saw the Phillips at my Best Buy yesterday when I picked up some movies
And?
cdnscg is offline  
post #6103 of 6332 Old 07-30-2016, 11:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DaViD Boulet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Washington DC area
Posts: 6,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seegs108 View Post
Joe Kane has had a few articles on the subject. His professional opinion is that at least a 10 foot wide screen is the beginning point to fully see all the benefit that 4K has to offer, as long as you're within an appropriate seated distance. A lot of members here have screens this large and bigger. You should have no issue seeing an advantage with 4K material. Though, my post had nothing to do with UHD BD being better than regular 1080p BD.
Though at one time Joe Kane was advocating for a red laser hd dvd format (before Toshiba and MS) to deliver 720p as that was "good enough"... even while 1080p native formats (like blu-ray) were being proposed...

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk

1080p and lossless audio. EVERY BD should have them both.

Last edited by DaViD Boulet; 07-30-2016 at 11:40 AM.
DaViD Boulet is offline  
post #6104 of 6332 Old 07-30-2016, 06:44 PM
Newbie
 
Big John's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Regina, Saskatchewan
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdnscg View Post
And?
I was just surprised that it was there as I wasn't aware it had been released. it was hooked up, it was just sitting in it's box beside the UHD movies.

J
Big John is offline  
post #6105 of 6332 Old 07-31-2016, 10:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cdnscg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,708
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 602 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big John View Post
I was just surprised that it was there as I wasn't aware it had been released. it was hooked up, it was just sitting in it's box beside the UHD movies.

J
Got it. I thought you might have seen it in action. Hows the further viewings of your Panasonic? I've got a Sony 300es, and looking to pick up the UB900. I'm at very least interested in the unit having a quick response time.
cdnscg is offline  
post #6106 of 6332 Old 08-08-2016, 08:57 AM
Senior Member
 
console's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 202 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Bulb Replacement?

My 600ES is now 2+ years old and I'm having it ISF calibrated in September (about 1 month from now). My bulb now has 712 hours. I know these bulbs should last at least until 2,000 hours or so. But, considering the new calibration, should I purchase another new bulb, put some hours on that, and have the calibration with new bulb and keep existing for spare?

I do not notice any degradation with the existing bulb. And I've read, somewhere on AVS, that some have had WORSE experiences with a new bulb than their old one.

I would call Craig or Mike for the new bulb. What do others do? Just assume their bulb is fine until it starts to look worse. Or keep a spare on hand?
console is offline  
post #6107 of 6332 Old 08-08-2016, 09:13 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 16,326
Mentioned: 116 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6972 Post(s)
Liked: 8240
Quote:
Originally Posted by console View Post
My 600ES is now 2+ years old and I'm having it ISF calibrated in September (about 1 month from now). My bulb now has 712 hours. I know these bulbs should last at least until 2,000 hours or so. But, considering the new calibration, should I purchase another new bulb, put some hours on that, and have the calibration with new bulb and keep existing for spare?

I do not notice any degradation with the existing bulb. And I've read, somewhere on AVS, that some have had WORSE experiences with a new bulb than their old one.

I would call Craig or Mike for the new bulb. What do others do? Just assume their bulb is fine until it starts to look worse. Or keep a spare on hand?
Keeping a spare lamp on hand isn't a bad idea. I took it one step further - I have a spare projector on hand ( which reminds me - i'd better gets some spare lamps myself ) !!

[email protected] JVC RS4500, Lumagen Radiance Pro, Panamorph Paladin DCR lens, Stewart Luxus Model A ElectriScreens - 128" diagonal 2.35:1 ST130 & 122" diagonal 16:9 Cima Neve, Denon X8500, Parasound A 52+ amp, Martin Logan Motion series 9.4 speakers, four SVS subs, Panasonic UB820, Oppo 203, PFP M1500 UPS
Craig Peer is offline  
post #6108 of 6332 Old 08-09-2016, 05:25 PM
Member
 
WIKED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 47
My lamp now has clocked over 4000hrs so I'll likely buy a spare lamp when it hits 4500hrs but the lamp is still going great at 4000 in my setup.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
WIKED is offline  
post #6109 of 6332 Old 08-11-2016, 03:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
coolgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,501
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1734 Post(s)
Liked: 954
Quote:
Originally Posted by WIKED View Post
My lamp now has clocked over 4000hrs so I'll likely buy a spare lamp when it hits 4500hrs but the lamp is still going great at 4000 in my setup.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
How do you check how many hours you have on the lamp?
coolgeek is offline  
post #6110 of 6332 Old 08-11-2016, 03:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bweissman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: East SF Bay Area, CA, USA
Posts: 1,110
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Lamp hours are shown in the Information Menu.
bweissman is offline  
post #6111 of 6332 Old 08-11-2016, 06:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
coolgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,501
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1734 Post(s)
Liked: 954
Quote:
Originally Posted by bweissman View Post
Lamp hours are shown in the Information Menu.
Thanks.
coolgeek is offline  
post #6112 of 6332 Old 08-12-2016, 06:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
roxiedog13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North 48 °
Posts: 3,955
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2797 Post(s)
Liked: 1485
Quote:
Originally Posted by WIKED View Post
My lamp now has clocked over 4000hrs so I'll likely buy a spare lamp when it hits 4500hrs but the lamp is still going great at 4000 in my setup.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
Wow, that's a lot of hours, someone is getting their moneys worth.

Assuming you have the VW500 and also, did you measure your on/off contrast ratio?

Dedicated Theater: Sony VPL VW5000 , Panamorph DCR & ISCO III L Anamorphic Lens, Draper TecVision XT1800X Screen, 2.40:1 134" diagonal curved , Denon AVR-X8500 , 9.2.6 Atmos, Panasonic UB900, Oppo 203, Lumagen Pro 4440 , (3) Paradigm CI Elite E7-L+C+R fronts, , (2) CI Pro P80-IW Rear, (2) Paradigm SA-ADP In-wall Surround, (6) SIG-1.5R-30 v.3 In-Ceiling, Subwoofers: (2) SVS SB-16 Ultra , (1) SVS PC13-Ultra .
roxiedog13 is online now  
post #6113 of 6332 Old 08-16-2016, 03:54 AM
Member
 
WIKED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Yes it's a VW500ES. I haven't changed anything on it since about 1500hrs.
The lamp is still going strong and it still looks great in my theatre room. I wish I could have measured the light output every 500hrs but I didn't have a light meter until it had about 3500hrs etc. I will definately do it when I replace the lamp next time.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
roxiedog13 likes this.
WIKED is offline  
post #6114 of 6332 Old 09-07-2016, 01:01 PM
Member
 
1fzj80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cardiff CA
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
How long does firmware/software update take?

I powered 'on' with usb inserted and been waiting over and hour and pj has not cycled 'on' as sony says it will. also non-responsive to power button from remote.

Last edited by 1fzj80; 09-07-2016 at 02:09 PM.
1fzj80 is offline  
post #6115 of 6332 Old 09-07-2016, 01:54 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 16,326
Mentioned: 116 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6972 Post(s)
Liked: 8240
Quote:
Originally Posted by WIKED View Post
Yes it's a VW500ES. I haven't changed anything on it since about 1500hrs.
The lamp is still going strong and it still looks great in my theatre room. I wish I could have measured the light output every 500hrs but I didn't have a light meter until it had about 3500hrs etc. I will definately do it when I replace the lamp next time.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
Wow - 4000 hours is great. Better get that spare lamp soon !

[email protected] JVC RS4500, Lumagen Radiance Pro, Panamorph Paladin DCR lens, Stewart Luxus Model A ElectriScreens - 128" diagonal 2.35:1 ST130 & 122" diagonal 16:9 Cima Neve, Denon X8500, Parasound A 52+ amp, Martin Logan Motion series 9.4 speakers, four SVS subs, Panasonic UB820, Oppo 203, PFP M1500 UPS
Craig Peer is offline  
post #6116 of 6332 Old 09-07-2016, 02:03 PM
Member
 
WIKED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Peer View Post
Wow - 4000 hours is great. Better get that spare lamp soon !
Yes I'll likely buy one at 4500hrs just in case as my luck it would fail on a Friday night.
I just didn't want to buy a new one and have it sit there. Imagine if I bought a new one at say 2000hrs. It would be out of warranty even though it was still in the box and thats what has stopped me so far.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
WIKED is offline  
post #6117 of 6332 Old 09-07-2016, 02:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bweissman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: East SF Bay Area, CA, USA
Posts: 1,110
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by WIKED View Post
Yes I'll likely buy one at 4500hrs just in case as my luck it would fail on a Friday night.
I just didn't want to buy a new one and have it sit there. Imagine if I bought a new one at say 2000hrs. It would be out of warranty even though it was still in the box and thats what has stopped me so far.

So buy a new lamp and try it to make sure it works. Then you can put the old one back in.

But I bet you'll leave the new one in when you see how much brighter it is.
bweissman is offline  
post #6118 of 6332 Old 09-07-2016, 03:03 PM
Member
 
1fzj80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cardiff CA
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Firmware/software Update Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1fzj80 View Post
How long does firmware/software update take?

I powered 'on' with usb inserted and been waiting over and hour and pj has not cycled 'on' as sony says it will. also non-responsive to power button from remote.
FWIW
my pj did not update as it should.
i followed the instructions on the sony esupport web page exactly.
the pj read the file from the usb flash drive but did not update and was non-responsive to remote or buttons on the side of the unit.
i though i bricked it. i waited about 2-hours and then called tech support.
the fix was unplugging all cables (everything) switching off main power and switching'on' after about 30 seconds. (unplug the power cord if it is not on a switched line feed)
i then pressed the power button on the side of the unit and the front panel led switched from red to amber and did its update thing.
for some unknown reason it did read the update file, but did not complete the update???
all is good now and working normally.
1fzj80 is offline  
post #6119 of 6332 Old 09-07-2016, 03:49 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 16,326
Mentioned: 116 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6972 Post(s)
Liked: 8240
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1fzj80 View Post
FWIW
my pj did not update as it should.
i followed the instructions on the sony esupport web page exactly.
the pj read the file from the usb flash drive but did not update and was non-responsive to remote or buttons on the side of the unit.
i though i bricked it. i waited about 2-hours and then called tech support.
the fix was unplugging all cables (everything) switching off main power and switching'on' after about 30 seconds. (unplug the power cord if it is not on a switched line feed)
i then pressed the power button on the side of the unit and the front panel led switched from red to amber and did its update thing.
for some unknown reason it did read the update file, but did not complete the update???
all is good now and working normally.
I found that I had to have all HDMI cables disconnected from my VW600 for the firmware update to complete. I went through exactly what you did - thought I'd bricked my VW600 ! Worst 10 minutes of my life - until Sony Support called me back.

[email protected] JVC RS4500, Lumagen Radiance Pro, Panamorph Paladin DCR lens, Stewart Luxus Model A ElectriScreens - 128" diagonal 2.35:1 ST130 & 122" diagonal 16:9 Cima Neve, Denon X8500, Parasound A 52+ amp, Martin Logan Motion series 9.4 speakers, four SVS subs, Panasonic UB820, Oppo 203, PFP M1500 UPS
Craig Peer is offline  
post #6120 of 6332 Old 09-07-2016, 07:33 PM
Member
 
1fzj80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cardiff CA
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big John View Post
I hooked up my new Panny UHD player to my 500ES last night. I was unable to do an a/b comparison to the Oppo 103D that I had been using. First glance I didn't think that it made much difference. I watched Allegiant as a first flick. I spent much of the movie tweaking. As time went on the picture got better. First, the Panny has secondary audio ON as a default. had to work my way in and turn that off in order to get TruHD working.
Ssounds good as one would expect from a digital bitstream transfer allowing my Arcam AVR700 to do the decoding. I realized after about 20 minutes that I had to turn the reality creation off to allow the 500 to show the pic that it was being fed from the Panny. The Panny has a setting that allows you to change increase/decrease the contrast to more accurately reflect HDR. Of course the HDR will not pass as the 500ES is not capable of accepting that feed. increasing the contrast through this slider will allow the SDR feed to more accurately reflect the way it would look if the display was showing HDR. The cost is an overall darker picture. I ended up with a picture that was pleasant but I couldn't say that it was significantly better than allowing the 500ES to upscale 1080p from the Oppo. That may change over time as I watch more movies and tweak a bit more. I may have to run a calibration disc through the Panny to make sure settings are correct for that player. I did find that it help if I switched the 500ES off of low lamp mode and back onto high lamp mode. I have not had a chance to try the new Panny with 3D Blu-ray discs but that will be for another weekend.

I would appreciate any tips from anyone else who has the Panny with a 500/600ES.

John
I just purchased a panny ub900 and also still figuring out the setup on the new to me vw600es.
is it correct the the 600 is hdcp 2.2 and hdmi 2.0.
can the 600 accept a full 4k signal from the panny bluray?
1fzj80 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Sony Fmp X1 4k Ultra Hd Media Player , Sony Vpl Vw1000es Projector , Sony Vpl Vw500es

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off