JVC Auto Calibration - Page 19 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 233Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 967 Old 02-06-2017, 03:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 7,777
Mentioned: 162 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5525 Post(s)
Liked: 2229
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMartin56 View Post
Thank you. I'm quite sure my meter placement needs some work and probably contributed to my poor results. I'm afraid I don't have any experience on how to properly place the meter forca reading off the lens.
Personally I wouldn't run Autocal on such a new projector. Autocal is meant to bring the projector back to the factory settings, to compensate for aging of the lamp and the panels. Given the limited accuracy of the Spyder, it's unlikely you would get better results on a brand new projector by running Autocal.

Last edited by Dominic Chan; 02-07-2017 at 03:43 PM.
Dominic Chan is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 967 Old 02-08-2017, 06:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nightfly85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 1,090
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
Personally I wouldn't run Autocal on such a new projector. Autocal is meant to bring the projector back to the factory settings, to compensate for aging of the lamp and the panels. Given the limited accuracy of the Spyder, it's unlikely you would get better results on a brand new projector by running Autocal.
Many of us new JVC owners get gamma "droop" OTB. Not all, but many. Only way to correct that is via the AutoCal.

Also, for me, I didn't have any profile that was very accurate OTB.

So I recommend that you profile your PJ and then see if gamma and/or color needs further help. I recommend this just for a base line that one can use to compare against later around the 100hr mark.
nathan_h and panman40 like this.

JVC 4910, Marantz 7010 AVR, HTPC MPC-HC/MPC-BE x64; MadVR/LAV
nightfly85 is offline  
post #543 of 967 Old 05-16-2017, 03:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Macroblocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Nashville
Posts: 1,051
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Hey Guys ! thanks for all the great info and please excuse the following question as i am new to using the JVC Autocal, first does it matter where in the box you have the spyder ? closer or further from the projector ? also outside of using Arve's tool to create a good gamma curve for HDR does autocal help with the color accuracy of HDR/bt2020 ?
Macroblocker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #544 of 967 Old 05-16-2017, 05:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Javs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 8,064
Mentioned: 501 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6937 Post(s)
Liked: 6661
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macroblocker View Post
Hey Guys ! thanks for all the great info and please excuse the following question as i am new to using the JVC Autocal, first does it matter where in the box you have the spyder ? closer or further from the projector ? also outside of using Arve's tool to create a good gamma curve for HDR does autocal help with the color accuracy of HDR/bt2020 ?
1. Close as possible as long as still inside the box. The point is it will still be able to get good black readings, and not too close that the whites blow out.

2. No.

JVC X9500 (RS620) | 120" 16:9 | Marantz AV7702 MkII | Emotiva XPA-7 | DIY Modular Towers | DIY TPL-150 Surrounds | DIY Atmos | DIY 18" Subs
-
MadVR Settings | UHD Waveform Analysis | Arve Tool Instructions + V3 Javs Curves
Javs is offline  
post #545 of 967 Old 05-16-2017, 06:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Macroblocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Nashville
Posts: 1,051
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Javs View Post
1. Close as possible as long as still inside the box. The point is it will still be able to get good black readings, and not too close that the whites blow out.

2. No.
Thanks so much for the reply!
Macroblocker is offline  
post #546 of 967 Old 06-06-2017, 05:37 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 23,130
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4156 Post(s)
Liked: 2389
stanger89 is offline  
post #547 of 967 Old 06-15-2017, 07:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bytehoven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 6,860
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1607 Post(s)
Liked: 1271
Hello Sports Fans...

Will the JVC Auto Calibration software work with my older SpectraCal Chroma 5 probe?

Thanks

BYTE

JVC DLA-X990 - 128" 2.35 1.3 Gain Screen - Vertex2 - X800M2 - UB820 - ATV4K64 - ROKU Ultra - PS4 - XBone
7.1.4 Atmos - Denon X4300H + Denon 3806(LCR) - JBL Control 5 - BIC Sub - Dayton
Bytehoven is offline  
post #548 of 967 Old 06-16-2017, 03:28 AM
Member
 
*Harry*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bytehoven View Post
Hello Sports Fans...
Will the JVC Auto Calibration software work with my older SpectraCal Chroma 5 probe?
BYTE
No this very old probe isn't supported (btw. I still have such one too, wasn't that bad ... )

As Colorimeter for the JVC Cal SW you only can use the Spyder 3/4/5, depending on the revision of the SW.

_________
Regards,
Harry
*Harry* is offline  
post #549 of 967 Old 06-16-2017, 03:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bytehoven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 6,860
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1607 Post(s)
Liked: 1271
Quote:
Originally Posted by *Harry* View Post
No this very old probe isn't supported (btw. I still have such one too, wasn't that bad ... )

As Colorimeter for the JVC Cal SW you only can use the Spyder 3/4/5, depending on the revision of the SW.
Thanks Harry... I have the DPG-1000, that old C5 and I think Calman 4.6 installed on an old Dell Laptop. The rig did work great, but I guess I should have upgraded to the C6 when I had the chance. I think I'll try SpectraCal tomorrow to see if the C5 still works their newer calibration software.

Still, the Spyder5Elite package is kinda cheap compared to this old gear. I also like that there is an OSX version of the program I can run my HTPC which is a MacPro.

Thanks again.

JVC DLA-X990 - 128" 2.35 1.3 Gain Screen - Vertex2 - X800M2 - UB820 - ATV4K64 - ROKU Ultra - PS4 - XBone
7.1.4 Atmos - Denon X4300H + Denon 3806(LCR) - JBL Control 5 - BIC Sub - Dayton
Bytehoven is offline  
post #550 of 967 Old 08-24-2017, 12:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Lightivity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Just realized I’ve the JVC Autocal calibration software setting “Gamma step” set to “Standard” and not “High quality” during my gamma calibrations. Does it matter?

JVC RS400/X5000, Marantz SR5011, Sony UHD X800
—————————-
"National unity in Europe is still defined in terms of blood and earth. In the USA it's the idea – expressed in the Constitution – that supports the development of the nation. In the matter of integration the difference is profound: everyone can agree on an idea, but no-one can change their ties of blood."
Lightivity is offline  
post #551 of 967 Old 08-24-2017, 12:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DLCPhoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 2,577
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1767 Post(s)
Liked: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lightivity View Post
Just realized I’ve the JVC Autocal calibration software setting “Gamma step” set to “Standard” and not “High quality” during my gamma calibrations. Does it matter?
As I understand it, "High quality" does a 33 step Gamma calibration, vs perhaps 12 with the "Standard". That's just a guess, but basically you'll have a more precise adjustment with the High setting, as you would expect. Will you see any obvious improvement if you redo it? I don't know, but if you do, take some before/after pictures to help us assess the changes.
Lightivity likes this.

JVC NX7, DCR Lens, Marantz SR7010, Screen Innovations 160" 2.35:1 Screen
Front L/R: Duntech Sovereigns, powered by 2 bridged Adcom GFA-555
Center: Revel C208 powered by Cambridge Audio Azur 851W
Dolby Bed (4): Sony Core SS-CS5, Atmos (4): Ascend Acoustics CBM-170 SE
Subwoofer: DIY 8' sub with 4 18" SI Drivers, powered by iNuke 6000
DLCPhoto is online now  
post #552 of 967 Old 08-24-2017, 01:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Lightivity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by DLCPhoto View Post
As I understand it, "High quality" does a 33 step Gamma calibration, vs perhaps 12 with the "Standard". That's just a guess, but basically you'll have a more precise adjustment with the High setting, as you would expect. Will you see any obvious improvement if you redo it? I don't know, but if you do, take some before/after pictures to help us assess the changes.
Thanks. I’ll try it.

JVC RS400/X5000, Marantz SR5011, Sony UHD X800
—————————-
"National unity in Europe is still defined in terms of blood and earth. In the USA it's the idea – expressed in the Constitution – that supports the development of the nation. In the matter of integration the difference is profound: everyone can agree on an idea, but no-one can change their ties of blood."
Lightivity is offline  
post #553 of 967 Old 08-25-2017, 04:35 AM
Member
 
*Harry*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Recommendation: Performing the 33 step cal is worth it - R|G|B balance of grayscale in shadows will be much more accurate.
Lightivity likes this.

_________
Regards,
Harry
*Harry* is offline  
post #554 of 967 Old 08-31-2017, 06:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Lightivity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by *Harry* View Post
Recommendation: Performing the 33 step cal is worth it - R|G|B balance of grayscale in shadows will be much more accurate.
I redid gamma calibration using the 33 steps, although I can't say I see a lot of difference - hard to compare just be the eye. I guess it's pretty subtle.

I noticed in the JVC instructions that I need to have a 4k signal live into the projector when calibrating. Not sure I did this...what happens if I don't?

JVC RS400/X5000, Marantz SR5011, Sony UHD X800
—————————-
"National unity in Europe is still defined in terms of blood and earth. In the USA it's the idea – expressed in the Constitution – that supports the development of the nation. In the matter of integration the difference is profound: everyone can agree on an idea, but no-one can change their ties of blood."
Lightivity is offline  
post #555 of 967 Old 08-31-2017, 07:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 7,777
Mentioned: 162 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5525 Post(s)
Liked: 2229
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lightivity View Post
I redid gamma calibration using the 33 steps, although I can't say I see a lot of difference - hard to compare just be the eye. I guess it's pretty subtle.

I noticed in the JVC instructions that I need to have a 4k signal live into the projector when calibrating. Not sure I did this...what happens if I don't?
The instruction says
Quote:
Make sure to input video signals (4K, 1080 or 720) when the calibration software is running
http://www3.jvckenwood.com/english/d...7_en_v1_00.pdf
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #556 of 967 Old 08-31-2017, 07:32 AM
Member
 
*Harry*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 53
afaik the reason is, that the panel frequency must not change while calibrating. So with a stable source signal fed into the PJ, you have a stable display refresh rate all the time while calibrating.

An other point is, that the spyder probe doesn't give same results on different display refresh rates. It can differ more/less.

Using the Spyder 4 I figured out, that I get best cal. results on my X75 with a 1080p24 source (can be a still picture, e. g. Teds Calibration Disk playing the main menu).

With newer units that could be a 4K signal @24hz refresh rate. Just try it for your self: Using any calibration SW (HCRF, CalMAN, LightSpace ...) you can check the stability of your probe using low luminance test patches (e.g. 10 ... 20 IRE) at differend refresh rates.
Lightivity likes this.

_________
Regards,
Harry
*Harry* is offline  
post #557 of 967 Old 08-31-2017, 07:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Lightivity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
Yeah, I know. I was just curious if a lack of input renders a faulty calibration, or if it all-out blocks the calibration from even starting. The calibration went well al the way through so I guess I had input, just didn't check it actively.

JVC RS400/X5000, Marantz SR5011, Sony UHD X800
—————————-
"National unity in Europe is still defined in terms of blood and earth. In the USA it's the idea – expressed in the Constitution – that supports the development of the nation. In the matter of integration the difference is profound: everyone can agree on an idea, but no-one can change their ties of blood."
Lightivity is offline  
post #558 of 967 Old 08-31-2017, 07:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 7,777
Mentioned: 162 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5525 Post(s)
Liked: 2229
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lightivity View Post
Yeah, I know. I was just curious if a lack of input renders a faulty calibration, or if it all-out blocks the calibration from even starting. The calibration went well al the way through so I guess I had input, just didn't check it actively.
If the input is absent, the calibration software will detect this condition and prompt you to correct it, prior to proceeding with the actual calibration.
Lightivity likes this.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #559 of 967 Old 09-03-2017, 08:16 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
chipvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Seattle
Posts: 929
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 24
SO I finally got to do a autocal. Now my blacks seem to have a red tint to it. How do I get rid of this? Using HDR Settings down the list for the RS520.

My gamma curve was shaped like and S going through the line.

Last edited by chipvideo; 09-03-2017 at 08:30 PM.
chipvideo is offline  
post #560 of 967 Old 09-04-2017, 02:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bandyka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 3,880
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2327 Post(s)
Liked: 1423
I hope someone can shed some light on this.
I am trying to autocal my RS620 using version V1.20 and the problem is the peak white simply displays an error every time hence the calibration results in pink looking gamma. I am only trying to do gamma.

I thought this was fixed in V1.2? Also why would it error out at peak white? It's the Spyder 5 and is within the rectangle as needs to be ,tried placing it further back as far as it goes within the range.

EDIT: from what I can see the software is still dead as others are still having issues as well.

JVC RS620/X9500 in bat cave Anthem MRX-720 + 3xpower amps = 7.1.4, Martin Logan Motion 60XT fronts, ML FX rears, ML Motion 50XT centre, 4 x ML Motion 2 on ceiling Atmos, ML Balanced force 210 as the beast. Panasonic UB900, STAX-3170 earspeakers, HTPC, PS4, PS3, Amiga 500 etc..Epson LS10000 calibration and WCG SDR settings: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-dig...l#post50298297
Bandyka is offline  
post #561 of 967 Old 09-04-2017, 04:28 AM
Member
 
*Harry*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 53
What happens on a calibration run if you set "Gamma + Color Calibration" at JVC Cal SW settings?

_________
Regards,
Harry

Last edited by *Harry*; 09-04-2017 at 04:32 AM.
*Harry* is offline  
post #562 of 967 Old 09-05-2017, 12:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bandyka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 3,880
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2327 Post(s)
Liked: 1423
Quote:
Originally Posted by *Harry* View Post
What happens on a calibration run if you set "Gamma + Color Calibration" at JVC Cal SW settings?
Don't know as I haven't tried aas color is spot on, I like to calibrate it manually and I would do it with gamma as well if it was an option for 2084. I can't imagine why doing color and gamma would not cause the peak white error.
lawsondl likes this.

JVC RS620/X9500 in bat cave Anthem MRX-720 + 3xpower amps = 7.1.4, Martin Logan Motion 60XT fronts, ML FX rears, ML Motion 50XT centre, 4 x ML Motion 2 on ceiling Atmos, ML Balanced force 210 as the beast. Panasonic UB900, STAX-3170 earspeakers, HTPC, PS4, PS3, Amiga 500 etc..Epson LS10000 calibration and WCG SDR settings: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-dig...l#post50298297
Bandyka is offline  
post #563 of 967 Old 09-05-2017, 04:45 AM
Member
 
*Harry*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 53
When doing a complete Col+Gamma Cal in the same run, the result of the calculated white point can be different compared with a Gamma-Cal only.

That's because the JVC SW takes for white point calculation the color readings into account, if set. If not, then the 33 (e.g.) step Gamma Cal readings of the R|G|B nativ CS + the set profile information is all what the SW knows, because lack of R|G|B|C|M|Y|W readings.

So you're right, that you could get a wrong white point if the CS of your set profile seems to be perfect and the SW is still buggy. Otherwise it could be the case, that your PJ has a native CS issue, e.g. any primary color has a lower max native saturation then usual.

I could also be wrong if your JVC SW version works in an other way then the V5 I'm using for my X75 cal.

_________
Regards,
Harry
*Harry* is offline  
post #564 of 967 Old 09-06-2017, 12:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bandyka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 3,880
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2327 Post(s)
Liked: 1423
Thanks, I will try the color+gamma to test but I just don't want to mess up my near perfect color.

JVC RS620/X9500 in bat cave Anthem MRX-720 + 3xpower amps = 7.1.4, Martin Logan Motion 60XT fronts, ML FX rears, ML Motion 50XT centre, 4 x ML Motion 2 on ceiling Atmos, ML Balanced force 210 as the beast. Panasonic UB900, STAX-3170 earspeakers, HTPC, PS4, PS3, Amiga 500 etc..Epson LS10000 calibration and WCG SDR settings: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-dig...l#post50298297
Bandyka is offline  
post #565 of 967 Old 09-06-2017, 04:50 AM
Member
 
*Harry*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 53
That's how I did it with my X75 many times:

This way I can run the JVC PJ calibration with no risk of overriding the existing calibration in the PJ:
When it comes to the point, where the JVC SW shows you the result, don't click on SAVE before you have verified the result using any other measurement SW (LightSpace, CalMAN, HCFR, CP ...).

If not happy with the result, just click on CANCEL. Only with SAVE the new data will be stored at the PJs flash memory.

If you choose CANCEL, and you want to get back the old calibration, just switch over to any other color profile and change the Lens Aperture setting by 4 steps (eg. if set at -4, go to -8 -> this will restore the Color Data from flash). If you only want to get back at the Gamma calibration (still saved in flash memory), just switch between CMD ON an OFF.
KBMAN and crash1977 like this.

_________
Regards,
Harry
*Harry* is offline  
post #566 of 967 Old 09-06-2017, 11:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bandyka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 3,880
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2327 Post(s)
Liked: 1423
OK so did Color+Gamma now it all turned green instead of pink and red

JVC RS620/X9500 in bat cave Anthem MRX-720 + 3xpower amps = 7.1.4, Martin Logan Motion 60XT fronts, ML FX rears, ML Motion 50XT centre, 4 x ML Motion 2 on ceiling Atmos, ML Balanced force 210 as the beast. Panasonic UB900, STAX-3170 earspeakers, HTPC, PS4, PS3, Amiga 500 etc..Epson LS10000 calibration and WCG SDR settings: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-dig...l#post50298297
Bandyka is offline  
post #567 of 967 Old 09-07-2017, 09:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1,096
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 738 Post(s)
Liked: 394
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bandyka View Post
Don't know as I haven't tried aas color is spot on, I like to calibrate it manually and I would do it with gamma as well if it was an option for 2084. I can't imagine why doing color and gamma would not cause the peak white error.
Hi.. Where can I find the link for the autocal and what else do i need to by to do this the simplest way.. Never done this before so I need to learn..

I can't find the autocal for the 520 on the jvc sight.. I find it for last years models but not for the 20's..
jorgebetancourt is online now  
post #568 of 967 Old 09-23-2017, 10:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KBMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Posts: 3,662
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 405 Post(s)
Liked: 207
CALIBRATION NEWBIE HERE. How do you physically hook up the SPYDER 5 to a JVC X570R??? I don't see a USB input on the pj, so my assumption would be a USB-to-RS232 cable?

After that, what do you do? There is nothing in the manual that even touches this subject. Calibration VETS, please send me a link or a reply as to how this all works with AUTOCAL and the Spyder5 meter...THANK YOU!
KBMAN is offline  
post #569 of 967 Old 09-23-2017, 10:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fleaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,040
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 256 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by KBMAN View Post
CALIBRATION NEWBIE HERE. How do you physically hook up the SPYDER 5 to a JVC X570R??? I don't see a USB input on the pj, so my assumption would be a USB-to-RS232 cable?

After that, what do you do? There is nothing in the manual that even touches this subject. Calibration VETS, please send me a link or a reply as to how this all works with AUTOCAL and the Spyder5 meter...THANK YOU!
The spyder USB goes to your computer running JVC's autocal software.

You connect your JVC to your computer via ethernet.

This thread covers most, and the process is essentially the same across many JVC models FWIR>

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-dig...500-rs600.html
nathan_h and KBMAN like this.
fleaman is offline  
post #570 of 967 Old 10-16-2017, 02:10 AM
Member
 
MrDiegoRU-SPB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 12
good day!

i just got my spyder5 and ready to calibrate my X9000 PJ.
i read https://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-dig...l#post35130186
post and have few questions, because my english not so perfect and meanings of few names cannt understand:

1) "Environment settings in the JVC menus are disabled."
what thats mean?

2) what is "CMD settings" ?
its an MPC or what?

3) what is DCI color profile?

its look a little hard to understand for me.
can you explain some "noob" steps to do as for new x9000 nad spyder5 to do. I maybe not need "extremely" full calibration, because of my idiotism, but 100% needed steps maybe you can tell?

Last edited by MrDiegoRU-SPB; 10-16-2017 at 02:27 AM.
MrDiegoRU-SPB is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Jvc , Jvc Dla Rs45 Home Theater Projector 1080p Hdmi

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off