JVC Auto Calibration - Page 33 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 255Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #961 of 1034 Old 12-27-2019, 08:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SirMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,638
Mentioned: 77 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1355 Post(s)
Liked: 1013
Quote:
Originally Posted by den110 View Post
So I was able to install drivers from the Displaycal software. This is the driver. But the autocal software cannot detect the device. I plugged it into the usb port, placed on the calibration device, but nothing happens. Also no light on the ES 2000 not sure what I'm doing wrong. Is it the wrong driver?


Use this driver for autocal.


https://www.xrite.com/service-suppor...n2000_xp_vista
SirMaster is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #962 of 1034 Old 12-28-2019, 05:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
den110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirMaster View Post
Thank you SirMaster! I found the same link. Weird how Windows 10 did not have the driver in its database. Works now!

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

Klipsch RF82BK L+R Speakers|Klipsch RC62BK CC Speaker|Definitive Technology B92X Surrounds|NHT Super One Rear Surrounds|4 Polk MC80 Ceiling Atmos|Velodyne VLF 1012 and Definitive Technology PF1500TL+ SWs|Marantz SR7012 Receiver|Yamaha RXV1800 Receiver for Atmos|JVC RS2000 4K Projector|Amazon FireStick 4K|AppleTV 4K|Panasonic UB820 UHD Blu Ray Player|Seymour Center Stage UF AT 140" diag 2:35 Screen on DIY frame and false front wall
den110 is offline  
post #963 of 1034 Old 01-12-2020, 12:14 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello,
I have recently acquired a x7900 projector.
I am now thinking about getting an X-rite i1 pro2 for Autocal.
(I can only get the Spyder 5 for utopian prices and have only one i1 display here. And the pro version should be a purchase for life, I hope)

Now I have seen that X-Rite has released an i1 Pro3. Among other things, it tolerates much more light.

Does anyone know if it is (unofficially) compatible with Autocal? Does it use the same drivers as a Pro2?


Thank you much for any information.
SomoneSomewhere is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #964 of 1034 Old 02-14-2020, 07:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
curlyjive's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Abington, PA
Posts: 2,155
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 708 Post(s)
Liked: 323
I did a second calibration about 300 hours on my RS540 last night. I ran into the same issue where red is too high a 100 and contrast pattern will show pink flashing bars. However, correcting red at 100 and getting rid of the tint will lower red a bit too much over most of the rest of the range (30-80 mostly).

I suspect it is not an issue of running out of red since 100 has too much. I'm thinking it is a meter reading issue.

For autocal, I am using a Spyder 5 for gamma only, pointed at the lens. For white balance and color I am using a i1pro2 pointed at the screen. I calibrate a mode for SDR Rec 709 and for SDR BT2020 (tone mapped UHD content via penny 820). Those modes using a different aperture position and one uses the filter. I then go back and fine tune with calman and a C6 trend to the i1pro2. So I am seeing the red issue there and via contrast patterns.

I'm not sure if t he red overshoot at 100 is coming from the white balance readings from the i1pro2 or from the gamma readings from the spyder5. Really that would be my main question, whether red at 100 is impacted more by the gamma or white balance step in autocal.

If its the gamma autocal, then the spyder 5 could be the culprit. If it is the white balance in autocal, then maybe the i1pro2 off the screen is the issue. The step in autocal where it shows you if your meter is close enough to the projector always shows it as outside the box with the i1pro2 pointed at the screen. I could try the diffuser pointed at the lens. I could also try running color and gamma with the spyder 5. I'm not a stickler for absolute color accuracy as long as we're close (don't crucify me!) Gamma and white balance are more critical to me.

I was able to make some compromises and get to where my average dE for white balance was less than 1, so really the charts may look worse than the issue really is.
curlyjive is offline  
post #965 of 1034 Old 02-16-2020, 02:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1,218
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 830 Post(s)
Liked: 441
Hi can someone be kind enough and tell me why I can I'm getting this error.. my 640 is on the network when I press check for ip under setting under autocal software 10 v.100 it checks ok.. I was able to use it a few days back but never again..



Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk
jorgebetancourt is offline  
post #966 of 1034 Old 02-16-2020, 02:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 8,732
Mentioned: 189 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6281 Post(s)
Liked: 2640
Quote:
Originally Posted by jorgebetancourt View Post
Hi can someone be kind enough and tell me why I can I'm getting this error.. my 640 is on the network when I press check for ip under setting under autocal software 10 v.100 it checks ok.. I was able to use it a few days back but never again..



Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk
As the on-screen message says, the projector needs an active input when you run Autocal.

JVC DLA-X550R; Denon AVR-X3400H; HD Fury Linker / Vertex 2; ATV4K; Sony UBP-X700
JVC Curves; Optimizing HDR;
Creating a basic HDR curve using Arve’s Tool;
Replacing JVC Bare Bulbs
Dominic Chan is offline  
post #967 of 1034 Old 02-16-2020, 02:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1,218
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 830 Post(s)
Liked: 441
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
As the on-screen message says, the projector needs an active input when you run Autocal.
Ha i just saw that was going to erase my post.. Damn your all over this forum.. I was just going to upload your newest LLDV_A1F i had loaded the previous version..
jorgebetancourt is offline  
post #968 of 1034 Old 02-24-2020, 03:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
JonnyVee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 528
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 363 Post(s)
Liked: 286
I’ve been using a Spyder for Autocal since I got my x790 a year ago. I now have an opportunity to buy a i1pro 2 for $400 CDN, which is a good deal.

Is the results of the Pro 2 that much better over the Spyder? I want to pull the trigger, but I’m still a little apprehensive. I also have Calman and a I1 Display Pro

Projector and Screen: JVC x790 & 120" Silver Ticket screen (Incoming 120” Stuart WallScreen StudioTek 130 G4)
Audio: Denon x4400H 5.1.4 - Infinity R162 L/R, Infinity RC263 centre, Kef T101 surrounds, Kef Ci160er rear atmos, Energy V-Mini - front atmos, PSA v1512df (x2) & BOSS w/4 12” Subs
JonnyVee is offline  
post #969 of 1034 Old 03-14-2020, 03:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
blake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Posts: 978
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1036 Post(s)
Liked: 155
For a JVC RS4500:

1. Is Spyder X still the best basic meter for on-screen gamma calibration? I understand this meter should not be used for color calibration as it may not be accurate (hit/miss).
2. Does the JVC AutoCal software directly report peak white luminescenc, pre and post gamma calibration (ex. in fL or nits)?

Once my theater is done, I have some screen samples I want to measure in my room, before I invest in the screen.

EDIT: That is odd - the JVC RS4500 AutoCal Download page lists the Spyder 5 Elite/Pro as the only supported meter (i.e. not Spyder X), even though its v12 autocal?!
https://www3.jvckenwood.com/english/...ationsoft.html

Last edited by blake; 03-14-2020 at 03:25 PM.
blake is online now  
post #970 of 1034 Old 03-14-2020, 03:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 8,732
Mentioned: 189 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6281 Post(s)
Liked: 2640
Quote:
Originally Posted by blake View Post
For a JVC RS4500:

1. Is Spyder X still the best basic meter for on-screen gamma calibration? I understand this meter should not be used for color calibration as it may not be accurate (hit/miss).
2. Does the JVC AutoCal software directly report peak white luminescenc, pre and post gamma calibration (ex. in fL or nits)?

Once my theater is done, I have some screen samples I want to measure in my room, before I invest in the screen.

EDIT: That is odd - the JVC RS4500 AutoCal Download page lists the Spyder 5 Elite/Pro as the only supported meter (i.e. not Spyder X), even though its v12 autocal?!
https://www3.jvckenwood.com/english/...ationsoft.html
SpyderX only works with Autocal 12, for the NX series. This is Autocal 8.

None of the Autocal versions measure peak nits. You need to use another app.

JVC DLA-X550R; Denon AVR-X3400H; HD Fury Linker / Vertex 2; ATV4K; Sony UBP-X700
JVC Curves; Optimizing HDR;
Creating a basic HDR curve using Arve’s Tool;
Replacing JVC Bare Bulbs

Last edited by Dominic Chan; 03-14-2020 at 03:49 PM.
Dominic Chan is offline  
post #971 of 1034 Old 03-14-2020, 04:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
blake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Posts: 978
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1036 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
SpyderX only works with Autocal 12, for the NX series. This is Autocal 8.

None of the Autocal versions measure peak nits. You need to use another app.
Ok, that makes sense (Autocal 8 v120 confused me). So Spyder 5 is the meter to use for RS4500. What app would you recommend to measure peak nit with this setup?
blake is online now  
post #972 of 1034 Old 03-14-2020, 04:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 8,732
Mentioned: 189 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6281 Post(s)
Liked: 2640
Quote:
Originally Posted by blake View Post
Ok, that makes sense (Autocal 8 v120 confused me). So Spyder 5 is the meter to use for RS4500. What app would you recommend to measure peak nit with this setup?
I use HCFR. Here’s a link on how to measure the peak nits:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-di...l#post56498098

JVC DLA-X550R; Denon AVR-X3400H; HD Fury Linker / Vertex 2; ATV4K; Sony UBP-X700
JVC Curves; Optimizing HDR;
Creating a basic HDR curve using Arve’s Tool;
Replacing JVC Bare Bulbs
Dominic Chan is offline  
post #973 of 1034 Old 03-14-2020, 10:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
blake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Posts: 978
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1036 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
I use HCFR. Here’s a link on how to measure the peak nits:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-di...l#post56498098
For Rs4500 Autocal (which requires Spyder 5) - can the 5 read off the screen, or does it have to face into the projector lens?
blake is online now  
post #974 of 1034 Old 03-14-2020, 11:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SirMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,638
Mentioned: 77 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1355 Post(s)
Liked: 1013
Quote:
Originally Posted by blake View Post
For Rs4500 Autocal (which requires Spyder 5) - can the 5 read off the screen, or does it have to face into the projector lens?
Why do you want to read off the screen?

Reading off the lens is better as there is a LOT more light. Gamma calibration is important to get correct near black and off the screen it would be too dark on a JVC to get an accurate reading unless you have a several thousand dollar meter.

Gamma is just luminance relative to white, it's not really affected by the screen.
SirMaster is online now  
post #975 of 1034 Old 03-14-2020, 11:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
blake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Posts: 978
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1036 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirMaster View Post
Why do you want to read off the screen?

Reading off the lens is better as there is a LOT more light. Gamma calibration is important to get correct near black and off the screen it would be too dark on a JVC to get an accurate reading unless you have a several thousand dollar meter.

Gamma is just luminance relative to white, it's not really affected by the screen.
Good point, thanks.

I was hoping to use a single meter to both calibrate gamma, and measure peak luminance off the screen so I can compare a few screen material samples I am considering. Looks like there are some cheap (but reasonably accurate) lux light meters on Amazon that can handle the latter task.
blake is online now  
post #976 of 1034 Old 03-14-2020, 11:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SirMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,638
Mentioned: 77 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1355 Post(s)
Liked: 1013
Quote:
Originally Posted by blake View Post
Good point, thanks.

I was hoping to use a single meter to both calibrate gamma, and measure peak luminance off the screen so I can compare a few screen material samples I am considering. Looks like there are some cheap (but reasonably accurate) lux light meters on Amazon that can handle the latter task.
Well if you want to compare brightness of materials the Spyder5 would do that just as well as the X. You can point the spyder5 at the screen and just read the luminance value with HCFR. It might not be perfectly accurate, but even a dedicated light meter isn't either. It should be consistent at least so if all you want to do is compare between materials it should work perfect.
SirMaster is online now  
post #977 of 1034 Old 03-15-2020, 12:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
blake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Posts: 978
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1036 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirMaster View Post
Well if you want to compare brightness of materials the Spyder5 would do that just as well as the X. You can point the spyder5 at the screen and just read the luminance value with HCFR. It might not be perfectly accurate, but even a dedicated light meter isn't either. It should be consistent at least so if all you want to do is compare between materials it should work perfect.
Will spyder 5 work for a small 1x1 foot screen sample? I assume you can just get the meter within a few inches (off axis so as to not block the light path) and take a measurement with HCFR ?
blake is online now  
post #978 of 1034 Old 03-15-2020, 12:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SirMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,638
Mentioned: 77 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1355 Post(s)
Liked: 1013
Quote:
Originally Posted by blake View Post
Will spyder 5 work for a small 1x1 foot screen sample? I assume you can just get the meter within a few inches (off axis so as to not block the light path) and take a measurement with HCFR ?
As well as any other colorimeter yeah.

But have you considered that measuring the screen material from such a sharp angle will impact the reading if it has an off-axis gain?
SirMaster is online now  
post #979 of 1034 Old 03-15-2020, 02:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 8,732
Mentioned: 189 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6281 Post(s)
Liked: 2640
Quote:
Originally Posted by blake View Post
Will spyder 5 work for a small 1x1 foot screen sample? I assume you can just get the meter within a few inches (off axis so as to not block the light path) and take a measurement with HCFR ?
Depending on the meter you use, it may not need to be that close to the screen. The i1Display Pro has a field of view of 8 degrees, so it can be a couple of feet away. I’m not sure about the Spyder5, however. Note that if you have a large black background behind the sample, and consistently place all the samples in the same location, then you will still get consistent results even if the meter’s field of view exceeds the sample size.

Also, the meter should be placed in line with the main viewing position, especially when measuring directional screens. The projector is typically mounted quite a bit higher than the viewer, so you can still do that without having the meter read its own shadow.

JVC DLA-X550R; Denon AVR-X3400H; HD Fury Linker / Vertex 2; ATV4K; Sony UBP-X700
JVC Curves; Optimizing HDR;
Creating a basic HDR curve using Arve’s Tool;
Replacing JVC Bare Bulbs

Last edited by Dominic Chan; 03-15-2020 at 11:13 AM.
Dominic Chan is offline  
post #980 of 1034 Old 04-09-2020, 07:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 227 Post(s)
Liked: 27
I probably haven't spent enough time reading on this topic yet, but I find most guides hard to follow, they're all over the place.

Basically, my questions are as follows:


I have the i1Display Pro, i1Pro 2, LightSpace/ColourSpace HTL, no 3D LUT box, no Spyder.

I plan to use JAVS curves, only watching 4K HDR material.


1) I understand that JAVS curves are based on a 33pt baseline gamma, is it enough to calibrate only gamma in Autocal?


2) Some posts also recommend doing color in Autocal, however, isn't external meters and software superior to Autocal in terms of color?

3) What would be advantages/disadvantages of doing gamma and color in Autocal, I have also seen that a normal 12pt gamma can be used, is this inferior?


I imagine I would only need like 2 curves, 1200 and 4000, would skip purchasing a Spyder and not using a 33pt gamma+color calibration limit end results with JAVS?

Thanks!
Vitus4K is offline  
post #981 of 1034 Old 04-11-2020, 06:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
den110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by den110 View Post
Thank you SirMaster! I found the same link. Weird how Windows 10 did not have the driver in its database. Works now!

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
Hi all,

So for some reason my efi es2000 is not working with auto cal. The driver is the 2.40 and states it's working properly under device manager. I connect the device click on the icon in autocal and the message is 'cannot detect sensor" the sensor flashes for a second when i try to connect then nothing. It worked fine when I did my last autocal back in dec. 2019. I tried to uninstall the driver, reinstall the device, still nothing! Tried looking for maybe an updated driver online, but windows says the current driver is the best one.

Klipsch RF82BK L+R Speakers|Klipsch RC62BK CC Speaker|Definitive Technology B92X Surrounds|NHT Super One Rear Surrounds|4 Polk MC80 Ceiling Atmos|Velodyne VLF 1012 and Definitive Technology PF1500TL+ SWs|Marantz SR7012 Receiver|Yamaha RXV1800 Receiver for Atmos|JVC RS2000 4K Projector|Amazon FireStick 4K|AppleTV 4K|Panasonic UB820 UHD Blu Ray Player|Seymour Center Stage UF AT 140" diag 2:35 Screen on DIY frame and false front wall
den110 is offline  
post #982 of 1034 Old 04-11-2020, 07:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 8,732
Mentioned: 189 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6281 Post(s)
Liked: 2640
Quote:
Originally Posted by den110 View Post
Hi all,

So for some reason my efi es2000 is not working with auto cal. The driver is the 2.40 and states it's working properly under device manager. I connect the device click on the icon in autocal and the message is 'cannot detect sensor" the sensor flashes for a second when i try to connect then nothing. It worked fine when I did my last autocal back in dec. 2019. I tried to uninstall the driver, reinstall the device, still nothing! Tried looking for maybe an updated driver online, but windows says the current driver is the best one.
Did you place the es2000 on its calibration white tile when you click on the icon?

JVC DLA-X550R; Denon AVR-X3400H; HD Fury Linker / Vertex 2; ATV4K; Sony UBP-X700
JVC Curves; Optimizing HDR;
Creating a basic HDR curve using Arve’s Tool;
Replacing JVC Bare Bulbs
Dominic Chan is offline  
post #983 of 1034 Old 04-11-2020, 07:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
den110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
Did you place the es2000 on its calibration white tile when you click on the icon?
Stupid me... I had the white tile window closed when i set it down to calibrate.. now it works. Thanks Dom!

Klipsch RF82BK L+R Speakers|Klipsch RC62BK CC Speaker|Definitive Technology B92X Surrounds|NHT Super One Rear Surrounds|4 Polk MC80 Ceiling Atmos|Velodyne VLF 1012 and Definitive Technology PF1500TL+ SWs|Marantz SR7012 Receiver|Yamaha RXV1800 Receiver for Atmos|JVC RS2000 4K Projector|Amazon FireStick 4K|AppleTV 4K|Panasonic UB820 UHD Blu Ray Player|Seymour Center Stage UF AT 140" diag 2:35 Screen on DIY frame and false front wall
den110 is offline  
post #984 of 1034 Old 05-21-2020, 02:34 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Hi, I have a JVC x7900. I want to use auto cal and check gamma is fine. Spyder 5 is what is needed. You can’t seem to buy these in the UK. What can I use? Amazon sell the spyder x. Just want correct gamma
rilyas77 is offline  
post #985 of 1034 Old 05-21-2020, 05:06 AM
Senior Member
 
riddle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by rilyas77 View Post
Hi, I have a JVC x7900. I want to use auto cal and check gamma is fine. Spyder 5 is what is needed. You can’t seem to buy these in the UK. What can I use? Amazon sell the spyder x. Just want correct gamma

Hi, you needs buy Spider 5 for x7900, look on EBAY...
rilyas77 likes this.
riddle is offline  
post #986 of 1034 Old 05-22-2020, 06:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
curlyjive's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Abington, PA
Posts: 2,155
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 708 Post(s)
Liked: 323
Having an issue with autocal on an RS540 and a Spyder 5. It always over shoots red at 90/100 IRE and undershoots is in the midrange. This makes balancing the range tricky. I was thinking its the spyder and maybe I should try another?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5679.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	60.9 KB
ID:	2730528  
curlyjive is offline  
post #987 of 1034 Old 05-22-2020, 07:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 8,732
Mentioned: 189 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6281 Post(s)
Liked: 2640
Quote:
Originally Posted by curlyjive View Post
Having an issue with autocal on an RS540 and a Spyder 5. It always over shoots red at 90/100 IRE and undershoots is in the midrange. This makes balancing the range tricky. I was thinking its the spyder and maybe I should try another?
Take screen shots of the Autocal log, in particular the Color Temp tab. All 8 points should be in a tight cluster, if there are no greyscale tracking issues.

What meter are you using to validate the result?

JVC DLA-X550R; Denon AVR-X3400H; HD Fury Linker / Vertex 2; ATV4K; Sony UBP-X700
JVC Curves; Optimizing HDR;
Creating a basic HDR curve using Arve’s Tool;
Replacing JVC Bare Bulbs
Dominic Chan is offline  
post #988 of 1034 Old 05-22-2020, 07:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
curlyjive's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Abington, PA
Posts: 2,155
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 708 Post(s)
Liked: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
Take screen shots of the Autocal log, in particular the Color Temp tab. All 8 points should be in a tight cluster, if there are no greyscale tracking issues.

What meter are you using to validate the result?
I am using a C6 profiled but an i1pro2 spectro.

I did look and the cluster is close, but they aren't all on top of each other. I'll have to run it again. This is image is one I found from another post NOT MINE, but it looked similar to this. For reference, I've run autocal several times over the past year and this is always the way red behaves. I can see some pink tint on a flashing contrast pattern before I dial in the red gain during the manual part of my calibration
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	e98a33172958ea1bfa0d0c13b319a0e8.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	27.6 KB
ID:	2730546  
curlyjive is offline  
post #989 of 1034 Old 05-22-2020, 09:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 8,732
Mentioned: 189 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6281 Post(s)
Liked: 2640
Quote:
Originally Posted by curlyjive View Post
I did a second calibration about 300 hours on my RS540 last night. I ran into the same issue where red is too high a 100 and contrast pattern will show pink flashing bars. However, correcting red at 100 and getting rid of the tint will lower red a bit too much over most of the rest of the range (30-80 mostly).
If you see pink flashing bars then you should reduce the contrast, not correct the red at 100%.

Quote:
For autocal, I am using a Spyder 5 for gamma only, pointed at the lens. For white balance and color I am using a i1pro2 pointed at the screen. I calibrate a mode for SDR Rec 709 and for SDR BT2020 (tone mapped UHD content via penny 820). Those modes using a different aperture position and one uses the filter. I then go back and fine tune with calman and a C6 trend to the i1pro2. So I am seeing the red issue there and via contrast patterns.
If the C6 was trained to the the i1Pro2 then (by definition) they should read the same, assuming the training was done using 100% white.

Quote:
I'm not sure if t he red overshoot at 100 is coming from the white balance readings from the i1pro2 or from the gamma readings from the spyder5. Really that would be my main question, whether red at 100 is impacted more by the gamma or white balance step in autocal.
Gamma calibration has little or no effect on the white balance at 100%.

JVC DLA-X550R; Denon AVR-X3400H; HD Fury Linker / Vertex 2; ATV4K; Sony UBP-X700
JVC Curves; Optimizing HDR;
Creating a basic HDR curve using Arve’s Tool;
Replacing JVC Bare Bulbs
Dominic Chan is offline  
post #990 of 1034 Old 05-22-2020, 09:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
curlyjive's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Abington, PA
Posts: 2,155
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 708 Post(s)
Liked: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
If you see pink flashing bars then you should reduce the contrast, not correct the red at 100%.



If the C6 was trained to the the i1Pro2 then (by definition) they should read the same, assuming the training was done using 100% white.



Gamma calibration has little or no effect on the white balance at 100%.
Yes normally reducing contrast is what I would do. I just never had to do that on a JVC post autocal so it seemed odd to me an I didn't want to reduce dynamic range. in my Blu Ray mode, once I adjusted the gains in my manual cal the tint was gone anyway. My SDR BT2020 mode with DI 0 I could still see some pink in the patterns but not yet in content.

Yes I used 100% white to train the meter...I think that is the default I the profiling meter menu.

Good point that gamma is not adjusted at 100% but the red uptick starts at 90 and is low in the midrange, which makes it hard to correct. I am not sure if that is just how the 540's are tracking wise or if my spyder is reading red incorrectly and causing the issue. I just never saw any of this with my old 4910 and spyder 4. As you can see from the graph, it's still pretty good (average dE is under 1 and average temp is pretty darn close. But still it's a pain to balance the red being too high in the upper range and low in the mid while being pretty much right on at 40 and below.

Could it be the spyder? or do you suspect something else?
curlyjive is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Jvc , Jvc Dla Rs45 Home Theater Projector 1080p Hdmi

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off