Just HDMI to projector ??? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 12-09-2013, 06:22 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
randyc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 935
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Are there any other important cables needed to projector other than HDMI ?

I have a SC65 Reciever , but should i still add another HDMI?

Do i need PC cable if i wanted to play movies from PC ?

What is (RS232) ?

Wiring will be difficul so i dont want to forget anything !!


Thanks!
randyc1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 12-10-2013, 05:06 AM
Senior Member
 
Audiojan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Best way to future proof is to run about 5 strings in a 2" PVC pipe. That way you can always pull through whatever cable you might need in the future.

To watch movies from a computer, you need the correct cable for your PJ and computer… if you have an HDMI out on the computer, by all means, use that. If not, then yes, you will need a cable to connect your computer to the PJ.

RS232c is a connection for hardwired system remotes. You may or may not have one now, but I would run that anyways. When you're already at it, also run a network cable to the PJ. More and more, that is the new standard for connecting a systems remote to the PJ, so that way, you're already set if you ever need it.

Otherwise, a single HDMI cable would be sufficient. Make sure you get a cable that can handle the run length you need and is 4K compatible for the future. I order my HDMI cables (and most other cables) from www.monoprice.com , their HDMI with Redmere works really, really well and they just released a new high-speed/bandwidth cable. To boot, they're quite affordable as well (and no, no affiliation other than a happy customer)

"Suddenly the thought struck me, my floor is someone elses ceiling" - Nils Ferlin
Audiojan is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 12-10-2013, 07:14 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 25,879
Mentioned: 234 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12056 Post(s)
Liked: 9586
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by Audiojan View Post

Best way to future proof is to run about 5 strings in a 2" PVC pipe. That way you can always pull through whatever cable you might need in the future.

To watch movies from a computer, you need the correct cable for your PJ and computer… if you have an HDMI out on the computer, by all means, use that. If not, then yes, you will need a cable to connect your computer to the PJ.

RS232c is a connection for hardwired system remotes. You may or may not have one now, but I would run that anyways. When you're already at it, also run a network cable to the PJ. More and more, that is the new standard for connecting a systems remote to the PJ, so that way, you're already set if you ever need it.

Otherwise, a single HDMI cable would be sufficient. Make sure you get a cable that can handle the run length you need and is 4K compatible for the future. I order my HDMI cables (and most other cables) from www.monoprice.com , their HDMI with Redmere works really, really well and they just released a new high-speed/bandwidth cable. To boot, they're quite affordable as well (and no, no affiliation other than a happy customer)

Best to just run one string and have a second string to pull through, when ever you pull a new wire. Re-use the first string the next time. That way, you keep a pull string in place all the time. If you have five pull strings in place, you are likely to get them tangled with each other.
Mike Garrett is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 14 Old 12-10-2013, 07:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jpmst3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Davidsville, PA
Posts: 8,591
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 314
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 5 View Post

Best to just run one string and have a second string to pull through, when ever you pull a new wire. Re-use the first string the next time. That way, you keep a pull string in place all the time. If you have five pull strings in place, you are likely to get them tangled with each other.

+1

______________________________________________
Joe = LFE Addict
Past Builds: 24" LMS-5400 cube, Anarchy 25Hz Tapped Horn, Danley DTS-10 kit, BFM AutoTuba, BFM THT, BFM THT-LP
Joe's LOWARHORN build, Dual LMS-5400 Ultra Endtables build
jpmst3 is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 12-10-2013, 10:20 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
randyc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 935
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Thanks Audiojan and everyone else for answering !!!
randyc1 is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 12-11-2013, 02:44 PM
Member
 
tbirdman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tigard, OR
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
This might be too oblivious rbut a power cable.
tbirdman is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 12-11-2013, 04:44 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
randyc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 935
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbirdman View Post

This might be too oblivious rbut a power cable.

...Well im sure it's happened before !
randyc1 is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 12-16-2013, 01:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
larryep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: PLANET EARTH
Posts: 1,252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 21
3.5 mm ir cable. that has been my means of controlling projector.
larryep is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 12-16-2013, 07:34 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
randyc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 935
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by larryep View Post

3.5 mm ir cable. that has been my means of controlling projector.

Not sure what that is excactly ?
randyc1 is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 12-16-2013, 08:41 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 25,879
Mentioned: 234 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12056 Post(s)
Liked: 9586
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by randyc1 View Post

Not sure what that is excactly ?

Just a mono male plug. A Google search will show you lots of choices. :https://www.google.com/search?q=3.5+mm+ir+plug&oq=3.5+mm+ir+plug&aqs=chrome..69i57.7275j0j4&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8#q=3.5+mmmono+plug
Mike Garrett is online now  
post #11 of 14 Old 12-16-2013, 02:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
larryep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: PLANET EARTH
Posts: 1,252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 21
the jvc 4810 has a ir window on front and back. It also has the ir 3.5 mm plug in. I use the ir window on back so I can still use jvc remote firing at screen. many devices that have a ir 3.5mm input being used will cancel out the ir signals from a remote. at least that is what I came across with sanyo plv70,oppo and the jvc projector.



here is my remote screen




thanks Mike
larryep is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 12-16-2013, 02:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
stevenjw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Palm Coast, Florida, USA
Posts: 2,939
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 635 Post(s)
Liked: 829
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbirdman View Post

This might be too oblivious rbut a power cable.

LOL, that was my first thought after reading the OP.

...Steve
"Opinions are like orgasms… mine matters most and I really don’t care if you have one or not." ;)
 
My HT gear
stevenjw is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 12-16-2013, 03:04 PM
Member
 
tbirdman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tigard, OR
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What was interesting was this weekend I'm shopping for a electrical box and cover for one power outlet and one HDMI connection for my projector. Home Depot had a dual gang AC plus low voltage box but no covers for it. The other usual suspect Lowes didn't have any. I was trying to avoid installing to single boxes. I ended up finding this one from Datacomm Electronics via Adoroma for $14. Lowes came close with a power plus coaxial. Both had power and USB chargers. The Datacomm is not exactly what I want, but close enough.

I would think a power outlet and a HDMI cable would be a common application. I plan to do any HDM switching with the AVR so need for multiple HDMI cables. The other option started a $42+ from Hubbell.
tbirdman is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 12-26-2013, 01:14 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
programmergeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: summit, nj
Posts: 1,051
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
On my installs I always run a HDMI and 2 cat6 wires wheatear it be for future balms, ir bugs or trigger wires. Can't run poser by code you need an outlet near the projector but if you can use some sort of power link that is better to get it on the same surge and ground as the rest of your equipment.

But +1 on a empty pvc chase.
programmergeek is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Lg 47 Inch Hdtv Rs 232c

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off