Official JVC DILA-X500R / RS49U / RS4910U Owners Thread - Page 104 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2142Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3091 of 6358 Old 01-02-2015, 02:50 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi, has anyone had any experience with this PJ/or any JVC for that matter and more specifically importing from Japan to country with 230v mains supply? I am in Japan just now and the unit itself states that the voltage is 100v but i can't help but feel that JVC wouldn't use a 100v supply for home/domestic PJ's and a 100-230v switching supply for the rest of the world?
osmononame is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3092 of 6358 Old 01-02-2015, 04:17 AM
Senior Member
 
cischico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Japan/USA
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 96
^^

Sony does the same thing. It should be auto range like all other non Japanese models.

At first I thought it was 100V, but I have personally confirmed it working on 120 and 240V. Japanese companies traditionally only mark 100V on their products in their own market.

Last edited by cischico; 01-02-2015 at 05:26 AM.
cischico is offline  
post #3093 of 6358 Old 01-02-2015, 08:01 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 14,405
Mentioned: 393 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5507 Post(s)
Liked: 5324
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolrda View Post
I have a black line down the middle of screen while on. Is this in demo mode or an issue with projector. I don't know how that came up or how to shut it off. Any ideas?
are you running a darbee? It could be stuck in demo mode as well where it puts a black line down the middle.

European Models do not accept banana plugs
Belly of the Beast: Bass Bunker Theater
beastaudio is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3094 of 6358 Old 01-02-2015, 05:20 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Lens memory in JVC RS49u

Couple of my friends have Panasonic AE8000u projector and there is feature in panny's that I like. If you have lens memory saved the projector detects the source and image (16:9 or 2.35:1) and adjusts the projector according to the image and fills out the screen. The projector does this automatically whereas I could not find this feature in JVC. Am I missing something or is this feature not there in JVC RS4910/49U.
foolzrule is offline  
post #3095 of 6358 Old 01-02-2015, 05:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dave Vaughn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 5,940
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1430 Post(s)
Liked: 2187
Quote:
Originally Posted by foolzrule View Post
Couple of my friends have Panasonic AE8000u projector and there is feature in panny's that I like. If you have lens memory saved the projector detects the source and image (16:9 or 2.35:1) and adjusts the projector according to the image and fills out the screen. The projector does this automatically whereas I could not find this feature in JVC. Am I missing something or is this feature not there in JVC RS4910/49U.
So you're saying you want to lost the side information from the movie because zooming in a 2.35:1 movie to "eliminate" the black bars will project the sides of the image outside of your screen.

David Vaughn Blu-ray Reviewer / Technical Writer Sound & Vision Magazine (Print & Online)

For Sale: JVC X750R Projector (RS500 Equivalent) https://www.avsforum.com/forum/252-f...l#post58241092
Dave Vaughn is offline  
post #3096 of 6358 Old 01-02-2015, 05:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ScottJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 1,789
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 319 Post(s)
Liked: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Vaughn View Post
So you're saying you want to lost the side information from the movie because zooming in a 2.35:1 movie to "eliminate" the black bars will project the sides of the image outside of your screen.
No, he's saying he wants the PJ to switch lens memories based on the content, like the Panny does.

I don't think the JVCs have any auto-detection like this. You have to manually switch lens memories.
ScottJ is offline  
post #3097 of 6358 Old 01-02-2015, 10:33 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by cischico View Post
^^

Sony does the same thing. It should be auto range like all other non Japanese models.

At first I thought it was 100V, but I have personally confirmed it working on 120 and 240V. Japanese companies traditionally only mark 100V on their products in their own market.
Thanks, I thought as much and am willing to take the risk. Next question - does anyone have the dimensions of the box?
osmononame is offline  
post #3098 of 6358 Old 01-03-2015, 02:26 AM
Senior Member
 
cischico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Japan/USA
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by osmononame View Post
Thanks, I thought as much and am willing to take the risk. Next question - does anyone have the dimensions of the box?
No problem,

23 x 14 x 22.5 Are the box dimensions
cischico is offline  
post #3099 of 6358 Old 01-03-2015, 03:03 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by cischico View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by osmononame View Post
Thanks, I thought as much and am willing to take the risk. Next question - does anyone have the dimensions of the box?
No problem,

23 x 14 x 22.5 Are the box dimensions
Great, just need to look for a suitcase that will be big enough to hold one although I think I might struggle on that front!
osmononame is offline  
post #3100 of 6358 Old 01-03-2015, 05:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
coolrda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 3,913
Mentioned: 243 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1388 Post(s)
Liked: 1503
Quote:
Originally Posted by beastaudio View Post
are you running a darbee? It could be stuck in demo mode as well where it puts a black line down the middle.
That was my best guess as I've seen that at trade show. Fixed it by cycling the Oppo. I don't have darbee.
coolrda is offline  
post #3101 of 6358 Old 01-03-2015, 06:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
stef2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,274
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 483 Post(s)
Liked: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by foolzrule View Post
Couple of my friends have Panasonic AE8000u projector and there is feature in panny's that I like. If you have lens memory saved the projector detects the source and image (16:9 or 2.35:1) and adjusts the projector according to the image and fills out the screen. The projector does this automatically whereas I could not find this feature in JVC. Am I missing something or is this feature not there in JVC RS4910/49U.

The JVC doesnt have that feature.
stef2 is offline  
post #3102 of 6358 Old 01-03-2015, 06:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gooddoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,659
Mentioned: 181 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3687 Post(s)
Liked: 3283
Watching football and I start noticing that there is pulsating of colors. Nauseating actually. I had to turn the projector off and watch the plasma.

At first I thought it might be the lens aperture, but I changed it to manual and still had the problem.

I took some video of it, I'll see if I can figure out how to post it. Anyone ever see this happen and a cause?

Edit: The bumper on the car and the bow are pulsating.


Last edited by Gooddoc; 01-03-2015 at 07:00 PM.
Gooddoc is offline  
post #3103 of 6358 Old 01-03-2015, 07:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
seanbryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Knowhere
Posts: 937
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 279 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gooddoc View Post
Watching football and I start noticing that there is pulsating of colors. Nauseating actually. I had to turn the projector off and watch the plasma.

At first I thought it might be the lens aperture, but I changed it to manual and still had the problem.

I took some video of it, I'll see if I can figure out how to post it. Anyone ever see this happen and a cause?

Edit: The bumper on the car and the bow are pulsating.

http://youtu.be/gz5BlrBCOOY
I don't know what might be going on, but does it also do it when you pause the image?
seanbryan is offline  
post #3104 of 6358 Old 01-03-2015, 07:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gooddoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,659
Mentioned: 181 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3687 Post(s)
Liked: 3283
Quote:
Originally Posted by seanbryan View Post
I don't know what might be going on, but does it also do it when you pause the image?
No, doesn't do it when paused.
Gooddoc is offline  
post #3105 of 6358 Old 01-03-2015, 08:02 PM
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 10,827
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5167 Post(s)
Liked: 2593
Do you have eshift enabled? Do you have the MPC controls turned up/on? Note that even when you have e-shift off the MPC controls are still in effect. Do you have CMD on (smooth motion)? If so, I would turn each one off systematically to see what's causing the issue.
Seegs108 is offline  
post #3106 of 6358 Old 01-03-2015, 11:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
seanbryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Knowhere
Posts: 937
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 279 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Also, are you using any other kind of video enhancement from the source (BD player, DVR, AVR, etc...)?

I once found some weird artifacts when I was using the detail enhancement of a Sony BD player along with the JVC's e-shift. But that was present in motion and when paused.

I'm not sure what's going on, but if it doesn't do it when paused but does in motion that has to be significant in figuring out what is causing it. Definitely try disabling all video and motion enhancement features and see if there is any change.
seanbryan is offline  
post #3107 of 6358 Old 01-04-2015, 01:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gooddoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,659
Mentioned: 181 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3687 Post(s)
Liked: 3283
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seegs108 View Post
Do you have eshift enabled? Do you have the MPC controls turned up/on? Note that even when you have e-shift off the MPC controls are still in effect. Do you have CMD on (smooth motion)? If so, I would turn each one off systematically to see what's causing the issue.
Thanks Seegs. I didn't realize that MPC was still in effect when e-shift was off.

I turned everything off and it stopped. I'll systematically turn things back on. My bet is on MPC, but I'll report back.
Gooddoc is offline  
post #3108 of 6358 Old 01-04-2015, 01:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gooddoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,659
Mentioned: 181 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3687 Post(s)
Liked: 3283
Quote:
Originally Posted by seanbryan View Post
Also, are you using any other kind of video enhancement from the source (BD player, DVR, AVR, etc...)?
No other processing in this particular chain of components and I as mentioned above turning everything off in the 4910 solved it. So it's something there.
Gooddoc is offline  
post #3109 of 6358 Old 01-05-2015, 07:22 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 14,405
Mentioned: 393 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5507 Post(s)
Liked: 5324
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gooddoc View Post
No, doesn't do it when paused.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gooddoc View Post
No other processing in this particular chain of components and I as mentioned above turning everything off in the 4910 solved it. So it's something there.
I noticed this once on directv as the source. I have never seen in on any movie or concert disc I had in there, and changing the channel even took care of it. Matter of fact, the pulsating I saw was actually during football. I assumed it was something to do with the satellite, and didn't mess with any of the settings.

European Models do not accept banana plugs
Belly of the Beast: Bass Bunker Theater
beastaudio is offline  
post #3110 of 6358 Old 01-05-2015, 08:06 AM
Member
 
afss's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any workarounds for the CMD banding ?

I love my 4910, but the CMD banding has been bothering me a lot on low light movies/scenes.

Is there any workaround anybody found, besides turning CMD off ?

Thank you all !
afss is offline  
post #3111 of 6358 Old 01-05-2015, 08:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jjcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,082
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 463 Post(s)
Liked: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by afss View Post
I love my 4910, but the CMD banding has been bothering me a lot on low light movies/scenes.

Is there any workaround anybody found, besides turning CMD off ?

Thank you all !
Impossible to completely avoid I'm afraid short of disabling CMD. Here is what I've done to mitigate it, in part as discovered by others:

Turn off Clear Black. Input a 10- or 12-bit deep color HDMI signal. Lastly, use the JVC autocal to calibrate the gamma.

These three things in order from least to most effective have greatly mitigated the CMD banding for me. Others have reported this didn't help at all, but it doesn't hurt to try.
jjcook is offline  
post #3112 of 6358 Old 01-05-2015, 08:48 AM
Member
 
afss's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjcook View Post
Impossible to completely avoid I'm afraid short of disabling CMD. Here is what I've done to mitigate it, in part as discovered by others:

Turn off Clear Black. Input a 10- or 12-bit deep color HDMI signal. Lastly, use the JVC autocal to calibrate the gamma.

These three things in order from least to most effective have greatly mitigated the CMD banding for me. Others have reported this didn't help at all, but it doesn't hurt to try.
Thanks for the prompt reply !
afss is offline  
post #3113 of 6358 Old 01-06-2015, 01:49 AM
Member
 
sterlingma1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am going to need a 20-25ft power cable to replace the one that comes with the 4910 projector to reach my Panamax. Monoprice sells both 16AWG and heavier 14AWG of these. Found a 18AWG on C2G site. Which is needed? What AWG is the one included with the projector?
sterlingma1 is offline  
post #3114 of 6358 Old 01-06-2015, 07:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
stef2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,274
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 483 Post(s)
Liked: 282
The question may be stupid, but yesterday, I was looking for the sharpness control on my JVC projector and could not find it.
The only mention of sharpness in the manual is in the MPC control menu (Enhance: enhances the sharpness of the image...)
So, my conclusion is that the sharpness control is called enhance on this projector.

Am I right?

If so, since I have always left that control untouched, I would like get some input from fellow users...
At what level is your sharpness (enhance) control?
How did you adjust it?

Just curious as how to make this incredible PJ even better!
stef2 is offline  
post #3115 of 6358 Old 01-07-2015, 12:03 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I will apologize in advance if I'm posting this out of turn, etc. but I just recently purchased a refurbished (long story) JVC DILA-RS49U. I was coming off the RS15, which I absolutely loved! I have to say, I'm extremely dissatisfied with the picture, mostly due to a "washout" effect I'm getting. Anything bright looks blown out! Best way I can describe it is, it's as if everything were shot with a consumer video camera. Detail in anything bright is completely gone. Has anybody else had this problem? I've tried making adjustments, but nothing that makes any kind of significant change. I appreciate any help.
ransomcosper is offline  
post #3116 of 6358 Old 01-07-2015, 01:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jjcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,082
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 463 Post(s)
Liked: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by ransomcosper View Post
I will apologize in advance if I'm posting this out of turn, etc. but I just recently purchased a refurbished (long story) JVC DILA-RS49U. I was coming off the RS15, which I absolutely loved! I have to say, I'm extremely dissatisfied with the picture, mostly due to a "washout" effect I'm getting. Anything bright looks blown out! Best way I can describe it is, it's as if everything were shot with a consumer video camera. Detail in anything bright is completely gone. Has anybody else had this problem? I've tried making adjustments, but nothing that makes any kind of significant change. I appreciate any help.
This sounds like your "Input Level" setting may be incorrect. For video levels (16-235), it should be set to Standard and for PC levels (0-255) it would typically be set to Enhanced. The setting defaults to Automatic. Try switching between these two forced settings and see if the problem persists.
jjcook is offline  
post #3117 of 6358 Old 01-07-2015, 04:48 PM
Member
 
Sparkygod1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Lakewood Colorado
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 37
I saw the X500 last year at CEDIA and installed one for a customer two weeks ago..I'm all in. The problem I have is I haven't settled on a screen yet. I liked The SI Slate screen I saw but I wanted an acoustical for my new HT ver4.1 Atmos. So excited! Any ideas?
Sparkygod1 is offline  
post #3118 of 6358 Old 01-07-2015, 09:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blipszyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 2,815
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Finally got a chance to spend some time with the 4910. There is a humming noise that seems to go away when I turn off e-shift. Is this normal? I also notice the same humming when the unit is switching from 1080p60 to 1080p24. With e-shift on it was constant, with it off, it's only when switching video modes.

Visit the Lipszyc Home Theater! 1.0
2.0 done and finally posted! - Theater 2.0

And now...The Queen City Theater (3.0)
4.0 - TBD
blipszyc is offline  
post #3119 of 6358 Old 01-07-2015, 09:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
seanbryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Knowhere
Posts: 937
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 279 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by blipszyc View Post
Finally got a chance to spend some time with the 4910. There is a humming noise that seems to go away when I turn off e-shift. Is this normal? I also notice the same humming when the unit is switching from 1080p60 to 1080p24. With e-shift on it was constant, with it off, it's only when switching video modes.
Yep, it's normal. E-shift makes noise, and this is also heard when switching video modes as you described.
seanbryan is offline  
post #3120 of 6358 Old 01-08-2015, 06:57 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 14,405
Mentioned: 393 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5507 Post(s)
Liked: 5324
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparkygod1 View Post
I saw the X500 last year at CEDIA and installed one for a customer two weeks ago..I'm all in. The problem I have is I haven't settled on a screen yet. I liked The SI Slate screen I saw but I wanted an acoustical for my new HT ver4.1 Atmos. So excited! Any ideas?
Can't say enough good things about my Falcon Screens Horizon 4K material. It is just rock-solid on anything I have thrown at it. I watched ender's game last night which has a lot of space scenes and it was just unreal There is a little wait time right now as Rich at falcon is getting inundated with orders, but the wait is well worth it, the frame is easy-peasy to install and rugged as all get-out, and you can easily do it all within 30-45 minutes by yourself
Sparkygod1 likes this.

European Models do not accept banana plugs
Belly of the Beast: Bass Bunker Theater
beastaudio is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Jvc , X500

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off